Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

SelfHelpWorks.com Inc

Phone: (619) 296-6001 Fax: (619) 296-1048 2970 5th Ave #320, San Diego, CA 92103 http://www.myselfhelpworks.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers online video-based training/coaching courses for a variety of health-related areas such as smoking cessation, weight management, alcohol management, exercise/fitness, stress management and diabetes management.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SelfHelpWorks.com Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SelfHelpWorks.com Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on SelfHelpWorks.com Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 2008 Business started: 09/22/1999 in CA Business started locally: 09/22/1999 Business incorporated 09/22/1999 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Noar, VP Marketing & General Manager Mr. Louis Ryan, CEO/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Noar, VP Marketing & General Manager
Principal: Mr. Louis Ryan, CEO/President
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Training Programs Health & Wellness Health & Diet Products - Retail Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Health & Fitness Program Consultants Motivational & Self Improvement Training Smokers Information & Treatment

Products & Services

SelfHelpWorks.com Inc offers the following product(s): LivingEasy - Creating Calm & Resilience, LivingFit - Learning to Love Exercise, LivingFree - Breaking Tobacco Addiction, LivingLean - Ending Food Cravings, LivingSmart - Managing Alcohol Use, LivingWell - Managing Diabetes

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Credit cards.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Complete one of our coaching courses within 90 days of initial registration and if you are not completely satisfied with the results, contact us to ask for your money back. We will issue you a refund of all course fees paid. Fee paid for trial, if applicable, is non-refundable.
Alternate Business Names
Selfhelpworks Inc
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Federal Trade Commission 600 Pennsylvanis Avenue, NW, Washington DC 20580 http://www.ftc.gov

Industry Tips
Cancer Treatment Scams Dietary Supplements Free Trial Offers Identity Theft Internet Shopping Savvy Consumer Unproven Medical Treatments

Additional Locations

  • 2970 5th Ave #320

    San Diego, CA 92103 (619) 296-6001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted company for a refund of $26.95, the agent stated he could not honor that and the only way I could get money back is to log on, however he failed to state that I had to fully complete the program. I informed him that I do not have online access. He disregarded the comment. I requested to speak to his manager. He placed me on hold for a while, when he had already stated that there was a supervisor available. I disconnected and called back. Chip answered again and I requested to speak to his supervisor again, he then stated playing around by expecting for me to say ok every time he did. Mind you I am very upset and all I want is a supervisor. I then yelled at him to get me to a supervisor. Robert then answered and pretty much gave me the same response, but added that he can only refund me $15. I informed him that I need the full amount back as I have to pay rent, bills, and I have not used their services at all due to I don't have internet access and he gave me the option to log on for a full refund. I then requested to speak to his manager. Lindsay came on the line and offered the same $15 back and stated she would request the recording and if at any point their was a mistake then I would get my money back. I requested to speak to her superior and she refused stating that there was no one over her available. I then requested a call back from someone over her and she ignored my comment stating their was no one over her. I then asked her if she was the owner, she said no, I then stated that I as the consumer have the right to request to speak to the person that supervises her as I am following the chain of command. She just refused by ignoring my request. I did not get the issue resolved and I will be seeking legal options. I understand the company has policies to follow but they also have a mission and a vision and if a company does not care to keep a consumer happy and just make money then they sure have the wrong idea of business in the US.

Desired Settlement: All I would like is for the company to understand my situation and issue me the $26.95 refund.I am a single mother of 4 children, my oldest being disabled, only my income to count on, I have to pay rent a day or two, gas, light, water and worst of all I do not have internet access to start the program. I ordered the product on 6/30/14 and today being 7/30/14. California having the 30 day to try any product and a full money back guaranteed if not satisfied, where would this fall under then if this company does not follow these guidelines and decides to make their own. Worst of all I have not even tried their services. Thank You

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

We have investigated this complaint in detail, including listening to a recording of the call in which the customer purchased a trial subscription to our LivingFree online tobacco cessation course. Based upon our findings we hereby confirm that 1) the customer knowingly purchased our LivingFree smoking cessation course with full knowledge of the trial and purchase terms, 2) she did not contact us to cancel the course within the time period she had agreed to, and 3) when she did call to cancel several days after the trial had expired she was offered a partial refund of $15.00 on her $26.95 payment, even though she was not entitled to one. However, in view of the customer’s difficult personal circumstances the supervisor made a decision to refund the entire $26.95 as a gesture of kindness even though we had already incurred additional processing costs after her trial period expired.

Please note that the $26.95 refund was made to the customer’s credit card on July 30, 2014 – the day BEFORE she filed her complaint with the Better Business Bureau asking for a $26.95 refund. The customer therefore had no reason whatsoever to file a complaint in the first place!

Furthermore, we wish to reiterate that we have listened to the recording of the call in which the customer purchased the trial and she clearly said that she wanted the trial, clearly agreed to the terms, and willingly gave the representative her credit card number. Furthermore, she did not abide by the trial terms she had agreed to so there was technically no reason to give her a refund. In other words, our company went above and beyond the call of duty to take care of this customer by issuing her a full refund due to her difficult situation, even though the entire situation was a result of her own doing and caused us to incur additional costs. We therefore believe that we have acted in a manner consistent with our excellent Better Business Bureau rating, and that this complaint should not have even been filed. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I continue to be dissatisfied, the phone call they should have reviewed was the one made on 7/30/14, where the manager, ***** refused to allow me to follow the chain of command, and where she repeatedly stated she would call me back within 48hrs after listening to the recording. They failed to call me back, or email not even as a courtesy. The misled me to believe that they would call me back, but then again this company does not care about the person on the other end, all they care about is the credit card number they were able to get. After this experience, I just don't understand, how a company like this can have a good rating with the BBB. I'm sure their are many, many customers that feel the same way I do about this company, unfortunately they are probably not aware of the BBB. 


Regards,

******* ****

Business Response: Dear BBB,

 
We are mystified by this consumer's response. In her initial (unwarranted) complaint, she stated that "All I would like is for the company to understand my situation and issue me the $26.95 refund." As explained in detail in our original response, we did understand the customer's situation, which is why we had already issued her a full refund of $26.95 PRIOR to her filing her complaint. We did this out of the goodness of our hearts, even though our company had already incurred additional processing costs caused by the customer's failure to abide by the terms she had agreed to when ordering the trial. We thought the customer would be grateful that we went "above and beyond" to take care of her at our own expense but that appears not to be the case. Although we find her reaction highly surprising we would appreciate it if you would consider this matter closed.
 
Sincerely,
 
SelfHelpWorks


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on SelfHelpWorks.com Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart