BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

UC San Diego

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 534-2230 Fax: (858) 534-5203 View Additional Phone Numbers 9500 Gilman Dr, La Jolla, CA 92093 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ucsd.edu

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers higher education, research and medical care.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that UC San Diego meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for UC San Diego include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on UC San Diego
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 17, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1968 in CA
Type of Entity

Charity/NonProfit

Business Management
Mr. Pradeep K Khosla, Chancellor Mr. Steven Relyea, Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pradeep K Khosla, Chancellor
Principal: Mr. Steven Relyea, Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs
Number of Employees

24,661

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
UCSD University of California San Diego
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages


Additional Locations

  • 200 W Arbor Dr #8970

    San Diego, CA 92103

  • 9500 Gilman Dr

    La Jolla, CA 92093 (858) 534-2230 (858) 534-3390

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (858) 534-3390(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a parking citation from said company on a vehicle that has never been registered to me. I spoke with the UCSD and they stated my name, ******* ****** in LA area, and a " ** ******** " . I have bought vehicles from ******* ****** but I have no idea who "* ********" is. After submitting Statement of Facts letter to UCSD back in Sept. 2013 they still say the car is mine and have now sent me to a collection agency. I'm 84 years old and have never been sent to collections, I feel they are harassing me and trying to scare me into paying this bill. I might also note that the violation is from 10/02/2012 and my first received correspondence from UCSD was end of July of 2013. After debating with ( ***** and ******* ***** ) and talking to the DMV they have since mailed out a 2nd and Final notice and the bill is and now my name has been sent to collections. With a bill that doesn't belong to me and over $150 dollars.

Desired Settlement: The outcome I'm looking for is for UCSD to stop sending me bills and sending me to collections for a violation that has nothing to do with me. I have no idea how they came up with my name or address or anything.

Business Response: Good morning Mr. ********, 

This morning I received information regarding the citation from the UCSD campus, I am writing to let you know that it has been cancelled.  Transportation Services is one of the operation that reports to my office.  I asked ******* for information this morning, she informed me that there was an error from the company that provides data to the campus.  ******* has been following up with the company after working with you, they came back on 10/14 unable to verify the current owner, when she received that information she cancelled the citation (we contract with a company to mail out letters using a database they maintain from DMV).  We apologize for the inconvenience this caused and will follow up with the company to avoid this in the future. 

Thank you,


******


****** ******, MPA, CASP

Director

Auxiliary Business Services

UC San Diego

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a parking ticket from the University for parking in their lot. I have a valid, unexpired permit which was displayed on my dashboard, as instructed, face up. I was in the proper stall type. The ticket stated in the comments that no permit was present. When I came to my car I immediately took a picture of my windshield showing the ticket 1.5 ft away from my visible and easily legible, valid permit. I contested the ticket. This was not approved but the amount decreased with no explanation other than that they could not honor my reason for dismissing the ticket. I requested directions on what other steps I could take to dismiss this. I was told that I could go to a hearing (after paying the full amount) to possibly get a refund but would not be eligible for the lost wages from missing work for the hearing. I paid the ticket but am left very frustrated because it appears that a ticket can be written and upheld despite proper permit. It appears that there is no protection against further tickets despite trying to follow all the parking regulations. It bothers me because I have to go to that facility frequently in the future and am left without confidence in any way to avoid this type of unfair expense.

Desired Settlement: I'd like my money back and a reasonable explanation of how I could be ticketed in this way.

Business Response:

****** *****

The Better Business Bureau

5050 Murphy Canyon, Suite 110

San Diego, CA 92123

 

SUBJECT: Complaint 10 # ******* submitted 7/13/2012 

Dear Sir/Madam: 

I am enclosing the text of the response sent directly to the consumer as a result of your letter to us concerning his complaint. We have removed identifying information and just included the text from the letter itself.

 

"SUBJECT: BBB ID ******* submitted 7/13/2012

We have explored the circumstances regarding your complaint and without having a

specific citation number referenced in your letter to the BBB, have reviewed a number of

citations allegedly issued to you, as follows:

• Citation #********, 5/17/2012 - Appeal granted, the fine was reduced to an

Administrative Fee.

• Citation #********, 03/01/2012 - Appealed granted, citation dismissed.

• Citation #********, 10/06/2011- Appeal granted, citation dismissed.

• Citation #********, 06/22/2011- Citation paid in full.

• Citation #********, 10/30/2009 - Appeal granted, the fine was reduced to an

Administrative Fee.

 

Our Three Level appeals process can be found online at

http://blink.ucsd.edu/facilities/transportation/citations!appeal.html#Level-l:Administrative-review

and is well established. Based on your past experiences in utilizing the process as

documented above, and the results obtained, it appears the process worked effectively

given that your most recent appeal was granted as we were not able to substantiate your

assertions, and adjudication reduced the fine to an Administrative Fee only.

 

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your BBB complaint, and hope this clarifies our position. Please note that all appeals may be handled in writing and it is not necessary to appear in person.

 

Regards,

******* *********

Assistant Vice Chancellor"

 

Please let me know if you have additional questions or wish further information in response to this complaint.

 

********** **** ** ********

Vice Chancellor

cc.: Vice Chancellor ** ****** - External and Business Affairs 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr ********* did not respond to my complaint in any specific manner. His letter states that a specific citation number was not referenced in my letter to the BBB but then lists the citation (#********, which is the one in question) as having the appeal granted and fine reduced to an Administrative Fee. 

What I would still like to know, is what UCSD Parking's justification is for charging me any fee, administrative or fine, for parking in the correct space, at the correct time, with the correct permit, clearly displayed, as instructed on my dashboard.  (As documented in timed and dated photos I previously submitted.) I would like to know how I can protect myself from this type of unnecessary expense in the future.

Mr ********* also asserts in his response that the UCSD "Three Level appeals process" is "well established" and "worked effectively given that my most recent appeal was granted".   It was effective only for the University and not for me. My initial appeal resulted in my fee being lowered, but without any explanation of why I would have to pay a fee at all. To appeal at the next level (per the printed correspondence I received), I would have to first pay the fee and then appear at a hearing during business hours at an inconvenient location, which would, in the end cost me more than the ticket given the time off from work.  While it may be well established, it is very cumbersome, unfair to the consumer, and effective only in protecting funds for the University obtained from incorrectly placed parking citations.

Regards,

**** *******

 

Business Response:

Hi ******,

 

Below is the response I received from UCSD Transportation Services.  In addition, ****** ****** has contacted the complainant directly and left a voicemail message to contact him re: the refund of the charges. 

 

Please let me know if you need additional information.  Thank you.

 

********

 

 

-----Original Message-----

From: ******* ******

Sent: Tuesday, September 11, 2012 4:07 PM

To: ******, ********

Subject: RE: BBB Complaint - ID *******

 

Hi ********,

 

In reviewing the information we have on this  BBB complaint (ID #*******) and the associated citation, I have asked Transportation Services to refund the charges.  Under the system that was in  place, there was a possibility that the permit could have been missed by the person issuing citations, depending on dash location.  The new controls and systems that are in place remove this issue and should avoid possible questions on this type of citation.  The new permit is a hanging permit, which is more visible.  Additional changes include photo back up for violations to verify the issue addressed in the citation, this citation didn't have additional back up.

 

Please let me know if you would like me to forward this to BBB or if you would like a more formal response for their records.

 

Thank you,

******

 

****** ******* **** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They did not give me a bill clearly stating that my baby had a copay. They gave me a bill only stating that I had a copay, which I paid. I understand that people are punished if they do not pay bills by giving them to collection agencies, but my situation should not have been punished because I was not informed that I had a bill to pay for him. They have breached my trust. I also asked the billing center, if I could talk to their manager not someone at the collection agency. A lady name ****** from UCSD supposedly said, "Sure, ask for ***** or *****." It turns out they are not from UCSD but from the collections agency. When billing center sees that a bill went to collections, they automatically send it to the California Business Bureau so you think your still talking to UCSD. However, you are not, you are talking to another business so they should state it right away who they are, but they mislead you into thinking they are also part of UCSD.

Desired Settlement: UCSD needs to clarify their bills to patients showing its for the babies and not for them; need to clarify that they are going to transfer you to someone else besides UCSD, if they do; should not mislead you into thinking that they are transferring you to their boss, when they are transferring you to independent contractors outside the real office. They should only punish those who have a history of not paying bills not people that do. I want a refund of the late fees that CBB made me pay.

Business Response: July 3, 2012

BBB of San Diego
5050 Murphy Canyon, Ste. 110
San Diego, CA 92123 

Dear Better Business Bureau, 

Thank you for allowing UC San Diego Health System the opportunity to respond to the complaint that was submitted 6/20/2012 by complaint #*******. We have investigated the facts surrounding this consumer's complaint and would like to address them in this response. Our general practice is to have a financial counselor go over insurance coverage and patient responsibility during the patient's hospital stay. Our records indicate that insurance was discussed with both complainant and her husband on 9/20/2011 at which time the father indicated baby had been added to his insurance. The first billing statement on this account was mailed on January 4, 2012 to the patient's home address. A second statement was mailed on February 6, 2012. On February 6, 2012, patient called and her address and billing information were reconfirmed. She was informed that her insurance was billed and that her policy carries a co-payment of $250 for both mother and child. A third statement was mailed on March 8, 2012. On April 14, 2012 a phone message was left for patient regarding our policy on debt collection. On April 25, 2012 her account was assigned to collections. To date, UC San Diego Health System has received the following reimbursements; $19800.00 from insurance on mother's account including a co-payment of $250.00 that was satisfied prior to discharge. Insurance has also paid $27,572.00 on the baby's account and there is still a $250.00 co-payment outstanding. Per our policy, these accounts were appropriately billed and due diligence was exercised for payment due on baby's account. 

Thank you again for the opportunity to look into and respond to this complaint. It is our sincere hope that both the Better Business Bureau and the complainant are satisfied with our response. Please feel free to contact me at ************ if you have any further questions or comments. 

***** ******
Director of Patient Experience 
Service Excellence
UC San Diego Health System

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY daughter was seen at The UCSD OPTOMETRY Center for a new prescription for her eyes. It was decided that she needed new lenses to put in her existing frame. After almost two weeks my daughter was contacted and was told that the frame had broken during the procedure of replacing the lens and that she had to pick another frame from the optometry center only at a "discounted" price, and that she will not be compensated for the damaged frame. The frame that was ruined by this center was purchased over a year or so ago and it had cost me over $500 for the frame(******* & **)+the cost of the lenses. I can not afford another pair of glasses for my daughter so she is currently wearing contact lenses which has caused her a great deal of discomfort and irritated her eyes.I have attempted several times to talk to the responsible Doctor at the optometry center but due to her total lack of professionalism she has refused to discuss the matter with me and has her receptionist talk to me instead. Since I paid for those glasses for my daughter, I am the owner of the damaged property and I demand full compensation. Why should I be penalized for their lack of competency?

Desired Settlement: I want the UCSD optometry center to either replace my daughter's glasses with the same type of frame+lenses or to compensate the amount that I have paid ($500)for the frame plus the value of the lenses.

Business Response: Thank you for advising us of this complaint.  We have investigated and I am forwarding the following response on behalf of Vice Chancellor ***** ******.

 

RE:  Complaint *******

 

On March 15, the complainant was contacted and reminded that an offer had previously been made to provide replacement frames for free from options currently in stock or available by order.  Although it was not possible to obtain a replacement of the same ******* frame, a large selection of other frames were available from other vendors.  The complainant responded that she had not understood the details when this offer had been made earlier, but was now fully satisfied with the agreement and would convey the information to her daughter. 

 

Please let me know if you have any questions, or would like additional background on this matter.

Thanks,

****

 

**** *******

Chief of Staff

Office of the Vice Chancellor – External and Business Affairs

UC San Diego

(858) 534-3391

*****************

Consumer Response:

Case # *******

This is to inform you that I have been contacted by the business owner and they are willing to replace the damaged glasses. I take this opportunity to thank you  so very much for your help. You guys are doing an awsome job protecting consumers like me.  Thank you again from bottom of my heart.

Best Regards,

**** ********* 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.