This business is not BBB accredited.

TaxMonkey Advisors

Phone: (800) 838-6665 View Additional Phone Numbers 220 Newport Ctr Dr #11-244, Newport Beach, CA 92660

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers tax resolution services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for TaxMonkey Advisors include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on TaxMonkey Advisors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 03/21/2011 in CA Business incorporated 11/03/2011 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jim Jackson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Jackson, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives

Alternate Business Names
Coast Advisory Group LLC

Additional Locations


    220 Newport Ctr Dr #11-244

    Newport Beach, CA 92660 (949) 200-8392 (800) 838-6665


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company did 3 unauthorized charges to my acct in the amount of $500 in 3 mths. They said it was a billing issue and after 1 nth and several calls they finally refunded $1000. Now 2.5 mths later I'm still waiting for my refund of another $500 and every time I call to speak to someone I only get an answering service who says they can only take a msg & no one ever calls back when I do leave msgs.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $500 refunded & all the bank fees I got for my account being over drafted which is $210. It was a $35 fee each time & an additional $35 after five business days being overdrawn. I'm on a fixed income & couldn't afford to bring my bank account positive in the 5 day window.

10/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have paid Tax Monkey initially $2,600 for their services to resolve Federal Tax issues and then an additional $1,950 for their help with State taxes. All of the fees and billing issues were paid in full by December 2013. On May 15th, a charge of $650 dollars from tax monkey was taken from my account and then again 2 weeks ago, a charge for $225. Upon calling them, a woman from billing informed me that they had received complaints that customers had been previously put on automatic pay and had unauthorized withdrawals taken out of their debit accounts. She reviewed my billing files and noticed that I had been set up on automatic payment from when they had collected their fees from the fall of 2013 and never taken off of it. She also stated that she realized I needed to be refunded $875 and would just have to speak with her supervisors to determine when my refund would be issued. She said she would get back to me. She didn't. I have since left 3 voicemails (because no one would ever answer their business lines) and written an email. I did finally speak to someone last Monday who told me their account ants were reviewing the situation and would call me later that night. No one ever did. I just want someone to contact me and refund my $875 that I was illegally charged by there company.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded the $875 I was illegally charged

Business Response: Refund has been issued to our client. 

We consider the matter closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I spoke to ***** last Week and was told I had two options. I could either have a refund check sent to me OR I could call my bank and claim those charges were fraudulent and Tax Monkey would not protest the bank returning my money. I said I wanted a check sent by them. I was told by James last Wednesday, August 13th, that a check would be issued and overnighted to me with the refund amount. I was also informed that they would email me a confirmation number. NEITHER of those occurred. It is now Tuesday, August 19th and I have not received a refund check NOR have I received any email confirmation or tracking number. This matter is not resolved because I HAVE NOT BEEN REFUNDED!]


***** ******

Business Response: Again, refund has been issued.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

After not having received my refund, I filed fraud charges with my bank. 1 week after filing charges, my refund check finally arrived (it arrived over a month and a half since I had first been promised a refund). I called my bank and asked them to stop the fraud charges because my refund Check had arrived. I then deposited the check into my account. On 9/15 I was told by my bank that the refund check had been denied. So it has now been nearly 2 months since I first contacted TaxMonkey and still no one will contact me back or email me. I still have not received a refund. 


***** ******

7/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a company that does nothing and when they finally do they want to charge extra. Before I secured their services, I made arrangements with the IRS for $300/mo commencing 4/15/2013 to cover my 2009 thru 2011 unpaid taxes. Note, though I had not yet submitted my 2012 taxes, they were completed totaling a refund of over $3,000 (due to claiming zero). On 4/26/2013, I secured Tax Monkey services to negotiate a better arrangement. The fee for their services was $3600 which I paid in $300 installments every 2 weeks directly from my checking acct until paid in full on 9/27/2013 (for doing absolutely nothing!). On 10/21/2013, they finally gave me their "so-called" negotiated monthly amount of $476 to pay IRS. Heck! I negotiated better than that without Tax Monkey at $300/mo! I completed another of their financial questionnaires so they can "re-negotiate". On November 29, 2013 the IRS Garnished my paycheck for 75%! How did this situation get this far when they were suppose to be in communication with the IRS on my behalf! On December 3, Tax Monkey asked me to meet them at the IRS office and complete another financial statement in the hopes to release the garnishment. The negotiations at that meeting was between me and IRS (Tax Monkey contributed nothing to the discussions). We (IRS and me) came up with a resolution of $300/mo and once I submitted my 2012 taxes to them (which was the next day), they would release the garnishment. Tax Monkey's "Resolution Section" of the contract agreement, partially reads as follows: "..We will perform a series of services intended to help reduce the obligation, if applicable to your case. As example, these services may include one or all of the following: Offer In Compromise, Installment Agreement, Innocent Spouse, Levy Prevention, Levy Release, Penalty Abatement, Release of Garnishment, or Currently Not Collectable. This agreement confirms your authorization of said service.." Tax Monkey now wants an extra $150 for that meeting with IRS. I want a refund of $3,600

Desired Settlement: Full refund. I believe that the only time Tax Monkey corresponded with the IRS was after November 29, 2013 when I informed them of the IRS garnishment to my paycheck. That incident would have been avoided if they were actually communicating with the IRS from 4/26/2013 (when I secured their services) until 11/29/2013.

Business Response:

This Clients comments are untrue and a request for a full refund is denied based on the following:

When client hired us she was not in an Installment Agreement with IRS as she states. She had a proposed Installment Agreement on the table but was in default based on the fact she had not filed her 2012 Tax Return. We informed the client of this and told her that it is IRS procedure that that taxpayer must be in compliance with all Tax Returns being filed to be entered into an Installment Agreement. She told us at that time she would file the Tax Returns and send us a copy. Client only sent us incomplete copies of the 2012 Tax Returns and never filed them. Client even admits in her complaint she did not file the Tax Returns until after our meeting with the IRS and that the Installment Agreement was based on her filing 2012 Taxes.

The client refused to file the 2012 Tax Returns when asked, therefore requiring us to go as far as a face-to-face meeting at IRS office in Laguna Hills, California behalf of the client. This was the reason for the additional charges to her account. The clients statement that we did nothing is ridicules and we are happy to provide substantial case notes and backup should the issue be pressed.  Even after the face-to-face meeting the IRS still made it a requirement to file 2012 before the Installment Agreement would be accepted. Now that the client has met her obligation to file 2012 with the IRS and the Installment Agreement has been accepted and the client case is closed with our company as a result. The client’s request for a full refund only shows her consistent attempt to defraud the people she owes money to including the one’s that are only trying to help her. This all could have been avoided if the client would have just filed when we requested her to do so. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

When I made the initial installment plan agreement with the IRS, my 2012 taxes weren't even due yet.  The default on that agreement was due to the company's advice not to honor the IRS agreement and let them negotiate for me a better monthly payment.  The only thing I neglected to do was to not listen to that company's advice.  The reasons for visiting IRS had nothing to do with the 2012 taxes, but was to re-negotiate a better monthly payment based on my current income and expenses and to appeal to a wage garnishment levied against me (which should not have happened if that company was truly in negotiations with the IRS on my behalf - and p.s. - the company never mentioned anything to me about there being a problem with my 2012 taxes).  Their so-called negotiations not only resulted in an increase of over $150 more in monthly payments but also a wage garnishment against me.

Anyway, at that re-negotiation session the IRS representative only spoke to me - the company's representative didn't even need to be there.  The first day of that negotiation led to the same agreement IRS and I had before that company came into the picture. The next day after that meeting, IRS called me and asked did I complete my 2012 taxes.  I told them yes I completed it but had not filed it yet and it would be a refund for over $3,000.  They mentioned that they cannot release the Levy until I submit the 2012 tax return into their office so that they can confirm that it was a refund - and I went back to their office the next day and submitted my 2012 tax return, and received the Release of Levy.  
To re-iterate, that re-negotiation session with the IRS (when the company's representative was present), had nothing to do with my 2012 taxes not being filed and everything to do with my current income and expenses in order to get a better monthly payment than that company was able to get. 
Submitting the 2012 taxes the next day (with no representative from the company present), was to release the levy.


****** *** 

Business Response:

The Clients statements are again untrue.

We had been hired to represent the client on April 26, 2013 so her comment about the 2012 tax return not being due yet is not true. We contacted the IRS on April 30,2013 and was informed that the client had not filed an extension for 2012 and as of this date and time it is missing.

This client was never informed or advised not to pay her payments to the IRS. Client was advised to file the 2012 tax return to show the refund. This would lower the overall balance as well as put her back in compliance so we could finish her case. This was conveyed to the client multiple times. The fact that she, in her own words, is saying she still had to file 2012 to get on an installment agreement shows what we have been telling her all along is true. FILE 2012 AND THEY WILL PUT HER ON AN INSTALLMENT AGREEMENT. Her refusal to take our advice is what caused this issue.

The law is vary clear as to what we can and cannot do. One thing we cannot do is put an individual on an installment agreement without them being in compliance. The client’s need to hear from the IRS what we had been telling her all along was at her own expense. As we stated in the last response, this all could have been avoided if the client would have just filed 2012 when we requested her to do so.

The clients continued confusion and misrepresentation of her case is a testament of how our interaction with her went. Clients pay us for an honest evaluation and resolution. We do not control the laws, guidelines and procedures of the Internal Revenue Service. We do our best to convey any needed information to the client, but it is up to them to provide the necessary documents and information needed to complete the files. This client did not do so!  We consider the matter closed.

6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have worked with Tax Monkey before and they done a good job for us. I called Tax Monkey and talked to them about doing more of my taxes and they sent me over a billing to sign so they can take the payment out of my account and we could get started but I didn't have the money at that time so I did not sign it. On 03/31/2014 Tax Monkey charged my account $500.00 and $700.00 for the total of $1,200.00 with out my permission, we have contacted them about this matter several times the first 2 times they told us that they will deposit back into our accounts within 3 days but never received it and now they are saying they are investigating it. It is now 6 weeks later and they are still investigating this matter.

Desired Settlement: To refund the $1,200.00 back into my account in a timely matter.

Business Response: My records show that a credit was issued, but I will re-investigate.  Should a credit be due I will handle personally and promptly.  We apologize for the inconvenience.  The client may call my direct extension should he have questions or wish to discuss.  That number is:  949-200-83**.

*** *******

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i paid tax monkey 1500.00 in june of 2013 to file my back taxes of 2007,2008,2009,2010,2011,2012 I have had to call them repeatedly to ask where they are on my taxes. I call them they say they will call me back and never do. I have paid them $1500.00 in June and still do not have my taxes back. When I call them they say that they don't know where the accountant is at. THey say they will call me back and never do. I am getting trouble from IRS for taxes and they won't complete them. I call them daily and they won't return calls or answer phone.,

Desired Settlement: I want my taxes completed and mailed to me and a refund for the now 8 months of trouble and constant calling. I don't ask for a total refund but a partial I fill is only right for what they have not done on their end,.

Business Response: A second set of returns were mailed last week, January the 22nd.  Previously the same returns were sent returns for 2007 through 2010 on December the 17th and followed up with a phone call.  The claimant should of received, if not today this week with certainty.  This company had repeatedly called, emailed and mailed requests for information that has never been received.  The matter is serious and the claimant needs to sign the returns and send them to where we designated her do in the instructions that accompanied the returns.  This is only part I of the project so it is unfortunate that this breakdown has resulted in this.  We have a firm 24 hour client return call policy so if the claimant called and left messages then they were returned.   

Thank you,
***** ** ******* - President

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. ***** M. *******, President,The issues regarding Case Number ****** has a complaint pending against ******* ******** LLC of misrepresentation as Power of Attorney, and IRS Tax Information Authorization, specifically, Internal Revenue Service matters concerning Tax Income 1040 for the periods of 2002-2013. ******* ******** LLC (DBA TaxMonkey Advisors) has wrongfully advised, directed and made promissory statements that proved to be predatory in its strategy and are in other violations that have left me in financial hardship as your client. On Friday, December 13, 2013 Mr. Francis ****** telephoned to inform me that my situation did not qualify to be a current uncollectible case. Mr. ****** further stated that Mr. ***** *****, Settlement Officers advice directing me to stop sending monthly payments to the IRS was wrong Mr. ***** should have NEVER Directed me to stop paying IRS; Mr. ****** stated that since we have made several mistakes regarding your case I will negotiate at no additional cost to you a new and lower monthly payment to IRS that will be more affordable to you. Mr. ******* said that as of December 13 a reimbursement will be processed and mailed to me - I never received a dime.The actions pending against ******* will be officially processed by the State of Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, Division of Financial Regulation; United States Attorney, *** J. **********, U.S. Attorney for the District of Maryland; The Attorney General Consumer Protection Division; and the Greater Maryland Better Business Bureau, unless my demands are not met. ******* ******** has three (3) business 3 days from today January 3, 2014, for me to receive the following balance plus interest after 30 days since November 12, 2013 in the form of a cashier check; 1-Reimbursement for Nov 12, 2013 payment amount $333.00 from Bank of America, N.A. Member FDIC checking account ending *****-Reimbursement for December 12, 2013 payment amount

Desired Settlement: November 12, 2013 - Refund of $333.00December 12, 2013 - Refund of $333.00December 13, 2013 - Refund of $333.00December 16, 2013 - Refund of $35.00December 18, 2013 - Refund of $35.00December 31, 2013 - Refund of $35.00Total Amount to be Refunded - $1104.00

Business Response: The claimant's facts are distorted and exaggerated.

  1. Client signed an agreement that clearly outlines all terms and scope of work we were hired to do.
  2. We received ONLY two payments, each $333.00.  Both payments have been refunded to the client and, in addition we paid her an extra $70 for her banking issues, though we clearly were not at fault.
  3. All consultation and service conversations with this company are recorded.  Should this escalate, it will be necessary to produce certified transcripts in addition to a summary of the untruthful and manipulative efforts of the claimant on each call.
The suggestion of this relationship being "predatory" is totally accurate.  It has been brought to our attention that this individual has gone to several other companies like ours with similar services.  In each of those cases the outcome had been quite similar to our own, in that following a brief engagement and misrepresentation of facts, the claimant then filed complaints and in some cases actual law suits.  It is our belief that this individual has been coached and is systematically working with companies in our space for the sole purpose of financial gain.  
In this regard, all monies have been returned to the claimant; this company will engage no further with your organization (BBB) or any other surrounding our former client or this matter.  
Thank you and regards,
***** M. *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on TaxMonkey Advisors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart