Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of America's Tire Co?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

America's Tire Co

Phone: (949) 472-8840 View Additional Phone Numbers 2 Rancho Cir, Lake Forest, CA 92630 http://www.americastire.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for America's Tire Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on America's Tire Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 12/09/1982 in CA Business incorporated: 12/09/1982 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Danny Kerby Ms. Lee Anne Hinkle, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lee Anne Hinkle, Office Manager
Principal: Danny Kerby
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Southern California Discount Tire Co Inc The Reinalt-Thomas Corporation

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2 Rancho Cir

    Lake Forest, CA 92630

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my Honda Odyssey to the shop on Monday 01/05/15 for tire rotation and balance which are services covered by the purchasing contract when I purchased 4 tires with America's Tire Co.The service was treated with courtesy and on time and I don't have any problem with it. However, I brought the same car to do the wheel alignment at Firestone the next day, 01/06/15, and uncovered that 3 of the tires were cracked. One of the cracked tires were severely damaged to the point that I was told by the Firestone technician that it was very dangerous to drive with tire of such damage condition. Now, not trusting the Firestone technician, I consulted a male friend who had helped me with tire problem before and my friend agreed with the assessment from Firestone.Due to this, I brought the van back to America's Tire Co, a different shop, and requested to replace all 4 tires due to cracking problem. This America's Tire Co shop agreed to do so immediately after a quick tire inspection.I'd like to know how come the aforementioned America's Tire Co shop, owned by the same company, didn't notify me of the condition of the cracking tires. I got very upset because this could have resulted into my personal injury if the tires explode when I'm driving on the street. It could also pose high risk for others on the street if the tires explode and I could have caused car collision with other cars on the street. The damage resulted from cracking tires is believed to be beyond words anyone could foreseen.I came to the shop purchased tires, not just for this car but for other cars in my family as well, with the great trust that America's Tire Co would do the right thing when it comes to professional expertise and honest. I had a belief that this company would do the right thing when they're servicing tires, thing like cracking tires should be conveyed to customers and be replaced immediately when noticed. And it's hard to miss such severed damage on my tires with such specialty like America's Tire Co.

Desired Settlement: Due to the neglect from America's Tire Co company that could have caused serious injury if my tires explode, I'd like for the company to fully cover my replacement tires as a way to honor their business honesty. I'd also like for the company to re-train their managers and technicians on being honest on their assessment when customers bring their cars in for tire service. When customers paid for certificates as insurances for tires purchased at the shop, tire replacement should be honor.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

I spoke to Ms. ****** today. She is scheduled to return to our store on Jan 31st, 2015 for agreed upon additional credit. This matter is closed and considered resolved on our end.

Ms. ****** is an AWESOME lady and we were honored to make this right for her.

Best Regards,

**** *****

Americas Tire

Assistant Vice President - Orange County

Consumer Response: Dear Better Business Bureau:

In reference to complaint ID ********, I find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  Mr. ***** had agreed with my complaint and appreciated my safety concern.  I believed my voice was heard and resolved to satisfaction although it took BBB representative 2 times for a response from the business to happen.  American Tire Co. had also provided me with a refund of $167.00 instead of full refund as I requested.

Best Regards,

***** ******

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in today at 1:30PM to get a tire rotation on my waranteed tires. The warranty was applicable, yet I was denied the rotation because the clerk said that he was going to lose his job if he approved a rotation. He said that it was due to one of my tires being "bald." However, I have received a second opinion and was told that the tire is not "bald." The contract states that all rotations will be performed at no cost while the tires are under warranty. The clerk attempted to sell me two tires, even though he only misdiagnosed one as being "bald." I am on a social security income and am unable to purchase tires unnecessarily.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to abide by the contract and rotate my tires and no charge. If they still will not rotate them, then I want the Pirelli tire that the clerk claims is bald to be replaced at no charge, which is also according to the warranty.

Business Response:

Too Whom It May Concern,

We have now left two messages for Ms. ****** ***** on Monday 10-13-2014 & 10-16-2014. We look forward to discussing this matter with her and finding a resolution that both parties will be delighted with. The phone number to our regional office is ************ 8am-5pm Mon-Fri. If we do not hear from Ms. ***** by the end of business Monday 10-20-2014 we will consider this matter resolved.

Best Regards,

**** *****

Assitant Vice President

Americas Tire Company

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I did not get the calls, but I will call American Tires on Monday.

Regards,

****** *****



Business Response: Too Whom It May Concern,

 
I have left two voicemails and emailed Ms. ***** without a call back or respond to email. We would love to discuss this to try to resolve this situation.
 
************ is our office phone number. We welcome the call 8:00am-5:00pm Mon- Fri.
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

While I'm satisfied with the tire rotation that was initially refused, from this past experience, I'm concerned that you will not honor the warranty on the tire you claim is bald.

Regards,

****** *****



10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service