BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Star Position Search & Navigation Solutions

Phone: (877) 489-2929 Fax: (949) 485-6287 View Additional Phone Numbers 16787 Beach Blvd #106, Huntington Beach, CA 92647 http://www.spssearch.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers search engine optimization services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Star Position Search & Navigation Solutions include:

  • 9 complaints filed against business
  • 1 serious complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Star Position Search & Navigation Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Star Position Search & Navigation Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 11, 2013 Business started: 06/07/2004 in CA Business started locally: 06/07/2004
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Sexton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Sexton, Owner
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Search Engine Optimization Services Internet Marketing Services

Refund and Exchange Policy
We give a 100% refund if at any point we fail to deliver on what we promise. If at any point your service goes down and it's our fault, and it's not related to server maintenance, or if we provide any fake traffic, or if we sell your listing to anyone else, we provide a full refund without any questions asked.
Alternate Business Names
SPN Search SPS Solutions Star Position
Products & Services

Search engine placement without pay per click. We offer verifiable results you can track 24/7/365.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16787 Beach Blvd #106

    Huntington Beach, CA 92647 (877) 489-2929 (949) 215-0022 (800) 481-2979 (888) 442-5113 (877) 709-6971

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 481-2979(Phone)
  • (877) 709-6971(Phone)
  • (888) 442-5113(Phone)
  • (949) 215-0022(Phone)
  • (888) 815-4923 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An email solicitation and several phone calls with a '**** *****', and emails copying the 'owner' - ****** ****** - caused us to sign a contract with them and then send a bank draft for USD643.16 on Sept. 3, 2014. As soon as the money was received by them. ALL communications stopped. and NO search serviced were performed. For one month (up to now, Oct. 6/14) no calls or emails have been returned.

Desired Settlement: This is a SCAM... and is noted on the Internet very often. The person '****** ******' does not exist... and the salesman '**** *****' goes by different names. We still get the first email 'offer' under a different name, and when we call we get a recorded voice, the same voice of '**** *****'. SCAM, SCAM, SCAM.

Business Response: The client needs to go through NetGuard Support for issues regarding their account. We have already given them their contact information when they signed up. We only handle sales here. Account support issues are always done through NetGuard.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

$643.16 was sent to Star Position & Navigation Solutions on Sept. 3, 2014. We were told we'd be dealing with Netguardtoolbar.com for the services we paid for.

Since Sept. 3, there has been NO communication from either company. We have  phone or emailed 27 times with no response.

These businesses are a SCAM. They are run by someone who pretends to be '****** ******', the person to whom our money was wired.

Emails continue to come to us marketing their services.  The same voice answers the phone each time, but always under a different name.

Do a search for 'Star Position Scam' and you will see other complaints.

I would like to know how the BBB reached Star Position to receive this reply:
"The client needs to go through NetGuard Support for issues regarding their account. We have already given them their contact information when they signed up. We only handle sales here. Account support issues are always done through NetGuard.

I have accepted we've been totally ripped off. What can the BBB do to warn others of this crook?

Regards,

**** ****


Business Response: We've told Mr. **** that all he needs to do is deal with Support on this. I have personally spoken to the head of Support, **** ********, and he informs me that Mr. **** has in fact logged in to his account on multiple occasions, and his account is live. As for the same voice answering, we DO have an automated attendant that asks people to put in their extension, and that voice never changes.

Owing to the fact that Mr. **** has in fact logged into his account, we do not feel he is owed a refund, especially as his account is live. I can provide an email from Mr. **** confirming this if you like.

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Starposition is spamming my inbox. I have not opted in to be contacted, and the emails have no option to opt out.

Desired Settlement: Stop spamming me.

Business Response: We buy opt in lists. Any requests to be removed are honored if we actually receive word from the individual requesting to be removed. In this case we have no record of receiving such a request. If the individual would be kind enough to indicate what email address or even their domain that they want remove, we'll process their request. We will also research the individual's claims that they did not opt in.

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 2, 2014 authorized a credit card charge of $1,300.00 for SEO services by Star Position for my two websites. Was advised by sales rep, "***** *****", that it would take "7-10 days" to activate services. Spoke with him eight days later, on a Monday, and he said services wold go "live" that Wednesday and that I would receive additional information and use-instructions by email that day. But, as of July 1, none of this has transpired. After that Wednesday and over the next 5-6 days, three phone calls were made to and voice mails left at sales rep's office number and another two on his personal cellphone, plus an email was sent to him asking what was going on. No responses. Then, sent email to company principal, "****** ******", on 6/23 requesting either (a) they begin activation OR (b) they refund my $1,300. He responded that, "It is my understanding you're live, have you contacted NetGuard *******?" There has NOT been any discernible increase whatsoever in my web traffic - which I do monitor daily. That definitely suggests services are still not active. Called and left message for Mr. ****** on 6/25 requesting that he please call me and give me some "one on one" help with setting up tracking portal. He did not and return the call. On 6/25 sent NetGuard ******* request for services to begin and for portal address be supplied to me (as was promised as part of their services) so I could track the influence ("hits") of, specifically, "their" SEO services to my websites. Copied that request to company principal. No response from either party. On 6/27 I re-sent that request, marked "SECOND REQUEST" and again copied company principal with an additional note stating as earlier (6/23) that, (a) they begin activation OR (b) they refund my $1,300. As of July 1, still no response from either their ******* department or from their company principal. On June 2, 2014 authorized a credit card charge of $1,300.00 for SEO services by Star Position for my two websites. Was advised by sales rep, "***** *****", that it would take "7-10 days" to activate services. Spoke with him eight days later, on a Monday, and he said services would go "live" that Wednesday and that I would receive additional information and use-instructions by email that day. But, as of July 1, none of this has transpired. After that Wednesday and over the next 5-6 days, three phone calls were made to and voice mails left at sales rep's office number and another two on his personal cellphone, plus an email was sent to him asking what was going on. No responses. Then, sent email to company principal, "****** ******", on 6/23 requesting either (a) they begin activation OR (b) they refund my $1,300. Mr. ****** responded that, "It is my understanding you're live, have you contacted NetGuard *******?" There has been no discernible increase whatsoever in my web traffic - which I do monitor daily – and that definitely tells me the SEO services are NOT active. Called and left message for Mr. ****** on 6/25 requesting that he please "get this issue handled" and to please call me and give me some "one on one" help with setting up their tracking portal. He did not and return the call. On 6/25 sent NetGuard ******* request for services to begin and for portal address be supplied to me (as was promised as part of their services) so I could track the influence ("hits") of, specifically, "their" SEO services to my websites. I copied that request to Mr. ******. No response from either party. On 6/27 I re-sent that request, marked "SECOND REQUEST" and again copied Mr. ****** with an additional note stating (as earlier, on 6/23) that, (a) they begin service activation OR (b) they refund my $1,300. As of July 1, still no response regarding the issues of activation or ******* from either their ******* department or from their company principal, Mr. ******.

Desired Settlement: Due to the fact that this company has not made any effort to resolve this, I want my credit card fully refunded $1,339.00. The additional $39.00 is for the international transfer fee (the UK) that I was NOT told would be applied. I only learned learned about that fee from my credit card company.

Business Response: As we told Mr. *****, all ******* issues were and are handled by NetGuard ******* .. we have been notified that they have emailed him twice but they have not gotten a reply. He needs to whitelist NetGuard's ******* email address which he was given at the time of setup so he can receive his tracking login.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Regards,
****** *****

Dear BBB:

I reject in its entirety the response from Star Position as completely inadequate in substance, and lacking of any resolution of my issue with their company.

Yes, Mr. ****** did advise me that I have to “whitelist” the NetGuard ******* email address, and I did.  That was corrected by me on 6/23, but to no benefit!

On 6/23 I sent an email to company principal, ******* ******", requesting either (a) they begin activation OR (b) they refund my $1,300. He responded that, "It is my understanding you're live, have you contacted NetGuard *******?"

On 6/23 I replied to Mr. ****** that I did not know how to contact “*******”.  He responded, giving me the NetGuard email address (*******@***************.com) I was supposed to have “whitelisted” back in June, when program was to begin.  However, I carefully checked all my mail folders including “Junk” and there was NOT any email received from that “*******” address on any date in either June or July (or since).  I promptly  “whitelisted” – as ****** had advised was necessary - that ******* email address within my Outlook mail that same day, 6/23.

On 6/25, using the ******* address provided by ******, I emailed NetGuard ******* a request for services to begin and for the necessary information be supplied to me (as was promised as part of their services) so I could track the influence ("hits") of, specifically, "their" SEO services to my websites. I copied Mr. ****** on that emailed request. No response was received from either party.  (And, YES, even though I had already whitelisted “*******@***************.com” AND checked my “Junk” folder “just in case”, there was NOTHING received from either ****** or NetGuard on 6/25, 6/26, or 6/27.)

On 6/27 I re-sent that request, this timed labeling the Subject line in all caps: "SECOND REQUEST" and I again copied Mr. ****** on that original email with a note to him added at the top, and which again stated (as earlier, on 6/23) that, (a) they begin service activation OR (b) they refund my $1,300. 

As of today, 7/21/2014, still no response from NetGuard and the only later response from ****** is his brief reply to BBB.

FURTHER TO THIS ISSUE:

I have never received a copy of a Star Position/NetGuard “contract”.  (On 6/23 I emailed and requested one of ******.  He offered to send me “a receipt”, instead.)

  1. I have never received anything in writing from this org confirming the actual “Start” and “End” dates of this “one year” marketing program I purchased.

  2. I have never received anything in writing from Star Position or NetGuard confirming the exact “search term” wording I supposedly “own” and have “exclusively” for one year for my website ******.com, or for the second search term wording I supposedly own and have exclusively for my other website, Health-Tests-Direct. com

  3. I have never received anything in writing from Star Position or NetGuard confirming (as per their sales rep) that I will receive a 100% refund if I do not get “hits” on my two websites totaling “a minimum of 10%” of the gross number of NetGuard toolbar searches for the two exclusive terms I bought.  Although the Star Position website alludes to a full refund, it does not specify that missing the “10% minimum” qualifies for it.

  4. Star Position website claims, Star Position strives to give all our users and advertisers the highest level of *******.”  Yet, none of my three phone calls and voicemails left at their listed number was returned by phone.  Instead, two of them were “answered” instead, by email from ******.  In particular, one phone message to ****** was a request (followed by a same-day email with the same request) asking him to call me and “please help with answers to some questions”.  I also gave my mobile number to Mr. ******.  That time, both my phone and email messages went completely unanswered.

  5. NetGuard has no phone number listed.  My company OHS, Inc. does, including a toll-free number.  Regardless, NetGuard has never contacted me by phone in an effort to address my concerns or complaints.

  6. The Star Position web site states, “We are pleased to be the Senior Reseller for NG Systems…”.  They list this address: ***** ***** ********** **** ********** ****** ** ***** and these “Hours of Operation”:  Hours of Operation:  US Office:  8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific Time.  However, the address listed as their “US Office” is a retail post office box company that rents out P.O. boxes, sells stamps, ships small packages, et cetera.  Star Position does NOT have a brick and mortar office as it so erroneously and quite disingenuously implies to the U.S. consumer.  The “#106” shown in their address is their letter-size rented P.O. Box, NOT an office suite number.

  7. By this response of mine through the BBB, I am also putting Mr. ****** and Star Position on a ten (10) days’ notice, to wit:  if my issues will not be fairly resolved by him through the BBB, I will forward this information and all my *******ing emails of this issue in a formally filed complaint to The State of California Office of the Attorney General.  So, unless – within 10 days’ time  – Mr. ****** resolves all the issues detailed in A-B-C-D above, PLUS gets NetGuard to provide me with the “tracking” information he claims was sent to me “twice” without a reply from me, I will contact the California AG and file  allegations of fraud against him and his company Star Position.

  8. This resolution option, however, is still acceptable by me and still remains available to Mr. ******: a full refund of my $1,330.00 ($1,300 for the marketing program plus $30.00 for the credit card international transfer fee- which was nefariously added to my cost without their sales rep telling me at time of purchase).

  9. Either way (H or I above), Mr. ****** has ONLY until July 31 (10 days) to decide and act or I will immediately follow through as above.

     

    Thank you BBB!

     

    ****** W. *****

    *** ****** * ****** ********* **** **** ****** ****** ***** *** ***** ***** ** *****

         ###-###-####



Business Response: Mr. *****

I've asked NetGuard to review any and all communications they have received. They've received none from you. You may want to try and send from a different email address. All they're waiting on is for you to contact them.

As for your contract, that is usually viewable under netguardinvoice.com, and entering your information such as invoice number, our reseller ID (starposition) and zipcode. If it's not there, that is a ******* issue and they can request the PDF pulled up from archives and have it sent to you.

We're more than willing to answer your questions - it's how we have stayed in business for ten years. But we have to know, on NetGuard *******'s level, a problem actually exists. Without them getting your email, neither they nor we can assist as we're not psychic. I do not say this to be flippant or anything - it's just a statement of fact. Your refund guarantees are still in force.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

****** *****


Dear BBB:


I must once again reject the answers sent by this organization, specifically as false in its claim that "no" email was ever received from me by NetGuard.  Very-very unlikely!  I cannot of course prove none was received, however, I can prove that three (3) unanswered communications were indeed sent to NetGuard by me (see that email copy below).  Perhaps NetGuard should have "whitelisted" MY email address


I did whitelist NetGuard on June 23...before emailing them the first of three (3) separate times.  (One of those three emails was by using NetGuard's own direct "Contact Us" email function- but regardless, STILL no response from them!)

As for Mr. ******'s suggestion that I try another email server to communicate with NetGuard, that is completely unnecessary.  In addition to as many as 200 unsolicited emails received by us daily from all over the world, OHS Inc. has more than 1,700 company clients and close to 5,000 company contacts throughout the USA and Canada that my staff and I frequently and routinely communicate with back and forth consistently WITHOUT INCIDENT. 


In fact, the ONLY email address I have listed in my "whitelist" (and, ONLY due to Mr. ******'s insistence) is: *******@***************.com.  There has never been any need in the past to include other email addresses there; there is absolutely NO PROBLEM with my email!


So please see a copy below of my email that was sent twice to NetGuard., first on June 23 and the second on June 25.  Especially, please note:


1. The email address used for NetGuard IS CORRECT


2. I had also advised ****** (second sentence of first paragraph) in my note to him on the 25th re NetGuard, "I also sent an identical message using their own “contact us” email function."  Further: the text of that “contact us” email was identical to the first-sent of the email below. I had simply done a cut and paste to keep the messages consistent.


3. No response to these two emails or to the other (the 3rd one) sent to NetGuard from their site's contact page has ever been received from either NetGuard or from Mr. ******. 


Second request!


From: ** ***** [mailto:ed*****@******.com]
Sent: Wednesday, June 25, 2014 7:53 AM
To: '****** ******'
Subject:
***- FW: NEED ******* PHONE NUMBER PLEASE


***- this was sent to NetGuard ******* on Monday.  I also sent an identical message using their own “contact us” email function.


Have not heard from them.  Have not heard for you either, after leaving you a message asking you to call me and give me some “one-one-one” assistance.


You need to act on this and get it handled today, or, refund today the $1,300 I paid to undergo this absolute nonsense.


** *****


From: ** ***** [mailto:ed*****@******.com]
Sent: Monday, June 23, 2014 11:13 PM
To: '*******@***************.com'

Subject: NEED ******* PHONE NUMBER PLEASE


Hello!


I am supposedly "live" since June 11 with one search phrase for ******.com and one for health-tests-direct.com. I track visitors to my websites daily and do not see evidence of any increase in site activity.


I have not received written of phoned confirmation that my two sites are “live” with your system.  I have not received confirmation of the exact wording of my search phrases that – if your system is live -  are being used for my two sites.  I have not received any instructions on how to track my NetGuard-generated visitors.


Also, loading NetGuard toolbar prompts "script error" messages and ultimately freezes my computer, requiring re-boot. Tried installs both at office and at home. Made two attempts with each; had to uninstall both times from each.


Additionally, NetGuard tracking link has not been working for the past three weeks.


Please send me the phone number for customer ******* so I can call, discuss above, and get the needed information. Thanks.


Wishing you good health and personal safety always,

** *****


****** *. *****        *******@******.com


President/C.O.O.
*** ****** & Safety Services, Inc.


Health Tests Direct, Health Test Benefits
###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####

*** ****** & Safety Services, Inc.  
www.******.com
Health Tests Direct   www.*******************.com

Commerce Business Center
**** ****** ********** ***** *** ***** ***** **********  ***** ******
Please consider the environment before printing this e-mail.
This message may contain information which is confidential and privileged. 
Unless you are the intended recipient (or authorized to receive this message
for the intended recipient), you may not use, copy, disseminate or disclose
to anyone the message or any information contained in the message.  If you
have received the message in error, please advise the sender by reply e-mail,
and delete this message.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .********, , and find that arbitration is necessary. 

Regards,

****** *****

7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company advised me AFTER I paid in full $699 that they were unable to provide the services they agreed to. On April 12,2014 I paid $699 for the online search placement service they agreed to provide. On April 28,2014 they advised me they could not provide the service and a refund would be issued. On May 15, 2014 they advised me my refund had been processed for the $699 paid. I still do not have the refund. I have everything stated above in writing, in emails from ****** ****** who advised me he was a principle in the company.

Desired Settlement: 699 refund - credit card credit

Business Response: I apologize as I did not receive the original complaint from you.

On 4-29-14, we were notified by Corporate that as a result of an agreement at the Corporate level, we do not service Wells Fargo mortgage representatives, as they handle their own SEO.

We initiated the refund, and notified Mr. ***** that it would take up to two full billing cycles from that time for the charge to go back to his card. We indicated to Mr. ***** that if he had a non-Wells Fargo website we could do business with him in the future, and offered him a reduced rate if he chose to do so.

In the interim, Mr. ***** has called me, and emailed me, not less than 300 times, and this is a conservative estimate on my part. Owing to this harassment on his part, Corporate decided to blacklist him and not do business with him in the future. Just this morning alone he's emailed me not less than six times and it's 6 AM.

Mr. ***** has indicated to us he still does not have his refund. I've repeatedly asked him to have his bank contact me to resolve his issue and to get clarification in writing from his bank that they have not given him his refund. Not only has he -refused- to do so, but he has demanded personal contact information from myself and the powers that be at NetGuard. Owing to Mr. *****'s pattern of harassment, I referred him this morning to NetGuard for any further issues.

We sympathize with Mr. ***** is his desire to market his business, but we do not believe given the level of maintenance he requires that we or any company in the US that does web marketing would be able to assist him, as given his level of contacts to ourselves and NetGuard, he requires a full time representative solely dedicated to handle his needs. That's not economically possible for his budget.

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ***** (************) a salesman for Star Position email spammed me on 12/29/13 at 11:53PM soliciting their website search services to get my website better noticed. I spoke with ***** and a discussion ensued. ***** eventually sold me Star Position's 1 year service package costing $699 where Star Position would promote my website to their community of 40,000,000 online users. I signed up on 1/9/14. During the sales period, ***** contacted me by phone or email almost daily and sometimes several times daily.After signing up and paying Star Position $699, ***** disappeared. I got him on phone a couple times and he said they needed time to get my account set up but after 3 or 4 weeks I became skeptical and emailed ***** for a status report. ***** claimed food poisoning as his reason for being quiet but food poisoning only lasts 24 hrs, not a month. ***** told me that while he was out of the office, someone else from the office would contact me and handle my account and get it set up. NOTE: I was never contacted, my account was never set up, ***** never contacted me to make sure all was now going well.I emailed their billing/refund department (********************) explaining the lack of service and asked for a refund if no one was going to take care of me. I never heard from Bob or anyone.To this day, my account has never been set up. I've never been given any login access codes, login links or instructions or orientation how to monitor their service. No service whatsoever.Star Position spammed me. Solicited $699 for a year's contract of service and never delivered any part of their promises that I paid for. In short, they took my $699 and provided nothing in return.You can't call the company because you must know a name first because their system connects you to a voice prompted database. All I knew was ***** ***** and now I needed Customer Service, Billing or the President and couldn't reach any of them.Star Position is a bad company without scruples or morals and simply stole my money.

Desired Settlement: I'd like the particulars of my experience with Star Position listed on the BBB website so others can read how they behave. I see they have an A+ rating but if you read the online forums there are many people like me who have serious complaints against them including their email spam practices which are illegal and possibly criminal. Star Promotions is not, no offense, an A+ company in any way and my case is not unique. I ask the BBB review them and tell the true story for all to see. Thank You.

Business Response: Mr. ********'s account was in fact set up and he'd been sent his login twice ... he claimed he never received it. We sent it to the email address he gave us.

There was, regrettably, a few days delay in that his sales rep, ***** Walsh, was out due to emergency surgery and was convalescing. There was some follow up
that Mr. ***** had to do and as he was out (and Mr. ******** was notified Mr. ***** was out due to emergency surgery) the second attempt to send him his
login was done when Mr. ***** returned to work here..

I'd also like to point out that Mr. ******** advised us yesterday his credit card was refunded.

We do our best to work with clients - it's why we've been in business nearly ten years where many of our competitors do not last that long. But, given the fact that
Mr. ******** was notified Mr. ***** was out due to emergency surgery, and that Mr. ***** had demonstrated to me personally by way of text messages back and forth
between himself and Mr. ********, I was satisfied that Mr. ******** would understand that he would be re sent his login when Mr. ***** returned to work. And again. that second login was in fact sent to Mr. ********. Please understand that sometimes fate intervenes in things like that. I did not wish to rush our sales representative back to work
only to have him have to be readmitted to the hospital. I accept responsibility for that.

We are somewhat mystified as to why we have this complaint seeing as the complaint was done after Mr. ******** got his refund.

As Mr. ******** has indicated to us that he's gotten his money back, we consider this a closed issue. We wish Mr. ******** ever success in the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

If Star Position sent me login access once or twice, I never received it. I understand that sending an email is not a guarantee it will get to the intended recipient. In my case, when I didn't get the access information within the time frame the salesman told me I called and left voicemail and emailed him too (prior to his illness) to advise I was still waiting for my access and instructions how to use their service. 

 
The nature of my complaint is the lack of customer care and support. Star Position only gives you your salesman's number and you can't seem to reach anyone else to get help. So when ***** went, per Star Position, into hospital I was still on my own, in the dark with no one to contact since ***** was out of commission. 
 
I take great issue with whoever responded to my complaint here, that ***** or the company knowing I was not apparently getting their access emails, that someone should have called me since email was apparently not reaching me. And I should have been given a contact during *****'s recuperation. To have Star suggest that I expect ***** to work while ill is beyond absurd. But to expect Star to assign another rep is the point they miss and miss badly. I had just paid $699, my rep was now in hospital and I was emailing and leaving voicemails which I know ***** got, so Star Position is guilty of being totally inaccessible and not having a number on their website to call in an emergency. I did email the one link I did find to <bob@starposition.com> explaining the problem, but I never got a response or call.
 
I've been in sales and when you make a sale there is something called "post sales" where the rep or company follows up with the new client to make sure everything is in place as promised. This never happened even though I was emailing, and calling and basically begging for help.
 
I hope you find it suspicious that the person who responded to my BBB complaint didn't even leave a name. What reputable company behaves like this? The company seems to make a practice of being inaccessible and only allows you to speak to one person and if they get indisposed as ***** allegedly did, then the client, me, has no one to talk to and I had paid for service and was going into the 2nd month without any service even though they feel they did their job because they say they emailed me twice. 
 
But yet I kept emailing I had not access info which "should" have spoken loudly to the company that I wasn't getting their emails and that someone needed to contact me another way and get me set up and going instead of playing hide and seek.
 
It is true that since Bob did respond to my request for help, and then for a refund which is part of our contract, that I had no choice but to contact my credit card and start a fraud claim against Star Position, which is totally justified.
 
While I got my money back via my card company not Star Position, the money isn't the basis of my complaint. The complaint is based on the lack of communication and lack of follow up and follow through and lack of response by Star Position knowing that my only contact was ***** who they knew full well was hospitalized so I had no one to talk to yet they were in position of my money at that time and this were in breach of contract not to mention in violation of decent and moral business practices.
 
The fact that I was industrious enough to get my credit card company to refund me doesn't let Star Position, ***** ***** or ****** ****** off the hook. My complaint about their lack of communications and proper business relations needs to be available for others to read my case and complaint so the public can better decide if they want to take a risk in giving money to a company that virtually hides from it's clients. You can't even get a receptionist on the phone. 
 
I have spent some time researching the internet about ****** ****** and this company after all went bad as per the above, and read case after case of disappointed, angry clients that had similar problems as I ran into. 
 
The fact that I had to get my money from a 3rd party who will presumably get the money from Star Position, doesn't grant Start Position any medals. 
 
They didn't communicate, when their sales rep disappeared they didn't make other arrangements for a temporary rep to take care of me, they didn't refund my money per our contract if I wasn't happy with their service which I wasn't. This NEEDS to be on the BBB site for potential Star Position customers to read about the company they are considering hiring. 
 
Whether their service even works, I can't comment because I never got remotely near getting activated and seeing how their service worked or didn't work. 
 
To Robert, you really are disingenuous in criticizing me. I gave you $699 in good faith and when ***** got ill no one from your company reached out to me to get me set up and my account moving. This complaint makes perfect sense regardless of the refund I got from my card company not Star Position. I am fortunate they refunded me otherwise since I had no one to talk to, and no one was responding to me, I would have been out the $699 and with no service whatsoever.

Regretfully,

****** ********



Business Response: ******

The BBB addresses your complaints to me, the owner of the company. My name is Robert Sexton. I assumed they told you that.

Theres no criticism here, ******, I was simply wondering what I could assist you with given the fact that per your statement, you'd already gotten a refund.

I took complete responsibility here for not having my sales representative go back to work until I felt he was ready. Nobody could possibly predict a sales representative having emergency surgery between the time a client does an order and the time they are set up, so to insinuate this as some kind of organizational oversight on our part is inaccurate. At this stage we still do not know why you did not receive the logins you were sent twice, but that can be for any number of reasons including your login notice being blocked at an ISP level on your end. As your representative was out recovering from gallbladder surgery at that time, he was not able to do proper followup with you. The way things work is that the representative takes the order, sends it to Support, and then Support does the followup. If for some reason you don't get the followup (which has happened less than the number of fingers I have on one hand over 10 years) then the representative in question follows up. The chances or a sales representative having emergency surgery in such an instance at such a time are so astronomically low, as to not usually bear consideration. We will, however, make such arrangements in the future, so that clients such as yourself are not having undue worry.

We wish you every success in the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[******, it is sad that it took a BBB complaint to get someone other than ***** to respond to me. I too would not expect or wish ***** to work will ill. I hope you realize that is not the nature of my complaint. It is simply that there is a apparently a flaw in your system which is as you alluded to, if there is a glitch in the hand off as there was in my case which was two fold: 1) I didn't get your emails and 2) ***** was no longer accessible, then the customer has no way to reach your company and I tried EVERYTHING short of hiring a private search on you. I called your company and got a prerecorded message saying to speak to someone key in their name which ignores the idea of what happens if we don't have a name? The only name I had was *****'s and he was already not responding. But there was no receptionist, no general person, no general inbox in which I could reach out of help. So your voicemail system only works if you have knowledge of a name. I couldn't even reach out to a customer service general mailbox. I then went to WHOIS to try to find a different phone # but the one I found was disconnected. The more I dug the less close I got. It clearly appeared that ***** got my money and split and there was no way to reach another living soul at your company. BTW, at this time the last I heard from ***** he told me he had food poisoning which was odd since that usually doesn't last more than a day or two and it was not 4 or 5 weeks since I had paid and my account wasn't set up. So I found the food poisoning excuse suspect. Weeks later ***** told me the truth that he was sicker but didn't want to mention it back then so said food poisoning which was not smart. Why not just tell the truth? And more importantly, ***** knew I wasn't set up and kept asking when this would happen and he never told me email were sent so I never looked in my junk mail because I didn't know to. And what he SHOULD have done knowing how sick he was, was to call you and request someone hand hold me to get my account set up. 

 
Further, if I assume ***@starposition.com> is you, I emailed you several times off your site once explaining that I wasn't being taken care of and I never heard back, so on the 2nd email to this email address, I said "enough" and asked for my money back which was more than appropriate because I wasn't getting service and I could find anyone to talk to, to get things on track. 
 
Also keep in mind that when ***** was trying to sign me up he called or emailed me several times daily. After I paid that stopped and then he disappeared totally. 
 
So given all that ******, I'm not making things up. I literally was being ignored and no one was taking care of me or realizing that I was in the dark and needed a call to set things up. Had I just gotten a call or email from ANYONE this could have all be averted. For all I knew at this point the only person related to Star Position was *****. Plus ***** told me to call the people who had left testimonials and unfortunately I only reach two, one being that lawyer who was vitriolic about hating your company which was crazy to me because his text on your site was so supportive. 
 
Can you see how insane this all was? Not to mention that ***** got to me via spam as opposed to a referral so he could be anyone. Still could.
 
Perhaps now you see why I filed my claim. Again it wasn't the money it was that my money was taken and I was ignored for over a month. Not days ******. A month. And then I read some forums and you are not a well like man in some of them, so with my credit card company investigating you, I decided I needed to take my story public as no one should have to go through all this and pay for it. 
 
****** you NEED to be a lot more transparent. You need to have a way for clients to reach someone if their rep becomes unavailable as mine did. And whoever ***@starposition.com is needs to answer his email. Had that at least happened presumably a dialog would have started and someone would have seen I wasn't getting your access emails. I had no idea they were even sent and that without *****, I couldn't reach anyone to talk to and request help.
 
I wasted a ton of time on just trying to get started. 
 
Other than wishing me luck. I'm also a bit surprised that given what happened to me that sending best wishes is the best you have to offer me? Why haven't you offered me something related to trying your service? It's basically your systems failed so see you later ******? As opposed to: wow did we fail you ******, let us make it up to you. How about…. ]

****** ********



10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service