Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

We Settle Taxes

Phone: (714) 426-2206 Fax: (714) 780-1373 14511 Franklin Ave #200, Tustin, CA 92780

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers tax settlement services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that We Settle Taxes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for We Settle Taxes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on We Settle Taxes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 06/13/2009 in CA Business incorporated 06/18/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
JFK Federal Building, P.O. Box 9112 7th Floor, Boston MA 02203
The number is 103567.

State Bar of California
845 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles CA 90017
Phone Number: (213) 765-1000
The number is 250058.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Alton Harding, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alton Harding, Owner
Related Businesses
Wall Street Mortgage Group
Number of Employees


Business Category

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Taxes - Negotiators

Alternate Business Names
The Tax Resolution Specialists Inc

Additional Locations

  • 14511 Franklin Ave #200

    Tustin, CA 92780 (714) 426-2206


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired We Settle Taxes in late 2009 to reduce our tax liability for Tax Year 2008, which was $22,077. Their fee was $2,700. We had just set-up installment payment to the IRS when we hired this company. They told us to set installment payments low until settlement is reached. We started working with one of their accountant, providing an extensive amount of initial start-up data. Over the next 5 years, they transferred our case to another 6 different accountants, all starting from scratch & requesting the initial start-up data. Over this 5 years we accumulated $9,000 in interest & penalties. Over the same 5 years not one of these accountants approached the IRS about a settlement. One of these accountant told us she was going to revised our 2008 return to lower our taxes. Her "revised" return resulted in an additional $2,000 tax for us. Their incompetence resulted in addition tax of $2,000 & because of their excessive delays in providing services for which we paid them, we owe $9,000 in interest & penalties. Also, because of all the delays, we were denied any settlement offers or abatements by the IRS because in 2013 I started collecting my Social Security, which resulted in excess income. We did not get this denial letter from the IRS until April, 2015, 6 years after we hired them.. This company not only increased our taxes by $2,000, but their delays in providing service resulted in us not receiving a settlement with the IRS.

Desired Settlement: I feel they owe us their initial fee of $2,700 because they did not provide services they promised. Also, I feel they owe us the additional tax of $2,000, which was due to filing that revised return. The IRS had already audited the return, & these accountants can't be using creative accounting to try to lower taxes

Business Response:

On November 2009 Mr. and Mrs. ****** contacted We Settle Taxes to assist them with their IRS tax affairs. Mr. and Mrs. ****** were under foreclosure and desperately needed help avoiding collection activity from the IRS. After our EA contacted the IRS, we were able to set up a very low monthly installment agreement to avoid collection activity.

WST requested financial information required for an Offer in Compromise. During this process they were instructed to make monthly payments to the IRS to avoid collection activity. Unfortunately, Mr. and Mrs. ****** did not make these payments and levies were issued. Fortunately, we were able to avoid any monies to be taken by assuring they would make  their monthly payments to the IRS.


After avoiding this enforced collection activity, WST made numerous requests for financial information for an offer analysis. Mr. and Mrs. ****** failed to provide complete information. Their procrastination lead to enormous delays in submitting an offer to the IRS. After finally receiving all required documents, WST submitted an offer to the IRS. Unfortunately, it was rejected due to omissions. The IRS Offer Examiner found assets owned by Mr. and Mrs. ******'s that were not disclosed to WST. Furthermore, the examiner found additional income that was also not disclosed to WST.


We regret that they felt compelled to submit a complaint but WST provided as much resolution possible with the vague information provided from Mr. and Mrs. ******. We can only ask  and expect that our clients are honest about their financial information so that we can provide the maximum resolution.

Consumer Response:

Dear BBB,
I have read the response by We Settle Taxes & it has taken me a couple of days to compose myself & respond to their inaccurate account of their services.
We talked to J*** when we hired WST to reach a settlement with the IRS in November, 2009.  We hired WST because they advertised 70% off tax debt, they get rid of tax liens & stop all garnishments.  At that time our tax debt was $23,077 for Tax Year 2008.  We had already set up monthly installments payments with the IRS of $405, which we were paying.  All we wanted was for them to get us some kind of tax settlement.  **** told us he would put his best man on this case.
Soon after that we got a call from the IRS asking if ***** ***** from WST was authorized to work on our case.  That's the last time we had any contact with ***** *****.
After we made several calls to WST, we found out ***** would be working on our case.  We express the priority of her working to get us some kind of settlement with the IRS on our tax debt. She told us she would set up low monthly payments with the IRS.  We informed her this was not necessary because we already had monthly payments set up with the IRS.  She told us that's not how she works.  She would first work on getting our monthly payments lowered.  She also told us that we should keep are tax payment as low as possible until we get a settlement.
The IRS did start garnishment in Aug. 2010, after we missed a payment.  That's when ***** finally got around to getting our monthly payments lowered to $389, $15 less than what was already scheduled.  This was in November, 2010, 1 year after we hired WST.  We paid this $389 on time for the next 3 years, while dealing with WST & trying to get some kind of settlement agreement.

During this time, ***** did send us our first of many Income/Expense packets.  This is the info they needed for a proposed settlement to the IRS.  We provided all income & expense along with supporting documents, such as paycheck stubs, bank statements, bill payment voucher & receipts.  Everything that was requested.  The only thing that WST every asked for in addition to what we provided was Life Insurance info.  It was not asked for in packet, but the IRS did not allow an expense for payments on Term Life Insurance.  This packet info was given to WST early 2010.  I assume ***** was spending all her time during the year  trying to get our tax payments lowered because she called me late 2010 & told us we would have to send her an updated packet because the original data was too old.   She never told us we were missing data or that any of the info we provided was not correct.  We sent a new packet to ***** early 2011 and never heard back from *****.

We kept calling *****, but she never called us back.  Finally, ******* answered *****'s phone and informed us that she would now be working on our case.  She also informed us we would have to start over, providing her with a new Income/Expense packet.  We did, but ******* never seem concerned about using this info to get us to a settlement.  She was just interested in revising our 2008 tax return.  She told us she could save us a large amount of original debt by revising our return.  All we wanted this whole time was someone to work up a settlement with the IRS.  To this point we had provided 4 Income/Expense packets.  No one at WST had ever call asking for additional info or told us there were omissions in the data we provided.

Now this is where it really gets interesting,

After not hearing from ******* for several months, we kept calling & finally *** answered the phone.  He informed us that ******* was on maternity leave & he was handling her cases.  This was a problem for us because no one at WST ever informed us when they moved our case to all these different agents.  ******* never told us she was going on leave & *** would be taking over.  Every time our case moved to a different agent, we found out by calling them.  It took several calls every time because no one at WST answers their phone or returns messages.

Getting back to ***, our 4th new agent.  He had no interest in helping us & really didn't know anything about our case.  As usual, he requested a new packet be sent to him.  Wasn't there a file with our latest info?  There wasn't much contact with ***.  We provided a new packet & never heard back from him.

This all happened in 2012.  But the best part is when my husband call the IRS payment center to change his account number.  The IRS asked him if he knew our tax owed had increased by $2,000.  We found out on our own that this increase was due to a revised return filed by ******* before she went on maternity leave.  Talk about omissions, to this day no one at WST has ever admitted they we responsible for increasing our taxes by $2,000.

After we learned of this increase in our tax liability, my husband found a way to get onto WST website and started posting this info.  That's when ******* called us & told us we were in the "closed" file.  I wonder why?  After being passed from agent to agent, they were expecting us to just call it quits.  Little did they know I'm not a quitter.  I wasn't going to let them off the hook after the constant delays on their part.  They had increased our taxes by $2,000.  I paid them to for a settlement & to this point (3 years) we didn't even have a propose settlement offer.

******* took over our case (5TH Agent)

In April, 2012 I had a stroke.  Because of this, I took early Social Security in August, 2012 at the age of 62.  So by the time ******* took over our income increased.

For the first 4 years after we hired WST, my husband's (Truck Driver) annual income remained the same (Tax years 2009, 2010,2011 & 2012). The packet info changed each time because we only provided 3 months of paycheck stubs. He's checks would change weekly based on trips, mileage & down time, so sometimes these packets showed income greater than what the annual W2 reported.  This was my issue with WST.  I always felt they did not take this into account when reporting income.

We work with ******* to get a proposed settlement with the IRS.  We would fax data to her & then call to tell her we had sent this data.  She would call us back 2 weeks later, telling us she did not get the data she requested.  These types of delays forced me to start calling her daily, leaving several messages until she called me back.  With a little pushing on our part & several calls for updates, ******* was able to get a Offer of Compromise to the IRS in August, 2013 using another Income/Expense packet we provided her.  The same kind of data we had provided to all the other agents working on our case.  4 years after we hired WTS to work on a settlement with the IRS.

The offer was rejected by the IRS in March, 2014.  The letter said, base on the info provided, we had too much income to warrant the proposed settlement.  Going through the data in the letter, we had over $2,000 additional income each month, which was their reason for rejection.  I studied these numbers & determined that my husband income per month was overstated by $1,500.  As stated before, a 3 month based income did not reflect his annual salary.  Based on the his income in the letter, his annual salary would have been $20,000 more, which wasn't the case.  I put a packet together with W2 data and faxed it to *******.  I also kept calling her, leaving her several messages about the info I faxed to her.  She had 2 weeks to file an appeal with this data I provided her, but she did nothing.  ******* never answered her phone.  She wasn't prompt in returning your calls either.  Most of the time, if she returned your calls at all, it took a couple of weeks.  

She did file a Penalty & Interest Abatement.  After 5 years of delays & incompetence on WST part, our total interest & penalties was almost $10,000.  This too was denied by the IRS.

Sorry that this account of events is so long, but I wanted you to understand exactly what type of problems we had with WTS.  That's the reason I filed this complaint.  I wouldn't want anyone else to go through what we had to during this process.

As for WST response to my complaint, how dare they try to turn this around on us.  We had no reason to delay this process since we were the ones accumulating interest & penalties on our debt.   We were honest on all info provided to them, with all backup documents.  Their were no omissions of data on our part & if they needed more data, all they needed to do was ask. 

We are willing to provided you with any documents we have available to support our above account of events.  My husband will even go to our local IRS office to get the exact date of the revised 2008 return.  They do not take phone calls there.  We would need to go to the office & wait in line to speak to an IRS  agent.  We did not have enough time to do that before this response was due.  My husband actually called our phone carrier, to find out if we can get history on all phone calls, in & out, to give you an idea of how many times we called WST with no success.

Just let us know

**** ****** 

Business Response:

This is in response to Mrs. ******’s response regarding her complaint.

Unfortunately, WST has no control over the decisions the IRS makes or the time frame in which a case may be resolved by them.


When Mrs. ****** first hired WST to assist them with their tax affairs, they were in desperate need for resolution due to their foreclosure. We were able to avoid collection activity from the moment they hired WST in November of 2009. We did not receive the financial information required for resolution until February 2010. As soon as this information was received we contacted the IRS and a payment plan for $84.00 was granted. They defaulted on this payment plan and were levied. We were later able to request a new financial information statement and  reinstate a payment plan based on new financial information.   


There are steps in dealing with the IRS and different forms that need to be submitted for each type of resolution. If we request additional information from our clients, we expect them to comply with our requests. It may seem repetitive to our clients but it’s a process the IRS imposes that we have to follow.


Once this payment plan was established we requested a different form for an Offer in Compromise analysis. By this time, the 2008 IRS report had been received after we requested it. It was then that we determined, the issue was due to underreported income for 2008. That is why an amended return was filed. Our Amended return did NOT cause additional tax – it was corrected to show the correct amounts that should have been reported.


We strongly advise our clients not to contact the IRS due to reasons like these. It is easy to misinterpret what an Agent may say.  According to Mr. ******, the tax was assessed based on a return Mrs. ****** filed. Perhaps if the return would have been filed correctly from the beginning, Mr. and Mrs. ****** could have seen their actual amount due instead of assuming the tax increased after hiring WST.


The amended return was mailed to them. After numerous attempts to contact them, we finally got a hold of them  to find out they had moved. The amended return was mailed to their new address for them to sign. By the time the amended return was filed to the IRS for processing it was December 2010.

While WST waited for the IRS to process the amended return, we continued to required financial information for an offer analysis. Based on information provided, the client was advised additional information would be required for an accurate analysis. Because we did not receive this information, WST closed the case.


WST reopens their case after receiving a call from Mrs. ******, with no additional fees. WST requested an updated financial statement.

Mrs. ****** clearly states in her response that their income changed weekly. It was nearly impossible to obtain accurate information when it kept changing every time we were close to submitting an offer. She then advised she’d start collecting Social Security income and quit her job.

WST went back and forth with Mrs. ****** regarding the financial information. When the offer was finally submitted the IRS found assets that were not disclosed to WST and additional income.


When an offer is submitted to the IRS, it can take up to 24 months for a response. In this case we submitted an offer in September 2013 and it was assigned to an agent until January 2014. We negotiated the offer until it was rejected in March of 2014. WST will not take responsibility for any income or asset changes the client had while the offer was with the IRS that caused the rejection.


Mr. and Mrs. ****** must understand that the IRS makes the rules, the taxpayer doesn’t and neither do we. We worked the case to the best of our ability. WST was able to renegotiate the payment plan and lower it, even with an  increase of income.  WST performed as contracted and made extreme attempts to satisfy  Mr. and Mrs. ******’s needs.




***** *******

Tax Office Supervisor

Tax Resolution Specialists DBA We Settle Taxes

Direct: 714-********

Toll Free: 866-******** Ext. ***

Fax: 949-258-5170  

14511 Franklin Ave, Suite 200

Tustin, CA, 92780


1/21/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in November 27th,2013 I **** ** ******* signed a contract with this company to get a settalement on my IRS payments. I had spoken with a **** ****** and a ******* ********* about the issues i was having with my taxes for my business, as i explained my probmle to them they assuered me a great quality work from their part that all will be taken care of with in 90 days which in my case they have lasted up to a year it is 11/26/2014 today and till this day they have not made any attempts to work on my case all that was done from their behalf has been a compromise letter to the IRS to which we conme to find out by the IRS them self that the compromise letter was written incorectly and was not accepted other then this being done nothing else has been done to help us in this matter. I do have to say they are very well at charging the payments on time that was taken from my bank.

Desired Settlement: At this point i would just like to have my money reimburse to me I believe i have thet right to get my money back being that they have not any work towards my case.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

    We are in receipt of your BBB complaint dated December 17, 2014 with respect to Mr. **** *******.

Mr. ******* hired WST to help resolve his Federal outstanding tax liability. The case began with 
him owing about $104,000 on September 26, 2013. His case had already been assigned to a collection 
Revenue Officer who requested financial information and supporting documentation to avoid 
collection activity.  Mr. ******* advised he owned 7 real estate properties. After receiving fonnal 
fmancial infonnation from Mr. *******, and further review of the file, we realize he owned 10 real 
estate properties and 5 vehicles without balances. He was advised that this would complicate things 
because the IRS would want him to sale in order to pay the balance in full. He assured our case 
manager that he was unable to borrow against these homes and he obtained home loan denial letters. 
The case was then transferred to a different Revenue Officer who advised client to pay liability 
down to $50,000 to establish an installment agreement. Our case manager advised the Revenue Officer 
of the home loan denial letters and that we would be submitting an offer based on the only equity available 
in the vehicles owned. An offer of$22,060.00 was submitted to the IRS.

Unfortunately the IRS rejected the offer because they determined they could collect significantly 
more than the amount offered due to the 10 real estate properties. Revenue Officer requested real 
estate to be sold in order to pay the debt.
Mr. ******* was advised of this. He stated he would not sale any ofhis properties. He was advised 
an installment agreement would have to be established for a penalty and interest abatement, but he 
would have to pay the balance down to $50,000.
After disputing with 3 different Revenue Officers, appeals division, and Taxpayers Advocate WST was 
able to hold off collection activity without having Mr. ******* make any payments to the IRS for 10
months. OUr case manager has worked diligently for 87 homs on this case. It is unfortunate Mr. 
******* does not want to comply with IRS demands.

We regret that Mr. ******* felt compelled to file a complaint against WST, but vehemently believe 
that WST has performed as contracted to the best of our ability.

Thank you.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


**** *******

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: irs audit i paid 3000.00 dollars for this company to complete tax returns from 2000 to 2010this has taken them more than two years to complete the returns mean while the irs is taking 280.00 dollars from me every month. and by the way i am over paid by thousands of dollars for the time in question for the last 3 month i have contacted them many time and asked when do i get my refund but to no avail meanwhile the irs is still taking the money today i talked to ******* he said that he would call the irs and see if the irs has recognized that i am over paid and call backall i get is they will cal back

Desired Settlement: complete the work paid for

Business Response: Before receiving your letter dated 01/03/2014, we contacted our client, Mr. ***** ******, to update 
him on the status of his IRS claim.

We contacted the Internal Revenue Service to check for the most current balance owed by Mr. ******. 
The results were shared with Mr. ******,who agreed with all balances, but one,for  the year 2000.

Mr. ****** told us he found an additional deduction on his rental property for the year 2000, and 
wanted  us to amend the return. After confirming with him that the attorney fees were deductible, 
we told him we will amend his return the next day, and email it to him,per his request.  Client did 
not want the return mailed to him.

This office will be in touch with the client this week to make sure he he received and mailed  out 
his 2000 amended return. If he mails it by certified mail we should be able to receive some answers 
from the Internal Revenue Service the week after.

We will follow up with  the IRS the week of  1/20/14, to make sure they received his amended  
return, and will take off the levy currently on his bank account.

Our office is dedicated to giving our clients the best service.  In this case, when many years were 
involved  in the collection (2000-2012), it took an extra effort, and extra time. At this point we 
are close to the end of the line, and fortunately, our client is now aware of how involved  his 
case was.

Results and updates of our efforts will be sent to you no later than January 22nd, 2014.


We Settle Taxes

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

i still have not received the corrected 2000 tax return by e mail or usps 


***** ******

Business Response: As of 1/30/2014, Mr. ****** has received his 2000 return (confirmed via emails with him). He has made several changes to this return and we are currently working on finalizing the changes he has requested.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.





***** ******

Consumer Response: in response to your question i DID SIGN AND RETURN a 2000  tax return

I cannot prove or disprove that they filed
The signature on the tax return was approximately 2 months ago I've called many times to see if they have completed the transaction and I get no results
Can you ask them to show proof that they have submitted the tax return
I think they should return all my money as their performance is extremely slow and not satisfactory*****
***** is the latest person that I've been dealing with and now her phone number is not going to her name the last time I called the general desk and was put through to her and sounded like she was shot to death that I was talking to her
This is no way to run a business

Business Response:

Mr. ******’s 2000 tax return was mailed to the IRS March 10, 2014 for processing after many changes were made per Mr. ******’s request.  To date, Mr. ****** continues to request we make additional changes to the tax return that has already been sent to the IRS.  We cannot continue to file an amended tax return every time he comes up with additional information to include in the tax return.

Mr. ******’s demands have made it impossible to obtain a swift and easy resolution because his demands are unrealistic. The IRS imposes rules and regulations that we must respect, which are out of our control. Waiting periods are imposed by the IRS. The continued requests to amend the tax return will results in additional delays for resolution.

We are in the final stages of completing Mr. ******’s case. We have contacted Mr. ****** to advise him about his options to resolve the matter. We regret that Mr. ****** felt compelled to file a complaint against WST, but vehemently believe that WST has performed as contracted.


6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I retained this company in 12-2012 to get a better handle on balance owed to the IRS. I gave them 7500.00 five months later the IRS levied over 60,000 froze my checking account and place a 10,000 lien on my credit. They promised they would resolve this issue being I retained them way prior to this, and If they would of actually done anything the levies would not of taken place. I myself spent all day on the phone with the IRS and had them release 10,000 due to the imcompititence of the company I retained. according to The irs yesterday I owe more today than I did prior to hiring this company. They have caused me financial devastation I lost my job can not sleep and I am about to loose everything. And they will not even return a phone call...I have been calling none stop for 6 months never to receive a call back. I do not know what to do anymore I am begging for someone to help me. I no longer have any funds available to even obtain another company to help me.


Business Response:



March 31, 2014


RE:    ****** ******    ID# *******



Dear Sir or Madam:


                We are in receipt of your BBB complaint dated May 26, 2014 with respect to

Ms. ****** ******.  


Ms. ****** hired WST to help resolve her outstanding tax liability. The case began with her owing over 75K. Although, Ms. ****** was levied (final notice had gone out prior to her contracting WST) the case has had a great outcome. Because we effectively worked her case, we were able to obtain a partial levy release in which Ms. ****** received a refund of the levy. Furthermore, WST has amended/filed Ms. ******’s returns and have successfully dropped her total liability down to 30K. We then filed a penalty and interest abatement which was granted and her liability is now 20k. We are currently working on getting Ms. ****** a refund for the amounts that have been overpaid. Lastly, we requested an  installment agreement for $180 due on the 15th of each month.  The purpose of this IA was to request a lien withdrawal after the 3 month probation period. Unfortunately, Ms. ****** did not make the installment agreement payments and the installment agreement is now consider in default.  


  We regret that Ms. ****** felt compelled to file a complaint against WST, but vehemently believe that WST has performed as contracted; quite admirably in fact.




Thank you.














14511 Franklin Ave, Suite 200, Tustin CA 92780

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


****** ******

Please ask them why I still owe the same amount of money I owed prior to retaining the to negotiate and reduce my tax liability as promised in all the emails and coo responses I have. They have done nothing to help me they have cost me my entire savings.  They are basically admitting they have done nothing to help me I have been speaking with a local company that does the same thing as we settle taxes, they advised me that they told me they could have monies returned and I paid the for that also. It would never happen. They are in lack of any type of communication with myself due to they are well aware of what they have done to me. Please help me to get my 7500.00 returned so I can possibly

 keep my home, they have caused me financial devastation. My credit cards are maxed from  paying them, I have lost my job and they will not return one phone call. Please do not allow them to do this to anyone else.

Business Response:

Ms. ****** does not owe the same amount she owed prior to retaining WST to assist her with her tax affairs. Ms. ****** now has a balance of about $20,500.00. Her case began with Ms. ****** owing over $75k. Several tax returns were filed/ amended to reduce her liability. Furthermore, a Penalty and Interest abatement was filed which eliminated over $11k of her liability. Lastly, we requested an installment agreement for $180 due on the 15th of each month for Ms. ******.  The purpose of this IA was to request a lien withdrawal after the 3 month probation period. Unfortunately, to date Ms. ****** has not made a single payment. We have made numerous unsuccessful attempts to contact her via phone and emails regarding the importance of the installment agreement. We urge Ms. ****** to make her installment agreement payments before the IRS takes any actions against her.


5/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired We Settle Taxes back in April 2013 and since then I have sent all information they had needed and I continued to call and send emails on what the status was on our OIC for me and my husband individually and I would not receive responses and **** *** would say he would check with the Offer n Compromise staff. I told him I did not receive the form in November 2013 and I kept calling leaving messages for **** *** and ***** ******* (owner) to call me ASAP because I have paid $2,000 for my husband and $1,000 for me for them to take care of us because we have a HARDSHIP my husband is sick and I am the only one working and sometimes I cannot go to work but still they refuse to call back or email anything after I have faxed them the information they needed. This business has stolen $3,000 from me and has NOT provided service to resolve our HARDSHIP tax problem and refuse to call or email or resolve the tax HARDSHIP so I am requesting that they return the $ 3,000 back to me so that I can go elsewhere to get the help in resolving our HARDSHIP tax problem.I hope the Better Business Bureau can help immediatelly in me getting my $ 3,000 returned to me for We Settle Taxes fraud of steeling monies without providing resolution. I have been begging and begging for resolution I should not have to beg for the service I paid for. My husband is still real sick and in October 2013 he lost his temporary disability check and is under doctor care that he cannot work - I have been trying to resolve this problem for over 3 months I hope that you can assist with getting We Settle Taxes to refund my $ 3000.00 immediately so that I can finally find a true company that will resolve our HARDSHIP TAX ISSUES IMMEDIATELY.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that We Settle Taxes refund the $ 3000 plus they electronically took out of my accounts. Requesting that the $ 3000 check be sent to my home address:******* ********** ****** ****** ********* ************ ** *****

Business Response:

Dear Sir or Madam:


                We are in receipt of your BBB complaint dated March 3, 2014 with respect to

Mrs. ******* ******.  


Mrs. ****** hired WST to help resolve her and her husband’s, ********* ****** Federal outstanding tax liability. The case began with them owing about 25k each.  We made numerous attempts to contact Mrs. ****** regarding information required for an Offer in Compromise to no avail. Her phone number was out of service and her emails were being returned to us due to “account over quota”. WST has kept records of the numerous attempts to contact her. She was very rude to several of our employees and after so many complaints (insulting several of our employees with name calling) the case was transferred to upper management due to her uncooperativeness.

Because we take pride in services provided, we agreed to continue working with her even though her lack of cooperation was hindering the outcome of the offer in compromise.


After several long conversations with WST’s manager, we finally obtained the information required for an offer in compromise.  We have now submitted an offer for $3,310.00 for her and an offer for $50.00 for husband to the IRS.


Now that we have completed the file entirely and are awaiting a response from the IRS, she no longer “needs” our services. WST is appalled by Mrs. ******’s actions after the hard work and strict dedication to her case. We regret that Mrs. ****** felt compelled to file a complaint against WST, but vehemently believe that WST has performed as contracted.          



Thank you.                                                                                                             





10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service