Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Republic Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

Phone: (866) 985-1830 View Additional Phone Numbers 2311 Boswell Rd #5, Chula Vista, CA 91914 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.republicmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving and storage services, long distance, overseas as well as warehousing and distribution services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Republic Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Republic Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Republic Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 1994 Business started: 03/10/1994 in CA Business incorporated 02/08/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 190491.

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1325 J St #1540, Sacramento CA 95814
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 930-2760
Fax Number: (916) 930-2778
The number is 70851.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Bell, VP Business Development Mr. Bill Lovejoy, President Mrs. RaeDeane VanMeter
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Bell, VP Business Development
Number of Employees

47

Business Category

Relocation Service Travel & Moving Services Freight Forwarding Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Storage Units - Household & Commercial Movers - Office Moving & Storage Company Movers - International Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing

Alternate Business Names
Lovejoy's Family Moving Republic Relocation Services Republic Van Lines
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Referral Assistance

The following Government Agency(s) or Association(s) may be able to provide you additional information:

CA Public Utilities Commission 505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102 Phone Number: (415) 703-2782 Fax Number: 415-703-1758 http://www.cpuc.ca.gov

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 2311 Boswell Rd #5

    Chula Vista, CA 91914 (888) 333-1530 (619) 591-0070 (619) 600-0559 (619) 370-5794 (866) 985-1830

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    43085 Business Park Dr

    Temecula, CA 92590 (951) 719-1080

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/30/15 I contacted Republic Storage and moving to coordinate a move into a storage unit. The repressive ***** ***** later contented me that day saying that he had a better offer for me to store my items in crates where they would stay wrapped and protected and then delivered back in the same crates. He said this would avoid additional re-packing charges for when I relocated the items to final destination. He also informed me that moves scheduled in less then 3 days carried full insurance protection regardless. Problem number 1.) my items were not kept packed, protected, or delivered in the crates as promised. Problem number 2.) the moving company has ruined over 47 of my furnishing. One of being a couch that was litterly buckled in half which had matching love set and foot rest which are now all useless. Problem number 3.) I paid 190$ per month for my items to be stored and protected in packing materials which never happened. Problem # 4 they charged me for items such as mattress, art, mirror packing materials and my items arrived damaged and in none of the packing material that they stated on their will call packing material charge list. Problem number 4 is they will not except accountability for items and have even gone so far as to lie and say I packed certain items ( for example a vase) that I never packed, couldn't pack and that I paid them to pack. This company got 3382.43 plus 2791.03 on the final destination of the items ( where all the damage was noticed) and 190 x 10 months of storage for 1900.$ they have cost me over 20,810$ in furniture, art., ect. They have had the nerve to offer me 658.00$ that is completely unexcetable. This entire exchange with the company has been built on lies and deceitful buisness practices. I have been robbed by this company in more ways then one and my home furnishings are beyond repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of all the packing materials I was charged, the storage cost of 190 a month and I would like the damaged items to be replaced with a reasonable amount which 658.00$ doesn't even begin to dent the amount of damage this company did to my items.

Business Response:

We have an ongoing claim settlement going with this customer: she has been given two offers to settle her claim  which she has refused. We are preparing one more: if she refuses again we will submit this file to the BBB for  their Mediation services.

Consumer Response: Hello!!

The complaint against the moving company said that it would reach out to me and offer me another settlement amount. I have not received or heard from them. I would like to re open the case. I didn't realize be agreeing to them offering me another amount would close the case. Please advise as to how or what I need to do. Thank you ******* *******
******* *******



Business Response: Another offer was sent on 02/10/2016 received a response from customer on 02/23/16 trying to add on more items to the claim. At this point there will be no more offers and will be going through the BBB for Mediation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The company on 2/11/16 did not give a additional 3rd offer like they had informed you the BBB that they would do. That was the date of their 2nd offer that I 100% rejected. Also they told me that after my move date that I had 9 months to give them a list of damaged items. It's not my fault that this company ruined so much of my furniture that I didn't catch it all at one time. I tried to get photos and the claims going asap! My drop off of items was on late Oct 2015. It's only in Feb 2016 that I noticed the two additional stands were damaged. We can do this either way. But their was no 3rd offer that should have included all the packing materials I was charged, the storage, and the items they tried to exclude for no reason and the 2 extra night stands. The dishonesty of this company doesn't surprise me. You saw it yourself they said they would make a 3rd offer which I am sure they originally had no intention of doing and then just sat back hoping I would forget they damaged over 20,000$ worth of my items. 

Regards,

******* *******



Consumer Response: From: ******* ******* <*******dp@aol.com>
Date: February 16, 2016 at 11:15:54 AM PST
To: **** ******** <****************************>
Cc: Republic Claims <Claims@republicmoving.com>
Subject: Re: *******, *******  ********

Hello ****,

Just so I am clear on the combined agreement for moving and services and freight bill. My items were taken by ***** ***** as stated on the invoice? ***** had told me the day prior to the move since it was scheduled less then 3 days prior. That regular 60 cent per pound did not apply. It also did not state that items would be excluded.

On Feb 10, 2016, at 2:52 PM, **** ******** <****************************> wrote:

Dear Mrs. *******,
We are pleased to advise you that we have completed our review of your claim dated 10/28/2015. We find that you elected to release your house hold goods at a value not to exceed 60 cents per pound per article; hence our maximum liability has been based on that election:  
Italian wood hutch                  120                  lbs.                   $72.00
#131 chair                               14                    lbs.                   $8.40
#115 white dining chair          9                      lbs.                   $5.40
#113 white dining chair          9                      lbs.                   $5.40
Oil painting                             13                    lbs.                   $7.80
Formal dining table                 75                    lbs.                   $45.00
Formal dining table-base         25                    lbs.                   $15.00
Iron                                                                                         DENIED – PACKED BY OWNER            
#157 recliner chair                   70                    lbs.                   $42.00
Blue couch                              80                    lbs.                   $48.00
White couch                            86                    lbs.                   $51.60
Artificial plant                         12                    lbs.                   $7.20
Water garden hose                  10                    lbs.                   $6.00
Wood framed mirror               60                    lbs.                   $36.00
Tool container tote                  10                    lbs.                   $6.00
Tool container tote                  10                    lbs.                   $6.00
California king mattress          74                    lbs.                   $44.40
Curling iron                                                                             DENIED – PACKED BY OWNER                       
White dining chair                  9                      lbs.                   $5.40
#191 gold vase                          8                      lbs.                   $4.80
Hotel collection trash can       5                      lbs.                   $3.00              
Hotel collection soaps             2                      lbs.                   $1.20
Welcome mat                          3                      lbs.                   $1.80  
T.V. stand     #95                                                                     DENIED – PRE-EXISTING DAMAGE
Desk    #170                            47                    lbs.                   $28.20
Night stand                             19                    lbs.                   $11.40
Vase                                        PBO   packed by owner          DENIED
Italian wood Desk #130         80                    lbs.                   $48.00
Office -art                               27                    lbs.                   $16.20
Bed room painting                  12                    lbs.                   $7.20
Hallway art                             48                    lbs.                   $28.80
Great room art                         48                    lbs.                   $28.80            
2 candle sticks                         2                      lbs.                   $1.20
T.V. stand # 169                                                                     DENIED – PRE-EXISTING DAMAGE
China plate                              3                      lbs.                   $1.80
Glass & wood coffee table                                                     DENIED – PRE-EXISTING DAMAGE
Kids white mirror                    16                    lbs.                   $9.60
Kids night stand  #142                                                           DENIED – PRE-EXISTING DAMAGE     
Love Seat # 138                      92                    lbs.                   $55.20
Foot rest #137                                                                         DENIED – PRE-EXISTING DAMAGE     
#067                                                                                        DENIED – PACKED BY OWNER            
#242 DISH PACK – WET                                                     DENIED – NOT NOTATIONS AT DELIVERY ON DELIVERY DOCS
#95 T.V. STAND                                                                   DENIED – PRE-EXISTING DAMAGE     
TREADMILL                                                                         DENIED- NORMAL WEAR
TOTAL SETTLEMENT:                                                   $658.80
Finally, upon receipt of your acceptance of this offer in writing, (please sign the attached claim release and return it to me) we will immediately process payment in the amount of $658.80. You should receive a check within 7 to 10 days of processing.
 Please let me know if you have any questions or perhaps you require further information. Thank you! 
Kind Regards,
 
 
**** ********
Claims Manager

Business Response: Please see attached you will notice that on her estimate she signs for basic .60 cent valuation and also on the Bill of Lading she wrote in .60 cents and also initialed ne3xt to it. To answer the questions you have should actually be answered by the claims manager who has been working with this customer as the last I heard is that we were taking her to mediation through the BBB.  Also ***** *****o the sales representative who has more than 20 years in this industry and is very accurate and very good at what he does he would have never told her any different on the valuation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thier is no offer for compensation in this last message. They aren't even offering the amount of 60 cents per pound because they are excluding items that weight a lot. They also speak of ***** as if he is still a employee of theirs. He is not. I called and attempted to speak with him and was told "'he no longer works here". Their needs to be a fair and reasonable offer made or a different approach on my end will be taken. Also they don't address the packing materials I was charged for that I did not receive my items wrapped. They also don't address charging me for a storage where they charged per items that they ruined for example the couch they cracked in half. Why should I pay to store a ruined item???

Regards,

******* *******



Business Response:

1.     There will be no refund on the storage as it is a service that we provided.

2.     Regarding the paying for packing that did not happen, we are reviewing the pwk with what was charged and if there is any discrepancies and needs a refund of any monies we will refund that after the audit.

3.     We have made numerous offers and will be making no more and will goto arbitration with the BBB.

 

Update:

Consumer Response: If they will agree to pay the amount checked off in the box of 3824.43 and the packing material price of 778.19 then we can resolve this. They are dragging this out way to long and have not provided a statement from ***** ( that no longer works there) stating that he did or did not lie to me or address that the move was made in less then 3 days which makes the 60 cent per pound invalid. But just to get this over with they can pay the above amount with is more then fair considering 20,000$ worth of items were damaged.

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the worst customer service I have ever experienced. First, they call me and tell me that they would pick up some boxes, then they never show up at my location. Then, when I call their customer service they put me on hold for 30 min, and then hang up. I called them 8 times and they could not help me, but promise that someone will cal me. I never got a call back. How hard is it to pick up the boxes? Anyways, never gonna use their service again!

Desired Settlement: the damage has been done. I will take care of the issue myself.

Business Response: Unfortunately it is the busiest time of the year for us in the industry, no excuse but we do try our best to accommodate our customer in going back to the residence to pick up their empty cartons (as when the deliveries are made the crews at that time are supposed to unpack and take away the debris that same day) and again we do this to accommodate our customer and the ones that don't want us to unpack their items the crews  do try their best to go back and get the empties when we are notified.  Our apologies for the what you feel was horrible customer service as that is one thing that our company does thrive on is excellent customer service, so I am just astonished that you did not receive that type of service. I have emailed the customer to find out all details and to take care of getting the empty cartons picked up as soon as possible,  I am just waiting to hear from her and we will get this taking care of.

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 6th Republic Moving was contracted by ******* to move my home from San Diego, CA to Jacksonville, FL. Republic Moving contracted Modern Moving and Storage as the agent for the pack, drive, & delivery of my house hold goods. Upon receipt of the items there was a jewelry box missing will approximately $5,000 worth of jewelry missing. I attempted to reclaim the value using the insurance company provided through the Transportation Service Provider. They denied my claim because they say they didn’t pack a jewelry box, which is untrue. During the day of packing I specially pointed this item out to the packing agent and asked that special care be taken with this item. While packing the agents seemed to be rushed and did not take care of the items they were packing. Upon receipt of goods several pieces of furniture had the upholstery torn and were heavily soiled. The agent that Republic Moving & ******* hired was also very dishonest, which makes me question the integrity of the company and that the jewelry was possibly stolen. When the driver delivered the goods he delivered them directly off his tractor trailer. He told me that if I was asked by the Transportation Service Provider that I should tell them that my goods were delivered off a shuttle because it was worth a couple extra hundred dollars to him. I was never asked so I never had to lie but it speaks to his integrity if he was planning on billing them for this service. I also pointed out the damage to the furniture when it was delivered and he still marked the paperwork as nothing being damaged. Dealing with the insurance and these companies have been a nightmare that I wouldn’t wish upon anyone. Now I have $5,000 worth of jewelry missing and nothing I can do about it.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of cost of missing items.

Business Response:

Republic Moving & Storage was just the Service Provider for this job. All claims etc are to be settled the with account which is ******* as they would be the responsible party to handle the claims and any issues that arose with this job.   We also did have our Quality Control go to the residence on the day of packing and loading and you can see by the pictures we are very detailed in our packing and be very aware if we packed a jewelry box and the crews stated that they did not pack a jewelry box or even seen one, and also the customer did sign the a Before Packing List and also initialed that there was NO JEWELERY  in the shipment and after packing signed on the same page after packing, that none of the above items listed were NOT included in the Household goods. And also on the High Value Inventory sheet no High Value Items were listed. I will attach these signed and initialed forms so you can view them. Also yes there was a shuttle at origin but there was no shuttle at destination and nothing on the drivers pwk about a shuttle at destination. 

So as you can clearly see on the signed and initialed pwk from the customer there was no jewelry in the shipment.

Please let me know if you have any questions

4/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

During a military move which movers with this company were contracted to perform, movers caused damage to the floor in the house

I currently reside in. After attempting to file a damage claim in accordance with proper military procedures, I learned approx.

11 months later that the claim was denied.

After seeking advice from the military transportation office/claim agent, I was directed to contact the moving company

(Republic) to resolve the damages to my floor. I contacted the moving company, and initially they seemed eager to assist.

We were later contacted by a repair company (contracted by

the moving company) who verbally told us they were authorized to repair the floor and we simply needed to schedule a date.

Once I attempted to schedule the date, I was later informed that the moving company was not going to approve the claim.

Upon inquiry into why the moving company was not

going to honor the claim, they indicated there was no proof their movers actually caused the damage, and that too much

time had elapsed between the alleged damage and the subsequent attempt to get the moving company to honor the repair.

Desired Settlement: Repair damages their movers caused to my floor.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern.

 

We are aware that *** ******* is unhappy with our decision to deny an alleged property damage claim.

As a courtesy, we have turned the claim over to the Military Claims Office in Norfolk, VA, which is

standard operating procedure for a military member when they are in disagreement as to the settlement of their claim.

 

We have shared with *** ******* the reasoning for this denial:

 

1) His move took place in July 02,2013. At the time of delivery, the alleged property damage caused by our crew,

was not documented on his Loss & Damage Statement or the Scorecard signed by his wife, on the day of the move.

(this is SOP on a military move).

 

2) *** ******* notified Republic Moving of his alleged property damage claim on October 15, 2014. That is 1 year

and 3 months after our crew allegedly scratched the hardwood floors. The rules pertaining to shipments moved

under SDDC's DPS Program state very clearly, that he needs to notify the TSP of the damage within 75 days.

  

3) *** ******* initiated the claim filing in the DPS System on Sept. 11, 2013 (71 days after his move was completed).

However, he did NOT file the alleged floor damage claim until October 24, 2013 (113 days after his move was completed).

This means that he did not meet the 75 day notification of loss and damage deadline.

 

As a courtesy, **** ******** (Republic Employee), arranged for an inspection by a 3rd party service. Apparently, *** *******

notified his landlord / property management company. Soon after we received an email from the floor repair company and the ***,

not requesting that we repair the floor BUT replace an area of the floor. Emails were exchanged between **** at Republic,

the floor repair company, and *** ******* over the next couple months.

 

In mid-January, **** brought the file to me for review. I told her that I was hesitant to authorize the repair for two reasons:

(1) Republic was not notified of the damages in a timely manner and (2) there was no proof that our crews were responsible.

Meanwhile, we requested the claim file from the TSP who managed the claim. Information contained in that file confirmed

the timeline for filing.

 

February 9, 2015, **** (Republic) advised *** ******* that she was NOT authorized to proceed with any repairs or

replacement of the floors, that his claim was denied by management.

 

February 10, 2015, I emailed *** ******* and advised of my review of his claim, and that I felt there was no proof that

our crews damaged the floor 1 year and 3 months prior, and that he did not notify our office in a timely manner to file

his claim for property damage.

 

February, 17, 2015, I received an email from *** ******* requesting that I reconsider, and he argued my points of denial.

Meanwhile, **** reached out to the Military Claims Office (MCO) in Norfolk, and inquired if the claim had been filed (per SOP).

The email response she received indicated that the MCO had no record of communication with *** ******* on this matter.

She went one step further, and contacted the local Personal Property office to inquire if *** ******* reached out to their office to file his claim. Again, we were advised that there was no communication documented between the PPSO and *** ******* pertaining to the claim.

 

Today, I have reached out to the Landlord / Property Management Company to advise of our findings. Have not received a return

phone call or email response as of 2:30. We believe that the MCO will find resolution on this matter, as this is their Function in

the SDDC Personal Property Program (DP3).

 

We take these matters very seriously, as we move a lot of military families in and out of San Diego and the surrounding

military installations. We have done what we feel is in the best interest of the military member, and turned this over

to the Military Claims Office to review. We have every confidence, that the MCO will get this resolved quickly.

 

Should you need any supporting documentation, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

 

Respectfully,

******** ********

Republic Moving

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not

resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My responses to the comments made by Republic are highlighted below (for sake of clarity, I've included the text

from the comments made by Ms. ******** from Republic and provided responses to applicable remarks):

"To Whom It May Concern.

We are aware that *** ******* is unhappy with our decision to deny an alleged property damage claim.

As a courtesy, we have turned the claim over to the Military Claims Office in Norfolk, VA, which is

standard operating procedure for a military member when they are in disagreement as to the settlement of their claim.

We have shared with *** ******* the reasoning for this denial:

1) His move took place in July 02,2013. At the time of delivery, the alleged property damage caused by our crew,

was not documented on his Loss & Damage Statement or the Scorecard signed by his wife, on the day of the move.

(this is SOP on a military move).  Response (#1): Republic is factually in error.  Military PCS regulations allow for the option to have

movers unpack household goods in their entirety or partially.  Any damages identified the day of the move are to be documented on the forms

provided at the time of the move.  Any additional damages are to be filed within 75 days.  This would include any additional damages identified

after movers have left.  This allowance accommodates the impossibility of any service member to realistically inspect every item contained in

a 17,500 lbs move in what amounts to roughly 8 hours.  This is practically impossible, and military regulation accounts for that, which is why

the 75 days are provided to service members.

 2) *** ******* notified Republic Moving of his alleged property damage claim on October 15, 2014. That is 1 year

and 3 months after our crew allegedly scratched the hardwood floors. The rules pertaining to shipments moved under

SDDC's DPS Program state very clearly, that he needs to notify the TSP of the damage within 75 days.  Response (#2):

Republic is correct in that I notified Republic Moving 1 year and 3 months after the crew damaged the hardwood floors.  What Republic fails to

mention is the requirement for military service members to file damage claims via the Defense Personal Property System (DPPS) within 75 days,

not notify the moving company directly.  I followed this required procedure and remained within the timeline required (75 days).  I was notified on

22 May 2014 that my claim was finalized.  After subsequent inquiry into how to handle the declined floor damage claim, I received an e-mail from

Global Claim Services on 05 Aug 2014 (see ENCL 2) that directed me to contact my “delivery agent”.  I subsequently contacted the TSP at the number

provided, per instructions in the e-mail.  So, while my contact with Republic was 1 year and 3 months from the date of the damage they caused,

I handled the claim in full accordance with military procedures, and from the date it was made aware to me that I needed to contact Republic

(05 Aug 2014) to the date I actually contacted them, it was only 2 months and 10 days.

3) *** ******* initiated the claim filing in the DPS System on Sept. 11, 2013 (71 days after his move was completed).

However, he did NOT file the alleged floor damage claim until October 24, 2013 (113 days after his move was completed).

This means that he did not meet the 75 day notification of loss and damage deadline.  Response (#3): Republic is making a false claim. 

Documentation attached (see attachment ENCL 1) attests to this fact.  The LDR date (Loss-Damage-Report date) indicates the claim was submitted 70 days

(not 71), and clearly states that all damages were filed within prescribed timelines (note the statement, “Not Late:  LDR has all items on it” in red text).

As a courtesy, **** ******** (Republic Employee), arranged for an inspection by a 3rd party service. Apparently,

*** ******* notified his landlord / property management company. Soon after we received an email from the floor

repair company and the ***, not requesting that we repair the floor BUT replace an area of the floor.  Emails were

exchanged between **** at Republic, the floor repair company, and *** ******* over the next couple months.

Response (“As a courtesy…”):  ENCL 4 highlights the e-mail communications between myself and a Republic representative (****).  In this e-mail

thread, an e-mail from **** (Republic) dated 16 Oct 2014 indicates that following the estimate provided by the local contracting company,

Republic will “move forward with assigning him to call you and schedule the repairs.”  This in no way suggests this was a “courtesy inspection”

and only indicates they have approved the repair.  In no way did Republic ever indicate they were still reviewing the claim for approval purposes. 

Moving forward with scheduling the repair is clear communication that the repair has been approved.  Additionally, ENCL 3 corroborates above-referenced e-mail. 

This is an e-mail from the local contractor assigned to conduct the repairs.  In this e-mail, the representative clearly asks us to identify dates so they could

“begin working” on our floors.  As can be seen in this e-mail, there is nothing that states they either performed a “courtesy inspection”, nor were they still

arbitrating over the claim to determine if they were authorized (or not) to perform the repair. 

In mid-January, **** brought the file to me for review. I told her that I was hesitant to authorize the repair for two reasons:

(1) Republic was not notified of the damages in a timely manner and (2) there was no proof that our crews were responsible.

Meanwhile, we requested the claim file from the TSP who managed the claim. Information contained in that file confirmed the

timeline for filing.  Response (“In mid-January…”):  Republic is making a false claim.  Again, see ENCL 1 for the documentation stating that my claim

was submitted in accordance with prescribed timelines.  Secondly, in a phone conversation with Republic representative, I asked for written documentation

from the moving company that articulated their timelines for submitting a claim.  I explained that it was not until 05 Aug 2014 (see ENCL 2) that I was

instructed to contact the “delivery agent.”  My initial contact to Republic was 15 Oct 2014, 2 months and 10 days, from the e-mail directing me to contact them. 

Despite my request on 09 Feb 2015 in a phone conversation with a Republic representative (****), Republic has yet to provide any documentation to me that

ndicates this time period exceeds

a threshold for reporting damages.

February 9, 2015, **** (Republic) advised *** ******* that she was NOT authorized to proceed with any repairs or replacement

of the floors, that his claim was denied by management. 

February 10, 2015, I emailed *** ******* and advised of my review of his claim, and that I felt there was no proof that our crews

damaged the floor 1 year and 3 months prior, and that he did not notify our office in a timely manner to file his claim for property

damage.  Response (“February 10, 2015…”):  Republic representative claims she “felt” there was no proof.  I have sufficient proof.  I have provided pictures

to the Transportation Service Provider on multiple occasions – both in October 2014 when they asked for them the first time, and again in February when they

asked for the same pictures again.  I have a walkthrough inspection from the landlord with no indication said damages were there prior to our occupying the house. 

The owner of the house who saw the scratches also attested these were not there prior.  I have testimony from my wife, who was 7-months pregnant at the time

the movers arrived, that the movers brought our couches into the house and dragged them across the floor.  I was physically not present at the time, and there

was no way she was physically able to move a couch.  It was not until later that evening, after movers had left and after she signed the documents that we learned of the damages.

February, 17, 2015, I received an email from *** ******* requesting that I reconsider, and he argued my points of denial. Meanwhile,

**** reached out to the Military Claims Office (MCO) in Norfolk, and inquired if the claim had been filed (per SOP). The email

response she received indicated that the MCO had no record of communication with *** ******* on this matter. Response (“February 17, 2015…”):  

This is factually in error and not consistent with procedures as I was directed to comply with.  MCO handles damages to household goods.  Global Claim services

representative instructed me on 05 Aug to contact the delivery agent (see ENCL 2).  Of course there is no communication with the MCO – I had no issues with the

other items claimed, which were all part of my household goods, vice the floor.  She went one step further, and contacted the local Personal

Property office to inquire if *** ******* reached out to their office to file his claim. Again, we were advised that there was

no communication documented between the PPSO and *** ******* pertaining to the claim.

Today, I have reached out to the Landlord / Property Management Company to advise of our findings. Have not received a

return phone call or email response as of 2:30. We believe that the MCO will find resolution on this matter, as this is their Function

in the SDDC Personal Property Program (DP3).  MCO will not find a resolution to this matter.  Response (“Today, I have…”):  It is not a part

of household goods.  It is a responsibility of the moving company, per ENCL 2.

We take these matters very seriously, as we move a lot of military families in and out of San Diego and the surrounding military

installations. We have done what we feel is in the best interest of the military member, and turned this over to the Military Claims Office to review.

We have every confidence, that the MCO will get this resolved quickly.  Response (“We take these matters…”):  Republic has not done all they can do. 

They have misrepresented themselves, as is clear in the attachments provided.  I have patiently and politely tried to articulate the details of the situation.  I was initially

received with overwhelming assistance and what is clear acceptance of responsibility of the damages with a clear path to getting the issue repaired.  Suddenly, and without

warning, the decision to move forward was reversed with abrupt termination of any future communication by Ms. ******** (Republic) in an e-mail to me.  I am appalled

that such a reversal is allowed.  I have moved my family 9 times in 18 years of service, and this is the first time I have ever encountered such challenges.

Should you need any supporting documentation, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Respectfully,

******** ********

Republic Moving"    

***NO FURTHER RESPONSES***
Regards,

***** *******



Business Response:

Attached are a few documents pertaining to the ******* property damage claim. This documentation is how we arrived at our determination, and denied responsibility

for the alleged damages to the floor.

1) The DPS Claim screenshot, which clearly shows that *** ******* filed his household goods claim within the 75 day guideline, but the floor damage was not filed until

113 days after the delivery. If he was aware of the floor damage on delivery day, why not file the entire claim at once? Why the 5 week delay?

2) DD619-1 which shows that we did a partial unpack at residence on the day of the move. We delivered nearly 18,000 pounds, and provided a partial unpack of cartons.

I am certain that we were at residence for a very long day. Long enough, to unpack and document a broken beer stein. If the floors were damaged by the moving crew,

there was plenty of time and opportunity to discover and document the damage.

3) The scorecard, members representative checked off that we used floor protection. Members representative check off that he / she did a walk through after unloading

the shipment. Again, opportunity to discover the floor was scratched. The only damage noted was the beer stein. Nothing about the floor. *** ******* was not present

during the move, per his rebuttal.

4) DD1850, Notification of Loss & Damage.....the infamous beer stein is listed as broken. Nothing noted about scratched floors.

5) 2 pictures of the scratches that were apparently caused by the moving crew..........I would say that those scratches are noticeable. I cannot imagine that they went

unnoticed during the unpacking and / or walk through process.

Its unfortunate that *** ******* is not happy with our decision, and appalled by our actions. We settle claims based on documentation, and there is not sufficient

documentation or proof to hold the moving crew responsible for these scratches. *** ******* obviously understands the moving process, as he has moved 9 times in 18 years.

 I am still awaiting direction from the Military Claims Office in Norfolk, VA. We will move forward based on their guidance on this matter.

Respectfully,

******** ********

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the last response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not
 resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below:
The arguments presented by Ms. ******** (Republic) regarding timelines - which is the central element of her argument against me - have no basis 
in fact.  Her statements are incorrect, and her comments regarding my time in service and description of at item claimed as "infamous" are insulting 
and demeaning, and representative of a lack of value ascribed to a personal item that my family regarded as important.  Her comment stating, "I would think..." 
indicates a subjective notion, not based in fact, but based on a subjective notion of what she feels is correct - clearly not something that justifies a 
business decision or action.  The attachment and below description highlight facts surrounding my complaint that refute Republic's position and rebuttal:

- There are 2 parts to a claim - the Loss/Damage Report, or LDR, (#1) and the Claim (#2). DPS regulations state the following (see highlighted in the DPS website screen capture on pg. 3 of attachment):

-- #1) Loss/Damage Report - "You should notify the Transportation Service Provider (TSP) [the Moving Company] of any loss or damage to your personal property within 75 days of the delivery of your shipment." The instructions in paragraph 2 of the screen capture (pg. 3) state that LDR can be submitted via the DPS module. The time stipulation is 75 days.  

NOTE...see pg 1 of the attachment. This is the "LDR" screen capture. I've highlighted the date that it was submitted - 9/11/2013. Hardwood floors WERE annotated and submitted WITHIN the required timeline. I do not see how you can dispute this. 

-- #2) Claim - "In order to be eligible for Full Replacement Value (FRV), you must file a claim directly with the Transportation Service Provider (TSP) via DPS within 9 months from the date of delivery. If the claim is filed more than 9 months from the delivery date you will only be eligible for depreciated value up to two years from delivery."

NOTE...see pg 2 of the attachment. This is the "CLAIM" screen capture, the one that you included in your rebuttal on BBB.org. Yes, you have the day count right, 113, but your statement misrepresents which document that daycount applies to. You state the 113 days was the initial LDR. This is not true. This is the date the "CLAIM" was created, NOT/NOT the "LDR". And as such, is well within the 9 month window requirement.  

Lastly, I have repeatedly asked for documentation from the company highlighting their official policies, as well as contact information for Ms. ********'s
supervisor.  Both requests remain unanswered.  My demands remain - replacement of the damaged portions of the hardwood floor that their movers 
caused during our move into this house, as well as return of the piece of spare hardwood that the company Republic initially approved to perform the
 work (a local contractor) took from our house in an effort to match stain color.  Republic later reneged on this approval, forcing the local contractor 
to terminate any scheduling of the repair - this action left the contractor still in possession of our spare hardwood floor piece.  I also demand a formal 
apology from Republic for personal insult to me and unprofessional behavior in reneging on an approval that forced me to spend exhaustive efforts to rectify.
Regards,
***** ******* 



2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were charged 160% of the estimate provided by a sales person who actually visited and saw our apartment and made the estimate although we have not requested any additional services. I emailed the sales person on Feb. 6, and he replied that he would check the problem and get back to you soon. However, he didn't send me any feedback after a month, so I emailed him again saying when I can have the feedback on March 6, but he has not replied to me.

Desired Settlement: They should provide proper estimates to their customers. It is not fair to charge 160% of the estimate after they actually visit and see the apartment and upon the estimate we have signed the contract.

Business Response: I have left the customer a voicemail message to go over her concerns of the move with the cost being more. My investigation after reading the memos in our system and notes from the driver.. The estimate was a NON BINDING estimate and it does show if the time goes over then what the estimated cost would be and that did get initialed so it was acknowleged.  Unfortunately the move did go over even though we did do a visual survey due to the circumstances of having to share an elevator at origin (3rd floor) and destination (4th Floor) with the other tenants in the building and also at origin due to the parking the truck had to be moved twice and at destination once.  I will of course do what I can to make this right with the customer. ***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I understand that the contract was non-binding, but the sales person told us that the actual cost would be less than the estimate he made.

Because he actually visited our place to go over, we believed the estimate and decided to ask them. 
As a professional mover, I think he should have been more accurate otherwise there is no use coming to make an estimate.
We of course accept some difference but this time the difference was a lot.
The movers didn't move their truck at the destination.
The sales person kept ignoring my message more than a month. 

Regards,

***** *********

Business Response: Absolutley understood what customer said, I am awaiting a call back from her as I want to make this right with her, we do not want any upset customers and the neglect of the salesperson not getting back to her is inexcusable !

I will again attempt contact with customer tomorrow

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like to communicate with them through email rather than phone conversation.

Regards,

***** *********

Consumer Response:

Hi *****,
I am writing to respond your message received on 27th May.
I haven't received any response from the company regarding my complaint.
Best regards,
*****
 
We have been advised that the above company has responded to your complaint.

Sent Via: Email (ODR)
From:  ***** *****
To:  Ms. ***** *********
Subject: We have been advised that the above company has responded to your complaint.
Date Sent: 5/27/2014 4:26:48 PM
Attachments:
Click here for printer friendly version  

***** ********* 
**** ** ******* ****** ***** ****** * ** ***** 


Dear ***** ********* : 

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 3/10/2014 8:35:27 PM against Republic Moving & Storage.  Your complaint was assigned ID *******.

Please confirm if you have received a resolution to your complaint from the business. If not, please provide a statement indicating why your complaint is not resolved.

Sincerely, 


***** ***** 
The Better Business Bureau

Business Response: We have spoke to this customer before and we will reach out to her again today. I believe I have scanned pwk in the system showing her estimate of charges and due to the circumstances of the move she was not gave a Not To Exceed Estimate she was gave a total NON BINDING estimate, but claims salesperson verbally told her it would only take a certain estimated hours.  Again we will reach out to the customer again today and I will advise. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Republic Moving & Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)