Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Daiwa Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (562) 375-6800 Fax: (562) 404-6212 View Additional Phone Numbers 11137 Warland Dr, Cypress, CA 90630 http://www.daiwa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers wholesale, retail, and fishing tackle products. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Daiwa Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Daiwa Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Daiwa Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 09/26/1966 in CA Business incorporated 09/26/1966 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tomoaki Komatsu, President Mr. Kinya Mitani, Vice President Ms. Cyndy Tyler, Corporate Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tomoaki Komatsu, President
Principal: Mr. Kinya Mitani, Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Cyndy Tyler, Corporate Controller
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Skateboards & Equipment Sporting Goods - Retail Internet Shopping Fishing Tackle - Wholesale & Manufacturers Fishing Tackle Dealers Fishing Tackle - Repair & Parts

Industry Tips
Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 11137 Warland Dr

    Cypress, CA 90630 (562) 802-9589 (562) 375-6800 (800) 736-4653

  • PO Box 6600

    Cypress, CA 90630

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to resolve a warranty issue with Daiwa Corporation for over a month now concerning a fishing rod I purchased from their company. When I submitted the information needed for to receive my replacement fishing rod, I have been met with nothing but road blocks, sarcasm, stales, excuses, and even being hung up on by the VP of Sales Mr. ***** ******** not to honor their warranty. When I originally submitted the warranty info to get my replacement rod I was only asked for proof of purchase and a picture of the rod showing it was there. SEVERAL days went by before I ever heard anything and then I was met with more unreasonable demands before they would honor the warranty. They started to demand that I send the fishing rod to them for review before they would honor the warranty. I advised them to honor such a request was 1. Not a requirement of the warranty (I have a copy of it), and 2. Would incur unjust cost to myself due to the uniqueness of the product. The product is 9 feet long and even my local post office said they did not carry boxes that would be able to accommodate such a product for shipping that I would have to purchase a special container to ship it (again more incurred cost). I notified Daiwa of this situation and they still refused to work with me. I even offered for them to send me a shipping tube to I can send them a rod and a shipping slip to be paid for by them if they were that adamant about having the broken rod before replacing the new one. They still refused. I went through 20+ emails with them and talked to 2 different managers both of whom blantantly lied about being the Director of Customer Service, a "*****" and a "*****", and both of whom refused to work out a amicable arrangement to get me my due warranted rod. After being lied to over and over again I attempted to call VP ********, the second I identified myself and tried telling him what was going on he hung up on me. That was the last straw.

Desired Settlement: I am a guide and a "fishing coach", and over this past month I have been without this rod that should have QUICKLY been exchanged with no issues I have lost money and clients. With that said I not only want the broken rod replaced, but I feel it well within reason to request a full refund of the rod so I can buy another one of have them send me two replacement rods so if this issue arises again in the future I do not lose business because of it. At this point they are tittering on owing me punitive damages do to the lost revenue and income for my business and my family. To avoid legal civil action I feel it is in their best interest to comply with my request and work with your organization to resolve this issue.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ********,

As you've stated this warranty issue has been under review for some time. You have made several calls into our customer service and they have been escalated through the proper chain of command. Our customer service manager offered for you to cut the rod in two pieces so that you wouldn't have to pay additional shipping and that request was denied by you.  We intentionally directed you to our VP of Sales due to the unprofessional nature of your calls.  Per your complaint you've stated that you submitted the information needed. We have not received your fishing rod . Daiwa's policy is clearly stated on the hangtags. Under our policy , for more than 30 years, we must see the rod to verify warranty status as well as getting any replaced products out of the market so that it is not returned through another store for additional credit.  We have tried on numerous occasions to accommodate you with your warranty situation. We would be happy to assist you once we receive your rod.

 

Thank you,

Warranty Claims/Resolution

Daiwa Corporation

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


The response by Daiwa is a blatant lie and is completely laughable.  It also further proves my point as to their direct lack of concern and desire to resolve this issue.  I was NEVER passed up the chain to resolve me concerns, I forced my way up the chain as several members of their management team took turns lying about being a department manager/director.  The VP NEVER spoke with me, I left him several messages none of which he ever returned and the only time I got him on the phone, I identified myself and he hung up on me!  Again proving this company's direct and complete disregard for customer service and for honoring their warranty.  I advised several of their representatives as well as their so called management/directors that the cost of shipping back a 9' rod and finding a container large enough to accommodate such a large item was not possible.  I live above my post office and my post manager told me flat out that 1.  They would not ship a item that long and 2.  They did not have a container that accommodate a package of that size.  After explaining this to multiple representatives and their management staff they continued to not care and boast the company line "You must return the rod before we will replace it".  Attached you will see the warranties they place one their rods; no where on their warranty does it state the rods MUST be sent in to honor their warranty.  Additionally, as you can see by their pathetic excuse for a response, no where do they address my repeated concerns that I am a business owner and that broken rod has cost me several clients which are my livelihood.  Since this whole issue has happened I have had to purchase more rods out of my pocket to compensate the losses I was incurring from my lost business.

At this point I feel it more than justifiable to not only ask, but demand that I not only receive my replacement rod but also an additional rod for my losses incurred from lost clients and I also believe that either a check or company line of credit of $500 as a form of punitive damages caused by their negligence and refusal to accommodate my circumstances, lying, and refusal to work with me as whole which can easily be proven by my email chain I have with their customer service representatives and the phone records I have proving I CALLED them to resolve this issue on MULTIPLE occasions including the calls to their VP that were NEVER returned! 

Regards,

******* ********



Business Response:

Mr. ********,

 

We would be happy to help you with your rod. Per our company policy , please send it back to Daiwa so that we can inspect your product. You are welcomed to break you rod in four pieces prior to shipment.

 

 

Thank you,

Warranty Claims/Resolution

Daiwa Corporation

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

******* ******** 

Aside from the continue unjust practices by Daiwa corporation this does not resolve my whole issue and they continue to ignore it.  I have lost money and clients over this broken rod and feel it ridiculous that they are still requesting me t pay to ship this piece of trash back to them and on top of that continue to ignore the clear fact they owe more than a simple warranty exchange.  They need to send me a shipping label and ample compensation for costing myself and my business.