Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Business College

Additional Locations

Phone: (760) 602-8460 Fax: (760) 602-8466 2231 Faraday Ave #100, Carlsbad, CA 92008 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.theaccountingacademy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a bookkeeping and accounting training center.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Business College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Business College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Business College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 2006 Business started: 08/17/2005 in CA Business incorporated 08/18/2007 in DC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William R Setterlund, President/CPA
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William R Setterlund, President/CPA
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, all credit cards, plus in house financing.
Alternate Business Names
The Accounting Academy

Additional Locations

  • 2231 Faraday Ave #100

    Carlsbad, CA 92008 (760) 602-8460

  • 7370 Opportunity Rd #G

    San Diego, CA 92111 (858) 836-1420

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled with The Accounting Academy in the fall of 2012. I did so with the hope of learning how to utilize programs like **********, ***** and ********* (****). With the help of the State of California, through my unemployment benefits, I was able to get tuition aid which covered half of the cost of the program offered. I was in the program through the end of the year, which covered **********. I also made monthly payments to cover the 2nd half of my tuition still owed. Unfortunately, I had to leave for ******* for personal reasons. I was helping a family member recover from surgery. I did not finish the 2nd half of my enrollment, yet The Accounting Academy insisted on collecting. I never collected on the 2nd half of my schooling, but the school keeps billing me and adding on late fees. I couldn't even go back to finish because they wanted over $1000.00 to come back. The school has already been paid more than half the cost of their tuition costs but they have not fulfilled their end. They have sent this to collections and my credit is being adversely affected. It is not right for them to expect more money when they have not allowed me to finish what is owed to me as well.

Desired Settlement: I want to have this debt cleared as they never finished their end of the agreement. They took the money from me and the state, but refused to finish their part to let me complete my education. Remove this from collections, remove late fees and remove adverse marks on my credit report.

Business Response: Dear BBB:

The student has never contacted us about this matter...this is is the very first time we have heard about the issue. The school has a formal student complaint process that conforms to state regulatory requirements. At the beginning of each session, students are given a copy of a complaint form that documents any issues a student may have. If the school cannot resolve the issues, the student has the recourse of contacting the Bureau for Private Post Secondary Education.
The student never documented his issue as required by the Enrollment Agreement.
The student enrolled in our training program of 25 weeks and 400 hours on 9/17/12 and continued his training through 1/17/13 when he requested a temporary leave of absence.  We continued to hold open his spot in the classroom as he indicated that he would return. He never returned to class and he never submitted a required written notice of termination as required by the Enrollment Agreement. Based on these enrollment dates, the student completed close to 70% of the program, not one-half as indicated. 
Total tuition was $7,475, of which the San Diego Workforce Partnership provided him a grant for $5,000. The student signed a 36-month installment note for the balance of $2,475 with monthly payments of $76.42, with the first payment due 10/17/12.
It quickly became apparent that the student was not serious about meeting his student loan obligation. He delayed making any payments for several months, until the school received his first payment 1/19/13. To date, the student has made only six of the 36 payments due on his note with the last on received 5/7/13.
He stopped making payments after that date.  Our reasonable request for resumption of his training was for him to simply bring his past due note payments current.  
The school never refused the student an opportunity to complete his training.  The school was always here for him, and held an opening for him for several months hoping he would return to class. We never heard from him again until we received this complaint.
Mail to the student were return by the Post Office marked 'Not Deliverable as Addressed-Unable to Forward.' Thus, the past due loan rab its course, which resulted in the student's account going to collection. 
The school is more than willing to work with the student in order to obtain a resolution to this issue.
******* *********** *** (ret.)
President & Education Director
American Business College, Inc.
dba The Accounting Academy
**** ******** **** ***** *
San Diego, CA 92111 T: ************ F:************
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As stated by the business's reply, they received $5,000.00 from the state and received $456.00 from me.  That's more than 75% their tuition.  And they are false in claiming I completed 75%, as I still had no training in their *********/**** program, which is one of two major programs in their curriculum.  The other being **********, which I did complete before I had to leave.  I emailed Mr. ********** on May 14, 2014 to inform him I was moving back to San Diego and would be interested in picking up where I left off.  However, the cost to go back was too high and now is in collections.  

It is not right that he receives $5456.00, when I have only been able to complete HALF of the program.  Mr. ********** is so tied down by technicalities.  He was NOT so concerned about taking the $5000.00 from the state for a start track earlier than when I was really able to begin.  I will be contacting the State Career Center if this is not resolved. 
Regards,

******** ******



Business Response: At the school's request today, the student's tuition installment loan has been cancelled by the collection agency and appropriate notifications distributed as required.