Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers swimming pool and spa construction.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dream Pools and Spas of San Diego Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dream Pools and Spas of San Diego Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dream Pools and Spas of San Diego Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2004 Business started: 04/12/1989 in CA Business incorporated 03/21/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 564498.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Wagner, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Wagner, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 3607 Barranca Ct

    Carlsbad, CA 92008

  • 5145 Avenida Encinas #C

    Carlsbad, CA 92008

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had many customer service problems with this contractor and I am documenting several of the major ones below. We are still awaiting resolution on several of these issues.1. Their workers left garbage scattered around our yard virtually every day. In the most egregious example, the workers drank several beers in our yard and tossed the empty bottles into our neighbors yard.2. Their workers broker our basketball hoop and for a couple months we were told regularly that they would fix it "tomorrow". This finally got fixed yesterday, after months of delays in which our kids could not play basketball.3. They said their work was complete on March 22 and requested final payment (and we paid them in full that day). Ever since then we have been asking them to remove a port-a-potty from our yard and they have not done so.4. They damaged our sprinkler system and have said for weeks that they would reimburse us for the repair costs "tomorrow". I still have not received a check from them and yesterday I was once again promised that I would get it "tomorrow".5. They borrowed a flashlight from us and never returned it. My wife asked to either have the flashlight returned our to be reimbursed for it, but we have not received a response for that.6. Their workers broke a number of spare roof tiles that we had by our poolhouse. We would like them to take away the damaged roof tiles and replace them with unbroken ones.7. Their trucks left numerous stains on our driveway. They have attempted to remove some of the stains, but there are several portions of the driveway that have not been cleaned, despite frequent promises of cleaning it "tomorrow"

Desired Settlement: 1. We want immediate reimbursement for the costs of repairing our sprinkler system.2. We want the port-a-potty removed from our property immediately.3. We want our flashlight returned4. We want them to finish cleaning the truck stains off of our driveway5. We want the broken roof tiles taken away and replaced with unbroken ones

Business Response: I have attached a letter that was emailed twice to Mr. ******** as well as sent certified mail 4/ 27/2013. The letter attached outlines our response and the things we have done to rectify the complaint. To date Mr. ******** has not responded to my emails or letter. Our understanding is that there are a few 2-3) roof tiles that were broken of which we have agreed to either replace and dispose or reimburse the client the costs of replacement. If we receive any fiurther contact from Mr. ******** we will make every effort to rectify and justifiable complaint.


Sincerely,

******* ******
President Dream Pools and Spas of San Diego, Inc.


Date: 4/26/2013 *****: This email is in response to the BBB complaint you filed last week and how we can resolve any items based on your list that are yet to be completed to your satisfaction. I am aware that we have completed the following: 1. Cost reimbursement for sprinkler repairs. 2. Porta Potty was removed 4/17. I have attached a letter from *******s apologizing for not picking up the porta-potty on March 29th as scheduled. Our office was under the impression it had been picked up. 3. Flash light was returned last Friday and put on your existing BBQ/bar area. 4. The stains have been removed from the driveway. 5. Please identify how many and what type of tiles need to be replaced and removed. We can either remove and replace or pay for the replacement. Let me know what is the easiest. ***** mentioned he thought there were only a few. After these issues are complete we're hoping you can enjoy your new project as it was originally intended. In direct response to the complaint accusations. 1.The crew that was drinking beer on your project was immediately fired. That is not and has never been tolerated on any of my job sites. 2. Regarding trash on the job, sprinkler repair, a broken basketball hoop, flashlight taken, and broken tiles. I apologize for the delay in rectifying these things. I staff my office 5 days a week from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm to be available to our clients either under construction or for warranty purposes and I am available as well to rectify any situation. When a client under construction primarily communicates only with my field personnel things sometimes fall through the cracks, which is what happened in this case. Things do happen from time to time but our goal is to rectify them as soon as possible with little impact to you and your family. I do hope you are happy with the quality and craftsmanship of the project and will consider the things we did over and beyond the contract at no additional cost to you. We increased the slide from 18LF to 22LF which typically costs approximately $1,000.00 per LF as
well as re-plumbed your pool due to the outdated existing copper plumbing lines: $ 2,500.00 minimum on new projects. With all this said. I do appreciate your business and we want you to be proud of the investment you made with us. Please let me know regarding the remaining items and we will rectify them immediately. ******* ****** President Dream Pools and Spas of San Diego, Inc. www.sandiegodreampools.com

Consumer Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau:

I appreciate your assistance with resolving these problems.  Our project manager from Dream Pools showed no interest in resolving the matters until you got involved.  I will accept the business's proposed solution, but in the process I would also like to point out several issues I have with their response (summarized at the end of the email).  There are 5 broken roof tiles; I will send a quote to ******* for new tiles once I hear back from our roofer and ******* can either pay us or buy the replacement tiles.  Also, I do not believe the stains on our driveway have been completely removed yet (it is dark now and I can't see the driveway clearly, but I wanted to respond before I got out of town tomorrow).  Once he reimburses us for the tiles and the driveway stains are removed, I will consider the complaint closed.

Thank you again for your help,

**** ********

Here are the issues with their response:

1.  While they say that they fired the crew that drink beer on our property and tossed their empty bottles in my neighbor's yard, that doesn't make it ok that this happened to us.  Our neighbors are still furious with us over this matter.  And, we were told repeatedly during the contract negotiations that we would not have any issues like this with Dream Pools because they only use their own workers.  In hindsight, this appears to be a blatant lie told to us during the sales process. Similarly, an apology letter sent to them regarding the porta-potty doesn't do us any good either.  We still had to have this on our property for an extra 3 weeks and also had wait to get our construction deposit back from the HOA until this was removed. We communicated multiple times to the project manager (*****) that the porta-potty was still on our property, so I do not accept his statement that they didn't know the porta-potty had not been taken away. If ******* didn't know, it was because the project manager was not communicating with him, not because lack of communication on our part.

2.  What ******* says about the delays in rectifying things being due to us "communicating only with field personnel" is totally untrue.  We communicated the problems many times to the project manager (*****) and to ******* ****** at the main office.  Things didn't "fall through the cracks" because of poor communication on our part, they did not get done because ***** willingly chose not to do them despite telling us many times things would be fixed "tomorrow".  I would not have filed the complaint if I had not been lied to about "tomorrow" so many times.  I would like ******* to retract the statement from his response saying that things fell through the cracks because we only communicated with field personnel as it is simply not true.

Regards,

***** ********