Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Art Institute of California-San Diego

Phone: (858) 598-1200 Fax: (619) 291-3776 View Additional Phone Numbers 7650 Mission Valley Rd, San Diego, CA 92108 http://www.aicasd.artinstitutes.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers creative and applied arts education, including culinary arts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Art Institute of California-San Diego meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Art Institute of California-San Diego include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Art Institute of California-San Diego
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 08/19/1982 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833
http://www.bppve.ca.gov
Phone Number: 888-370-7589
Fax Number: 916-263-1897
bppve@dca.ca.gov
The number is 3704151.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. AJ Antun, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. AJ Antun, President
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Academy of Advertising Arts Advertising Arts College Advertising Arts College, The AIC Education Management Corporation La Jolla Acadamy of Advertising Arts La Jolla Advertisng Arts College TAAC TAIC Inc The Advertising Arts College
Industry Tips
Financial Aid & Scholarship Companies

Additional Locations

  • 7650 Mission Valley Rd

    San Diego, CA 92108

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied to the Art Institute to attend school. There is a $50 application fee for students applying which is waived for military students. I am a veteran and was told by the admissions advisor that I would have to pay the $50 fee and get a refund after I provided a certificate of eligibity from the VA showing I was eligible for military education benefits. I applied on the website and the website stated if the application was cancelled in 3 business days I could get a refund. Also around this time I applied to the Art Institute of San Francisco which did not charge me an application fee when I applied considering I have other proof of military service. This led me to believe that the admission advisor at the Art Institute of San Diego was trying to rip me off. I requested a refund for the $50 application fee at the Art Institute of San Diego within the 3 business days. I spoke with the Admissions manager twice on two different days and he assured me I was going to get a refund. The last time I spoke with the Admission manager was on April 7, 2014 and as of today I have still not received my refund.

Desired Settlement: Receive refund of $50 for application fee that I was not supposed to pay.

Business Response:

The Campus President has left a voicemail and an email with the customer to resolve the matter.

Thank you for letting us know.

**

3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This situation aggravates my Blood Pressure. I am at 70% Disabled with the VA Health System I was led to believe that a particular individual had the expertise necessary for my Publishing Business. The individual was talented in Digital areas, but did not have enough Freehand expertise for what I felt was necessary, after reviewing the Preliminary Drawing they presented. I found basic issues with the Freehand drawing. When I told the School I felt this person did not have the expertise I was looking for, the student's Boss began to harass me with phone calls, and now emails, over and over and making false accusations and inuendo against me. I sent him an email and the school director ***** *****) to cease and desist this harassment, as it is against the law. These people seem to be unstable in my view. I want this harassment stopped and the accusations stopped. If they do not, I will sue them for numerous reasons.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology for the harassment and confusion on behalf of the school. A promise that the individual responsible will be disciplined and perhaps fired.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

The Campus President has corresponded with the customer on 3/19 and 3/21 and has resolved any outstanding issues.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Regards,

** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Although it was not mentioned by the School Director, I will presume that the employee responsible was either disciplined or fired.

My impression was that the employee was purposely attempting to create a situation that did not exist.

The fact is, most Art schools today do not teach freehand drawing techniques, but are focused on learning how to use Digital Tools.

I have had to move on to a separate website that caters to Artists that are specialized in BOTH Digital and Freehand Drawing.

In fact, right now there are at least 20 candidates vying for my project, in a contest I created for my Book Covers.

If I had known that that option did not exist at the school in question, I would not have inquired.

Regards,

****** *******

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended The Art Institute of San Diego in 2013. I was accepted in January and started in April. From the beginning, I experienced problems with the school. They lost my paper work multiple times. Thus, I had to continuously go into the office to fill it out again. I had received a scholarship through the school and 3 months later they called me in to say they had given it to the wrong person and proceeded to make me sign papers taking said scholarship away from me. They didn't offer the classes required to graduate every quarter so it would have taken me a lot longer to graduate than they had told me. You were required to buy your own supplies. We were only allowed to use a certain amount of food and if we ran out then we were out of luck, even if it was for a final. When i signed up and was accepted into the school I was told that it was $25,000 a year. I was on a 2 year program so it would have been $50,000 total. I attended The Art Institute from April - October of 2013. They are now claiming that I owe $30,315.52. They are highly unorganized and unwilling to help their students. They were rude and inconsiderate every time I had to go into the office, as if it were my fault they had lost all of my paper work. Due to this I now am in a large amount of debt and have nothing to show for it because my credits are not transferrable.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to reduce the amount I owe. I would also like for someone to go in and check on their organization so that nobody else has to go through what I did.

Business Response:

I have scheduled a time with the consumer to learn about her concens and complaint in order to understand how to best assist.

** *****

President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. They called and scheduled an appointment to talk about the issue for Wednesday the 12 at 1 pm but called and rescheduled for Friday the 14 at noon. 

Regards,

********* ******

1/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when i drop out of school and they told me that i only own them 5-6k and they told me that they closed the account and some how i own them eveven more for no resson is from art insitute ca san diego i think there scaming me some how is there way to lower my debts or fix this issue im geting tired of this

Desired Settlement: i think there scaming me some how is there way to lower my debts or fix this issue im geting tired of this

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

I have been trying to reach out to the individual who complained. I've left voicemails and emails multiple times asking to him to contact me so that I can learn more about his situation and see how I can help resolve his issues. But I have not hear back from him in weeks.

I will keep on trying to reach him.

Thank you,

** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The Art Institute of California-San Diego
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart