Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

University of San Diego

Phone: (619) 260-4600 Fax: (619) 260-6833 5998 Alcala Park, San Diego, CA 92110 http://www.sandiego.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers college educations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that University of San Diego meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for University of San Diego include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on University of San Diego
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 2000 Business started: 11/22/1949 in CA Business incorporated 11/22/1949 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Mary E Lyons PhD, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Mary E Lyons PhD, President
Number of Employees

1,400

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833 Phone Number: 888-370-7589 Fax Number: 916-263-1897 http://www.bppve.ca.gov bppve@dca.ca.gov

Industry Tips
Student Loans and Consolidation

Additional Locations

  • 5998 Alcala Park

    San Diego, CA 92110 (619) 260-4600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ***** *******-******, and I was on track to transfer as a Junior in Fall of 2013- I had been admitted back in February of 2013, and went through the application process as normal. However, soon after I submitted my documents to be processed at the Financial Aid Office, I began to run into issue after issue at USD.Despite sending the necessary documents for the FAFSA and loans (through signature-required Certified Mail, I might add) in early and mid-June, every time I checked my student portal, I saw that most of them had not been processed; there were yellow triangles indicating that the papers had been received, but not reviewed. After inquiring about this and following the advice to just wait it out, in July I saw that the papers had still not been processed by the Financial Aid Office, completely hindering my progress, as I was unable to accept loans and obtain grants that were absolutely imperative to my attending USD- my family was anxiously awaiting any updates so that we would know what changes to our lifestyle we would need to make to make ends meet.When no progress was made, I called numerous times to the Financial Aid Office, and was told that the entirety of my documents were left unseen because of an alleged error on one of them. I promptly mailed an amended copy of the single paper in early July, and once again waited for the documents to be reviewed. Weeks passed with no changes, but I did notice that USD had begun billing me for the resources I would be using during my attendance. It struck me as odd and frustrating that employees at USD were quick to process my $500 deposit and charge me thousands more, but unable to fulfill their duties to ensure that I would even be able to pay for tuition.On August 13th, I attended my scheduled campus tour, and made it a point to stop at both the Admissions Office and the One Stop Student Center. At the Student Center, an employee named Alison Do informed me that there was still an error on one of my papers, to which I told her I'd already been down that road a month earlier, as I sent a new document. In a bizarre and unprofessional move, Ms. Do handed me a sheet of plain white paper, and had me write that all records (were) correct and no modifications needed, as well as date and sign the paper. She then told me the documents would finally be processed, and to wait a few weeks. This last-ditch effort to rectify my situation was in vain, as the Fall semester was literally two weeks away. There was no way I could wait for my documents to possibly be reviewed, receive my financial aid, enroll in and pay for classes, buy meal plans, pick up and move from Culver City to San Diego, and pay for everything else all within two weeks.After a long and devastating consultation with my family, I decided that it was virtually impossible to put that sort of strain on myself and my mother, who would be the sole bearer of most of the financial burden. I then emailed Admissions to tell them of my decision to defer to Spring 2014; after speaking with ***** Di **** via email, my deferment was authorized on August 30th and I successfully withdrew for the semester. I was told that my deposit could be used to hold my place in Spring 2014, so all I had to do was wait, once again. In November, when I was expecting a new enrollment packet, I instead discovered that I had a balance of $665.00, charged by USD for not moving in, when I had clearly unenrolled from the semester months before due to their inadequacy. I promptly contacted the Housing department, and emailed Candace ****** to try and figure out what was going on. Ms. ****** confirmed my situation with Ms. Di ****, but did not remove the charge. Instead, she lowered it to a still-questionable $405, as I was still being charged for not moving in.This, combined with the fact that my documents had still not been processed fully in November 2013, prompted me to try my luck elsewhere, at a more professional institution. I completely unenrolled via my USD Student Portal, and sent a formal letter explaining my situation to Director of Admissions Minh-Ha Hoang, who had just recently mailed me and said my deposit still stood. In my letter, I requested my initial deposit back, as it was no longer holding my place at USD, but I have not received a response from anyone, despite my letter being Certified, meaning it required a signature to be received. I find it very unprofessional and unethical for these people at University of San Diego to be both withholding my $500 deposit, and attempting to bill me $400 for their own incompetence. This has been the most trying time of my life, and not only has my academic career been put on hold indefinitely, my family has been stressed and pushed to the limit over these problems. I am tired of my letters and calls going unanswered, and tired of my funds being withheld unfairly. I would think a Director might have at least a generic message for me, yet ******* ***** has completely ignored my communication attempts, perhaps in favor of protecting unqualified employees. I have already gone to the Better Business Bureau, and the Federal Trade Commission, regarding my refund and the ludicrous fees being unjustly charged by a university that apparently cannot process students' documents for attendance, but can process bills and deposits. I do hope that through this, I will finally be able to settle what has been an arduous 10 months, receive my $500 deposit, have the move-in fee deducted, and move on with my academic labors.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $500 and not charge me anything for their unprofessional incompetence

Business Response: The Better Business Bureau sent a letter dated 12/19/2013 regarding complaint ******* to the
University of San Diego (although this letter references an earlier letter you sent to us we have no
record of receiving that letter). Since the University was closed for the holidays from 12/21/13 to
1/1/14, this complaint reached our President's office on 1/2/14 and was forwarded to me for review.
After investigating this this matter I have written the response below.

USD received an email complaint containing a request for a refund of her admissions deposit and a
waiver of the housing cancellation fee from this potential student on December 3, 2013. After review of
the matter and taking into account the student's economic circumstances uso decided to grant her
request and notified her of this fact by email on December 6, 2013. Given her email response it appears
she considers the matter satisfactorily resolved. Copies of these emails are attached for your reference.

In terms of the complaint itself USD does not agree with her characterization of what happened. The
issues that resulted In the student not being registered for classes and not having her financial aid
application processed until late August were caused by her failure to submit some required documents
(e.g. her official transcripts from her previous Institution and her vaccination records) and errors that
she made on other documents (e.s. her Student Income Verification form). Repeatedly submitting the
same document with the same mistake does not rectify the error and federal regulations required that
this mistake be corrected before her financial aid application could be processed. This correction only
occurred when our One Stop Student Counselor had her submit a document in writing saying that she
had made a mistake on the Student Income Verification form and authorizing USD to correct it.

If you need any further Information regarding this matter please let me know.

Sincerely,

*** ****** ** *********
**** *******

8/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The University of San Diego School of Law provides student health insurance through a company called ******** ******. Students that already have preexisting health insurance can waive this student insurance to avoid any additional fees. I am currently a third year law student at the University of San Diego. I was recently notified by my financial aid office that my financial aid amount is lower than expected because I have been charged 1,929.00$. I have spent the last two months attempting to waive my insurance through ******** ******. I have called them over 8 times, left voice mails, emailed, and chatted with customer support. Yet, they have still failed to cancel my student insurance despite the fact that I have insurance through my parents HMO. I have contacted both the Financial Aid department of the school and the Student Affairs department yet have not heard back from them. I am extremely frustrated because the money that I should be receiving to cover my living expenses, food, housing, and books is now going to insurance that I do not need.

Desired Settlement: I would like the University of San Diego School of Law to cancel my student insurance and refund $1,929.00 to my student account.