Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

National University

Find a Location

Phone: (858) 642-8000 View Additional Phone Numbers 11355 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, CA 92037 http://www.nu.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers educational services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for National University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on National University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 06, 1993 Business started: 11/22/1971 in CA Business incorporated 11/22/1971 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Julie Bazzo Mr. Richard Carter, Vice President Mr. Randy Frisch, President Dr. Bill Pepicello
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Julie Bazzo
Principal: Mr. Richard Carter, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Randy Frisch, President
Principal: Dr. Bill Pepicello
Number of Employees

698

Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
National University (Executive Park Center) National University Polytechnic Institute National University-Orange Learning Center
Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Dr #400, Sacramento CA 95833 Phone Number: 888-370-7589 Fax Number: 916-263-1897 http://www.bppve.ca.gov bppve@dca.ca.gov

Industry Tips
Financial Aid & Scholarship Companies

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with an academic advisor at National University about enrolling in the Masters of Science program in School Psychology. I was enrolled in two courses by the academic advisor with his assurance that I would be admitted into the Masters of Science in School Psychology program. Towards the end of the second course I was notified that I would not be admitted into the Masters of Science in School Psychology program because courses that I had already completed as part of the Masters of Science in Educational Counseling at National University overlapped with the Masters of Science in School Psychology program and would leave me unit deficient. I was never informed of the unit deficiency issue by the academic advisor when he enrolled me in the two courses. Another point I want to make is that the University does not allow students to enroll themselves in courses, an academic advisor does the enrolling, so I assumed that the courses that I would be taking would be going towards the completion of the Masters of Science in School Psychology program as promised by the academic advisor. Now the school is charging me over $3600 for the 2 classes I was enrolled mistakenly in by their academic advisor. National University keeps sending me bills, but they are not willing to take responsibility for their mistake in this matter. It is very irresponsible on National University's part to enroll students in courses without being completely sure about those courses's validity towards the academic programs their students are intending to complete.

Desired Settlement: I would like all charges on my student account to be removed and my account balance to return to zero.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *********,

The Office of Student Affairs has conducted a thorough investigation of the issues filed with the Better Business Bureau (BBB).  After reviewing your statement as well as our own internal research, this letter serves as a notification that we have concluded our investigation.

The statement to BBB indicates that you were enrolled mistakenly by an advisor in two courses. 

Our research revealed the following:

12/20/14- Completion of MS Educational Counseling

06/30/15 -Enrolled in the Master of Arts (MA) degree with ABA specialization -  (MA-ABA)

08/05/15 -Registered for the ABA 606 course for the term 08/05/15-09/26/15, which is a required course for the MAT-ABA degree.

09/15/15- Per your request, the advisor submitted an electronic program change request from MAT-ABA to MS-School Psychology  degree.

09/15/15- Registered for the PED680 course 

09/21/15- The Office of the Registrar denied your request to program change due to overlapping class requirements in MS. School Counseling and MS School Psychology degrees

Based on the information gathered during our investigation, which includes your signed enrollment agreement, the Office of Student Affairs concluded that you opted to enroll into the Master of Arts- ABA specialization and took the course ABA606 to satisfy program requirement. Therefore our investigation found that no mistake occurred on the part of the National University academic advisor.

Your request for program change into the MS-School Psychology  was denied due to overlapping requirements between MS-School Counseling and MS-School Psychology degrees.  It was revealed you were already attending the course PED 680 when the notification of denial for program change was received.   We did find warranted to refund you the tuition charge  for the course PED680 $1,827.00 and its late fee $25.00, totaling $1,852.00              

If you agree and accept the offer described above, please sign and date the attached form and return it electronically or via fax.  The Office of Student Affairs will proceed accordingly once your response is received.  Once the signed form has been received the University will initiate the refund  process for the course PED680 and its late fee.  

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or concerns.

Sincerely, 

***** *******

National University

Office of Student Affairs

ph ***** ********

fax ***** ********

Description: user

    

 

 

 

 

2/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was trying to enroll in their Programs. The Academic Advisor I had tried to enroll me pending financial aid. I was told by a financial aid advisor that I am maxed out on financial aid. I informed the academic advisor and let her know that I cannot enroll because I don't want to pay out of pocket. Well, she enrolled me and I found out and told her to unenroll me. She did and I thought I was in the clear. I find out some time later that they are charging me for the class. I called numerous times and the School never called me back. I ended up finding out that every academic advisor and financial aid advisor I had spoke to before no longer worked there. I sent multiple letters to no avail as well! I finally emailed them and got a response but someone whom I've never dealt with before that it's my fault and that it's a misunderstanding on my part. There's no misunderstanding, I was lied to and deceived and then nobody would help me. I just want a Zero balance with a confirmation letter and my credit report updated on all three bureaus!

Desired Settlement: I just want my account balance to show zero and credit reports on all three bureaus to reflect that as well. I want a confirmation letter or email to include this information!

Business Response:

Tell us why here...

The Office of Student Affairs at National University has conducted a thorough review of the issue filed by Mr. ******* ***** with the Better Business Bureau. Mr. ***** is disputing the tuition charge for the course ENG100, November 2012. After reviewing the claim made by Mr. *****, and our own internal review, this letter serves as notification that we have concluded our investigation. 

As a good will gesture, National University will reverse the tuition charge in question ($498.00).   

Please let me know if you will be notifying Ms. ***** of this offer or if you would like us to reach out to him directly.

Sincerely,

 

***** *******

Ph ***** ********

***************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****

1/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is overdue because I attempted to resolve my issue with National University internally, with no success. Unfortunately, since I am no longer paying thousands of dollars a month for sub-par education the petition (ID# 201374) submitted on 8/27/15 has been ignored by the university, so I feel it’s important to share with others. First, I attended National University San Diego campus from 6/2015 – 8/2015 to take prerequisite courses in their public health program. I completed three courses with a GPA of 4.0/4.0, and finally a grade of W (withdrawal) for anatomy and physiology 2 (lab and lecture). I also graduated with a B.S. in Business Administration with honors prior to attending NU, so I am familiar with other higher education courses. This University has limited quality control standards for the professors employed, and simply charges students to purchase the grade to obtain credit for the course. They do not respond to complaints regarding and do not appear to be focused on the students learning experience. The professor teaching A&P II lab and lecture freely provided that he was anti-vaccine while reviewing the lymphatic system in a course that was supposed to be based on science. I was also in the lab section for 21 days prior to withdrawal and NO labs were completed. The professor said the University did not have materials to perform the labs in the book, and we were dismissed to read the book on our own time. Despite informing the University of this fact, no changes were made and my $900 (the cost of the lab course alone without lecture) paid was not returned. I am shocked that this university receives so much federal funding and teaches off topic, against the book or not at all. I recommend shadowing classes for each professor prior to enrolling if you need to attend National University.

Desired Settlement: It seems only fair to get a refund for Anatomy and Physiology II Lab and Lecture (Professor **** ****) for the course that presented topics contradicting the scope of material to be covered in the class and for services not rendered in the lab course.

Business Response:

National University apologizes for the delay in addressing the above BBB complaint. 

The Office of Student Affairs has conducted a thorough review of the issues filed with the Better Business Bureau by Ms. ****** ******.  After reviewing the statement provided by Ms. ******, as well as our extensive internal research, this letter serves as a notification that we have concluded our investigation.

According to Ms. ******’s statement she felt compelled to voluntarily drop the courses BIO 202 (theory) and BIO 202A(lab). Per the attached course drop and refund policies, published in the National University catalog, students have until the 9th day from the start of the term to drop the course to receive full refund and the course removed from their records.  Ms. ****** dropped from the course on the 19th day from the start of the term,  therefore was not eligible to receive a tuition refund for the courses in question.

As a goodwill gesture, National University would like to offer Ms. ****** a tuition refund for the courses BIO 202 and BIO 202A.  

Please let me know if you will be notifying Ms. ****** of this offer or if you would like us to reach out to her directly. 

Sincerely,

***** *******

National University

Office of Student Affairs

ph ***** ********

fax (858) 642-8732

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Please let me know who from National University I should contact to follow up on the resolution.

Regards,

****** ******

12/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received loans from the government to cover the cost of tuition at National University. I completed all the paperwork requested by the University to process the financial aid and I confirmed at least twice that everything I needed was in place to receive my diploma after I graduated on May 31, 2015. The university informed me my degree would be conferred on July 19 and I would receive the diploma after that. The university has withheld my diploma because of an error they made processing my financial aid apparently. I have made multiple calls and sent multiple emails to the financial aid department and to alumni services but they continue to ignore my requests, tell me there is no one else I can talk to and blame some software switchover for some of these problems. I diligently attended the university for two years and earned their highest possible honors (summa ***** laude) as well as serving as the school's news site editor in a volunteer capacity for a year. I am frustrated and disappointed in the lack of service I have received and the lack of communication and clarity.

Desired Settlement: I would like my diploma delivery expedited and a $100 graduation fee refund given the deplorable service and delays. I am tempted to pursue this further but if these two items can be promptly completed I will likely let the matter rest.

Business Response: We have reviewed the student account/history and will be writing off the student's remaining balance and waiving the graduation fee which will close out her student account.  The University will be in touch with her to arrange delivery of her final documents.

8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my Student id is ********** . I am contacting you to assist me in resolving a grievance with the school. According to what i have been told today is that they is no formal process to complain and get assistance regarding a issue at the school. I am a nursing major and started at this school as it is geared towards veterans and it is fast paced. I went in as a public health major going for bs in nursing and was under the original requirements that was in place 2013. I finished all the requirements to apply for the program in September 14 and was told i was grandfathered in so I could apply to program but since there was a change in requirements I need to complete said requirements prior to acceptance to program or i would not be allowed entrance. I started the five additional class in October 14 and was completing the last of the five when i was told that the program requirements are yet again changing and no longer need. I have paid 1600 a piece for the class x 5 half the va pays the other I do and had to pull another loan to assist with the program cost and also suffer undue hardship due to medical disability and financial burdens. I also was forced to take the entrance exam while taking a classes no longer needed so I was rob the time to study to get a competitive score. I contacted the department and was only given action to correct the issue if accepted into program not if denied. I am asking for assitance and correction of the hardship this has caused me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the class no longer needed. I would like special consideration on my application due to the hardship i endured due to my disability and the stress associated with having to complete class in such a short time as well as studying for entrance exam at the same time. I would like to be able to attach a letter or statement of such hardships so it can be looked at will decided my acceptance into program. If they will not refund me I would like acceptance into program so that the corrective action could be done as it was paid by va and and federal loans and Va assitance i cant get back. I am hoping they will consider said request as I been happy at the school prior to this matter.

Business Response:

The Office of Student Affairs has been in correspondence with Ms. ****** and her case is still under review at the National University administrative level.     

A final determination on Ms. ******’s case is pending.   She has been informed of this information. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I contacted the school in the beginning on February and have had to contact them on several occasion only to be told the same response the bbb has received. I have recently received a  Va correspondence  . I have not been contacted by the school at all without trying to get a response. I called two days ago and several times prior to that  and given no response and have be ignored only to be told i have not returned your calls because i have no answer.I feel this action it self shows how little the school cares for it students concerns. I have attached emails to show correspondences and responses. I received a letter from the va that i have attached as well .  It presents  with a slightly different response than dory provided you.  I feel that having waited over 60 days for a  response  warrants a decision at this point. I have placed my studies on hold pending a response and due to the untimely response recieved have decided to purse other educational options at this time. I am asking for the money to be refunded as of this point. I feel the school did a disservice and am highly disappointed in the lack of urgency to correct this matter. They school has no formal grievance procedure for a matter like this and i feel due to this they feel they can simply ignore a students concerns hoping they will go away. Well I am not going to go away until this matter has been fixed. I will continue to seek every avenue possible until they correct this injustice. No student should have to take five classes and be told 5 months later it was for nothing and not needed . The excuse that the nursing board required them to do that is not valid as well. Why tell students pending enter the program that they are grandfathered in with the  old requirements yet they have to complete new requirements for acceptance. If they were unsure they should have required us to complete class after acceptance in program. Now students like myself spent money on classes not need and can't be applied towards degree. I was told that they are correcting the matter for those accepted but not the ones not. That is simply wrong . They are praying on the desires of some wanting more than anything to be come a registered nurse. It is so competitive that they feel we will do anything  and spend any amount just get degree and that is shameful. The school made the error and should correct by refunding the cost. I am being cheated money i earned from being in the services for classes i can use towards my degree. I would never have taken such classes if not needed and the va does not allow classes to be taking that are not part of the educational plan. I want it refunded so i can use towards my degree. I have no use for this classes at this point. I can't get back the time or the hardship but they can refund the monetary value.

Regards,

******* *****



Business Response:

National University has conducted a thorough review of the complaint made by Ms. ******** *****.
Our findings are as follows:

At the time Ms. ***** completed the four courses in contention, the courses were required preparatory
courses to apply for acceptance to the National University Nursing program. At the time Ms. *****
completed the last of the four courses, Nursing administration implemented a change in preparatory
curriculum for application to the Nursing program indicating specific courses would no longer be
required. Thus, Ms. ***** believed she completed unnecessary courses.

National University has been in contact with Ms. ***** throughout this review, including recent phone
conversations on August 4th and 6th.

Ms. ***** receives GI Bill benefits to pay 50% of her tuition including a living allowance from GI
Bill. On August 6th, National University offered to refund Ms. ***** $3096 which is the portion of
tuition she is responsible to pay for out of pocket. Ms. ***** rejected this offer and has indicated she
would like all monies to be returned to GI Bill to extend her benefits for the future. Her request is
being considered and is currently under review by the Chancellor for Administration and Business and
Associate Vice Chancellor for Finance. We hope to notify her of the decision as early as today but no
later than the week of August 1oth. I will forward Ms. ***** with a copy of this communication.

Our goal is to reach a satisfactory resolution for Ms. ***** as soon as possible.

Please contact me if you require any additional information at this time.

Sincerely,
**** ******
Student Relations Coordinator
Office of Student Affairs

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have read the response and I am disappointed that they appear to be placing blame on me for taking the courses. I am also disturbed that they think it is okay to  a partial refund. They feel it is okay  to not address issue with the VA Administration . I have been waiting patiently for over six months for a response to my concerns . I have only received the same response for over a week about a partial refund. At this point I feel that National university is attempting to stall resolution of this matter once again and attempting to avoid making contact with the VA Administration as they will have to answer to why the issue was not corrected when it was initiated. As a Vet friendly school I am sadden by how this matter is being addressed. I feel that an injustice was committed. I had completed  the course that were needed as preparatory course for entrance into the nursing program. I  had applied and was awaiting details on testing and what not. I attended the meeting as instructed by my adviser and **** the nursing Representative has told me and others that applied that we needed to complete these five new requirements even though we have already completed the others . If they were not completed we would not gain entrance into program. So I hurried up enrolled and completed 4 of the 5 required courses. during the six month time frame to learn if i was accepted into the course. I was in the last class which was chem lab when i was told as well as others this was no longer needed. I immediately dropped the course and filed the grievance.  This was back in feb 2015 and it is now august and am still waiting for a correction. The simple fact is they instructed myself and others to take class not needed. They say it was the Board of Registered Nurses that implemented this change. Why was it only changed from 09/14 to 2/15 . I would like to contact the BRN and see papers stating this was from them . September is when i was instructed of this change and a few months later it changed back. I feel that National University acted hastily and instructed many to complete new requirements that were not all the way implemented and are attempting to not take accountability of their actions.  I decided in May to take my education elsewhere as they ignored response to complaint to BBB and Va. I am only asking for full refund as that is what should be done to correct this. I would never have taken this course as I had completed what was asked of me when I enrolled and have emails from my adviser explaining requirements. She was not aware of changes as well and instructed me to attend the nursing forum with ****. Which I did and was told this by ****. So the school rep made me take these classes and then my adviser was instructed as well. I want National to admit that they were the reason that I took course not needed. I want them to correct it with the VA Administration as you can not  certify courses not needed for your degree program. I am left with 4 course I don't need at all and cant transfer into my program of choice as I am currently in a bsn program student.  I want my Va benefit I worked hard for to be returned to me for use on my education as intended. I would like an apology not a stall tactic or placing blame on me. I am very sadden and upset by National University. I have attached a file from the brn regarding national university and the course. It shows reports from page 24- 64 As seen by these two attachments. The Brn was actually looking into how the school functions and issue within the institution., I will be contacting the Brn to find additional info regarding there statements that they told them to do this. As I have not seen this anywhere through the Brn Website.  Also as seen in this documents by the brn. They have a special grant for military veterans yet they have not implemented using it towards veterans in the nursing program. They don't seem to give any consideration for previous service or medical experience at all. This is not a vet friendly school in my experience.

Regards,

******* *****

8/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended National University from February 2012 through May 2013. During this time, the university overcharged the Department of the VA on my behalf for tuition and fees. I brought this to the University's attention in May 2013 which resulted in an audit of my student account and a balance on my student account. In May 2013, I took my final class with the University. I was told by the University that I would not be able to graduate since my account was not in zero balance and the University refunded their mistake to me instead of to the VA to create a zero balance. However, due to lag on the University's end, my degree was not conferred until September 2013. I was not able to receive appropriate placement on the 2013/2014 pay scale with my employer since my degree was not conferred for 4 months after completion of classes. In good faith, my husband and I contacted the VA regarding this matter and were told to follow school procedures. In August 2014, over a year later, the University refunded the over-payment amount to the VA and placed these charges on my zero-balance account resulting in a new financial obligation. I was informed of this "obligation" in September 2014 and contacted the University requesting to set up a payment arrangement. The University would not accept a payment arrangement that would fit with my budget. I began making monthly payments in good faith to the University beginning in October 2014 in increasing amounts. I continue to make payments. Despite my monthly payments, my account has now been listed with a "referred for write-off" hold as of February 2014 and I continue to receive collection calls. Due to this obligation, the University is holding my transcripts. Without these, I am unable to be properly placed on employment pay scales nor am I able to obtain a necessary out-of-state credential for employment.

Desired Settlement: I would like the University to: 1) acknowledge the situation is due to original error on the part of the University and that I have been working with them in good faith. 2) accept a settlement amount or payment arrangement that fits into my budget. 3) release my transcripts so I may properly be placed on pay-scales and my teaching career is no longer negatively impacted. 4) have collection calls and emails cease regarding this matter.

Business Response: As of March 2015, Ms. ****'s account has been cleared and a letter was issued on April 1, 2015 to her stating as such.  We believe the account has been resolved.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

While National University cleared my account, they did not follow through on my request to provide written documentation that my account has been audited and closed. I would like the University to acknowledge that I have fulfilled any and all financial obligations for classes taken prior to March 25th. Any further activity between the VA and National University on this account are strictly between National University and the VA and I may no longer be held responsible for any financial negligence on the part of the University. I have requested this information from the University. 

Regards,

****** ****



Business Response: Regarding **** – ******** – we have reached out to Ms. **** both verbally and electronically and resent a letter we had provided to her in April 2015.  We have not yet heard back from Ms. **** to determine an additional course of action or reply.

8/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir/Madam, I attended National University between July (2014) - September (2014), until I decided that the program was not delivering courses that were really going to help me with my career, as an educator. I was paying for these classes using a Federal Student Loan (FAFSA) because I do not have a job. During those 3 months, my FAFSA loan was never processed. Moreover, their Financial Aid Department contacted me more than once, stating that I did not approve the loan, paper work was missing, and so on. Finally, after I withdrew from the school, their Financial Aid Department contacted me indicating that I should approve the loan, which I did. However, since I withdrew from the school, they could not process my loan, and now I have been sent to a collection agency. I am attending another school, and in 3 months time, my FAFSA was approved. Moreover, I have received 2 loan refunds in 3 months time. I do not have a job, and National University knew this. Therefore, I have no way of paying this back both now and in the near future.

Desired Settlement: I believe National University does not have ethical business practices, and I cannot understand how one school processed my FAFSA so quickly, while another one cannot seem to process it at all, in the same time period. The appropriate outcome is for National University to accept their own short comings and mismanagement, and clear my account. They can write this off as bad debt, but I cannot.

Business Response: Regarding ****** – ******** – I am attaching a release form, that if Mr. ****** will sign, we will agree to write off his student account balance.  We are in the final stages of a new financial aid system implementation which caused some delays in processing financial aid.  Given the delay, we would be willing to write off his account balance as he has transferred to another institution.

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a student at National University from June 2014 to December 2014. I had a good overall experience at the university until my last class. The last class I enrolled in was a College Algebra and Trigonometry class in which the instructor required all the students to purchase access to an external program for $75 called WebAssign on top of the $1548 for tuition. The problem with this is that basically the entire class was conducted through this program. 85% of our grades were calculated from the homework and tests completed through it. The program was designed entirely for the teacher's convenience, all the work, including homework, was graded through the program, and the results were sent to the teacher for grading. This program has extremely negative reviews in virtually all websites that offer access to it, and this is because it is not designed well. During my time using it it was prone to crashes, and if a student was on a particularly slow network, it was impossible to submit anything, or view any type of work. In my case, being a student of limited means, I was confined to use the free trial that comes with it, and later tried to purchase access codes at a discounted price. However, I continued to receive expired access codes which did not work. I had to ask the teacher for about three extensions on the work that I had to do, while I tried to get an affordable alternative to the program, which I could not access without paying the full $75 which I did not have. All the aforementioned extensions were granted until the third, which the teacher refused to grant. I had not been able to finish my work because my network connection was too slow, and the program would not load my work or submit it when I was done. I don't think the university gave me a quality education. In the other classes I attended, the teachers performed their duties. I am attending a community college, and all the teachers perform manual grades and accept personal submissions.

Desired Settlement: I would like the university to refund any money I have paid in tuition for this class, and to remove this bill from my account, considering the teacher never graded anything or did anything in respect to me. This is not a loss to them, but a very large loss for me. I have to give up the money that I use to pay for my education to pay them for a class I did not benefit from at all.

Business Response: The Office of Student Affairs has conducted a thorough review of the issues you filed with the Better Business Bureau.  After reviewing the statement provided by Mr. ******* ******, as well as our internal research, this letter serves as a notification that we have concluded our investigation.
 
According to Mr. ******’s complaint the use of the instructional tool, WebAssign was detrimental to his positive learning experience, resulting the student to ultimately fail the course. Its cost is embedded into the cost of book and it does not create an additional cost to the student.
 
As a good will gesture, National University would like to offer Mr. ****** the opportunity to re-take the course MTH 215 with a professor that does not use WebAssign.   In fact, during the month of August two MTH 215 courses will be offered without WebAssign: one of the courses will be offered online and the second is an onsite at the Spectrum campus.  Keep in mind the student will still be responsible for the tuition charged for the original course.  
 
Please let me know if you will be notifying Mr. ****** of this offer or if you would like us to reach out to him directly. 
 
 
Sincerely,
 
 
 
***** *******
National University
Office of Student Affairs

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  My only remaining concern lies with returning to the university. I would like to be readmitted in order to complete my studies. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******

6/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on December National university send me a statement for $100. I called them immediately on 12/29/14 because I have several questions regarding that statement, they did not include the reason of why 10:00 am I owe the money. ********* from finances department(spectrum) answered my call and she did not give me an answer about what I was asking for, why it is the reason or the description of this charge. We went back and forward with calls of She was telling me that it was a charge for a class and I have to pay it, I told her that I have proof that I do not owe any money to National University, I told her that a few years back I have I problem and they were trying to charge me for a workshop that I did not take, And It was cancelled on time and that I fixed that problem. in all those calls that she contacted me or I contacted her that day, I was trying to explain her exactly what was the problem she did not listen to me and also at the end she called me back to let it me know that she send me to collections right away. It was Christmas time and I was trying to contact several times by email and by phone the last person that back in 2012 helped me to clarified and fix this problem ***** ******* Student Services Supervisor in Administrative headquarters, but she did not return my calls or may emails. I m lost with this situation because I'm afraid that they send me to collections for a charge that it is unfair and they do not let me even to know what it is and that I was and resolve years back.

Desired Settlement: I don't want to talk back and forward with any representative I will like to fix this problem once finally with out receiving this charges over and over without any sense and explanation.

Business Response: We have reviewed the student's account and as of February 10th, have rectified the account balance.  Please let us know if there is anything else you need for this claim.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

I will like to have a letter stating that I do not owe anything to them  and that my account it is cancel. 
Thankbyou for everything.
***** ******.
Id #********
Sent via the Samsung GALAXY S®4, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone


Business Response: On February 9, 2015, an administrative adjustment was made to the account in the amount of $100.00.  The account is now clear and shows $0.00 due.

Please let us know if you need anything else for this matter.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like to have a letter from National University from financial department stating that My account is 0.00 balance, and also stating that my account with them it is cancel.  My bad experience with this company reflects no confidence in them at all. That is why I'm requesting actual letter from them, like the statement that they send me to charge me on 12/08/2014. I have several email from 2005 stating that I do not owe  any money and they were charging me with out listening or paying attention to my reasons or even letters that stated that I did not owe any money.

I also worried because when I was trying to fix this problem directly to them the lady who answered the phone at that time Christine from Financial Department on 12/29/2015 at 9:45 am told me that she would send me to collections, that really worried me a lot, I do not deserve to be in collections with them and probably ruin my credit only because they do no correct their mistakes.

The only thing that I asking for it is a letter or statement from them directly to my mail stating that I'm not in collections, that I do not owe any money to them, and that I have cancelled my account with them.

 

Thank You


Regards,

***** ******



2/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being charged for classes when my car broke down. I informed school of the issue and stated that I could not make it to class due to location of class and distance.I made phone call to university to state the location was too far and pother alternate transportation and cost was not practical.The teacher acknowledged the issue and give me failing grade as result of attendance. I shown valid proof that part needed to fix vehicle was in route and would only take couple days. As a result, I was charged for classes due to failure to attend without notice. The school claimed there were no evidence that support a reason for not to attend classes. The university was not willing to excuse the issue and failed to take in account the hardship and limitations.However, the location and relation to my home is not able to reached via public service. Furthermore, the public transportation in my area does not have route after 10 pm. The cost for other public transportation was not adequate for time length and my money on hand. I tried to ride a ride with friends,however, the time and location in relation to their work and location was not feasible .

Desired Settlement: I wish the bill for removed and debt be forgiving given the situation surrounding the issue. I feel the university is doing a discredit to myself, future students and the community by utilizing rigid methods of understanding and billing practices.National University should also understand ethical crisis that is created by being rigid and only looking at their bottom line.I am immensity offered and disappointed with National University. The handling of the unfortunate matter highlights the culture and business ethical practices.

Business Response: The Office of Student Affairs has conducted a thorough review of the issue filed by Mr. ****** with the Better Business Bureau.  After reviewing Mr. ******’ records, no evidence was found to substantiate Mr. ******’ claims.  This letter serves as a notification that we have concluded our investigation. If Mr. ****** wishes to provide documentation to support his claim, this office will re-open the case.  

Sincerely,

***** *******
National University
Office of Student Affairs

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have emails and verifiable proof of the part being ordered.Plus, informing professor that  I am unable to come to class due to unforeseen issue with car.

Re: ***************** : Car trouble?

Re: ************-**** : Car trouble

*** ******* ************************* 

Add to contacts 

12/08/10 

To: *********************

Hi, *****,

I'm sorry, but  according to my records, you've missed three classes  (13.5 hours) and cannot pass the course.

This is the absence policy for this course a stated in the syllabus:

Absences

Students who miss more than nine hours of class will not pass the course and should withdraw before the deadline set in the NU catalog. Missed class time accrues on an hourly basis. A student who arrives an hour late or leaves an hour early has an absence of one hour. If a student must leave early, he or she should notify the instructor before leaving.

Best wishes,

**. ***

On Dec 7, 2010, at 8:40 PM, ***** ****** wrote:
Hello,

       I just wanted to let you know I have been having car trouble. I going try walk to school tomorrow. I've been waiting on parts to come in from dealership.I going to post my homework today once I get home tonight.I wanted to know if I can make up the quiz? Thanks for your understanding.

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: The Office of Student Affairs has conducted a thorough review of the issue filed by Mr. ***** ****** with the Better Business Bureau.
 
As a good will gesture, National University will waive the tuition charge and late fees for the course ****** –December 2010 in the amount of $1,411.00.
 
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.
 
Sincerely,
 
 
***** *******
National University
Office of Student Affairs

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******

Consumer Response: Hello,
                  I would like to re-open case Complaint ID ********.The school did not follow through on agreed outcome.Thanks!

***** ******


Business Response: The adjustment to the student account, as per our response, was completed on January 27, 2015.  At that time, the account balance had been cleared.


Consumer Response:

 Yes, the University has followed through on agreement.Thanks! 

***** ******

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have in question an account that has not been available for my knowledge. I have paid all my student loans and now I been told after ten years that I have another active loan. Nothing is in credit report and apparently it was sold to a third party named University Accounting services *** * ****** **** * ***** ***** ** *****. Document ID ************ I don't owe this account.

Desired Settlement: Please do not send me any further correspondence. I believe this account is not true.

Business Response: Our Financial Aid and Student Account departments have reached out to ***** ****** and provided documentation regarding the outstanding balance.  In addition, arrangements have been made to settle the account and we believe this matter is closed.

Thank you,

********

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While attending National University for my Master's Degree I had received financial aid for 2013-2014, except for my remaining four courses. While taking these final courses, I believed I would have to pay the fees personally, however, ***** Lira at NU Student Business Services Office notified me of additional funding I could obtain. I gladly accepted. He provided me with a one page document, the NU Federal Education Loan Request, to obtain further financial aid. I had the choice to pick the maximum amount allotted or the amount only needed to pay off. I chose the final pay off amount as this was all I needed. When notified by ***** that this was approved he stated the loan amount approved would be disbursed in two payments. I received the first and according to ***** Lira, I would receive the second and final amount paid off after my last course was completed and grades submitted. This did not happen. My last course was a master's thesis course which I did complete, receive a grade for, and afterwards received conferral notice that I had completed and considered graduated. However, according to Supervisor Cathy ********, I became ineligible 180 days after my last class end date. The class portion of the thesis was only two months, but afterwards I completed the thesis paper after drawing up a scientific study and conducted experiments in order to write the paper. I had access and visited the online course for resources the entire time. Not to mention again....the instructor posted a grade for me and I graduated. How does this show I was not enrolled any longer? Ms. ******** stated this is a federal guideline and also references a Financial Aid Handbook policy "2013-2014 FSA HB Volume 4 P. 4-51 & 4-52" which when I called the office today to see if this is actually NU or federal policy, the person on the phone did not know the policy. The contract document I signed did not include any policy stating this. Ms. ******** has offered that I can obtain a private loan through NU now.

Desired Settlement: I have additional information on the matter, however, several days/weeks go by before I can get a hold of Ms. Barnhill. I am requesting that the school investigate this issue with Ms. ******** as to why funds were not held as promised and this "policy" is investigated. I am requesting the school to contact FAFSA to re-obtain the funds originally stated by NU as awarded to me. I have contacted FAFSA and was notified by their office that the school can do this.

Business Response: The Financial Aid and Student Business offices have conducted a thorough review of the issues filed by Ms. ******* with the Better Business Bureau. After reviewing Ms. *******'s records and interviewing staff who had interactions with Ms. *******, we found no evidence to substantiate Ms. *******'s claims. This letter serves as a notification that we have concluded our investigation. 

As a goodwill gesture, National University has worked with Ms. ******* to resolve the outstanding balance. 

Due to the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) we are unable to provide detailed information on the findings of the investigation.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business and after a phone call with the business in reference to complaint ID ********.  The resolution initially proposed by business was turned down by me and I proposed a secondary resolution that was accepted by both parties.  The business performed the action immediately with me over the phone, thus I consider this complaint as resolved.

Regards,

***** *******

8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RE: ****** ********* / Student I.D. # ********** am enrolled in the Criminal Justice Masters educational online program. I have a G.P.A. apparently high enough to qualify me for entry into the criminal justice honors program. Despite this, I am unable to complete the Capstone thesis class, which is the final written product to qualify for the degree of Masters in criminal justice. My complaint, the instructor in charge of my capstone project class insists that I do not perform at a "Masters" level, with regards to written work product. I am failing the class and cannot get past the fist few pages of the assignment. Dr. Despain is apparently a qualified instructor in the capstone class and makes the final determination as to ability of the student to receive a masters level degree. I must assume that her opinion on the matter of ability is final, in that I cannot perform masters level work. YET, I have received from 10 other instructors during the course of the year long course passing grades that qualify me for "Honors"I can only assume that I am unqualified for masters level work, and was passed through the program for the sole purpose of gaining access to the Federally funded school loan money. Being such a poor student, I would have expected the former 10 instructors not to pass me on the previous courses, and advise me to withdraw from the program or provide me with an academic solution. I have and continue as of this date, attempting to complete (unsuccessfully) the written requirement, but, per Dr. DeSpain She has never seen such a poor work quality at a masters level, so I have little chance of succeeding. I am forced to conclude that I have be defrauded for the sole purpose of maintaining the flow of loan money until this final course, where I have been informed that I cannot produce a academic work product capable necessary to graduate. I am not disputing the Dr.'s academic assessment of my ability, but I question the legitimacy of the program,taking money when I am unqualified

Desired Settlement: Since I am not a student capable of Master's level work and I believe that the only purpose to my passing coursework at an inflated or false G.P.A. I want an academic alternative solution at the expense of National University and a an assessment of my academic ability, so that I may complete my degree or a full refund for defrauding me for the past year, while promoting me through coursework that I am not entitled to.If it is determined that I am academically unfit, expunge my course work grade

Business Response: The Office of Student Affairs has conducted a thorough review of the complaint filed by Mr. ****** ********* with the Better Business Bureau. 
 
At National University, we strive to provide the best possible experience to our students by offering them the tools to achieve their educational goals.  As such, we would like to offer Mr. ********* an opportunity to complete the course CJ690 “Research Project Thesis” by extending the course completion date by one full month accompanied with the ability to work one on one with the instructor. If Mr. ********* is unable to complete the course within the one month allotted, this period may be extended for one additional month based on the instructor’s professional assessment of Mr. *********’s good faith effort to complete the course requirements. We believe this offer provides the student with a fair and reasonable opportunity to achieve his academic goals.
 
 
Sincerely,
 
 
***** *******
National University
Office of Student Affairs

8/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently received a hit on my credit report from National University. In 2006 I attended National University (online) for some introductory college classes. During this time I filed Tuition Assistance paperwork to pay for the class(es), the payment was accepted and I was allowed to participate and complete my course work. Upon completion of the classes, all with grades of A or B which would allow for full and complete processing of financial assistance, I decided to attend another university to complete my degree. I requested and received college transcripts from National University without issue and completed my degree with the new college in Feb 2010. In May of this year (May 2014) I pulled my credit report for annual review. There was an entry from National University beginning in Jan 2014 with a past due amount in the Adverse Accounts section of that report. Upon contacting National University I was informed that: In review of the account the June 2006 class cost was $666 but your tuition assistance only paid $295 leaving a difference of $371 for that class. Also It does not appear that any tuition assistance payment for was received or applied for the November 2006 class which cost $666. Total of $371 + $666 = $1073. The issue now being that the DOD Education Office cannot file or re-file the claim or a new claim to rectify the issue due to the fact that it is 8 years and counting since I attended the school. At NO time during the past 8 years since leaving the school have I ever been contacted by phone, mail or email stating the situation. At NO time during my request(s) for college transcripts or information from National University had I been notified that there was an issue or past due amount. The item is listed as a Student Loan on my credit report. At no time have I ever had a student loan, and definitely not with National University. According to the California State Statute of limitations regarding collection of debt (Cal. Civ. Proc. Code 312 et seq) the timeline for Written agreements is 4 years, calculated from the date of breach once again NOT a student loan, and once again not a debt incurred with them.

Desired Settlement: National University has failed to act in a timely and proper manner, and I am requesting that the debt, and any entry of the debt from National University, along with ANY entry on my credit report from National University or any entity associated with them be removed from my credit report.

Business Response: National University has removed the incident from credit reporting due to the age of the debt, however National University records show that the debt was valid since no documentation was provided that the balance of tuition not paid by TA was paid by either TA or student. Student was sent monthly statements and requested to provide TA documents that cleared balance or to pay the balance from 1/2007 until assigned to an outside collection agency 2/27/2008. National University resumed mailing monthly statements without receiving a return mailing, from 10/2012 through 12/2013, until account was resent to the collection agency January 2014. Student contacted National in January 2014 and National University requested again that student provide the TA forms or information showing that the account had been paid in full. No further contact was received from student until this complaint with BBB.    

National University has removed the incident from credit reporting due to the age of the debt, however National University records show that the debt was valid since no documentation was provided that the balance of tuition not paid by TA was paid by either TA or student. Student was sent monthly statements and requested to provide TA documents that cleared balance or to pay the balance from 1/2007 until assigned to an outside collection agency 2/27/2008. National University resumed mailing monthly statements without receiving a return mailing, from 10/2012 through 12/2013, until account was resent to the collection agency January 2014. Student contacted National in January 2014 and National University requested again that student provide the TA forms or information showing that the account had been paid in full. No further contact was received from student until this complaint with BBB.    
National University has removed the incident from credit reporting due to the age of the debt, however National University records show that the debt was valid since no documentation was provided that the balance of tuition not paid by TA was paid by either TA or student. Student was sent monthly statements and requested to provide TA documents that cleared balance or to pay the balance from 1/2007 until assigned to an outside collection agency 2/27/2008. National University resumed mailing monthly statements without receiving a return mailing, from 10/2012 through 12/2013, until account was resent to the collection agency January 2014. Student contacted National in January 2014 and National University requested again that student provide the TA forms or information showing that the account had been paid in full. No further contact was received from student until this complaint with BBB.    

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got enrolled in the school with great optimism. I had a foreign high school diploma with local Community college credit. After assessing my results the school scheduled my classes which i started with great expectation, but after two classes i was put on educational probation because i didn't meet up with the school's requirement based upon the High school diploma and the community college results i submmitted.The school barred me from attendance and are now making request for payment for the two classes taken. I had made concerted effort to let them realized that i cannot afford the fee, and since i'm using the financial aid resources, that area should be exploited but the school declined.The school should evaluate its enrollment policy,its unfair to enroll student if they did not meet up with the school's standard, and made them go through emotionally, depressing, and embarassing situations

Desired Settlement: The payment should be forfeited

Business Response:

The Office of Student Affairs has conducted a thorough review of the issues filed by Mr. **** *******  with the Better Business Bureau.  After reviewing Mr. *******’s  records and his interactions with National University staff,  no evidence was found to substantiate Mr. *******’s claims.   This letter serves as a notification that the investigation has concluded.  A detailed response with the findings of this investigation will be sent to Mr. *******.

 

If Mr.******* wishes to provide additional documentation to support his claims, this office will re-open the case.  

 

Due to the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) we are unable to provide detailed information on the findings of the investigation. A copy of the attached Release of Student Records form has been sent to Mr. ******* if he wishes for us to discuss his educational information with the BBB.   The form would require him to name a specific person at the BBB that would receive the information from National University. 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

***** *******

National University

Office of Student Affairs

3/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Student Number is *********. I first time I enrolled at National University was on march 2007. I had a foreign college before that so they did a foreign evaluation for credited classes. two of the classes they credited were English 100 &101. Since I was still in the military that time, they gave me a copy of my SOCNAV Student Agreement that was signed by the Senior Records Evaluator ******* *** ******, specifically showing what classes got credited from my previous foreign education. National University allowed me to take the next English course which was English 240, since I met the pre-requisites (100/101). I withdrew from the enrollment sometime in 2011 because of personal matter. I enrolled again on November 2013 to continue my degree. NU did an evaluation on my academics again and I was given a go signal to take 6 classes to complete my degree. I am on my third class now and about to graduate on June 2014, my last class is supposed to end on August 2, 2014. Now my student advisor, ****** *****, is telling me that according to evaluations department, I need to English 100/101 again because they messed up on that. All along I thought I only need three classes to finish my education, now they are turning around and telling me that I still need to take the two classes, and they already know that its a foreign education when they did the foreign evaluation, hence the name "foreign".

Desired Settlement: I believe the mistake is on the University's part. It was them who did an evaluation on my foreign education, it was them who told me that I can take English 240 since I met the pre-requisites. Since I have already taken English 240, why not credit me for English 100/101 so I can continue with my degree. In my opinion, this is all about profit, not education.

Business Response: This response is on behalf of Ms. ******** *****, AVP Finance- National University. National University has resolved Mr. *******'s complaint. Mr. ******* informed National University by phone that he contacted BBB to report the issue has been resolved. Sincerely, ***** ******* Office of Student Affairs National University ph.###-###-####

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on National University
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)