Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

International Education Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (949) 272-7200 16485 Laguna Canyon Rd #300, Irvine, CA 92618 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.iecglobal.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers educational programs.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for International Education Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on International Education Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 05/17/1990 in CA Business incorporated 03/30/2010 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Abdi Lajevardi Ms. Rosa Medina
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Abdi Lajevardi
Principal: Ms. Rosa Medina
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Alternate Business Names
IEC Corp

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16485 Laguna Canyon Rd #300

    Irvine, CA 92618 (949) 272-7200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    220 Commerce #250

    Irvine, CA 92602

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2201 Dupont Dr #800

    Irvine, CA 92612

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    295 E Caroline St #E

    San Bernardino, CA 92408

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3380 Shelby St #150

    Ontario, CA 91764

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3401 Rio Hondo Ave

    El Monte, CA 91731

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3727 W 6th St #617

    Los Angeles, CA 90020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6812 Pacific Blvd

    Huntington Park, CA 90255

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7335 Van Nuys Blvd

    Van Nuys, CA 91405

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a corporation that has taken over my college, Florida Career College, out of Jacksonville, FL. Ever since they have taken control of my school no one and I mean NO ONE has been able to tell me anything about my financial aid. When I originally signed up for this school I applied for student loans, pell grant, and I have the GI Bill as well. My credit report has been clearly stating that student loans have been processed for me and yet there is no one who can explain to me what is going on with my financial status. I do not receive and itemized billing receipt after tuition has been charged every month. I do not receive any notices on the updates to my student account. there isn't even a web portal in place to view my student account. I have called this company and left numerous messages and I would like to know exactly where my money is going to and why I don't receive any of it. Florida Career College has been told that they no longer control financial aid and that they just collect the paper work and send it to International Education Corporation. I am receiving no cooperation from any one and I would like to have updated information every month about the status of my student accounts. If I applied for student loans then I would like to know if I am still receiving them. I can see from my end that the VA has paid this company twice in the past two months and I have received no notices about my account or student loans. I would like someone to please tell me what is going on. I don't appreciate people telling me that there isn't anyone that I can talk to that has control over any of this information.

Desired Settlement: Since the drop down box only allows one request, I will put extra in here. I would like to receive a phone call about who I can contact at International Education Corporation because apparently no one wants to talk to the students that they are simply sucking money from. There is no communication and it is terrible. I would also like an explanation of tuition charges, student loans, pell grants, and anything else that has been charged. I want to know why their silence is necessary because every other school I have been to has always been able to explain to me my student accounts and this situation is just ridiculous! I would like some answers! It's sad that I am a Veteran and that there is no one for me to speak to about any of this.

Business Response:

Re: Complaint #********

                                                                                                                                                                                               

 

Dear *****:

 

Upon receipt of Complaint # ******* from ***** ****, a current Medical Assistant Technician student at Florida Career College (FCC) in Jacksonville, Florida, an investigation was initiated to determine the merit of the complaint. Ms. **** was contacted by ***** ******** (Director of Non Title IV Funding and Campus Support) via telephone on April 23, 2015 and discussed the issues which prompted the original complaint and to reach a resolution.

Facts uncovered during the investigation include the following:

·         FCC was acquired by International Education Corporation (IEC) in August 22, 2014.

·         Ms. **** is entitled for Veterans Administration Benefits (VA) and Federal Financial Aid program (grants and loans) for her education.

·         IEC is in collaboration with FCC Student Financial Services to verify students who qualify for Financial Assistance.

 

In Conclusion, we are pleased that Ms. **** was satisfied with the explanation of her Financial Aid, and was provided with a direct contact at IEC for any further questions.

 

Should you have any questions regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me at ***** ********.

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

Compliance Coordinator


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on International Education Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart