Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of UC San Diego?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

UC San Diego

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 534-2230 Fax: (858) 534-5203 View Additional Phone Numbers 9500 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, CA 92093 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ucsd.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers higher education, research and medical care.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that UC San Diego meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for UC San Diego include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on UC San Diego
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 17, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1968 in CA
Type of Entity

Charity/NonProfit

Business Management
Mr. Pradeep K Khosla, Chancellor Mr. Pierre Ouilett, Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs & CFO Mr. Steven Relyea, Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pradeep K Khosla, Chancellor
Principal: Mr. Pierre Ouilett, Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs & CFO
Principal: Mr. Steven Relyea, Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs
Number of Employees

24,661

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
UCSD University of California San Diego
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages


Additional Locations

  • 200 W Arbor Dr #8970

    San Diego, CA 92103

  • 9500 Gilman Dr

    La Jolla, CA 92093 (858) 534-2230 (858) 534-3390

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a parking citation from said company on a vehicle that has never been registered to me. I spoke with the UCSD and they stated my name, ******* ****** in LA area, and a " ** ******** " . I have bought vehicles from ******* ****** but I have no idea who "* ********" is. After submitting Statement of Facts letter to UCSD back in Sept. 2013 they still say the car is mine and have now sent me to a collection agency. I'm 84 years old and have never been sent to collections, I feel they are harassing me and trying to scare me into paying this bill. I might also note that the violation is from 10/02/2012 and my first received correspondence from UCSD was end of July of 2013. After debating with ( ***** and ******* ***** ) and talking to the DMV they have since mailed out a 2nd and Final notice and the bill is and now my name has been sent to collections. With a bill that doesn't belong to me and over $150 dollars.

Desired Settlement: The outcome I'm looking for is for UCSD to stop sending me bills and sending me to collections for a violation that has nothing to do with me. I have no idea how they came up with my name or address or anything.

Business Response: Good morning Mr. ********, 

This morning I received information regarding the citation from the UCSD campus, I am writing to let you know that it has been cancelled.  Transportation Services is one of the operation that reports to my office.  I asked ******* for information this morning, she informed me that there was an error from the company that provides data to the campus.  ******* has been following up with the company after working with you, they came back on 10/14 unable to verify the current owner, when she received that information she cancelled the citation (we contract with a company to mail out letters using a database they maintain from DMV).  We apologize for the inconvenience this caused and will follow up with the company to avoid this in the future. 

Thank you,


******


****** ******, MPA, CASP

Director

Auxiliary Business Services

UC San Diego

9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a parking ticket from the University for parking in their lot. I have a valid, unexpired permit which was displayed on my dashboard, as instructed, face up. I was in the proper stall type. The ticket stated in the comments that no permit was present. When I came to my car I immediately took a picture of my windshield showing the ticket 1.5 ft away from my visible and easily legible, valid permit. I contested the ticket. This was not approved but the amount decreased with no explanation other than that they could not honor my reason for dismissing the ticket. I requested directions on what other steps I could take to dismiss this. I was told that I could go to a hearing (after paying the full amount) to possibly get a refund but would not be eligible for the lost wages from missing work for the hearing. I paid the ticket but am left very frustrated because it appears that a ticket can be written and upheld despite proper permit. It appears that there is no protection against further tickets despite trying to follow all the parking regulations. It bothers me because I have to go to that facility frequently in the future and am left without confidence in any way to avoid this type of unfair expense.

Desired Settlement: I'd like my money back and a reasonable explanation of how I could be ticketed in this way.

Business Response:

****** *****

The Better Business Bureau

5050 Murphy Canyon, Suite 110

San Diego, CA 92123

 

SUBJECT: Complaint 10 # ******* submitted 7/13/2012 

Dear Sir/Madam: 

I am enclosing the text of the response sent directly to the consumer as a result of your letter to us concerning his complaint. We have removed identifying information and just included the text from the letter itself.

 

"SUBJECT: BBB ID ******* submitted 7/13/2012

We have explored the circumstances regarding your complaint and without having a

specific citation number referenced in your letter to the BBB, have reviewed a number of

citations allegedly issued to you, as follows:

• Citation #********, 5/17/2012 - Appeal granted, the fine was reduced to an

Administrative Fee.

• Citation #********, 03/01/2012 - Appealed granted, citation dismissed.

• Citation #********, 10/06/2011- Appeal granted, citation dismissed.

• Citation #********, 06/22/2011- Citation paid in full.

• Citation #********, 10/30/2009 - Appeal granted, the fine was reduced to an

Administrative Fee.

 

Our Three Level appeals process can be found online at

http://blink.ucsd.edu/facilities/transportation/citations!appeal.html#Level-l:Administrative-review

and is well established. Based on your past experiences in utilizing the process as

documented above, and the results obtained, it appears the process worked effectively

given that your most recent appeal was granted as we were not able to substantiate your

assertions, and adjudication reduced the fine to an Administrative Fee only.

 

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your BBB complaint, and hope this clarifies our position. Please note that all appeals may be handled in writing and it is not necessary to appear in person.

 

Regards,

******* *********

Assistant Vice Chancellor"

 

Please let me know if you have additional questions or wish further information in response to this complaint.

 

********** **** ** ********

Vice Chancellor

cc.: Vice Chancellor ** ****** - External and Business Affairs 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr ********* did not respond to my complaint in any specific manner. His letter states that a specific citation number was not referenced in my letter to the BBB but then lists the citation (#********, which is the one in question) as having the appeal granted and fine reduced to an Administrative Fee. 

What I would still like to know, is what UCSD Parking's justification is for charging me any fee, administrative or fine, for parking in the correct space, at the correct time, with the correct permit, clearly displayed, as instructed on my dashboard.  (As documented in timed and dated photos I previously submitted.) I would like to know how I can protect myself from this type of unnecessary expense in the future.

Mr ********* also asserts in his response that the UCSD "Three Level appeals process" is "well established" and "worked effectively given that my most recent appeal was granted".   It was effective only for the University and not for me. My initial appeal resulted in my fee being lowered, but without any explanation of why I would have to pay a fee at all. To appeal at the next level (per the printed correspondence I received), I would have to first pay the fee and then appear at a hearing during business hours at an inconvenient location, which would, in the end cost me more than the ticket given the time off from work.  While it may be well established, it is very cumbersome, unfair to the consumer, and effective only in protecting funds for the University obtained from incorrectly placed parking citations.

Regards,

**** *******

 

Business Response:

Hi ******,

 

Below is the response I received from UCSD Transportation Services.  In addition, ****** ****** has contacted the complainant directly and left a voicemail message to contact him re: the refund of the charges. 

 

Please let me know if you need additional information.  Thank you.

 

********

 

 

-----Original Message-----

From: ******* ******

Sent: Tuesday, September 11, 2012 4:07 PM

To: ******, ********

Subject: RE: BBB Complaint - ID *******

 

Hi ********,

 

In reviewing the information we have on this  BBB complaint (ID #*******) and the associated citation, I have asked Transportation Services to refund the charges.  Under the system that was in  place, there was a possibility that the permit could have been missed by the person issuing citations, depending on dash location.  The new controls and systems that are in place remove this issue and should avoid possible questions on this type of citation.  The new permit is a hanging permit, which is more visible.  Additional changes include photo back up for violations to verify the issue addressed in the citation, this citation didn't have additional back up.

 

Please let me know if you would like me to forward this to BBB or if you would like a more formal response for their records.

 

Thank you,

******

 

****** ******* **** ****

7/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They did not give me a bill clearly stating that my baby had a copay. They gave me a bill only stating that I had a copay, which I paid. I understand that people are punished if they do not pay bills by giving them to collection agencies, but my situation should not have been punished because I was not informed that I had a bill to pay for him. They have breached my trust. I also asked the billing center, if I could talk to their manager not someone at the collection agency. A lady name ****** from UCSD supposedly said, "Sure, ask for ***** or *****." It turns out they are not from UCSD but from the collections agency. When billing center sees that a bill went to collections, they automatically send it to the California Business Bureau so you think your still talking to UCSD. However, you are not, you are talking to another business so they should state it right away who they are, but they mislead you into thinking they are also part of UCSD.

Desired Settlement: UCSD needs to clarify their bills to patients showing its for the babies and not for them; need to clarify that they are going to transfer you to someone else besides UCSD, if they do; should not mislead you into thinking that they are transferring you to their boss, when they are transferring you to independent contractors outside the real office. They should only punish those who have a history of not paying bills not people that do. I want a refund of the late fees that CBB made me pay.

Business Response: July 3, 2012

BBB of San Diego
5050 Murphy Canyon, Ste. 110
San Diego, CA 92123 

Dear Better Business Bureau, 

Thank you for allowing UC San Diego Health System the opportunity to respond to the complaint that was submitted 6/20/2012 by complaint #*******. We have investigated the facts surrounding this consumer's complaint and would like to address them in this response. Our general practice is to have a financial counselor go over insurance coverage and patient responsibility during the patient's hospital stay. Our records indicate that insurance was discussed with both complainant and her husband on 9/20/2011 at which time the father indicated baby had been added to his insurance. The first billing statement on this account was mailed on January 4, 2012 to the patient's home address. A second statement was mailed on February 6, 2012. On February 6, 2012, patient called and her address and billing information were reconfirmed. She was informed that her insurance was billed and that her policy carries a co-payment of $250 for both mother and child. A third statement was mailed on March 8, 2012. On April 14, 2012 a phone message was left for patient regarding our policy on debt collection. On April 25, 2012 her account was assigned to collections. To date, UC San Diego Health System has received the following reimbursements; $19800.00 from insurance on mother's account including a co-payment of $250.00 that was satisfied prior to discharge. Insurance has also paid $27,572.00 on the baby's account and there is still a $250.00 co-payment outstanding. Per our policy, these accounts were appropriately billed and due diligence was exercised for payment due on baby's account. 

Thank you again for the opportunity to look into and respond to this complaint. It is our sincere hope that both the Better Business Bureau and the complainant are satisfied with our response. Please feel free to contact me at ************ if you have any further questions or comments. 

***** ******
Director of Patient Experience 
Service Excellence
UC San Diego Health System