BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

National University

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 642-8000 View Additional Phone Numbers 9393 Lightwave Ave, San Diego, CA 92123 http://www.nu.edu

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers lifelong learning opportunites to adult learners.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for National University include:

  • 10 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for National University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on National University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 06, 1993 Business started: 11/22/1971 in CA Business incorporated: 11/22/1971 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Julie Bazzo Mr. Richard Carter, Vice President Mr. Randy Frisch, President Dr. Bill Pepicello
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Julie Bazzo
Principal: Mr. Richard Carter, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Randy Frisch, President
Principal: Dr. Bill Pepicello
Number of Employees

698

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
National University (Executive Park Center) National University Polytechnic Institute National University-Orange Learning Center
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833 Phone Number: 888-370-7589 Fax Number: 916-263-1897 http://www.bppve.ca.gov bppve@dca.ca.gov

Industry Tips
Financial Aid & Scholarship Companies

Additional Locations

  • 11255 N Torrey Pines Rd

    La Jolla, CA 92037

  • 11355 N Torrey Pines Rd

    La Jolla, CA 92037

  • 16875 W Bernardo Dr #150

    San Diego, CA 92127

  • 200 E Via Rancho Pkwy #485

    Escondido, CA 92025

  • 2022 University Dr # A

    Vista, CA 92083

  • 3030 Plaza Bonita Rd

    National City, CA 91950

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3031 Tisch Way 100 Plaza E

    San Jose, CA 95128

  • 3390 Harbor Blvd

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3520 Brookside Rd

    Stockton, CA 95219

  • 3570 Aero Ct

    San Diego, CA 92123 (858) 309-3501

  • 3580 Aero Ct

    San Diego, CA 92123 (619) 563-7300

  • 3678 Aero Ct

    San Diego, CA 92123

  • 380 E Aten Rd

    Imperial, CA 92251 (760) 355-6127

  • 3975 Norman Scott Rd Bldg 3280 B114

    San Diego, CA 92136

  • 4025 Tripoli St MCRD - Bldg 111

    San Diego, CA 92140

  • 4141 Camino del Rio S

    San Diego, CA 92108 (619) 563-7100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4560 California Ave #300

    Bakersfield, CA 93309

  • 4719 Viewridge Ave

    San Diego, CA 92123

  • 513 Parkway Plz

    El Cajon, CA 92020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5245 Pacific Concourse Dr #100

    Los Angeles, CA 90045

  • 660 Bay Blvd

    Chula Vista, CA 91910 (619) 563-2500 (619) 563-7415

  • 705 Palomar Airport Rd #150

    Carlsbad, CA 92009

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    761 E Daily Dr #120

    Camarillo, CA 93010

  • 765 The City Dr S #200

    Orange, CA 92868

  • 765 The City Dr S #207

    Orange, CA 92868

  • 7787 Alvarado Rd

    La Mesa, CA 91941 (619) 337-7500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    804 E Brier Dr

    San Bernardino, CA 92408

  • 8380 Miramar Rd

    San Diego, CA 92126

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9320 Tech Center Dr

    Sacramento, CA 95826

  • 9388 Lightwave Ave

    San Diego, CA 92123 (858) 642-8000

  • 9393 Lightwave Ave

    San Diego, CA 92123 (800) 628-8648 (858) 321-3900

  • 9980 Carrol Canyon Rd

    San Diego, CA 92127

  • Belleau Wood Ave Bldg 111

    San Diego, CA 92110

  • Bldg 5305 MCAS Miramar

    San Diego, CA 92145

  • Fleet Anti-Submarine Warfare Bldg 7

    San Diego, CA 92147 (619) 563-7488

  • Marine Corps Air St Miramar Bl 8546

    San Diego, CA 92145 (619) 563-7350 (619) 563-7482

  • Marine Corps Pendleton Bldg 1331

    Camp Pendleton, CA 92055

  • NAB Coronado, Bldg 345

    Coronado, CA 92155

  • Naval Air St North Island Bldg 650

    San Diego, CA 92135

  • Naval Hospital  Bldg 26 Rm 115

    San Diego, CA 92134 (619) 563-7470

  • Naval Station 32nd St Bldg 151

    San Diego, CA 92136 (619) 563-7492 (619) 563-7474

  • Naval Submarine Base  140 Sylvester Rd Bldg 138

    San Diego, CA 92106 (619) 563-7490

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 628-8648(Phone)
  • (858) 321-3900(Phone)
  • (858) 541-7900 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While attending National University for my Master's Degree I had received financial aid for 2013-2014, except for my remaining four courses. While taking these final courses, I believed I would have to pay the fees personally, however, ***** Lira at NU Student Business Services Office notified me of additional funding I could obtain. I gladly accepted. He provided me with a one page document, the NU Federal Education Loan Request, to obtain further financial aid. I had the choice to pick the maximum amount allotted or the amount only needed to pay off. I chose the final pay off amount as this was all I needed. When notified by ***** that this was approved he stated the loan amount approved would be disbursed in two payments. I received the first and according to ***** Lira, I would receive the second and final amount paid off after my last course was completed and grades submitted. This did not happen. My last course was a master's thesis course which I did complete, receive a grade for, and afterwards received conferral notice that I had completed and considered graduated. However, according to Supervisor Cathy ********, I became ineligible 180 days after my last class end date. The class portion of the thesis was only two months, but afterwards I completed the thesis paper after drawing up a scientific study and conducted experiments in order to write the paper. I had access and visited the online course for resources the entire time. Not to mention again....the instructor posted a grade for me and I graduated. How does this show I was not enrolled any longer? Ms. ******** stated this is a federal guideline and also references a Financial Aid Handbook policy "2013-2014 FSA HB Volume 4 P. 4-51 & 4-52" which when I called the office today to see if this is actually NU or federal policy, the person on the phone did not know the policy. The contract document I signed did not include any policy stating this. Ms. ******** has offered that I can obtain a private loan through NU now.

Desired Settlement: I have additional information on the matter, however, several days/weeks go by before I can get a hold of Ms. Barnhill. I am requesting that the school investigate this issue with Ms. ******** as to why funds were not held as promised and this "policy" is investigated. I am requesting the school to contact FAFSA to re-obtain the funds originally stated by NU as awarded to me. I have contacted FAFSA and was notified by their office that the school can do this.

Business Response: The Financial Aid and Student Business offices have conducted a thorough review of the issues filed by Ms. ******* with the Better Business Bureau. After reviewing Ms. *******'s records and interviewing staff who had interactions with Ms. *******, we found no evidence to substantiate Ms. *******'s claims. This letter serves as a notification that we have concluded our investigation. 

As a goodwill gesture, National University has worked with Ms. ******* to resolve the outstanding balance. 

Due to the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) we are unable to provide detailed information on the findings of the investigation.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business and after a phone call with the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  The resolution initially proposed by business was turned down by me and I proposed a secondary resolution that was accepted by both parties.  The business performed the action immediately with me over the phone, thus I consider this complaint as resolved.

Regards,

***** *******

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: ****** ********* / Student I.D. # ********** am enrolled in the Criminal Justice Masters educational online program. I have a G.P.A. apparently high enough to qualify me for entry into the criminal justice honors program. Despite this, I am unable to complete the Capstone thesis class, which is the final written product to qualify for the degree of Masters in criminal justice. My complaint, the instructor in charge of my capstone project class insists that I do not perform at a "Masters" level, with regards to written work product. I am failing the class and cannot get past the fist few pages of the assignment. Dr. Despain is apparently a qualified instructor in the capstone class and makes the final determination as to ability of the student to receive a masters level degree. I must assume that her opinion on the matter of ability is final, in that I cannot perform masters level work. YET, I have received from 10 other instructors during the course of the year long course passing grades that qualify me for "Honors"I can only assume that I am unqualified for masters level work, and was passed through the program for the sole purpose of gaining access to the Federally funded school loan money. Being such a poor student, I would have expected the former 10 instructors not to pass me on the previous courses, and advise me to withdraw from the program or provide me with an academic solution. I have and continue as of this date, attempting to complete (unsuccessfully) the written requirement, but, per Dr. DeSpain She has never seen such a poor work quality at a masters level, so I have little chance of succeeding. I am forced to conclude that I have be defrauded for the sole purpose of maintaining the flow of loan money until this final course, where I have been informed that I cannot produce a academic work product capable necessary to graduate. I am not disputing the Dr.'s academic assessment of my ability, but I question the legitimacy of the program,taking money when I am unqualified

Desired Settlement: Since I am not a student capable of Master's level work and I believe that the only purpose to my passing coursework at an inflated or false G.P.A. I want an academic alternative solution at the expense of National University and a an assessment of my academic ability, so that I may complete my degree or a full refund for defrauding me for the past year, while promoting me through coursework that I am not entitled to.If it is determined that I am academically unfit, expunge my course work grade

Business Response: The Office of Student Affairs has conducted a thorough review of the complaint filed by Mr. ****** ********* with the Better Business Bureau. 
 
At National University, we strive to provide the best possible experience to our students by offering them the tools to achieve their educational goals.  As such, we would like to offer Mr. ********* an opportunity to complete the course CJ690 “Research Project Thesis” by extending the course completion date by one full month accompanied with the ability to work one on one with the instructor. If Mr. ********* is unable to complete the course within the one month allotted, this period may be extended for one additional month based on the instructor’s professional assessment of Mr. *********’s good faith effort to complete the course requirements. We believe this offer provides the student with a fair and reasonable opportunity to achieve his academic goals.
 
 
Sincerely,
 
 
***** *******
National University
Office of Student Affairs

8/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently received a hit on my credit report from National University. In 2006 I attended National University (online) for some introductory college classes. During this time I filed Tuition Assistance paperwork to pay for the class(es), the payment was accepted and I was allowed to participate and complete my course work. Upon completion of the classes, all with grades of A or B which would allow for full and complete processing of financial assistance, I decided to attend another university to complete my degree. I requested and received college transcripts from National University without issue and completed my degree with the new college in Feb 2010. In May of this year (May 2014) I pulled my credit report for annual review. There was an entry from National University beginning in Jan 2014 with a past due amount in the Adverse Accounts section of that report. Upon contacting National University I was informed that: In review of the account the June 2006 class cost was $666 but your tuition assistance only paid $295 leaving a difference of $371 for that class. Also It does not appear that any tuition assistance payment for was received or applied for the November 2006 class which cost $666. Total of $371 + $666 = $1073. The issue now being that the DOD Education Office cannot file or re-file the claim or a new claim to rectify the issue due to the fact that it is 8 years and counting since I attended the school. At NO time during the past 8 years since leaving the school have I ever been contacted by phone, mail or email stating the situation. At NO time during my request(s) for college transcripts or information from National University had I been notified that there was an issue or past due amount. The item is listed as a Student Loan on my credit report. At no time have I ever had a student loan, and definitely not with National University. According to the California State Statute of limitations regarding collection of debt (Cal. Civ. Proc. Code 312 et seq) the timeline for Written agreements is 4 years, calculated from the date of breach once again NOT a student loan, and once again not a debt incurred with them.

Desired Settlement: National University has failed to act in a timely and proper manner, and I am requesting that the debt, and any entry of the debt from National University, along with ANY entry on my credit report from National University or any entity associated with them be removed from my credit report.

Business Response: National University has removed the incident from credit reporting due to the age of the debt, however National University records show that the debt was valid since no documentation was provided that the balance of tuition not paid by TA was paid by either TA or student. Student was sent monthly statements and requested to provide TA documents that cleared balance or to pay the balance from 1/2007 until assigned to an outside collection agency 2/27/2008. National University resumed mailing monthly statements without receiving a return mailing, from 10/2012 through 12/2013, until account was resent to the collection agency January 2014. Student contacted National in January 2014 and National University requested again that student provide the TA forms or information showing that the account had been paid in full. No further contact was received from student until this complaint with BBB.    

National University has removed the incident from credit reporting due to the age of the debt, however National University records show that the debt was valid since no documentation was provided that the balance of tuition not paid by TA was paid by either TA or student. Student was sent monthly statements and requested to provide TA documents that cleared balance or to pay the balance from 1/2007 until assigned to an outside collection agency 2/27/2008. National University resumed mailing monthly statements without receiving a return mailing, from 10/2012 through 12/2013, until account was resent to the collection agency January 2014. Student contacted National in January 2014 and National University requested again that student provide the TA forms or information showing that the account had been paid in full. No further contact was received from student until this complaint with BBB.    
National University has removed the incident from credit reporting due to the age of the debt, however National University records show that the debt was valid since no documentation was provided that the balance of tuition not paid by TA was paid by either TA or student. Student was sent monthly statements and requested to provide TA documents that cleared balance or to pay the balance from 1/2007 until assigned to an outside collection agency 2/27/2008. National University resumed mailing monthly statements without receiving a return mailing, from 10/2012 through 12/2013, until account was resent to the collection agency January 2014. Student contacted National in January 2014 and National University requested again that student provide the TA forms or information showing that the account had been paid in full. No further contact was received from student until this complaint with BBB.    

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got enrolled in the school with great optimism. I had a foreign high school diploma with local Community college credit. After assessing my results the school scheduled my classes which i started with great expectation, but after two classes i was put on educational probation because i didn't meet up with the school's requirement based upon the High school diploma and the community college results i submmitted.The school barred me from attendance and are now making request for payment for the two classes taken. I had made concerted effort to let them realized that i cannot afford the fee, and since i'm using the financial aid resources, that area should be exploited but the school declined.The school should evaluate its enrollment policy,its unfair to enroll student if they did not meet up with the school's standard, and made them go through emotionally, depressing, and embarassing situations

Desired Settlement: The payment should be forfeited

Business Response:

The Office of Student Affairs has conducted a thorough review of the issues filed by Mr. **** *******  with the Better Business Bureau.  After reviewing Mr. *******’s  records and his interactions with National University staff,  no evidence was found to substantiate Mr. *******’s claims.   This letter serves as a notification that the investigation has concluded.  A detailed response with the findings of this investigation will be sent to Mr. *******.

 

If Mr.******* wishes to provide additional documentation to support his claims, this office will re-open the case.  

 

Due to the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) we are unable to provide detailed information on the findings of the investigation. A copy of the attached Release of Student Records form has been sent to Mr. ******* if he wishes for us to discuss his educational information with the BBB.   The form would require him to name a specific person at the BBB that would receive the information from National University. 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

***** *******

National University

Office of Student Affairs

3/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Student Number is *********. I first time I enrolled at National University was on march 2007. I had a foreign college before that so they did a foreign evaluation for credited classes. two of the classes they credited were English 100 &101. Since I was still in the military that time, they gave me a copy of my SOCNAV Student Agreement that was signed by the Senior Records Evaluator ******* *** ******, specifically showing what classes got credited from my previous foreign education. National University allowed me to take the next English course which was English 240, since I met the pre-requisites (100/101). I withdrew from the enrollment sometime in 2011 because of personal matter. I enrolled again on November 2013 to continue my degree. NU did an evaluation on my academics again and I was given a go signal to take 6 classes to complete my degree. I am on my third class now and about to graduate on June 2014, my last class is supposed to end on August 2, 2014. Now my student advisor, ****** *****, is telling me that according to evaluations department, I need to English 100/101 again because they messed up on that. All along I thought I only need three classes to finish my education, now they are turning around and telling me that I still need to take the two classes, and they already know that its a foreign education when they did the foreign evaluation, hence the name "foreign".

Desired Settlement: I believe the mistake is on the University's part. It was them who did an evaluation on my foreign education, it was them who told me that I can take English 240 since I met the pre-requisites. Since I have already taken English 240, why not credit me for English 100/101 so I can continue with my degree. In my opinion, this is all about profit, not education.

Business Response: This response is on behalf of Ms. ******** *****, AVP Finance- National University. National University has resolved Mr. *******'s complaint. Mr. ******* informed National University by phone that he contacted BBB to report the issue has been resolved. Sincerely, ***** ******* Office of Student Affairs National University ph.###-###-####

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just wanted to share a complaint regarding service. The professor had limited knowledge about technology and the course I took was online. I happened to be doing well academically via previous math knowledge until I expressed my frustration regarding the late postings of online videos and materials. The very last week most videos went up. I was given a contact person and I never received a response (tried email and phone method of communication). The person was on vacation, and I did not hear back. This was at the Carlsbad campus. I wouldn't waste my time paying for this type of education if there is such a discrepancy with the educators. Just my opinion, but if a person is teaching they should be competent in their work (which academically she was), but courses should run smoothly and if not a response should be sent not ignored. I do have supporting documents.

Desired Settlement: Refunded money or a technologically savvy educator.

Business Response:

June 9, 2013
Mr. **** *****
Better Business Bureau
4747 Viewridge Ave Suite 200
San Diego, CA 92123
Suhject: J3.l3l3~CASE# ******* ~Ms. ***** *******
Deat· Mr. *****,
PAGE 02/03
The Office of Student Affairs has conducted a thorough review of the issues filed with the Better
Business .Bureau by Ms. ***** *******. We would like to infonn you that National University
has offered to Ms. *******, as a courtesy, to re"take the course she ex:per1enced technical
difl'lculties at no cost to her.
We will keep you infom1ecl if Ms. ******* accepts or declines this o-ffer.
Unfortunately we are unable to share additional information with BBB due to the Family
Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERP A) regulations. If the stude11t wishes for us to release
additional inforrnation to the BBB; Ms. ******* would need to complete and submit the attached
release form to National University.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.
***** *******
National University
Offioc of Student Affairs
ph (858) 642-8036
fax (858) 642-8732

5/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March of 2011, I began looking around and gathering information on Universities that offered online degree programs. I narraowed my choices down to the ********** ** ******* and National University, both are fully accredited and offered full online degree programs. I selected National University because they offered a military discounts to all Veterans which instead of paying $1500 per class, the discount brought it down to around $700. For me this was the tipping point which motivated me to choose National. So, fast forward to a 14 classes later and 6 remaining classes in my degree program, I noticed that my November class was priced at $1467 and not the $747 that I normally. When I contacted National University regarding the charges I was simply told "Soryy, we don't offer discounts to veterans anymore".

Desired Settlement: I understand changes in policy, but the reason I chose National was because they offered a military discount to veterans. It does not seem fair that I have 6 remaining classes and 14 completed courses and my tuition cost is going to double. This scenarios leaves me feeling robbed of my choice, I chose this University because of how it treated veterans. My request is for National University to reactivate the Military discount on my account and price my current and remaining clasess at $747.

Business Response: We have reviewed Mr. *********'s complaint and his student account.  National University provides various tuition discount programs to those who have served in the military.  It was noted that a group of veterans were provided tuition discounts that are available to military personnel and veterans taking classes on base/online.  In light of the error, a correction was made; however, the communication of the correction was not timely made or fully explained.  As a result, we have elected to continue with the tuition discount provided to Mr. ********* for the remainder of his program.  Our student account team has reached out to Mr. ********* to let him know the resolution of his compliant.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *********