Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Laguna Niguel Travel

Phone: (949) 448-5150 View Additional Phone Numbers 25510 Commercentre Dr #100, Lake Forest , CA 92630 http://www.tradingplaces.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers travel agency services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Laguna Niguel Travel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Laguna Niguel Travel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 10/02/1973 in CA Business started locally: 10/02/1973 Business incorporated 10/02/1973 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney General Seller of Travel Program
1515 K St #511, Sacramento CA 95814
http://ag.ca.gov/travel
Phone Number: (213) 897-8065
The number is 1008862.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Melissa Aleman Mr. Jessee Harmon, Director of Membership Retention and Revenue
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melissa Aleman
Customer Contact: Mr. Jessee Harmon, Director of Membership Retention and Revenue
Number of Employees

300

Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
Trading Places International LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    25510 Commercentre Dr #100

    Lake Forest , CA 92630 (949) 448-5150 (800) 365-1048

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trading Places International advertises a time share resort exchange program. you book your time share location and bank it with them allowing them to give it to another customer of theirs, then you can book a week in one of their resorts. However; the size and availability of their resorts is very limited in the exchange program for high tourism seasons yet they offer the larger rooms and better date selections for rent on the site for the same resorts. IN essenece, they trick you into booking your week with them then offer very limited options to redeem one of their resorts but if you would like to buy the week at their resorts, the larger rooms and preferred dates are miraculously available for rent. If the rooms are available, they should he availble for either rent or exchange.

Desired Settlement: I wish Trading Places International to be more upfront with their exchanges and ensure that the resorts offer the exchange weeks with the same availability as they offer the for rent weeks. I wish to book and exchange week which they intentionally only have the week available with larger rooms as i require on the rental availability. They only offer smaller units in the exchange calendar for vacation destinations after my resort location was taken by TPI in to the ability to book an exchange resort location.

Business Response:

In review of Ms. *******’s account, it appears TPI has only confirmed one exchange reservation under this account. Ms. ******* deposited a 1-Bedroom unit and received a 1-Bedroom unit in return via TPI’s exchange program. This reservation was confirmed on 7/11/14 for travel on 7/17/15.

To address the issue of exchange availability vs rental availability, TPI does not decide which units are offered for Rent vs Exchange. This depends solely on the owner of the week being deposited into our program. Members have the option of depositing weeks into our rental program with hopes of receiving money in return as a result of TPI renting their unit. If an owner chooses this option, then the unit deposited may only be confirmed via rental. If the member decides to deposit a week with our exchange program to receive exchange credit in return, it may only be offered for exchange. Many resorts TPI manages will have both rental and exchange availability, however, they are two completely separate programs and inventory pools. In order for a week to be available in our exchange program, the week must be deposited into the exchange program by the owner of the week.

Further questions may be addressed by calling 800-365-7617, or email exchange@tradingplaces.com.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

TPI has reiterated it's misleading business practices only.  It has done nothing to rectify the situation that it makes pools of rooms available for rent that are not available for exchange. 

Regards,

*** *******



10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company manages rental condos for a timeshare owner association in Whistler BC. They are the "face and contact" for guests who rent a unit for their holiday - including check in/out, cleaning, etc. There was a mix up in their office that meant 7 guests arrived on a Friday evening to find their condo had not been cleaned. The front desk staff said nothing could be done until the next morning, and that a manager was not available until the following Monday (after the guests had gone home). The guests ended up borrowing sheets off a restaurant owner they met in an underground parking lot late that evening! The condo was cleaned the next day. My concern was the lack of concern for the guests poor experience from both the manager in Whistler and his superior at head office in California when I followed this up. This lack of service impacts this company and tarnishes my reputation for having a good place to rent as well as other units in the same building. Also not great for Whistler's tourism. A cleaning fee was grudgingly refunded to me (as the owner) but no interest was ever shown and nothing was ever done for the 7 guests who come to Whistler every year...not even a note of apology or a coupon for coffees or a meal on a next trip. Poor service to them at the time and a very disinterested and bored attitude re my queries about the matter over the 3 months it took to work through their very poor customer service system.

Desired Settlement: I give up on this company and have since heard that our assoc'n is ending our contract soon. Reputation is important in tourism: mistakes are made but they should be acknowledged/rectified. There was no followup to guests for the unclean unit or the misinformation (a manager WAS on call). I spent 3 months trying to followup this up to no avail. I will forward my cleaning fee refund to the guests should your look into this matter be unsuccessful too. Thanks.

Business Response:

 

Trading Places’ subsidiary, Trading Places International Management Canada, manages the timeshare resort where Ms. ***** is an owner.  Although we do not manage the rental program, we do manage the reservations system.  Ms. ***** called and made a reservation for her rental guests for a Saturday arrival, however, her guests arrived on Friday.  Since these timeshare units are owned via weekly intervals by separate owners, our office was not prepared for this early arrival.  Ms. *****’s guests arrived near 11:00pm Friday night, although we tried to contact housekeeping staff for an emergency clean, we were unable to secure our housekeeping staff at such a late hour. Our housekeeping schedule is to clean early Saturday A.M. to prepare for the new guests arrival, which was explained to Ms. *****’s guests, and as a solution offered to allow them to stay in the room with the understanding that it had not been cleaned.  Ms. ***** has acknowledged that she sent her guests on the wrong date, and our company did return the cleaning fee to Ms. *****, however, we cannot take responsibility for an owner sending her guests on the wrong date and to compound this error having them arrive at such a late hour as well, which made creating a perfect solution near impossible.   Ms. ***** also acknowledged that our company had no monetary gain from her rental and that she would be responsible to send any compensation she felt her guests were owed from her error.

 

 

It is important to note that we value what the BBB does and apologize for the delay in getting this answer over to you.  Please let me know if you have any questions or comments.

 

Best, ***** * ******

 

***** ******

Director of Membership Retention and Revenue

Team Member Since 2005

 

25510 Commercentre Drive, Suite 100

Lake Forest, CA 92630

949.448.5150 • Fax 949.448.5148

******************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am just heading out of town and offline for 2 weeks but wanted to let you know I appreciate you getting back to me and that I WILL get back to you with a proper response to this email, but NOT for a couple of weeks.  One of their first 'facts' is incorrect and skimming the rest of their response proves to me again that my complaint re their non service attitude, etc.  is justified.  I need to compare their response to the info I gave them but am literally heading out the door right now and do. It have time.  I will respond properly by mid August.

Regards,

******** *****



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
My original complaint with this company related to their lack of proactive service/hospitality to my Friday/Saturday guests when a mix up occurred in the reservations/cleaning office.   Subsequently, I have been dissatisfied with their inability to fact check and communicate with me about this whole issue.  It feels like they are passing info from one staff to another and each time the info gets more and more incorrect!   Mr. ******'s letter has many errors of basic facts. This info was sent in writing d no one queried it with me.  My sense was the company was hoping I would go away if they stalled, did not reply, etc.

I will correct  (in parentheses) some Mr. ******'s comments in the order he writes them:
1.   Ms ***** called and made a reservation for her rental guests for a Saturday arrival, however her guests arrived on Friday.
(Mr ****** is mixing up dates and two separate guest bookings.  On the previous Saturday, I phoned TCI to made a second -and last minute reservation - for a DIFFERENT guest a who would use the unit first.  I called reservations on the Saturday - the day BEFORE my timeshare week began - to make a last minute reservation for a different guest than ******'s letter refers to.  I double checked with staff that the unit could be ready on such short notice as the  guest wanted to stay Sunday to Thursday nights.  I also reminded them that the other set of guests were coming the following Friday and that I would therefore need to have an extra cleaning done on the Friday morning to prepare for their arrival lateFriday night. TCI sent a cleaner to the unit on Thursday instead while the first guest was still in residence.)

2. The office was not ready for this early arrival.
( As mentioned, I double checked with staff on the Saturday -a day before my week began - to ensure the unit would be ready the next day on such short notice.  They said no problem.
Also, 'this early arrival' ****** refers to was actually a reservation made long before, and confirmed the week before with reservations staff.  It was for the last 2 nights of my timeshare week!)

3. The housekeeping schedule is to clean early Saturday.
(My week runs from Sunday to Saturday nights.  Therefore the cleaning is done anytime after checkout on Sunday morning...and checkout is not until 10 or 11 am, which isn't very early!)

4. Ms ***** has acknowledged she sent her guests on the wrong date.
(NO!  My best guess on this mess was that an inexperienced weekend staffer got confused and was not paying attention to details of the overall reservations of 2 groups...possibly the same staff person told the guests that he could NOT contact his manager until after the weekend.  Not true said his manager later to me.)

5.  I would be responsible to send any compensation she felt the guests were owners from this error.
(After a couple of months of people not getting back to me about the treatment my guests received,  I likely said in conversation with Richard at TCI that I would probably compensate the guests somehow because as an owner I felt the need to apologize somehow for the mess that my management company had caused and was not cleaning up.  I also reiterated that it was NOT my error and that as a company in the service industry business TCI were not very accommodating or interested in making amends.  The least they could do was to offer the guests a discount should they return or a coupon to a local restaurant, etc.)

I made notes on conversations with TCI as this saga progressed and have referred to them in writing this response.  I have cc'd this email to Mr. ******, but would appreciate you following up the latent errors in his letter with him.  I don't accuse him of lying, but I suspect he has been given misinformation from staff not trained to pay attention to detail.

Sincerely and with thanks,
*** *****

Business Response: We have read Ms. *****'s rebuttal and since there isn't any change to our initial response nor are there any outstanding issues mentioned we would like this case closed.  Trading Places Management Company is no longer managing Ms. *****'s resort, however, if she would like to call and discuss this in further detail we would welcome her call.

Sincerely,
Trading Places Management Canada

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to remit rental proceeds in a timely fashion. Failure to resolve issue by passing responsibility, dilatory tactics, unnecessary delay, request for unwarranted investigation time into it's own accounting practices, request for additional unnecessary investigation information.

Desired Settlement: Provide the rental proceeds provided in contract in connection with the renting of my timeshare to a third party. Waiving their fee of 40% as being unwarranted and unearned and damages for failure to perform in a reasonable and prudent business practices manner.

Business Response:

 

Summary:              

Mr. ******* requested to list his timeshare week for rent through TPI. On 2/12/14, Mr. ******* contacted TPI to advise he had not yet received his rental proceeds. A check in the amount of $502.74 was mailed to him on 2/19/14.

 

Detailed Response:

On 6/7/13, Mr. ******* requested to list his Riviera Beach & Spa timeshare week for rent through TPI for the dates of 9/27/13-10/4/13. The contract was processed and an acknowledgement letter was mailed to his address on 6/24/13. On 10/30/13, Mr. ******* contacted TPI and was advised his week had rented and to please allow 45-60 days for processing.  On 2/12/14, Mr. ******* contacted TPI to advise he had not yet received his rental proceeds. Upon further investigation, it was found that Mr. *******’s payable had not been processed.  The request for payment to Mr. ******* was expedited and a check in the amount of $502.74 was mailed to him on 2/19/14.

 

Mr. ******* has been paid the amount due to him per the signed agreement.

 

******* *******

Director of Call Center Services

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service