Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Xtermite Inc

Phone: (619) 542-8582 Fax: (619) 542-8584 View Additional Phone Numbers 10107 Prospect Ave #B, Santee, CA 92071 http://www.xtermite.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers non-tented environmental (organic) termite eradication and wood replacement and repairs caused by dryrot, termites and other wood destroying organisms.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Xtermite Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Xtermite Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Xtermite Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1998 Business started: 07/22/1998 in CA Business incorporated 07/22/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 3336.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Anna Stevens-Folkins, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Anna Stevens-Folkins, CEO
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Termite Control Pest Control Services

BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages


Additional Locations

  • 10107 Prospect Ave #B

    Santee, CA 92071 (619) 542-8582 (877) 300-6483

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SrvcTech used an extreme excess of orange oil on our hardwood floor causing an ugly 8'x1' black stain on our blonde maple.After discussion, I obtained a quote from the original hardwood installer for replacing the damaged wood and re-sanding/resealing the surrounding hardwood so it would all match.($5200) The tech then told me that XTermite's insurance would only cover costs incurred by their own contractors.He proceeded to send a friend of his over to give us a quote-it matched my original quote word for word for $300 less. I called the office to talk about this unethical sharing of first bid and stated that I wanted to use our contractor because we know his quality of work.The tech said that per the contract, they didn't need to repair the damage but would replace the stained wood.($300). He used his friends in the office to impersonate management to keep this a big secret. It was obvious something was not right. I sent an email to the CEO of XTermite alerting her to what was going on. She never responded. I received a call from someone saying she was an Exec. Asst. and would be helping me. She stated that the person claiming to be the Ops. Mgr. was actually a file clerk and she didn't know the contractor that was sent.Now she wanted to send a contractor to see the floor. He agreed that the entire floor would need to be sanded and resealed. The Exec Asst. said that they would only replace the damaged wood and wouldn't cover the cost of making it match the rest of the floor.This would look horrible-it would be an 8'x1' "bandaid" in the center of our kitchen! I said I wanted to speak with the CEO but she would not allow this, saying that the CEO would say the same thing. I am not even sure at this point if this "Exec Asst." is who she says she is. All I know is my floor is grossly damaged, there is a $5000 discrepancy in what is required to fix it, they are dishonest and CEO is hiding behind her employees if she even knows about it at all.Extremely upsetting.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is that XTermite do the right thing and pay for OUR contractor to replace the damaged wood and sand and reseal the rest of the hardwood so it is all the same color and finish as per his original quote. If they were really professional, they would pay for the moving men I will need to move everything off of the hardwood and onto other floors of our home while the work is done. We will also be required to live in a hotel for 3 days as we can't walk on the floor and it is toxic while the are resealing. None of these costs should be carried by us since the error was a result of gross negligence on the part of the service technician. This is a huge eyesore and cannot be ignored. It is not right that they expect us to deal with the consequences of their wrong doing. When a contract states that a customer holds a company harmless for any damages that may occur, there is an expectation that the company knows what they are doing and not cause damage in the first place!

Business Response:

Thank you for your email of the complaint referenced above.

We received calls from Ms. ******* and emails and responded to each call and email. We
apologized for to Ms. ******* for her feelings of frustration and assured her that we were aware
of the floor and the circumstances involved.

On investigating this matter, it has been determined that the hardwood floors had drywood termite
infestation as well as areas of termite damage, which is different than infestation. Drywood
termites eat wood and cause damage. To minimize the damage to the hardwood floor caused by
termites, orange oil was used to exterminate this infestation. The orange oil cannot be overused,
the orange oil flows through the channels of termite damage, with that being said, it would appear
as though the damage caused by the termites was near the surface. The stain caused, is not from
the orange oil itself, it is colorless, however, the residue of dirt surrounding the floor attached to
the orange oil and created the stain.

Therefore, the orange oil did not cause the visible stains. In most cases, floors that are damaged
by termites are treated to prevent further infestations and damage to other boards. It is our
experience, that this type of damage is corrected by replacing the individual boards concerned.
However, please be aware, that in time the orange oil will dissipate, due to its molecular structure,
it is light and will biodegrade, but the debris stains may remain and may necessitate sanding and
restaining those boards only.

On visual inspection, the customer concern involves 1 wooden slat, 4 inches by 5 feet only. The
wooden floor appears to be 15 years old, it is not in perfect condition and other defects are present.
Termites do infest wood, the wood slats have been damaged by the termite infestation. Termite
damage requires replacement of the wood, at the owner's_expense not Xtermite's.

We are in receipt of the $5,201.42 estimate from Cut & Dried Flooring, although we may have
considered some assistance in this matter. This estimate is determined to be for "termite damaged
wood" and an excessive scope of work to the concerns of the customer. We referred back to the
original contract signed on November 4, 2013: Work Authorization Contract, signed by Ms. Sue
******* and dated 11104/2013, Page 2 of2, "4. Customer agrees to hold company harmless for
any damage which may occur." In reference to the stained 4" x 5' slat only.

In a good faith effort, we were prepared to assist the customer and try to provide customer
satisfaction by helping to replace the damaged slat, although our contract clearly states we are not
liable. Ms. ******'s assured our Inspector addressing the concerns that he should not be
concerned about the cost because, Ms. ******'s felt, that our insurance would pay for costs to
sand, refinish, remove and replace termite damaged wood, throughout the entire house (Kitchen,
Living Room, Dining Room, Family Room). The stains in this complaint consist of 1 wooden
slat, 4 inches by 5 feet only, termite damaged wood.

Ms. ******* refused our assistance in removing and replacing the termite damaged wood, and
insisted on the work to be performed by Cut & Dried Flooring Company only. Again, Xtermite is
not liable or responsible for termite damaged wood, not only stated in the Work Authorization
Contract signed by Ms. ******s, but also clearly stated on the Original Report dated October 22,
1013, page 2, first paragraph in bold type print, clearly states " ... this firm does not guarantee
against TERMITE DAMAGE."

Again, Xtermite has made a good faith attempt in providing a solution to the homeowner, although
Xtermite was not obligated to do so. We regret that we have been unable to resolve this matter
with our customer and it has now been referred to the Better Business Bureau as a complaint and
a mark on our good standing with the BBB.

Please contact me should you have require any additional information.

Sincerely, 
 
****** ****** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
First of all, the orange oil most certainly WAS overused.  It was literally pooling onto the ceiling in the room below the hardwood floor.  Secondly, the employees at XTermite are lying again - there are exactly 15 planks of wood (not 1) that were stained by the orange oil, measuring 1' x 8' (not 4" x 5').  I will agree that our floors do not currently look as perfect as they did when first installed, but, they are not dirty!  There was no dirt for the oil to "attach to" as the company is stating to cause the stain.  The oil stained the wood, period.  It is almost black in color!  It is not "dissipating" in the least bit, as we have been living with this ugly stain since November!  Thirdly, I made no such comment to the "contractor" who came out (the one who thought rubbing alcohol would fix the issue) about not being concerned about the cost because insurance would cover it.  The woman writing the company response to me is still questionable in my mind as to her position with the company.  When trying to get help from XTermite, I was lied to by a friend of the technician's at the office who told me she was the Operations Manager, and when I questioned that, I discovered she was actually a file clerk. The woman responding to my BBB complaint is the very one that refused to pass me through to the CEO saying that she would have the same response.  I seriously doubt that a CEO of a reputable company would be OK with leaving a customer to pay for such serious damage caused by one of her technicians.  I also doubt that a CEO would be OK learning that her employees are lying to customers and impersonating management.  Again, the work required to fix this problem is not simply replacing the boards that were blackened by the oil.  We must do that as well as sand the rest of the hardwood surrounding the new planks and reseal the entire floor.  Our floorpan is an open floorpan, so the sanding and resealing must go out to the surrounding walls because there is no way to match the color of new sealant in a specific area. Please see attached photos to understand how ugly and conspicuous this stain is.  It was definitely done with very poor judgement on the technician's part and we believe the company is treating us with malice.  If the company does not right their wrong by making us whole for their gross negligence (by paying our contractor estimate for the proper way to correct this issue) , we will be forced to take this to the media so others are not damaged in a similar way.

Regards,

*** ******



Business Response: Good Afternoon Ms. *****, 


Again, Xtermite has made a good faith attempt in providing a solution to the homeowner, although Xtermite was not obligated to do so. We regret that we have been unable to resolve this matter with our customer and it has now been referred to the Better Business Bureau. At this time our decision remains the same. Please refer to our response Letter dated April 21, 2015 with Enclosures. Thank you in advance with your assistance. Please let us know should you have further questions. 

Thank you, 
****** ****** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Xtermite keeps stating that a "good faith attempt in providing a solution" has been made.  This is bogus.  They have not been reasonable or realistic in understanding what is required to correct the damage they have caused, and they have put forth lie after lie regarding the actual extent of damage they caused.  They are not taking responsibility for their actions.  We have been told by others in the industry that Xtermite was wrong to have ever entered into a contract with us in the first place due to the fact that we do not have an attic space and therefore it is impossible for them to really know where the termites are residing.  I believe this because after all of the holes Xtermite drilled into our walls throughout the house, we still have termites and their kick-outs showing up.  

Xtermite also refer to a response letter dated April 21, 2015 with enclosures.  I have no idea what they are referring to.  I am not in receipt of any letter from them dated 4/21/15.
I do not see this going anywhere if left up to Xtermite, so, as previously stated, I am sorry that this will now need to be aired to the media to protect others from future damage brought on by this company.  It appears we will also need to take legal action to be compensated for the significant cost it will take to get our house back to the way it was prior to Xtermite's damaging workmanship, dishonesty and disrespect toward their customers.  This is not how we would have liked this situation to have been resolved.

Regards,

*** ******



10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired X Termite in 2012 to perform a Termite treatment and Control. Their technician inspect the house and recommend X orange treatment in only one section of the house where he found termite using tools like Camera. Our Contract with them guarantees a free treatment within two years if Termite appears again in our house. We called them for inspection a couple of months ago since we saw a couple of Termite in the same location that was treated by X Termite. The inspector from X Termite found no sign. a few days ago, on September 5th 2014, we found a termite swarm on the same location again. We called X termite again to honor their contract and come help us. They said our contract will end within two months and they never respond or contact us again.

Desired Settlement: X Termite did not honor their contract in term of not only getting rid of Termite but also inspecting properly the house and take action before Termite swarm in same area of the house they perform Orange treatment before. They are not answering our calls to take action when we told them on 07/05/2014 that we have a Termite issue in the same location. I am requesting my money back.

Business Response:

 A Quality Control inspection has been scheduled with the customer on 9-23-14. At the time of this inspection, Xtermite Inc’s production supervisor ****** ******* will go over all the areas of concern listed by the customer and answer any questions. Any necessary treatment will be performed at no additional cost as the property is under warranty.




thank you


Xtermite, Inc

******** *********

*** *** **** * ***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business failed to properly  treat the area properly the first time and it is infected again . The business has sent one technician a week ago but he does not want to inspect the area properly. I know they are sending another representative again on Sept 23rd 2014. I am hoping this time they take care of this issue once for all.  This issue should not be closed until we are satisfied with the result.

Regards,

**** *****

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Xtermite had been to my home 7 times in 6 months treating my home with their orange oil product from July 2013 to December 2013. I refused to have them come out again to poke more holes in my wood when I could clearly see that their orange oil product was not working. I asked for a complete refund and they refused and insisted that their orange oil treatment works and said that the droppings I see are from my house shifting which is utterly ridiculous. I had ******** come out on April 3, 2014 and do a thorough termite inspection and needless to say I still have termites and the droppings are fresh. I also have a copy of the complete inspection report from ********. I want a complete refund (not a partial refund)so I can move forward and hire ******** to fumigate my home. I am a senior citizen and on a fixed income and I can't afford anything less then a complete refund.

Desired Settlement: I paid $1535.00 and I want $1535.00 refunded to me.

Business Response:

The last time we spoke with the homeowner of this property was during a Quality Control Inspection performed 10/21/2013 by our Production Manager and Inspector Supervisor ****** *******. 

At that time, *** ******* identified the droppings as old and explained to the homeowner that the infestation was no longer active. The homeowner understood and seemed pleased and satisfied by this information. The homeowner’s daughter, however, was also present for the inspection and did not agree with *** *******’s assessment. Prior to this, we had never spoken to the homeowner’s daughter and she is not listed on any of our documentation for this property.

Since this inspection, someone on behalf of this property has tried to cancel the ******** ******* payment to our company on four occasions. Each time, ******** ******* has refused on the grounds that our attempts to contact the homeowner have had no response. Because they have not responded, we have no way of verifying that the complaint and cancellation requests are coming from our customer and not from her daughter.

As we have not been out to this property since 10/21/2013 we cannot refute nor confirm the recommendations of the mentioned ******** report. We have requested a copy of this report from the State Board to facilitate further investigation and will keep the BBB apprised of our findings.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


 

****** ******* the quality control person from Xtermite did not come to my home on 10/21/2013 a regular technician who works for Xtermite came on this day and applied the orange oil treatment. This was not the last time Xtermite came to my home to treat my home with their orange oil product.

These are the dates they came to my home to apply their orange oil product:

July 24, 2013, August 8, 2013, August 27, 2013, October 21, 2013, November 15, 2013, & December 26, 2013.

****** ******* the quality control person from Xtermite treated my home on November 15, 2013 and then again on December 26, 2013 not October 21, 2013 nor was this the last time they treated my home.

The droppings are not old droppings and my house shifting is not the reason why I there are still more and more droppings. I had ******** come to my home on April 3, 2014 and do an extensive inspection and I have the report to prove that these are not old droppings and my house still has termites. The contract number for this report from ******** is ************* and inspected by ***** *****.

I am not happy with Xtermite and their orange oil product because it does not work. I want a full refund in the amount of $1535.00.

 

Regards,
**** ******



Business Response:

 The last time we treated the property in question, there was no active termite infestation. We made several service calls to the property and, although evidence suggested the droppings were a result of damage and not infestation, XT2000 Orange Oil Plus was applied to the area at the customer’s request.

 We have attempted to contact the customer several times to resolve this conflict and have received no response. ******** ******* has denied the customer’s requests to have the payment to our company cancelled because there has been no response to our attempts to resolve the issue. 

We cannot speak to another company’s inspection report, but we are looking into the matter.

 

Thank you.

 

******** *********

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Xtermite would not have treated my house over and over if there were no signs of termites. Every time they came out they inspected first and noticed I still had termites then applied the orange oil.  I do not have property damage and this is the first time I have heard this from them. Xtermite seems to come up with new excuses every time I hear from them. Xtermite said they were going to obtain a copy of the inspection report from the state and not from the company itself. They already know that a termite company will not give the report to them they have to go through the state.  Why hasn't Xtermite obtained this inspection report? It has been several weeks now and this is just another unbelievable excuse that they seem to think is acceptable.
Also, they have never tried to contact me in anyway either by phone or by mail. I have a message machine which they could have left messages if I wasn't home for some reason, but I have NEVER received any calls from them in all this time.  I want a full refund because the orange oil does not work for termites.

P.S. I am having ******** e-mail the inspection report to Xtermite since they do not do what they say they are going to do. This report will in fact prove that I still have termites and this way there will be no more excuses  I will also be sending Xtermite a copy of the inspection report from ******** by mail and whoever receives the mail for Xtermite will have to sign for it so they cannot come back and say they never received it.

**** ******

Business Response:

Date: 05/21/2014

Re: Let this document serve as a response to the ******** report issued on 4-3-2014. Property described in report is *** ********* ***** ***** ***** *** *****. The report states that there is evidence of visual Dry-Wood Termite infestation at/in the following areas.  Attic, Fascia and garage. As said before in previous documented conversation, Dry-Wood termite fecal matter dose not necessarily mean that there is active termite activity in that area... however our warranty covers any necessary inspection and treatments if needed. Best thing to have done is for me to come out with the ******** report in hand to make sure the areas are alive or not. To many times termite companies have said that old termite evidence is active so we need to be concern.

Please reach out at you earliest convenience to set up a time for Q.C inspection      

Field Operations Manager:

****** *******

Xtermite, Inc

*** *** **** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Quality Control Manger ****** ******* has been to my home twice, once in November 2013 and once in December 2013. Both times he inspected and then treated my home with the orange oil product.

Every month my home was inspected by Xtermite from June - December 2013 and then treated with their orange oil product. Coming out again to do exactly the same thing they have done before will not make the product work and they will find active termites just as they have each and every time they have been to my home.

I have written documentation from ******** that I still have active termites. ******** is a reputable company and have been in business since 1927. There is absolutely no reason for them to write false statements. 

It is now time for Xtermite to refund me my money. No more inspections, no more treatments and no more excuses from Xtermite. Just refund me money in full.

P.S. Two inspection reports from ******** were sent to Xtermite documenting I still have active termites. One copy was e-mailed by *** a manager at ******** and the other was sent by registered mail and received/signed by **** ****** at Xtermite. They were both addressed to ******** ********* and both were received on May 15, 2014.

Regards,

**** ******

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, , and find that arbitration is necessary. 

Regards,

**** ******

6/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a THREE year contract of termite inspection and treatment services.. this cost me $2100.. this company will NOT call us to schedule the annual inspection.. we have to call them.. so when I called them at the number on my initial inspection report (conducted in July 2012) they could not FIND any evidence or copy of me even being a customer. I spoke with **** on at least three occasions as well as traded emails.. finally after almost a year of Xtermite denying me or doubting me they met my request to have my annual inspection scheduled.. the inspector came to inspect two months ago for my SECOND paid for inspection.. now on June 9th I receive a letter saying my contract will be expiring on 6 July 2014 and they want me to go onto the annual plan of paying $350/mo .. I called and asked what about the whole year I missed? How are you going to credit me for that? I paid for services I did not receive.. they are a PREDATORY contracting company. I resent the way I was treated and how they conveniently say "well we are not associated with customer service" BUT that is who you have to contact to schedule your service.. how can they get away with this??

Desired Settlement: I desire them to refund me ONE YEAR worth of service that they never provided.. This equates to $700. I want a phone call apologizing for the way they treat customers who pay good hard earned money and are treated like dirt. I want them to conduct a performance review on ******** (Director of their Billing) and I want it included in her performance review she received a formal complaint and to hold her accountable for YOUR company's ethical behavior.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* is correct that he paid for a three year contract. The expiration notice he received was sent to him in error, and we apologize for the mistake. We would like to offer Mr. ******* an extra annual inspection, in addition to the one he is entitled to under his contract, to make up for the error. If he would like to schedule the inspections available to him, he is welcome to call our customer service department. It is Xtermite, Inc’s policy that it is our customers’ responsibility to schedule their own appointments.

 

Aside from the expiration notice, we cannot verify Mr. *******’s complaint. As his account information is in our computer system and his file is easily accessible, there is no reason for the situation he describes. Our company emails are monitored and stored, and there is no record of any correspondence between him and Brad.

 

We do take full responsibility for the erroneous expiration notice he received, and we hope Mr. ******* takes advantage of the extra inspection we are offering him.

 

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: April 14, 2014, I contacted Xtermite to schedule our "FREE ANNUAL INSPECTION & SERVICE" (retreat), because we discovered termites in our garage area. An appointment was set for 4-28-14, Noon to 2:00pm. My mother died at 10:00am the morning of 4-28-14. I called Xtermite to see if I could reschedule the appointment, on April 28, 2014, 11:00am. We discussed the expiration date of the warranty and **** (I believe) said they could work around the warranty problem because the first available in our area was 5-23-14. The day before the appointment (5-22-14) Xtermite (**** again (619) 542-8582) calls to advise we will have to pay another $350.00, because the warranty ran out on 5-5-14. WOW! I just want what I already paid for. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of my $350.00 paid in May 2013. My contract was from 5-5-13 to 5-5-14. OR "FINISH THE JOB" as described in our Xtermite warranty.

Business Response:

When Mrs. **** called Xtermite, Inc. on 4/28/14, she spoke with ****, who rescheduled the appointment for 5/23/14.

The customer did not mention that the warranty would be expiring on 05/05/2014, and there were no arrangements made to take that into consideration. As soon as Xtermite realized that the property was not under warranty, the operations director called the customer to let them know that the renewal fee would need to be processed before we could legally treat their property.

Because of Mrs. ****'s circumstances (family loss) , Xtermite is willing to extend the customer’s warranty for two months at no additional charge. The customer has been scheduled to receive their annual inspection on 7-1-14 and the warranty will expire on 07/05/2014.

 

We value Mrs. **** as a customer and we hope that this result is satisfactory.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. Some of the FACTS need to be corrected. My Husband *****, called XTermite and made the (new)appointment with ****. I called early on 4-28-14 to ask if the appointment could be delayed due to my Mother's sudden death the morning of 4-28-14. I absolutely discussed the expiration of the warranty with ****...her reply: "We can work around it".  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ****is

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: XTermite applicator broke a exterior light fixture and broke the electrical junction box under the light fixture. They forced the light fixture into the electrical box with sufficient force to break the internal structure of the box. They also failed to fill the holes drilled to apply the termite treatment nor did they attempt to fix the wood molding around the front door that they damaged. When I called the company the Supervisor denied the whole thing and alleged that the light fixture was hanging by its wires when they began their work. They did not note this to Mrs. ******** who was home during the treatment procedure. The supervisor claimed that he had personally done the work in the area of the problem and that the damage occurred before they got the job. This fixture is in a prominent location next to the front door and the damage would have been seen if it occurred in the past.

Desired Settlement: Fix the fixture. The damage to the electrical box will require removing it from within the wall. This will require electrical and stucco work. The damage has been reviewed by our son who is a licensed general contractor. He is willing to do the repair but we are also willing to let another properly licensed person do the work. I do not think the owner of the company knows of this issue and suspect that it has been concealed from her.

Business Response:

 

In response to Mr. ********’s concern, a quality control inspection led by both Xtermite, Inc’s Production Supervisor ****** ******* and Operations Manager ******** ******* has been scheduled at Mr. ********’s property for 3/28/14 at 9-11am in order to survey the area in question.



Thank you.


******** *********

Operations Manager

Xtermite, Inc.

*** *** **** * *** 

Consumer Response:

BBB

The above referenced complaint ID ******* has been settled to my satisfaction.  It is my expectation that the two year service warranty against dry wood termite infestation in the property treated remains in force.

***** ******** ***************** ************

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to share my dissatisfaction with Xtermite. I hired this company 2 years ago only because I have 4 dogs and a terminally ill sister that tenting was not an option at the time. From the beginning, things were not done right. The person who came to inspect my house told me that his crew can work around other services that were occurring at that same time. Just to make things clear, the bottom floor of my house has flooded and there were men doing different things. I'm not an expert but it only makes sense that you should treat the termite areas while the wood is exposed and then let the other men do their restoration but that is NOT what happened. When the restoration guys were done w/the work(putting drywall and painting),the termite crew start drilling holes in the same wall and patched it w/white stuff. I had chosen a mauve color to paint the wall and I had to ask the other men to repaint it due to again someone not paying attention to detail. By the way,I was informed that the agent this company uses is going to smell like oranges and after every treatment, the odor in my house was unbearable and caused me migraines which resulted in me missing work. The odor bags had a minimal effect. I've had 3 inspections & several repeated infestations in the same areas and the problem was NOT resolved. This company's employees have continually misinformed me and given me empty promises. Also, the customer service is poor. The office manager kept telling me that she would call and she wouldn't(unprofessional). Moreover, the customer service guy was rude and not accommodating to my needs. I had to be late to work several times just to go around their schedule when it should be the other way around. For the last year they have tried to address swarming termites in same areas and to no avail. It is disgusting for me to awake to finding bunch of termites flying around in my kitchen, bedroom, bathroom and living room. Top it off,the drama after every treatment of cleaning & hiring someone to paint.

Desired Settlement: I am tired of giving this company sooooo many chances to prove to me that their product works and it doesn't. I want my money back so I can move forward and hire a company that can get rid of the problem. Time is urgent and I need this problem corrected before it causes more costly damages then I will ask for more money to address these issues and pain/suffering. Thank you

Business Response: I CONTACT MRS. ****** ***** ON 10/14/2013, 

XTERMITE INC, WAS ABLE TO RESOLVED THE ISSUE AT MRS. ***** SATISFACTION.
 

Consumer Response:

I would like to let you know my final thoughts toward the complaint I had w/ XTermite.  I have been sick for 3 weeks with the flu and I apologize for not responding sooner. I spoke w/ a representative from BBB this morning and he told me that my case is closed but I can email you so you can reopen. I just would like to clarify that I wanted to get my full refund or even $1000 out of the $1500 that I paid but the manager I was speaking with regarding the resolution said that will never happen and the best she can do is half which is $750. I settled because I want this to be over with and move forward to hire another company to do the work but I'm not really happy with the outcome. I would like if you can write on my complaint that I would not recommend this company to anyone first because the agent they use is ineffective and second because they don't know how to satisfy their customer. If you have any questions, please let me know

Thank you

****** *****

6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I pay them annually to maintain my home.It turned out my home was not maintained by them in 2011. I called last June 2012 & advised them that termites were eating my attic and i hired someone cause they are difficult to deal with service wise. They took my annual payment and scheduled my "annual inspection" for September 2012 to take care of this. They came in Sept and showed me how the inspection done in 2011 resulted in serious overights in the attic. This required them to send out groups of people including supervisors to treat my home repeatedly and to apologize. They are the only ones that use orange oil otherwise i would take stronger measures to resolve this. Needless to say, i pay each year and now have to pay tons of money to fix damaged wood due to their inspector's negligence. The fact they didnt respond faster in June gives you an idea of how they treat people.It is too overwhelming for me to read their reports. I had my home under control until now. They are lucky i am being reasonable right now.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting they extend my annual contract to a reasonable time. It took me 3 months to get help but i lost one whole year of paying for nothing

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****