Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Career Networks Institute

Additional Locations

Phone: (714) 437-9267 Fax: (714) 437-9356 View Additional Phone Numbers 702 W Town And Country Rd, Orange, CA 92868 http://www.cnicollege.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers educational services. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Career Networks Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Career Networks Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Career Networks Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2013 Business started: 01/12/1994 in CA Business incorporated 01/12/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The number is 3009481.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Buffington, CEO Mr. Patrick Ohara, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Buffington, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Patrick Ohara, Manager
Number of Employees

70

Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Alternate Business Names
Career Networks Institute Inc CNI College

Additional Locations

  • 702 W Town And Country Rd

    Orange, CA 92868 (714) 437-9697 (714) 568-1566 (800) 455-4700 (714) 437-9267

  • 986 Town and Country Rd

    Orange, CA 92868

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this school for the ADN program, when complaining about an instructor calling me incompetent through email I got told I was being too emotional. In turn I got dropped from the program when I complained about the instructor again who told me "I had what was coming to me." When being dropped I was given copies of checks that were going to be sent back for federal loans, pell grant and VA educational benefits. It's been almost two months and the VA sent me a letter stating that I owe them the amount of money that they paid the school. I contacted the school and they said "oh yeah we didn't pay them because we need a debt letter." I explained to the school I was told it would be handled last month.

Desired Settlement: Either let me come back into the program without any further financial issues of pay all of the debt incurred due to the excess stress brought on by this school.

Business Response: Regarding compliant# *******

The instructor denies calling or telling the student that she was incompetent. The student was 
dropped from the nursing program  for academic reasons not for complaining about the instructor. 
All financial statements were e-mailed to complainant the institution received the Veterans 
Administration Dept Management Letter on 1/28/14 the check in question was mailed and cashed by the VA on 1/31/14. The institution disagrees with the 
problem occurred date of 9/13/13 due to the fact that problems  were occurring  on a regular basis.

The institution does not agree with the desired settlement request request.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I was not dropped for academic reasons because I asked for help on multiple occasions which was part of the contract that I signed stating I would get tutoring if necessary which was never provided. ***** ****** made it clear I would not make it through the program once I stated that I felt I was being harassed by professor ******** and accused of academic dishonesty which I agreed with in order for him to stop harassing me. Also when I asked for help by **** in physiology he instead stated I could go on goggle, my response was I am not paying google for my education. I feel that the school does owe me due to the fact that they did not keep their end of the contract I did sign because I did ask for help. I did also get called incompetent and other words which were uncalled for. I also feel I deserve an apology for the I professionalism of the staff. When calling to speak with Finanicial aid on 2-7 I was yelled at by Sylvia when I was simply trying to ask a question but instead was rudely interrupted then hung up on. 

Regards,

********* *******

Business Response:

Regarding complaint #******* Ms. ******* our position regarding this matter remains the same as our initial response.

Thank you.

*** **********

President.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please be advised that I have spoke to a lawyer and also The BRN and some of the actions taken by the staff is against the BRN's policies. I am now required to report them. I will do so immediately. As of the last conversation I had with the VA the school hadn't sent the check back. I will check with the VA again to ensure it has been if not I will personally go pick up a check to walk to the VA in Los Angeles. These issues have not been resolved in a timely matter which is unacceptable. 


Regards,

********* *******

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When it finally came to setting up my financial aid, a guy named Edwin scolded me for doing my FAFSA at home. Once he calculated all the numbers, he mentions I will have to pay out of pocket, not once mentioning student loans nor helping me look for a more affordable (interest wise) loan until I asked him after he was done speaking. They made it very clear I had seven calendar days after the first day of class to drop out of the surgical technician program. Some personal issues came up and I could no longer attend the school and program. I decided to drop the program (a day after the given date to drop out). I initially emailed ********, the admissions counselor who then told me I would need to speak with *** Kenyon. (Director of the school). The very next morning I went Ms. *** an email about my problem. I sent about 2 emails and called several times requesting to speak with her. When I finally got a hold of her (many hrs later), she told me the most simple answer. That same day, I go to the school to sign papers and drop the program. I didn't get the financial aid lady that helped me. She had me sign all required papers and I asked to look at the books they provided WITH the tuition. She asked if I had written in any of them (one) and told me I can't return that one book. She then proceeds to tell me I can't return another two additional books because I had already activated the access code. I politely asked her if the school can call the book company to request new codes. Her along with Ms. *** said they don't make the rules and there's nothing they can and told me to personally speak with the financial aid director. I left very unhappy because I'm now responsible to pay for two books I clearly don't need. I got the financial aid director's info. On 3/28 at 8am, I emailed letting her know the situation. It is now 3/31, and I sent a follow up email at around 9am, still no response.

Desired Settlement: I would like to NOT pay for the two books that they are refusing to take back.

Business Response: The compalint has been resolved. The books were returned.

Consumer Response:

To whom this may concern:

Reference number: #******* has been resolved. They took my books in question back without any charging me.

Thank you,

********* **