Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Surfaces USA?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Surfaces USA

Phone: (858) 457-1352 Fax: (858) 457-0749 View Additional Phone Numbers 6330 Miramar Rd, San Diego, CA 92121 http://www.surfacesusa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail sale of tile and marble.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Surfaces USA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Surfaces USA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Surfaces USA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 06, 1995 Business started: 04/06/1995 in CA Business incorporated: 01/29/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 839196.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence Joselowsky, President Mr. Tom Cruse, Store Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Cruse, Store Manager
Principal: Mr. Lawrence Joselowsky, President
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Stone - Natural Tile Sales


Additional Locations

  • 6330 Miramar Rd

    San Diego, CA 92121 (858) 457-1352

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Installer, *****, from Surfaces U.S.A. never located my unit and never buzzed my unit between the hours of 1:00pm 3:00pm, which was the contracted time of installation. Therefore, Surfaces U.S.A. did not perform the work on Saturday January, 5, 2013 as contracted. The Home Improvement contract was signed on Thursday, January 3, 2013. We waited until 3pm for the Installer to arrive. During that time, no one used the buzzer to my condo or shouted for me at the front gate. Its a small condo complex and my door faces the front gate. My door was open and I had no music or television on. At 3pm, I contacted Surfaces U.S.A. to notify them of the problem and determine what happened. We were told that the Installer was at my condo complex around 1:15pm and that he had waited for 30-45 minutes trying to contact me via my cell phone. That's when I actually saw multiple missed calls on my cell phone. I tried calling the numbers back to work out the problem and see if the Installer could still perform the work as contracted, however, my calls were not answered. My call was finally returned by the Seller, *** *******, around 4pm who rudely discussed with us that the Installer was there and we didn't answer our phone, therefore it was our fault that the work was not completed as contracted. He talked over me and my roommate and yelled over us to get his point across. Even after letting him know that we had been there the entire time and no one had buzzed our door, he wouldn't listen and insisted that we take responsibility for not answering the phone. Around 1:15 or 1:20, my friend and I opened my gate to the common area to see if our Installer had arrived because we heard someone shout a name. Instead, there was a Caucasian man at the gate calling for one of my neighbors because a neighbor came out to greet him. We did not see anyone else at the gate trying to access my complex. I called foul play and I was told that cancelling the job wasnt that easy.

Desired Settlement: I expect the company to refund my full $480 since the Installer did not arrive at my condo and did not complete the work. He did not know my address and therefore, did not buzz my unit. This is not my fault and is fully the fault of the company. The countertop was purchased as one unit and was not customized for this job, therefore, I will not pay any fees to restock material nor pay for the company's "effort." This company is unprofessional and continuously exhibits poor customer service.

Business Response:

Customer ID: *******
Business's Statement of the Problem:
The customer set an appointment at 1PM. Our worker arrived on time, but experienced
some difficulty finding the individual unit. He called the customer several times as
instructed. When the customer failed to pick up or return his calls he called our office.
The salesman then put in a call and text to the customer. After waiting for over an hour
for her response, our worker was released from the jobsite. The customer did not contact
us until 3:30PM. She requested the worker return immediately, but unfortunately we
were unable to accommodate her. The customer rescheduled our worker only to cancel
three days later because we could not accept her wish of an additional mark down to
cover her lost time.
Resolution:
We will not be charging the customer a fee for our worker's time. We will be processing
a refund at the end of the month when returns are done.

*** *****

1/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday 12/8/2012 I ourchased what I thought was 1 slab of granite from Surfaces, USA Miramar. I called them on Thursday to say I could not use the granite afterall. I had not even picked up the granite yet and they had not moved it either. I then found out they sold me 2 slabs of granite, not like the ONE I asked for. They keep telling me they will call me, but never do. I told sales associate **** ****** I was willing to take store credit instead, but NO the manager, *** ***** will not even negotiate/talk with me for a solution.

Desired Settlement: I woulld like either a refund or store credit for products.

Business Response:

Business's Statement of the Problem:
On Saturday Dec. 81h, the customer came in to purchase two slabs as her contractor had
advised. Another customer was interested in purchasing the slabs she had decided on and
instead of re-selecting at a later date; she decided to proceed with the order. At the time
of purchase the sales associate explained to her that we do not return slabs. Our contract
paper which she signed also clearly states our return policy. When she changed
contractors she was made aware that she did not need two full slabs. Rather than
explaining her error and working with us to find a resolution she claimed that she had
never asked for two whole slabs. She eventually offered to take a store credit for one and
a full refund for the second. We could not accept this solution without approval at that
time.
Resolution:
We gained necessary approval to credit the customer for one slab in full and gave her a
store credit for the second as she requested. I spoke with the customer Dec. 21 , letting
her know we would be able to accommodate her and she was agreeable. We were happy
to help the customer purchase some new tile for her counter using her credit and expect to
see her many times · the future.

*** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ****