Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers career training, classes for medical assistant, dental assistant, pharmacy technician, business office administration, massage therapy, medical billing, computer system technician, and insurance coding.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that UEI United Education Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for UEI United Education Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on UEI United Education Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 1994 Business started: 08/16/1989 in CA Business incorporated 08/16/1989 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The number is 3711311.

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The number is 88045754.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Angelelina Robertson, Executive Director Ms. Brenda Owen, Business Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Angelelina Robertson, Executive Director
Related Businesses
International Education Corporation
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
UEI College United Education Institute
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Education, Department of 1430 N Street, Sacramento CA 95814 Phone Number: (916) 319-0791 http://www.cde.ca.gov


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1860 University Ave

    Riverside, CA 92507

  • 310 3rd Ave #C6 - #C7

    Chula Vista, CA 91910 (619) 240-8100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3401 Rio Hondo Ave

    El Monte, CA 91731

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3602 N Blackstone Ave #O268

    Fresno, CA 93726

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3737 Rosedale Hwy

    Bakersfield, CA 93308 (661) 427-4300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4730 Ontario Mills Pkwy

    Ontario, CA 91764

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4994 Claremont Ave

    Stockton, CA 95207

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5445 Balboa Blvd

    Encino, CA 91316

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    661 W Redondo Beach Blvd

    Gardena, CA 90247

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/30/2016 Delivery Issues
4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a U.E.I. San Marcos 2011 graduate. I was one of many MANY students that were given a fake x-ray license along with other fake certifications when I graduated because the school was not accredited at the time. I was not notified about this until a year later. Yes I was working with fake license for a whole year! I could have lost my job & I could have gotten the Doctor in a lot of trouble all because U.E.I. decided to lie. They did end up sending me down to San Diego to redo most of the classes except one. I was promised after I got my RDA I would be sent to the same school in San Diego to take my sealant course since it was stated in the handbook that I would be certified by U.E.I. and also because all of the trouble I was sent threw. ******* **** the campus department chair at the time was the U.E.I. employee who made this promise to me and other students. Since I got my RDA I've been trying to get U.E.I. to pay for my sealant course as promised and all I've gotten are unreturned phone calls from Mrs. Dickson. The few times I was able to reach her I was told Mrs. **** no longer works there and without a written agreement there's nothing she could do. I asked Mrs. Dickson if I could speak to someone above her & it's been 3 almost 4 weeks with no response. I feel completely taken advantage of. I paid $15,000 to this school and have gotten nothing but trouble from them. All I'm asking for is my sealant course that only cost around $400 to be paid for as promised. I even called the school I was sent to and asked them if they remembered U.E.I. promising the students the sealant course as well as the other courses and they did confirm the promise and said that there was nothing they could do that U.E.I. has to approve the course to be paid for by them and that I would have to fight them on the issue.

Desired Settlement: I want U.E.I. to pay for my sealant course as promised.

Business Response:

Re: Complaint #********

                                                                                                                                                                                               

 

Dear *****:

 

Upon receipt of Complaint # ******** from ****** ******* ******, a former Dental Assistant student at UEI College-San Marcos, an investigation was initiated to determine the merit of the complaint. I contacted Ms. ****** via telephone on March 25, 2015 and discussed the issues which prompted the original complaint and to reach a resolution.

Facts uncovered during the investigation include the following:

  1. During her enrollment in the Dental Assistant program at UEI College-San Marcos, the campus was approved by Accrediting Council for Continuing Education & Training (ACCET) through April 15, 2012.

  2. Currently UEI College-San Marcos is approved through Dental Board of California for Registered Dental Assistant (RDA).

  3. UEI College-San Marcos is approved by ACCET through April 15, 2017.

    Based on the information uncovered during our internal investigation, the institution is able to arrange a time for Ms. ****** to take the Pit and Fissure Sealant course at UEI College-San Marcos.

     To this end, the school:

  1. Scheduled appointments for Ms. ****** to complete her Pit and Fissure course at the UEI College-San Marcos.

    1. Monday 5/4/15, 12:30 P.M. – 4:30 P.M.

    2. Tuesday 5/5/15 12:30 P.M. – 4:30 P.M.

    3. Wednesday 5/13/15, 12:30 P.M. – 4:30 P.M.

    4. Thursday 5/14/15, 12:30 P.M. – 4:30 P.M.

      We are pleased that Ms. ****** has agreed, and is satisfied with the solution. Should you have any questions regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me at (949) 272-7200.

Sincerely,

 

**** ******

Compliance Coordinator

1/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: UEI is a for-profit institution which promises its students an education and job placement after the completion of a given course of study. They offer automotive technician, business management degree, computer systems technician (of which I was enrolled) among others. The entire program I was enrolled in was a sham (and that's most likely the reason they don't offer it at this particular location anymore). Let me start off by saying the recruiters are deceptive, snake-oil salesman who know that the prospects of the graduating students is low, and that any job that the student acquires, they consider that job placement- even if its working at Mcdonald's. Yet the administrators and the recruiters suggest and even tell the students it will be easy to find work in the specific field of study. They use this to bilk the government and the taxpayers for federal student loans in the tune of thousands of dollars (12,500 + interest) and then to put a smoke screen for its students to make them believe they are receiving an "education" when they are not. To make matters worse, they didn't even bother to hire qualified instructors. My instructor's only work experience was running cabling in the field, which doesn't make him the least bit qualified to run a course- and openly admitted that several times. Again, the administrators bit off more than they could chew at this particular school and closed the program down immediately once they started receiving complaints.

Desired Settlement: The administrators know what they have done so I'd like to offer them the opportunity to set things straight and relieve the debt they have taken under my name for the lies, half-truths, and deceptive tactics they are using to recruit many unsuspecting students.

Business Response:

We would like to address the complaint made by the complainant in our response below.

Based on our records, the complainant enrolled in the Computer Systems Technician program at UEI College in San Diego, CA on January 05, 2009 and graduated with a Computer Systems Technician Diploma on November 20, 2009.

Upon enrolling in the school, the school catalog is given to students which outlines the school policies, procedures, and program outcomes.  The catalog also informs students of an Answer program service, which is a student complaint hotline at our corporate office.  Information on the Answer program is also posted on the walls of the school to reinforce the open door policy in the servicing and assisting students who have concerns or questions.   From the time of the complainant’s enrollment to the last of his completion of the program, we do not have any records of the complainant making any attempts to contact the Answer Program regarding specific concerns that he has addressed in the complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

Additionally, upon completion of his program he presented the institution with a Final Program Evaluation rating the school as “Excellent, Good, and Fair” in all areas of the didactic portion of his studies with no comments alluding to any dissatisfaction of the education received.

Based on the above investigation, we believe we provided all the services listed in the school catalog and that was promised on the enrollment agreement.  Therefore, we believe there is no evidence to suggest that a refund is due.

The school remains willing to assist the complainant in job placement assistance if he desires. All he needs to do is contact UEI College in Chula Vista and request to speak to the Director of Career Services.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

How many "schools" ask their students to fill out a satisfaction survey just before graduation? The reason they ask students to submit these questionnaires is because they already know they are offering sub-standard education for exorbitant fees and expect some kind of blowback from the students. For sure, if I was presented with a questionnaire asking how I rated my experience, I'm sure going to want a copy of it provided. Also, if you have these categories 1. not satisfied 2. fair 3. good 4. excellent, and a student is offered to fill out the survey and answers fair across all categories, does that meet your criteria for a student answering in the positive? I wasn't aware of a corporate hotline answering all my complaints- perhaps if you spent less of the students money setting up a "hope you feel better about paying back your massive student loan payment while not providing you what we claimed to" hotline, as opposed to finding me a job, and being proactive with what UEI promised to its students, we wouldn't have an issue to begin with. Again, I hope that the BBB and everyone sees the smoke screen you are putting up just to cover your ass. Don't worry, I'm already in contact with the lawyers handling the class action lawsuit. The truth will emerge sooner or later.
Regards,

****** *****



Business Response:

We have reviewed the response submitted by the complainant and would like to address the following.

In regards to the final program evaluation, each of our students is given a questionnaire upon the completion of his/her program as a standard practice. The final program evaluation contains questions allowing each student the ability to comment on the education received  and/or address any concerns they have as soon as the student completes a program.

 

In reference to the complainant’s request for a copy of the final program evaluation, the school can provide that directly to the complainant.  In order to protect the student’s right to privacy and ensure only the student is able to access his/her private student records, we require the student go to the UEI College Chula Vista campus and request to speak to the Executive Director.  With proper documentation for identification, the questionnaire will be provided.

 

As we had addressed in our previous complaint response, we encourage the complainant to contact us if he has questions or need assistance with job placement.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on UEI United Education Institute
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)