BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

1st Choice Pest Management Co

Phone: (760) 630-7178 Fax: (760) 630-7120 1035 E Vista Way #268, Vista, CA 92084 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.1stchoicepestmanagement.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service termite inspection, treatment and construction repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1st Choice Pest Management Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1st Choice Pest Management Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 1st Choice Pest Management Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 29, 2000 Business started: 11/29/2000 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 5690.

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 10920.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Charlene H Francolino, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Charlene H Francolino, Vice President
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Termite Control Pest Control Services

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, Cash and Check
Service Area
Serving San Diego & Riverside Counties
Alternate Business Names
Charles G Rojas Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1035 E Vista Way #268

    Vista, CA 92084 (760) 630-7178

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was hired by ****** ****** previous owner of the mobile home 7/17/2013 to treat the structure for termites and to rebuild damaged stairs and floors. I had purchased ******* ******* ******** paint to paint the house post treatment and it was on the property. I was informed by my painter that 1st choice employee *** told her that he would use whatever paint he found to paint their repair work. I was upset about this and called ****** (employee) that no they would not use my paint and provide their own primer. I was also told that I was not allowed on the property untill they finished the work, so I was unable to pick up my paint. When I was allowed on the property post treatment, I found over 1/2 gallon used and the work done was not finished and the stairs were NOT replaced with comparable stairs. The original stairs had 2x4's on the steps, 1st choice just used cheap materials and did a sloppy job of painting this work. They also missed the carport side of the house which had termite damage to wood and debris under the house. I contacted them over 40 times to have them come and do the work properly and reimburse me for the paint they stole. Since that point they did come back for a meeting and ******** agreed the stairs were not finished properly and she would have the carport damage replaced with new wood and debris removed AND pay to have the paint replaced. *** came back and only repainted the steps he didn't rebuild them with 2X4'S. *** further enclosed the area behind the steps which would now cause the water to pool there and rot out the steps, and potentially cause mold with time. ******** told me they mailed a check to me, which of course is a lie, since it never arrived here. I have contacted her at least 20 times since then by phone and email only to be told, she is in a meeting, she is not in, we will give her your message and she never calls back nor responds to emails.

Desired Settlement: I want either money order or cash payment for the paint of $75 plus $50 to have the stairs repaired so that water will not pool and rot out the wood on the stairs and cause mold to grow under the house due to standing water. I want this matter resolved within 2 weeks as it has been dragging on since August 1st.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:                                                                                                                                  

The property located at:  *** *** ****** ***** ** **** *** ******* **  ***** was originally called into us by the seller’s agent, his name was Mr.  **** ***** with the **** Real Estate Company. The owner at that time had already vacated the property.  The mobile home was in the escrow arena.  We were hired by the seller/agent to inspect the property for a legal termite inspection.  When our inspector originally inspected the property, the buyer Ms. ******** and her handy person were there.  They were not authorized to be on the property at that time.  They harassed our inspector (******** **********) continually interrupting him as he was trying to complete his inspection.  Both Ms ******** and her handy person (****) would not leave the property.  He asked them to let him finish his inspection. Then they could ask him any questions. They declined to leave the residence and let him finish.  

Our office called the Realtor to let him know they were on the property and he stated that they were not legally authorized to be there.  We also called the owner who had already moved out of state (Ms ****** ******) she also indicated that she did not give permission for anyone to be there. The handy person (****) told us that the seller had allowed her to be there.  As you know BBB, our type of business has complete liability when we are at the properties whether they are vacant or occupied.  Because the property had not legally closed escrow we were the only company that was authorized to be there.  

Our original termite report had been accepted by the seller/agent, we were authorized to correct the findings/damages and provided the structural clearance for escrow purposes. The days that we were there to complete our work, the buyer and her handy person (not a licensed contractor) continually harassed our licensed technicians.  *****'s handy person told us to use the paint she had provided because it matched what she was doing.  There were continual conflicts while we were trying to complete our work.

Mr. **** ***** (agent) warned us in the beginning the Ms ******** was very difficult.  He had another word for that.   I, my office manager ******, and two of our inspectors had a meeting with her to clear up any problems that she continued to have with our company.  We were there on August 08/28/13.  We issued our **** ********** ***** * ********* ********** ****** on 08/29/13.  See all attached reports with all additional work we performed at no additional charge.  We had two of our licensed technicians there for 8 hours to complete the work that is in our report, Report # ******.  Again, these findings in our limited report were all agreed from our appointment with the customer on above date. Her handy person at that time, told her at the meeting that we told our techs that they could use the paint.  Normally, in our contract with escrow/homeowners we always ask if there is paint to match in their garage or sometimes they supply the paint.  Otherwise we prime all new wood.

She talks about the back stairs on her mobile home.  Before we were authorized to perform work by the agent/seller of the residence, the new potential buyer and **** started to work on the residence before escrow closed. Her handy person took and detached the stairs before we even started our work and threw them at the back of the mobile home.  I will forward you pictures of that as well.  We indicated that the stairs were part of our original inspection and they should have never been removed.  We then had to put back together the stairs and complete the work with twice as much time and materials, at of course no charge to the new owner.  At our meeting she agreed that the stairs would be attached as they were originally.  When we do our reports for escrow purposes we legally must repair/replace the areas that were on reports. As indicated on our report dated 08/28/13 we did do the work that was named in that report.  We do not use any 2nd grade material (cheap) wood on our jobs.  We purchase all our lumber form authorized lumber yards. 

Our office staff and I have spent many hours and time with the phone and email with Ms ********.  We are contracted on a daily basis to complete work of multi million plus homes and never have had so many issues! I will be forwarding you all our email correspondence and pictures for your review. Also, I have an invoice and spoke with a ******* ******** Paint employee.  The paint she is referring to cost was $64.79.  I spoke with ***** on 10/04/13.  I have an invoice copy I will forward as well.

I truly hope we can put this client to rest.  We strive to do our best for all customer service needs.  We are recognized by many professionals in our industry and continually have referral business.  Again, we will forward you any further correspondence upon request. Please don’t hesitate to call for any further questions or concerns.

 

Sincerely,

 

******** **********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am really astounded by the blatant fabrications ******** has made in her statement to you

********* * I was not informed I was not allowed to be on the property until a few days after meeting I assume a relative of ********’s by his last name being **********.

I did not harass Jonathan, I asked him 3 questions, at NO time did he inform me I wasn't allowed to be on the property, nor did he ask me to leave.

 

“They harassed our inspector (******** **********) continually interrupting him as he was trying to complete his inspection.  Both Ms ******** and her handy person (****) would not leave the property.  He asked them to let him finish his inspection. Then they could ask him any questions. They declined to leave the residence and let him finish. “

 

I got a very rude voice mail l from ******** a few days later telling me to keep off the property.  I called their office spoke to ****** and told her that I had expensive paint on the property for the house repainting, and since I was not allowed to go on the property to retrieve it, was concerned that **** would use it to paint the house. She assured me this wouldn't happen. Which of course it did.

 

********* * ****** was hired by Ms ****** ****** to do various tasks to repair the home for sale. 

 

********* * ****** did NOT tell them to use the paint, I purchased the paint myself and DID NOT at any time authorizes them to use the paint. ****** came by once to speak to **** regarding what he planned to do and to find out when she would be able to paint the house. At no time did I ever meet with the employees or harass them. I live in *********, work in ********, and was in the process of getting ready to move. I had no time to come by “continuously” to “harass the employee’s” and since I was ordered by ******** to keep off the property, I did.

 

********* * 1st choice issued a signed completion of work dated 7/292013 This was not the case!

 I sent ******** pictures that the work she assured me was complete, in fact wasn’t completed. There was still debris in *** and there was termite damaged wood in **** that wasn't replaced. See attached email copy from Aug.26, 2013

In the attached email (exerpt below) from ******** dated Aug 20 she admits to substandard work and that she would reimburse the stolen paint. She also admits her employee trespassed on my property, without my permission.

I am getting back to you this morning on several issues.  I had one of the field supervisors who was in the mobile home park yesterday go by and look at the steps.  I am extremely unhappy with the pictures he brought back to me!

 

I must apologize at the final work they performed.   The completion of the steps are unacceptable with this firm.  With your permission I would like to send back our supervisor.  He will complete the work that is to be performed by this company in a

superior manner. 

While he is at the property I will have him address the paint issue and we will reimburse you for any paint that we are responsible for. 

 

Again, I am sorry for all and any inconvenience  this has caused you. 

Thank you for your patience in this matter!”

 

At no time at the face to face meeting did ****** tell ******** that it was ok to use my paint. In fact the reason ******** gave for not reimbursing me at the time despite what she said in the email was because she didn't have the receipts her bookkeeper required. Then later ******** claimed not be be able to figure out what a gallon of the paint cost from the invoice? She assured me a check would be issued that Friday and of course it wasn't.

 

Email from her 9/16 states

“Our scheduled appointment is for Monday 09/23/13.  We
will be at your property between 8:30 & 9:00 AM. 
We will finalize our work at that time.

When my bookkeeper comes in on Wednesday I will have her get
a check ready and mail it.

Thank you for your patience in this matter.

Regards,

********”
********* * the stairs were not originally attached to the house. ****** pulled them away to pressure wash the house and they were so rotted out, they collapsed. She then pulled them away from the house for safety reasons. In the invoice to the former owner 1st choice charged for and collected money to replace the stairs. The original stairs had a frame and 2x4's on the tread as shown in the picture, the stairs 1st choice built were made of plywood alone.

 

********* * yes I am also attaching some of the emails I sent them. I was perplexed as to why this company refused to make things right and keep their word? I called them to speak to ******** and she was always, not in, away from her desk, on another call and wouldn't return the phone calls.

 

If ******** would have paid for the paint as she promised AND after my email and phone call plus asking **** the day he came to complete the work to NOT seal the stairs in such a fashion it is almost impossible for me to put a French drain behind it, I wouldn't have had to attempt to try to get them to make this issue right. I think that he purposely did so in order to cause trouble for me?

My invoice from ******* ******** has the price for 1 gallon of emerald extra paint at $71.99 with an eco fee of $1.60 I am not sure where she got her figures for $64.79?

 

********* *- Regarding them striving to do the best for their customers’ needs, they certainly treated me horribly, a neighbors of mine also were in a similar situation in which they purchased a home from an owner that moved out of state. 1st choice was difficult in getting around to doing the work they were paid for and when the new owner asked to see the report of what **** did, he smirked and said, “that information will go to the people who are suppose to get it.”

 

I will attach pictures of the stairs before and after, debris under house taken Sept 10th, the paint and hopefully your help will be instrumental in getting a refund for their theft and damages.



Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

 
I am so very busy with the end of the year deadlines.  I am sorry in the delay with this 2nd response.
 
As referred in my first response,  we submitted a 2nd report with her complaints regarding the debris, steps & some additional wood siding that we missed on our first report.  At no charge of course.
 
We completed that work 09/23/13.  I will attach the "Notice of Work Completed".  My understanding thus far is that  Ms ******** would like her $71.99 refunded.
If this amount is agreed upon, this company will send her the check.
 
Thank you for your patience in this matter.
 
The completion notice will be attached on a separate email.
 
 
Best Regards,
 
********
*********/1st Choice Pest Management

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

Regarding the response from ******** below:

"My understanding thus far is that  Ms ******** would like her $71.99 refunded.

If this amount is agreed upon, this company will send her the check."
 
 
I will wait 1 WEEK ( Dec. 23) for the business 1st choice,  to perform this action of sending the check for $71.99,  and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.
 
 
Regards,

***** ********

Consumer Response: I agreed to settle on Dec. 16th. provided they send a check to me within a week. 

I’ve found out in the past dealings with her, ******** doesn’t keep her word regarding “sending the check” despite promising to do so.

I sent copies of emails in which ******** admitted her employee’s  did shoddy work on the stairs and owed this money to me for the paint they stole.

In the emails, and when we met in person, ******** promised to send a check weeks prior to my lodging the complaint with you.


When this didn’t occur, I  had called her and emailed her repeatedly to try to find out when she would do so? , She didn’t return phone calls and was always “not available” to let me know when this would actually occur. I felt my only recourse was to see if you would help me.

Since they have been very tardy in responding to the complaint started Oct. 4th, and not fulfilled their part of the agreement in sending the check to me in 7 days, what are the steps you would be able to take on my behalf at this time?

It only takes 1-2 days for mail to arrive from Vista to *** ****** Ca.

I truly believe they have no intention of completing their part of the bargain they made. If this is the case shouldn’t they be penalized?


Kind regards,

***** ********

Business Response: Hi *****,

 
Sorry we didn't get back with you right away.  I had  a close family death in this new year. :(
I will be issuing the client ****** a check tomorrow.  It will also me mailed tomorrow.  I will forward you a copy of the money order, or cashiers check.
Just a word of information.  We never steal.  That word I find so harsh!  I'm sure you understand.
 
Thank you for your attention in this matter.
 
Best Regards,
 
********
1st Choice Pest Management

Consumer Response:

********,

According to your email Jan 17, 2014 you promised the BBB  that you mailed the check to me?

When do you actually intend to mail the money order or check to me. The correct spelling is below as well as the address.

***** ********
*** ** ****** ***** ** **** ****
*** ****** * ** *****


Dear ***** ******** :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 10/4/2013 2:21:56 PM against 1st Choice Pest Management Co.  Your complaint was assigned ID *******.

We have been advised that the above named company has responded to your recent correspondence. The details are outlined below.

The Better Business Bureau acts as an impartial third party that seeks to assist consumers and businesses in resolving disputes outside the formal legal system at no cost to either party.  As a private, non-profit organization, we have no legal authority to compel any company to respond or offer a specific adjustment. 

Please be advised that this company is pre-committed to mediation and/or arbitration through the BBB.  If you wish to pursue this further, please respond to this letter with a copy of your invoice, contract, receipt, and/or any other applicable documentation within 7 days.  Please note we are unable to proceed without your documentation.   

If we do not hear from you we will assume the dispute has been resolved and we will close the complaint. 

Sincerely,

***** *****
The Better Business Bureau

COMPANY MESSAGE

Hi *****,

Sorry we didn't get back with you right away.  I had  a close family death in this new year. :(
I will be issuing the client ****** a check tomorrow.  It will also me mailed tomorrow.  I will forward you a copy of the money order, or cashiers check.
Just a word of information.  We never steal.  That word I find so harsh!  I'm sure you understand.

Thank you for your attention in this matter.

Best Regards,

********
1st Choice Pest Management


***** ********
*** ** ****** ***** ** **** ****
*** ****** * ** *****


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ******** 

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

 
I have just returned to my office today.  I had a very immediate family member pass.   We had a cashiers check sent to the above owner on 01/31/14.
 
I will check with the bank to see if anything has cleared yet.  Not sure why she has not received  it yet.  Do you know if she has received since this email?
 
Please let me know.  If we need to, I will have someone deliver it to her property tomorrow morning.
 
Thank you,
 
********
1st Choice Pest Management Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .*******, , and find that arbitration is necessary. 

I was given to understand that ******** had made an offer and agreed to their wrongful actions and agreed send me a check for my paint they had stolen?

 ******** assured your office in the last response from her, that she would inform you of when that check would be sent? I got a call from ***** today asking me if I received the check that ******** said  she  mailed to me on January 31th, to which I replied I hadn't.  It is now Feb.12 and no check has been sent nor received.  A letter from Vista would take 1-2 days in which to arrive to *** ******.

I sent ******** an email January 24th 2014 to remind her of her promise and the correct spelling of my name and address.

 There was no response.

 (A copy of the email is below.)

It is 7 months since this incident has occured. I would have thought  ******** would like this problem to be resolved instead of wasting more of everyones time. I don't understand why she won't the right thing and pay me for what her employee's have done wrong?

For ********'s   the definition to "steal": take (another person's property) without permission or legal right and without intending to return it.

******** had forbidden to come onto the property to retrieve my ******* ******* ********* *****, even though  I informed ******, that their employee told ****** he would use whatever paint he found to paint the stairs. ****** (1st choice) assured me that I had nothing to worry about, that they always supply their own paint. When I was finally allowed to come onto the property I found this to be a lie.

Regards,

***** ********

 ********,

According to your email Jan 17, 2014 you promised the BBB  that you mailed the check to me?

When do you actually intend to mail the money order or check to me. The correct spelling is below as well as the address.


***** ********
*** ** ****** ***** ** **** ****
*** ****** , ** *****


Dear ***** ******** :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 10/4/2013 2:21:56 PM against 1st Choice Pest Management Co.  Your complaint was assigned ID *******.

We have been advised that the above named company has responded to your recent correspondence. The details are outlined below.

The Better Business Bureau acts as an impartial third party that seeks to assist consumers and businesses in resolving disputes outside the formal legal system at no cost to either party.  As a private, non-profit organization, we have no legal authority to compel any company to respond or offer a specific adjustment. 

Please be advised that this company is pre-committed to mediation and/or arbitration through the BBB.  If you wish to pursue this further, please respond to this letter with a copy of your invoice, contract, receipt, and/or any other applicable documentation within 7 days.  Please note we are unable to proceed without your documentation.   

If we do not hear from you we will assume the dispute has been resolved and we will close the complaint. 

Sincerely,

***** *****
The Better Business Bureau

COMPANY MESSAGE

Hi *****,

Sorry we didn't get back with you right away.  I had  a close family death in this new year. :(
I will be issuing the client ****** a check tomorrow.  It will also me mailed tomorrow.  I will forward you a copy of the money order, or cashiers check.
Just a word of information.  We never steal.  That word I find so harsh!  I'm sure you understand.

Thank you for your attention in this matter.

Best Regards,

********
1st Choice Pest Management