Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Modern Technology School

Phone: (714) 418-9100 Fax: (714) 418-9109 16560 Harbor Blvd #K, Fountain Valley, CA 92708 http://www.mtschool.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers classes in medical vocations.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Modern Technology School include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Modern Technology School
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 09, 2013 Business started: 03/10/1986 in CA Business incorporated 03/10/1986 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The number is 3006561.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Harvey Caplan
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harvey Caplan
Customer Contact: Ms. Susan Shannon, Campus Director
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Service Area
This business's service area covers Orange County and the surrounding areas.
Alternate Business Names
MT X-Ray Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16560 Harbor Blvd #K

    Fountain Valley, CA 92708 (714) 418-9100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended Modern text for 1 month, and I asked financial aid officer Bob that i needed to understand the refund of my loan, he yelled at me and told me to get out of his office. I made several attempts to contact him and he refused to answer the questions regarding my loan. He then told me it could take 30 days for my refund. i am very disappointed with this school as they are very unprofessionals. *** ******* was upset when i told her that i was confuse with having 2 different instructors everyday. ***** who has been there for many years is very rude and does not like to explain himself twice!! We are here to learn not to be made fun of or get rude remarks from the teacher!! I recommend having this school to be inspected, since I am not the only one who is unhappy with MODERN TECHNOLOGY!!

Desired Settlement: I want my refund ASAP. They should not be keeping any money since i only attended 1 month..

Business Response: BBB Complaint Response RE: ***** ****** ID of ********. July 17, 2014

Dear BBB; In response to the complaint, Modern Technology School did not receive the original complaint from July 3, 2014 until this morning July 17, 2014. To respond to the complaint #********, Ms. ****** was enrolled in the X-ray Technician Program. She attended for approximately a month. The cost of the entire course was $14,102. She completed 70.40 hours of the 989.0 hours enrolled. She was only required to pay for the 70.40 hours of education and her books & supplies. The total amount that the student was responsible for was $6334.00. The school retained $933.93 for the 70.40 hours and the books and supplies she used. There was a refund to the federal government of $2375.00 to the UGSL/PLUS loan, $1732.00 to the GSL loan, & $1,293.07 Pell Grant for a total of $5400.00. The student was told by the Financial Aid officer ***** ****** that this process could take up to 30 days to get back into the Federal Financial Aid System. Mr. ****** met with ***** on 6/27/2014 and explained this refund determination with her (please see the attachment). Regarding the statement about having two different teachers; ***** *. was the assigned teacher for the class and we had a second instructor that we recently hired who was “shadowing” ***** for training purposes. This is not unusual and is a requirement of all incoming instructors per our accrediting body. All Modern Technology School instructors are credentialed in the field and have degrees. Ms. ****** was not in compliance with dress code, had been absent at least once a week and was missing course work, and she had failed five of five exams in the month she was at the school. She had to be counseled by the Medical Director and instructor for non-compliance. During the discussion she lost her temper and slammed several doors on her way out. She was insubordinate and quick to anger according to the Medical Director ****** ******. As the school director I told her via email that the refund would take 30 days to be patient. (She inquired about it just a few days ago). Also Mr. ****** was out of the office for several days and had not been able to respond to her emails but did so when he returned. Lastly she made a comment about being the school needing to be inspected. We have been inspected by our accrediting body the ACCSC, our licensing body BPPE and the California Department of Public Health—RHB; all within the past six months to a year. We are also audited independently by the accounting firm Almich and Associates and just concluded a clean audit with the federal government. We got very high marks for excellence and student satisfaction (97%) and also have many referrals from happy customers. It is unfortunate that Ms. ****** is unhappy with having to meet our school standards; but I feel that the school followed all procedures properly to ensure that her money was refunded except for the educational hours she received and the books and supplies that she used.

Sincerely

***** *******,
MS RT Campus Director

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is all an absolute lie. ***** ****** REFUSED TO EXPLAIN TO ME IN PERSON ABOUT THE REFUND AND TILL THIS DAY I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A RESPONSE BACK FROM ***** ******. I am very very disappointed how they just give me the run around regarding the refund and only respond with me being upset, I did not lose my temper at all nor did I disrepct them! I need my money back and I am going to seek legal action against MTS..]

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau:

This is Modern Technology School’s rebuttal statement for complaint ID ********. When students apply for student financial aid from the federal government, all students must attest that they understand the loan process through the FAFSA website.  Ms. ****** attested and agreed to the terms and conditions when she applied for these loans.  Modern Technology School also agrees to and follows the terms and conditions regarding student funding.

Modern Technology School only collected for the hours that Ms. ****** spent in class, plus books and supplies; all other monies were returned on June 30, 2014 to the federal government FAFSA - G5 funding. Modern Technology School has the banking paper trail to support this.   The school only retained $933.93 for books and supplies and the number of teaching hours that Ms. ****** used.  The federal government Title IV money was returned in the amounts of $1732 subsidized loans, $2375 of unsubsidized loans and $5400 of Pell Grant monies.  We have proof from the federal government that this was returned correctly, if Ms. ****** does decide to seek legal counsel. 

Modern Technology School is approved for title IV funding through the Department of Education and is also voluntarily examined by an outside accounting firm for accountability; the school is highly regulated and has very strict protocols for refunding student loans. 

The schools Financial Aid Director personally spoke to Ms. ****** and informed her of the refund policy.  Ms. ****** chose to argue with the Director and expected to have money returned to her instead of the FAFSA G5 which is against government and state policies. The school can send Ms. ****** a statement of accounts that shows her activity if she would like—otherwise she can access the information through her student portal on the FAFSA website. If she would like a statement of accounts she should request it in writing and the school will respond to her within 30 days. 
 
***** *******,
Campus Director