Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Coast Roofing

Phone: (714) 968-8754 PO Box 537, Sunset Beach, CA 90742 http://www.coastroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing contracting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coast Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Coast Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Coast Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 12/21/1983 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 450393.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Kane, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Kane, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roofing Service Consultants

Industry Tips
Contractors

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 537

    Sunset Beach, CA 90742

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted Coast Roofing on at least 5 separate occasions in connection with my leaking roof installed by Coast Roofing in April ,2011 and warrantied for 10 years. I have not received so much as a single return phone call to schedule a roof inspection/repair of leaking roof.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted immediately by the vendor. I would like the roof inspected and repaired.

Business Response:

(False Complaint) - (nothing Wrong With Roof)

1. Called Homeowner 4-5 Times never Returned our calls

Finally Went To Job Site And nothing Wrong With Roof

(old Leak stain) Asked Homeowner To Remove complaint

never responded

4/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 19, 2015, I received an estimate from Coast Roofing. On November 20, 2015 someone came by to collect a $500 deposit. On November 24, 2015, the check was cashed. I was told they would schedule the work within two weeks. I have not heard from them. I have left several messages. The phone is now answered by a service that just takes the messages. I do not know if I was scammed or not. All I know is that they took $500 and disappeared. I would like my money back.

Desired Settlement: Please refund my $500 deposit. No work has been done. thank you.

Business Response:

False Complaint - Refunded Deposit

1. Homeowner Breached Contract - Hostile/Rude Customer/Threating

Refunded Deposit By Mail Homeowner Tried to

Add Extra Work That Wad not on contract

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.  

Please note:  Coast Roofing response is just wrong.  He refunded my deposit, so I am done.  He tried to raise the price on me (again!), and I refused to accept it.  He offered me my deposit back.  Then he didn't send it.  I finally told his employee that I had all the paperwork ready to go to the contractor state license board if he didn't have the check to me by 9am the next day.  He did.  The check was good.  I'm done.  Thank you for your assistance.  

For the record, I did not request extra work, and I was only rude, etc because he did not return my calls, raised prices once, then tried to raise prices again.  Not a very nice person to deal with over the phone.  

But again, I'm done.  Thank you.  

Regards,

******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Coast Roofing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart