This Business is not BBB accredited

AirGorilla LLC

Phone: (619) 564-4741 Fax: (760) 645-0577 114 C Avenue #206, Coronado, CA 92118 http://www.airgorilla.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers discount airline tickets, hotel reservations, travel insurance, vacation packages, car rentals, and cruise bookings.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AirGorilla LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AirGorilla LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 15, 2005 Business started: 04/21/2001 in CA Business incorporated: 04/17/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney General Seller of Travel Program
1515 K St #511, Sacramento CA 95814
http://ag.ca.gov/travel
Phone Number: (213) 897-8065
The number is 2063786.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Coleman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Coleman, President
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus Insurance Services Hotels - Reservations Cruises

Products & Services

AirGorilla LLC sells the following brand(s): 300 airlines, many thousands of hotels, and all major rental car companies.

AirGorilla LLC offers the following product(s): Airfare, hotel and car reservations, and travel insurance.

Method(s) of Payment
Credit card only.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Airline tickets are sold as nonrefundable and nonchangeable. Individual airlines may nonetheless allow us to make changes under certain circumstances and for steep fees charged to customers largely by the airline itself.
Service Area
Serving San Diego County
Alternate Business Names
AirGorilla.com

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    114 C Avenue #206

    Coronado, CA 92118 (619) 564-4741

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited this website twice looking for airfaire, and when I went to pay, I was told the fare quoted was no longer available. Both times I was shown a low enough airfare that I was willing to pay for when the search originally started, but they were not willing to accept payment when finalizing the transaction.. This is a bait and switch operation!

Desired Settlement: I wish to book airfare for the originally quoted amount.

Business Response: Dear customer,

We receive pricing and initial availability directly from the airlines via the GDS systems that connect airlines to travel agencies. This is exactly what all other direct-sales online travel web sites do - ******** ************ ******, etc. However, the airlines do not provide 100% accurate availability information. Only when the agency tries to create the physical reservation (which happens when you click Purchase on any travel web site), will the airline then accept or reject the reservation based on their actual internal availability. No one can be psychic and guess ahead of time if the airline will successfully confirm the reservation until it is created. This pattern is experienced by all the other major direct sales travel web sites. Sadly, the global systems connecting airlines to agencies was created in the 1960's and have never been modernized to provide accurate availability prior to creation of the reservation. And when one reservation fails, due to inaccurate availability, this does not mean the airline will provide more updated availability for that particular route on the next attempt. It takes time for the airlines to voluntarily update their availability to the GDS systems. We are sorry that your experience has been frustrating.

Sincerely,
AirGorilla

RE: COMPLAINT INFORMATION

Customer Information:
******* *****
*** ****** ***** ** ** ******** * ** *****
Daytime Phone: (**** ********
E-mail: ***********************


The details of this matter are as follows:
Complaint Involves:
Advertising Issues

Customer’s Statement of the Problem:
I visited this website twice looking for airfaire, and when I went to pay, I was told the fare quoted was no longer available. Both times I was shown a low enough airfare that I was willing to pay for when the search originally started, but they were not willing to accept payment when finalizing the transaction.. This is a bait and switch operation!
Complaint Background:
Product/Service: airfare
Purchase Date: 5/28/2014
Problem Occurred: 5/28/2014
Model: IAD- POP round trip
Account Number:
Order Number:
Talked to Company: 5/28/2014

Name of Salesperson:
 
Purchase Price: $2064.40
Disputed Amount: $0.00

Desired Settlement:                     
I wish to book airfare for the originally quoted amount.

11/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reserved a round-trip flight on Spirit Airlines from Chicago to Boston on October 7 through the Air Gorilla website. I received a confirmation of my order - ORD to BOS (Confirmation ******) the same day. I went to the Chicago airport and was told by Spirit Airlines that they had no record of my reservation. I showed them the confirmation number and we finally figured out that the "confirmation number was Air Gorilla's and not Spirit's. I called Air Gorilla and told them the problem. They guy told me that the confirmation number (that's what it's called on the email I got from Air Gorilla) isn't a "confirmation" number. It's just a number. I told him that was unbelievable. He said they tried to call me (no record of any calls on my phone) but they couldn't reach me (they had me cell phone and e-mail address) so they didn't make the reservation (that was confirmed) because they couldn't reach me. That incompetence and misleading communication caused me to have to pay more than double the amount for a flight that Air Gorilla was supposed to have covered. This may or may not be illegal but it is purely deceptive and caused significant economic damage (I had to pay more than $550 more for last minute tickets because Air Gorilla mislead me about the ticket that I thought I had purchased.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Air Gorilla completely failed to deliver on a contract that I had entered. I feel that I was mislead and as a result had to pay an extra $550 for my airfare. (Had I made the reservation with any other online travel agent, I feel I would have had a valid contract. Worse - when I contacted the company about this matter through their website, I received no reply. At the very least, i want all other travelers to be aware of the decptive practices of Air Gorilla. (I had used their services for years but was completely unprepared for this abuse.)

Business Response: Dear customer and BBB,

Our subcontractor, LBF Travel, who issues our tickets and handles all customer support has completed a full investigation of the customer's troubles and has reported to us that they are currently attempting to contact the customer to provide a positive resolution of their issues. **** ***** is in charge of fully resolving the situation per the last report to us. As reported by **** to me, "Our management team is currently working on contacting the client to get a statement from the them, so we have proof of the additional cost." In case his direct contact information would be additionally useful to the customer, here it is: 858-429-7599 ext ****, ******************

** *******
AirGorilla