BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers career training, classes for medical assistant, dental assistant, pharmacy technician, business office administration, massage therapy, medical billing, computer system technician, and insurance coding.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that UEI United Education Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for UEI United Education Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on UEI United Education Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 20, 1994 Business started: 08/16/1989 in CA Business incorporated: 08/16/1989 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The number is 3711311.

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The number is 88045754.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Angela Robertson, Executive Director Ms. Brenda Owen, Business Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Angela Robertson, Executive Director
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
UEI College United Education Institute
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Education, Department of 1430 N Street, Sacramento CA 95814 Phone Number: (916) 319-0791 http://www.cde.ca.gov


Additional Locations

  • 2085 Montiel Rd

    San Marcos, CA 92069

  • 310 3rd Ave #C6

    Chula Vista, CA 91910 (619) 409-4111

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (619) 409-4119 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: UEI is a for-profit institution which promises its students an education and job placement after the completion of a given course of study. They offer automotive technician, business management degree, computer systems technician (of which I was enrolled) among others. The entire program I was enrolled in was a sham (and that's most likely the reason they don't offer it at this particular location anymore). Let me start off by saying the recruiters are deceptive, snake-oil salesman who know that the prospects of the graduating students is low, and that any job that the student acquires, they consider that job placement- even if its working at Mcdonald's. Yet the administrators and the recruiters suggest and even tell the students it will be easy to find work in the specific field of study. They use this to bilk the government and the taxpayers for federal student loans in the tune of thousands of dollars (12,500 + interest) and then to put a smoke screen for its students to make them believe they are receiving an "education" when they are not. To make matters worse, they didn't even bother to hire qualified instructors. My instructor's only work experience was running cabling in the field, which doesn't make him the least bit qualified to run a course- and openly admitted that several times. Again, the administrators bit off more than they could chew at this particular school and closed the program down immediately once they started receiving complaints.

Desired Settlement: The administrators know what they have done so I'd like to offer them the opportunity to set things straight and relieve the debt they have taken under my name for the lies, half-truths, and deceptive tactics they are using to recruit many unsuspecting students.

Business Response:

We would like to address the complaint made by the complainant in our response below.

Based on our records, the complainant enrolled in the Computer Systems Technician program at UEI College in San Diego, CA on January 05, 2009 and graduated with a Computer Systems Technician Diploma on November 20, 2009.

Upon enrolling in the school, the school catalog is given to students which outlines the school policies, procedures, and program outcomes.  The catalog also informs students of an Answer program service, which is a student complaint hotline at our corporate office.  Information on the Answer program is also posted on the walls of the school to reinforce the open door policy in the servicing and assisting students who have concerns or questions.   From the time of the complainant’s enrollment to the last of his completion of the program, we do not have any records of the complainant making any attempts to contact the Answer Program regarding specific concerns that he has addressed in the complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

Additionally, upon completion of his program he presented the institution with a Final Program Evaluation rating the school as “Excellent, Good, and Fair” in all areas of the didactic portion of his studies with no comments alluding to any dissatisfaction of the education received.

Based on the above investigation, we believe we provided all the services listed in the school catalog and that was promised on the enrollment agreement.  Therefore, we believe there is no evidence to suggest that a refund is due.

The school remains willing to assist the complainant in job placement assistance if he desires. All he needs to do is contact UEI College in Chula Vista and request to speak to the Director of Career Services.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

How many "schools" ask their students to fill out a satisfaction survey just before graduation? The reason they ask students to submit these questionnaires is because they already know they are offering sub-standard education for exorbitant fees and expect some kind of blowback from the students. For sure, if I was presented with a questionnaire asking how I rated my experience, I'm sure going to want a copy of it provided. Also, if you have these categories 1. not satisfied 2. fair 3. good 4. excellent, and a student is offered to fill out the survey and answers fair across all categories, does that meet your criteria for a student answering in the positive? I wasn't aware of a corporate hotline answering all my complaints- perhaps if you spent less of the students money setting up a "hope you feel better about paying back your massive student loan payment while not providing you what we claimed to" hotline, as opposed to finding me a job, and being proactive with what UEI promised to its students, we wouldn't have an issue to begin with. Again, I hope that the BBB and everyone sees the smoke screen you are putting up just to cover your ass. Don't worry, I'm already in contact with the lawyers handling the class action lawsuit. The truth will emerge sooner or later.
Regards,

****** *****



Business Response:

We have reviewed the response submitted by the complainant and would like to address the following.

In regards to the final program evaluation, each of our students is given a questionnaire upon the completion of his/her program as a standard practice. The final program evaluation contains questions allowing each student the ability to comment on the education received  and/or address any concerns they have as soon as the student completes a program.

 

In reference to the complainant’s request for a copy of the final program evaluation, the school can provide that directly to the complainant.  In order to protect the student’s right to privacy and ensure only the student is able to access his/her private student records, we require the student go to the UEI College Chula Vista campus and request to speak to the Executive Director.  With proper documentation for identification, the questionnaire will be provided.

 

As we had addressed in our previous complaint response, we encourage the complainant to contact us if he has questions or need assistance with job placement.

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in this school on 1/5/11 for the dental assistant program which is about an 8 month program. I paid for tuition by federal pell grant an student loans, total cost was $15,540. I completed over 7 months of my education and some on the job training. Six months into my education I asked why this UEI location wasn't accredited by the Dental Board association for my program. Their response was that they were in the process of obtaining that, an that when they do I could simply come back even after graduating and take those classes. When I asked to be transfer to an UEI college that was accredited they told me that i would have to take most of the classes again, and discouraged me from doing so. All the time assuring me the school was in the end process of getting accredited. I completed a class for my x-ray certificate which I never got. THEN COME TO FIND OUT WHEN I NEED TO SHOW PROOF OF THAT CERTIFICATE TO A POTENTIAL EMPLOYER, THAT UEI HAD ISSUED ME AN INVALID CERTIFICATE BECAUSE A PERSON THEY HIRED TO CERTIFY THAT CLASS WAS NOT CERTIFIED. Now, all that time and money I spent training in the dental assistant program was a WASTE! When I asked if the school would pay to fly me back to the school, because I relocated, to finish that course, or pay for me to take that course where I was living, I WAS LITERALLY LAUGHED AT OVER THE PHONE! Now, I can't even get a job as an dental assistant. UEI made no attempt to even try and resolve the issue. I have student loan debt because of this school. They just took my money, and I got nothing in return!

Desired Settlement: Since, the school is at fault for not giving me the services I paid for, a full refund should be in order. Furthermore, I lost time spent attempting to educate myself in a career field that would potentially lead to a better paying job. I was robbed of that opportunity. I have had financial hardship ever since. My children and I have been homeless at one time, because of the financial struggles. I will seek legal advice on how to handle this matter further.

Business Response:

Ms. ********** enrolled with UEI College San Marcos on January 05, 2011 in the Dental Assisting Program.  At the time of enrollment, Ms. ********** had signed a Dental Assisting Program disclosure on January 5, 2011 which states,

“Because the Dental Assisting Program is new to this Campus the Committee on Dental Auxiliaries has not yet approved the program.  Although this program is nationally accredited and graduation from this program will still lead to placement as a Dental Assistant in a Dental Office, as a graduate you will still lead to placement as a Dental Assistant in a Dental Office, as a graduate you will have to work in the field for 12 months to be eligible to take the RDA exam…”

According to our records, Ms. ********** did not finish the requirements to complete the program as a Dental Assistant. Furthermore, our records indicate on November 17, 2011, Career Services from UEI College San Marcos reached out to the student to keep in touch with her in order to find an externship site in Montana.  As another attempt, UEI College reached out once again on March 15, 2012 to the student but was never provided with updated contact information. UEI College has not heard back from the student until recently upon the receipt of the BBB Complaint.

Additionally, upon enrolling in the school, all students are provided with a student catalog, which outlines the school policies, procedures, and program outlines.  The catalog and enrollment agreement also inform students of their right to make a complaint if they so choose.  In addition, the company provides an additional avenue for concerns of students called the Answer Program, which is a student complaint hotline where a student can take their concerns to be handled if they feel the complaint was not addressed satisfactorily at the campus.  From the time of Ms. **********’s enrollment to the last day of her voluntary leave, we do not have any records of Ms. ********** making any attempts to contact any staff, faculty or management at the school or the Answer Program regarding specific concerns that she has addressed in the complaint to the Better Business Bureau.  The school is dedicated to student satisfaction and compliance with our state, federal and accreditation guidelines and policies.  At any time, a student can bring a complaint forward and it will be handled professionally and with the utmost confidentiality. 

Based on the above investigation, we believe we provided all the services listed in the school catalog and that which was promised on the enrollment agreement.  Therefore, we believe there is no evidence to prove that a refund is due.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[This is not acceptable. There has to be some documentation of my calls to UEI personnel. I spoke to my Externship coordinator ******* *****, I spoke with Mrs. ****** on my concerns. ***** ******* herself said she made note of my complaint. ***** ****** financial planning officer sent me a packet for re-entry to enroll back in school so that I could finish my few weeks in externship in a dental office. Which, they said I could still complete even out of state, since I was in my last month of the program my externship could be completed via fax or by mail. I did not feel comfortable signing the enrollment agreement because there was a balance of $1,287 still due which made no sense to me when I only had about 80 externship hours left to complete. plus, I was told I had to I had to re-apply for FASFA and student loans again.  I still have the envelope post marked dated 7/10/12 that ***** ****** sent me to send her the re-enrollment packet.  Why should I re-enroll in their program again since it was UEI's mistake of issuing me an invalid x-ray certificate, which is a dental assistants primary duty. Which, UEI made no effort to work with me about obtaining a valid x-ray certificate. Furthermore, the last phone call I made to UEI was in 8/2012 requesting my full file record to see if I was informed of the accreditation issue and if I signed an acknowledgment of that, which I do not recall. I was told it would cost $25.00 dollars for them to send me a copy of my file. Unfortunately, I was financially struggling and could not afford to have them send it.  There is something really wrong with this situation. I am not very employable without a VALID x-ray certificate. I was a 4.0 GPA student there at UEI. Why should I have to suffer the repercussions of UEI's mistake of issuing me an invalid X-ray certificate when I completed that module.  All I ever wanted was to utilize my education and training from UEI to be on the road to self-sufficiency in the career field of dental assisting. ]

Regards,

***** **********

Business Response:

Upon the receipt of the rebuttal from Ms. **********, the Executive Director of UEI College, San Marcos has been in contact with Ms. ********** on June 3, 2013 and June 4, 2013.  Based on the conversation between the Executive Director and Ms. **********, Ms. ********** was satisfied with the resolution being offered and agreed to be in contact with UEI College to finalize the process.

UEI College desires to assist Ms. ********** and is currently awaiting for her to be in contact with the school in order to complete this process. 

Once Ms. ********** is ready, all she needs to do is contact the Executive Director at the UEI College San Marcos campus at ###-###-####.

5/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had applied for this college in 2009 with the verbal verification that if by attending this school UEI guarantees a job after graduation. After 4 different teachers, non useable supplies and unreliable help I graduated in 2010. After graduation I called to see what they had in mind to make the step towards getting a job as a Pharmacy Technician. They told me I had to start going to a class where they would help. The first time I went they helped us with interview skills, which I had no problem with, never have. The second time they asked for people who had their license already to apply at the ******** that was hiring. They send 7 different people to this location, none recieved the job. My friend being one of seven, had recieved her liscense in the mail before even graduating! Its been 2 years and I still have not recieved my licsense and I have no job in a pharmacy technican field. I took one employment deferment, which caused my interest to rocket, six months after I have made a payment. I see it not to be far for myself to make these payments for a useless and unreliable school. Basically I am paying thousands of dollars for a school that drew me in to spin me around and spit me out. Last I heard no one from my class has found a job but when they showed me statistics everyone found a job post graduation except one student. This school is a scam and it kills me thinking of all the money and lives they have stolen from over the years. The last time I called the president was in a meeting but was given a message, name, and phone number to call me back. I never recieved one call back. I have a job now, which i enjoy very much but this loan is holding me back from moving forward with my life. This school has made my life harder when it was suppose to bring a career into my life. Its just not fair.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund. I am paying for nothing and it is ruining my credit to be able to buy a car and move forward. This school needs to be investigated.

Business Response:

According to campus records, Ms. ****** ** ** **** completed her Pharmacy Technician program on November 10, 2010.  All UEI College Pharmacy Technician students are encouraged to submit to the California Board of Pharmacy application information for Pharmacy Technician licensure once they have completed 240 hours of the total 760 program hours.   UEI College employs a Pharmacy Technician Application Coordinator to assist all students with this process.  Once an application is submitted to the state, UEI College has no authority over the final decision of the Board of Pharmacy.  We can merely assist each student with the submission of the application.  In some cases a student may not receive approval from the Board of Pharmacy because of circumstances outside the school’s control and for reasons the school would not be privy.  

Upon receipt of the BBB complaint, the Campus President, Jim York, contacted Ms. ** ** **** on October 22, 2012 and spoke with her regarding her concerns.  On October 24, 2012, Mr. York made an additional follow-up call regarding the previous conversation.  However, he had not received a call back or response back from Ms. ** ** ****.

Based on the above investigation, UEI College believes it has provided all the services listed in the school catalog and that which was promised on the enrollment agreement.  Therefore, we believe there is no evidence to suggest that a refund is due.

UEI College is happy to assist Ms. ** ** **** re-apply for her Pharmacy Technician license. She is more than welcome to come to the campus at any time and speak with the Director of Education, Ms. ****** *******  Similarly, Ms. ** ** **** can arrange for a refresher course or job placement assistance by contacting the Campus President, Jim York, at ************.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I had filed a complaint with with one and only one response from UEI. I had called several times and left multiple voicemails but did no receive a call back. I feel like I did not get what i paid for from UEI. While going to school, I had 4 different teachers, none of the right supplies to learn with and none of the right training. Grades were up and down, it just depended on the teacher. Im asking for a refund so i can clear my credit of this unusable degree. I do not have my pharmacy license although i graduated in 2010 and participated in the graduation ceremony. This school did not better my life, its only stopping me from growing and bettering my career so i am please asking for a refund on my loan. My loan paid off. What i had already given to the school is not what im worried about which i believe is a totaly of $2,500.

Regards,

****** ** ** ****

Business Response: According to campus records, Ms. ****** ** ** **** completed her Pharmacy Technician program on November 10, 2010.  All UEI College Pharmacy Technician students are encouraged to submit to the California Board of Pharmacy application information for Pharmacy Technician licensure once they have completed 240 hours of the total 760 program hours.   Once an application is submitted to the state, UEI College has no authority over the final decision of the Board of Pharmacy.  We can merely assist each student with the submission of the application.  In some cases a student may not receive approval from the Board of Pharmacy because of circumstances outside the school’s control and for reasons the school would not be privy.    Upon receipt of the BBB complaint, the Campus President contacted Ms. ** ** **** on October 22, 2012 and spoke with her regarding her concerns.  On October 24, 2012, the Campus President made an additional follow-up call regarding the previous conversation.  However, he had not received a call back or response back from Ms. ** ** ****.   Based on the above investigation, UEI College believes it has provided all the services listed in the school catalog and that which was promised on the enrollment agreement.  Therefore, we believe there is no evidence to suggest that a refund is due.   UEI College is happy to assist Ms. ** ** ****. All she has to do is contact the Director of Education at the Chula Vista campus at ###-###-####. 

12/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have several complaints about this school. Not only were most of the DA teachers incompetent in their teachings, they were so short-sighted as to steal my resume LEAVING ON my personal information as "examples" for other students, WITHOUT MY PERMISSION, and so therefore almost every job I applied for said my application didn't stand out. I had a fellow student threaten me physically harm, and almost nothing was done to punish her. And on top of that, I heard from another fellow student that our X-Ray, coronal polishing, dental practice act, infection control licenses were actually non-usable, and that we have to get re-tested, or accredited or whatever terms you choose to use, HOWEVER I have yet to be notified about this. I had your people try to get me to sign a paper stating that YOU placed me with a job, which was a lie. I found my own first job at a ***** ******. You place me in a "extern site" with a piss poor teaching staff in which i wasn't allowed to do anything other than polish a few teeth and work on sterilization, gaining me almost no experience, which made almost all my "working interviews" pointless. I went from graduating in Feb to job hunting daily and non-stop till Nov, when I finally gave up and got a job as an assistant for a sales office. I am furious at the fact that I have paid so much money not only in school fees, and daycare fees for my kids, and gas to try and get a real job, only to find that most employers DON'T want anything to do with ANYONE from UEI because of their horrible reputation. I was told by my admission direction that UEI was accredited, when you are not. I am sick of being lied to, kept in the dark and BROKE over paying for this joke of a "school". That is only about 1/2 of my complaint. Don't even get me started on the other "staff." I can't believe that in order to use my "degree" (if you can even call it that), I have to go BACK to UEI and retake all my testings when I can't even find a job that will take me anyways.

Desired Settlement: I want all of my money back. You can take back my license, WHICH ISN'T EVEN USEABLE ANYWAY unless I retake all of my tests.I just want my loans paid off to the federal loans. And the money that I paid out of pocket refunded to me personally.Your school is a JOKE.I have documentation of all of my claims, and have no problem finding a lawyer and getting a class action suit, mostly about the LOSS OF PRIVACY about 6 months worth of externs having ALL my personal information.

Business Response:

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to respond to complaint #******* from ********* *** *****, BBB letter dated 11/19/12. .

 

Ms. ***** had graduated from the UEI College San Marcos campus almost two years ago on January 20, 2011 with a perfect 4.0 GPA and a perfect attendance throughout her education.  During that period of time, there is no record of complaints having been received by the corporate office through the Answer Program which is the student complaint line, or by the San Marcos campus, from Ms. *****.     

 

On November 26, 2012 at 9:55am upon receiving the BBB Complaint, Mr. Jim York, the Campus President had contacted Ms. ***** at the provided number.  However, she was unable to be reached and thus a voice mail message was left for a request to contact the Campus President to help address any concerns Ms. ***** may have.

 

Regarding the Dental Program:   

UEI has considerable experience at other campuses with dental assisting programs and values each student’s experiences and comments.  In fact, UEI encourages students to share their experience by providing a final program evaluation at the end of their program.  Based on the final program evaluation completed by Ms. *****, there was no indication that she was dissatisfied with her education.  While she did list some concern over her extern site, we are able to offer her another extern site if she chooses.  Furthermore, UEI has an open-door policy as it relates to resolving student issues and/or concerns and has provided multiple avenues to this end, which are detailed in the school’s catalog.

 

Ms. *****’s diploma is genuine and her training as a dental assistant is valid and marketable.  The exams that UEI asks dental students to come in to take are not required for Ms. ***** to practice in the field as a dental assistant, however, they are very useful and many dentists may require that a dental assistant be trained in the relevant skills. We offered to provide the certifications from an outside vendor approved by the Dental Board in order for our students to demonstrate that training, at our cost.

 

All UEI-College programs at San Marcos, including the Dental Assisting program, are accredited by the Accrediting Council for Continued Education and Training (ACCET), a national accrediting agency.  If Ms. ***** would respond to our attempt to contact her, we will be able to offer to have our Career Service Departmental Director call Ms. ***** to assist her with her job search. 

 

Please note that UEI San Marcos applied for RDA approval from the Dental Board but has not received that approval.  In the meantime, if Ms. ***** needs to have any other certifications in order to sit for the RDA exam, we would be able to arrange for them at no cost to her.   

 

Regarding the resume:  

Our Career Services Department offers resume assistance as a part of our extern preparation process.  Typically, an effective resume template is used with which to organize relevant student information for presentation to employers.  The templates we use are those that are found to be most useful and effective in the process of seeking employment.  We have no record of any confidential information, for any student, having been shared via this template process. 

 

We can offer Ms. ***** to come in to our Career Services Department, where we will be happy to help her prepare a different “look and feel” of her resume, if she chooses.

 

In summary, we want all of our students to feel they have received the full value of their education; I’m certain we can assist Ms. ***** in her job search.

 

For further assistance, Ms. ***** can contact the Campus President, Mr. *** **** at ***** ********.

 

11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started going to UEI College San Marcos in 2010 to help further my education for myself and for my son. At first i loved going there i felt so acomplished, after a month or so i did not agree with some things going on there but i was stuck in the contract that even if i was not happy with the school i would still have to pay so i decided to stick it out. A lot of my class mates including myself were unhappy at the fact that the school was not accredited at the time even though we were told at sign up that they had full accredidation which was untrue. We tried to make a complaint but we were ignored. Durning the time of schooling i was having issues with my sons father and i went to the school to request a leave of absense so i would not have to drop out. i was denied the leave of absence because they stated they did not provide that at their facilities. further i was told that they do not see how i could even afford to go to their school since i was on TANF. I felt discriminated against and very hurt that they would say this to a single mother trying to do better for her life. they stated they had students living under a bride doing better I graduated in 2011 after having to disenroll myself from school and coming back. later i received a call from UEI stating their xray certification given to us was no legal and we would need to redo our testing. I went back in on june 13th 2012 at 8am. i showed up early and waited about an hour for any help. i was the only one who showed for that class and i completed my testing and was told i would receive my certification in the next few days. I went in 2 days later they did not have it ready and they would call when it was ready. Yesterday 08-23-12 i got a call from my old teacher and she asked if i even went to the class which i did and she cannot find my certification and she also told me i would need to take more classes to redo my certifications because the ones given were not california state approved. i do not believe this is right.

Desired Settlement: Also when i try to contact career services in regards to help finding a job they never call back. i have called several times and have emailed as well. still no help. since graduation i have been searching for a job on my own with no help from UEI. I am always on time for payment on my loans. I demand UEI to finish payment on my loans and a reimbursment of what i have paid. I do not think its fair that i have to pay for poor quality education from an non accredited school when told it was.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[ i have sent an email to the career services that i am looking for a job now i have been in contact with ****** ****** who has stated she has also been trying to contact career services to help. also i have left several messages and have called ****** the person who helped me get into uei who works in the uei offices and he said he would forward the message. also in regards to my xray cert. i have called and asked about that several times and i have not receieved a call or email stating they have it. i do not believe this is right. also i was told while attending uei that it was anot accredited until its been open for a year and upon signing up for uei i was told it was fully accredited which was a lie ]

Regards,

****** *********

 

Business Response:

Upon receipt of the complaint to the BBB, we would like to address the complainant’s concerns with the response below.

UEI College is accredited by the Accrediting Council for Continuing Education and Training (ACCET). ACCET is listed by the U.S. Department of Education as a nationally recognized accrediting agency.  UEI College, San Marcos has been accredited by ACCET since it commenced operations from December 2010 and during the entire time in which student was enrolled.  Any concerns related to student’s x-ray certificate can be addressed to *** ****, the Campus President directly. *** **** can be reached at ***** *********

Additionally, upon research we do not have records of receiving a call or contact from the complainant but will be contacting her from the information provided.

 

As we had addressed in our previous complaint response, we encourage the complainant to contact us if she has questions or need assistance with job placement. All she needs to do is contact the Director of Career Services, Ms. ****** ****** at ************.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[i have tried contacting uei serveral times and ill ive been told is that i will receive a call from someone later. i would like to know where my certificate is because i had to take time off work 9no thanks to uei0 to complete a corse that i already finished but was told the cert was not legal at time of graduation. i will contact them with the numbers below but if i do not hear back i will be very upset and discoraged and will continue with my complaint because i do not believe this treatment is fair.

Regards,

****** *********

 

Business Response:

UEI College, San Marcos is dedicated to helping our students and encourages the complainant to contact us regarding her concerns.

We have attempted to reach out to the complainant to follow up with her but without any success.

She can contact the school and request to speak to the Campus President, *** **** at ************.  For assistance with Job placement concerns, she can also contact the Director of Career Services, ****** ****** at ************.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed apper below.

will do i hope i get a response for once]

Regards,

****** *********

 

7/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I had first signed up/enrolled at UEI College my admissions representative had told me it wasn't necessary to pay anything for tuition till after I graduate from UEI College. He had told me this because I had asked him how much I would have to pay, (because I am low income and can't afford much), and he had told me if I can't afford to pay, I could do so after I graduated. As of January 2012 I started getting notices of payments due, when I was aware that I didn't need to make payments, and especially not payments of $62.04 a month. Since I am on a very limited income, I can only afford the bus pass (that I purchase through school) to get me to school for one month, which is nearly $60 itself. So I was faced with choice of get to school, or pay the school money if I'm not even able to attend. I can't afford the payments they, (UEI College) is expecting me to pay. Also, about one month of me attending UEI College, most of the employees in admissions and financial aid department were laid-off for reasons I am unsure. I believe that this for financial reasons. 

Desired Settlement: I would just like my payments lowered, or no payments till I graduate.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint submitted by former student, Ms. **** ********, we would like to address her complaints.

On December 9, 2011, Ms ******** had signed an agreement after meeting with the Financial Department at the school regarding financial payments which states, “I promise to pay to the School, or order the sum of $1,860.89 (includes principal and interest) as follows: 29/1 installments of $62.04/$61.73 beginning on 01/13/2012.  All subsequent installments shall be due and payable on the same day of each consecutive month thereafter until paid in full”. As a result, this explains the payment notices that Ms. ******** has been receiving as of January 2012 from the signed agreement.

Additionally, upon receiving the complaint, on Tuesday, May 22, 2012 UEI College Default Prevention Specialist, ***** ****** made an effort to contact Ms. ******** to discuss and assist the student regarding payment difficulty as mentioned on her complaint to the Better Business Bureau.  Mr. ****** has left several messages with no response back from Ms. ********.

We are committed to assist Ms. ******** in answering any questions she may have regarding her financial status or notices to the best of our abilities. All that Ms. ******** would have to do is contact UEI College San Diego and ask to speak to Scott ****** at 858-492-4200.

 

4/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: UEI promises you an education, but they more than anything emphasize their assistance with classes, job hunting, resume writing etc. My husband has been graduated since April of 2011 and he has yet to see anyone assist him with anything. No counselors ever knew who he was, no one ever filed the required court documents to assist him, no one even had records of ever receiving such court documents because the counselors were replaced every other month. His application was abandoned by the Board of Pharmacy due to inactivity,I don't even comprehend how this can happen when UEI should maintain a close monitoring of each of their pending students license, essentially the goal of the school is that very license itself, and when we tried to seek assistance in the matter we were told we did not submit our documents on time and UEI is not liable. We submitted everything on time, and it was not our job to do so, it was the counselor's job, and they never seemed to even have a point of contact or how the process of attaining your license worked. My husband and I paid for everything out of pocket, the school made no effort to assist us. My husband calls so often and emails them and every time no one seems to even know who he is, he has to explain everything all over again, but we are out 11 thousand dollars and nothing to show for it but frustration. I would say stay away from this place, it is a scam. I wish someone would have warned me. As an active duty service member, 11 thousand is about 6 month's pay, and I truly believed that this would someone improve our quality of life, but UEI has taken advantage and there is no one taking responsibility. I can't even get in touch with a supervisor there when I call to have my matter resolved. It is so sad. I hope someone can help.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund. We make our payments despite the fact that UEI has not done what they advertised, despite the fact that my husband does not have his license even after completing the school, despite the fact that no one has offered any actual insight on our situation, we pay because we are now in debt. Either refund us or help us get this matter resolved by pairing us with someone knowleadgeable and will do what it takes to maintain the education standards this institute claims to have.

Business Response:

Due to the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) which is a Federal law protecting the privacy of student education records, we cannot disclose any information regarding student records as this complaint was not submitted by the student but a spouse of the student.

 

If the student would like to contact us or give the spouse permission in writing to discuss his education we would be happy to do so.

 

Yet, we would like to address the other concerns brought forth in the main complaint.  In the complaint, Mrs. ******* claims UEI has not submitted the Pharmacy Technician Licensing application of the student to the California Board of Pharmacy. We currently have a process in place where we submit applications to the California Board of Pharmacy according to our specified timeline to keep track of each process from the beginning of the student’s enrollment into the Pharmacy Technician program to the conclusion of the program. However, according to the California State Board of Pharmacy the processing time for applications received is at least 60 days if all documentation is correct and provided.  It further states that due to the workload, the board will not respond to status checks on submitted applications unless filed for over 90 days.  All of this is mandated by the California State Board of Pharmacy and is clearly stated on the application instructions. If documents are missing or incorrect a letter is sent directly to the student and the student is responsible for providing the additional documents.

Additionally,  as of October 1, 2011, the California Board of Pharmacy has made changes to the application process, which includes an additional self-query report for each application to be submitted from the National Data Bank that requires an additional $16 fee per application as well as having it notarized.  Due to this addition, UEI has made several changes to the process to accommodate the new Licensing requirements. 

 

Currently we are working very closely with each Pharmacy Technician student and have assigned a Pharmacy Technician Process Administrator to streamline this process.

Furthermore, as stated in the school catalog, if a student has any concerns, he/she can contact the Campus President and/or Director of Education.  However, if for some reason, the student feels the issue has not been resolved, we have an Answer Program, which is a student complaint service to assist the student.

Overall, we believe we are doing our due diligence to work closely with all our Pharmacy Technician students in regards to the changes that occurred with the Pharmacy Technician Licensing process.  We will continue to work with each student and if any student has further questions or concerns, the student can contact the Answer Program at the Corporate office, which is a student complaint line at ***-***-**** or email us at AnswerProgram@ieccolleges.com.

3/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is *** ******, I have been a student at UEI San Marcos for the past 8 months. My complaint is that UEI has not followed up with their responsibilities for finding me a site to do my internship. I have maintained a 4.0 gpa the whole time I have attended their campus and have an almost perfect attendance record. Two months ago I informed UEI that I was going to be moving to Modesto Ca. They told me that I had to finish school at their campus and they would have no problem finding me an internship site when I was done so I prolonged my move and finished school in San Marcos like they had instructed me to do. After moving to Modesto I kept in contact with career services everyday and they kept giving me a run around saying how they were still looking for a site. I called every day and left numerous messages for them to call me back reguarding this urgent matter.I was finally contacted by a represenitive with UEI on facebook saying, if I didnt find my own internship site fast I would be dropped from school. Upon calling UEI reguarding this facebook message I was repeatedly lied to about a number of things.I knew they were lying to me about everything because I can produce Physical proof that contradicts everything they told me. They told me that in the handbook It says that If I move I have to find my own internship site. I read the handbook and in no place does it say anything remotely close to that. They also told me that I had not been in contact with career services, when i can produce phone records proving that I called everyday.They also lied and told me that they had contacted the Stockton campus to acquire their help. After repeatedly calling the UEI campus San Marcos career services dept. and not getting any response, I decided to call the Stockton Campus myself. I spoke to career services Stockton and they told me that it was the first they heard of anything proving UEI San Marcos has lied again. Needless to say they dropped me from school due to poor communication on their part.

Desired Settlement: I would like for UEI to own up to their wrong doings and resolve this matter as soon as possible.All I want to do is finish my internship, successfully graduate and move on with my life in a forward direction. I am a single mother and went to UEI to try to better my life for me and my son. Hopefully this can be resolved peacefully and in an swiftly process. I have tried contacting UEI numerous times reguarding this matter and it has got me nowhere. Hopefully this will help. Thank you.

Business Response:

Ms. ****** enrolled with UEI College San Marcos on May 24, 2011 in the Medical Assisting Program.  Upon the news of Ms. ******’s decision to move to Modesto, the Director of Education at the San Marcos campus contacted UEI College Stockton on January 10th, 2012 and informed the Director of Education regarding Ms. ******’s decision and within the week of their conversation, all the necessary documents for the College campus transfer to take place was submitted.

Additionally, upon Ms. *******s enrollment into the UEI College Stockton campus on February 3, 2012, Ms. ****** was provided with Career Services support through the Career Readiness workshop that was held on February 7, 2012. 

Currently our records indicate that Ms. ****** has been assigned to a medical site for her externship which started on February 6, 2012 at a Doctor’s office in Stockton.  On February 21, 2012, the Director of Education at the UEI College in Stockton visited the Doctor’s site to conduct a site visit and confirmed that Ms. ****** is still completing her externship at the site.

Based on the above investigation, we believe we provided all the services listed in the school catalog and that which was promised on the enrollment agreement. 

If Ms. ****** has any further questions, all she needs to do is contact the Campus President, ****** ******** at the UEI College Stockton campus.  Moreover, if Ms. ****** needs further Career Services assistance, she can contact **** ********, the Director of Career Services.

3/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ama current student, and have personal issues The administrative staff openly tells other students my personal and financial information, as well as instructors telling students in class about my personal amd financial information. Their enrollment information says they wll not discuss our personal information and all that we say is private and confident and they are telling my information out to other students and staff members.

Desired Settlement: I am dropping out of the program due to the staff vernbally assualting me and sharing my personal information. I would like the school to send my momeny back to the federal governmnt so i can use that money to attend another school. I am trying to further my education and feel I can not do it when I am being treated like this.

Business Response:

Ms. ******** enrolled with UEI College San Marcos on October 29, 2011 in the Medical Assisting Program.  From the date of Ms. ********’s enrollment to the last day of her attendance on February 6, 2012, our records indicate that Ms. ******** was in good standing with her attendance and grades.

Upon receiving Ms. ********’s complaint, the school conducted a thorough investigation into this matter, and it was determined that there was no evidence that school staff or faculty violated any FERPA regulations and there was no evidence that Ms. ******** ever made a complaint to anyone at the school.

Additionally, upon enrolling in the school, all students are provided with a student catalog, which outlines the school policies, procedures, and program outlines.  The catalog and enrollment agreement also inform students of their right to make a complaint if they so choose.  In addition, the company provides an additional avenue for concerns of students called the Answer Program, which is a student complaint hotline where a student can take their concerns to be handled if they feel the complaint was not addressed satisfactorily at the campus.  From the time of Ms. ********’s enrollment to the last day of her voluntary leave, we do not have any records of Ms. ******** making any attempts to contact any staff, faculty or management at the school or the Answer Program regarding specific concerns that she has addressed in the complaint to the Better Business Bureau.  The school is dedicated to student satisfaction and compliance with our state, federal and accreditation guidelines and policies.  At any time, a student can bring a complaint forward and it will be handled professionally and with the utmost confidentiality. 

Based on the above investigation, we believe we provided all the services listed in the school catalog and that which was promised on the enrollment agreement.  Therefore, we believe there is no evidence to prove that a refund is due.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I made an in person complaint to Mr **** **** director of education before the christmas holidays, as well as Mrs, ******. After the school holidays in Feb, I also made another complaint to ***** ****. The school has an instructor that comes to school high on controlled pain medications as well as solicit students for their unused pain medications. There was a copy of my written compaint given to Mr. **** ****. He made many claims that he would handle the situation and that it was not resolved. Other students have made complaints, and the staff member that was complained on came to the students and yelled and cussed at them saying that if the students had a problem they were to come to him vs going to his boss and voicing their complaints.

Regards,

****** ******** 

Business Response:

Based on the accusation made by Ms.********, we have investigated the complaint and upon our review, there is no record a complaint was brought forth to Mr. **** **** along with the written letter that Ms. ******** claims.

Additionally, this is the first time that this has been brought to our attention, which we also indicated on our pervious response to Ms. ********.  UEI College has an open-door policy as it relates to resolving student issues and/or concerns and has provided multiple avenues to this end, which are detailed in the UEI College Catalog (pg 10), which is given to all students upon his/her enrollment:

Student Complaint/Grievance Procedure

Students are encouraged to bring any complaints or grievances to the attention of their instructor, if appropriate. If the instructor is not successful in resolving the issue, the instructor will notify the Director of Education. The Director of Education will investigate and assess the issue and make a resolution, notifying the Executive Director/Campus President. If the issue cannot be resolved by the Director of Education, the Executive Director/Campus President is contacted.

If the determination made by the Executive Director/Campus President is not satisfactory to the student, the student may make an appeal in writing to the company Answer Program, send an email to:

Answerprogram@iecglobal.com or call toll free

1-866-591-8588. The appropriate individual in the corporate office will be assigned to the concern immediately and will contact the student to discuss the situation.

 

We have no records in the Answer Program of Ms.******** contacting the Answer Program to address any complaints that has been submitted to the Better Business Bureau.

Overall, based on the above investigation, we believe we provided all the services listed in the school catalog and that which was promised on the enrollment agreement.