This business is not BBB accredited.

Storyland House

Phone: (949) 521-2879 Fax: (949) 273-2883 View Additional Phone Numbers 25602 Alicia Pkwy #405, Laguna Hills, CA 92653 http://www.allseasonvacationhomes.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management services for vacation home rentals.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Storyland House include:

  • 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 12 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Storyland House include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Storyland House
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 06/16/2009 in CA Business incorporated 06/16/2009 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Margaret McLaughlin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Margaret McLaughlin, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Property Management Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
All Seasons Vacation Homes Storyland House LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    25602 Alicia Pkwy #405

    Laguna Hills, CA 92653 (949) 521-2879

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business refuses to return my security deposit, will not return my calls and emails. Provides a dangerous and unhealthy envioronment.

Desired Settlement: I would like my security deposit back $350

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently stayed in this vacation rental and upon booking I paid a $350 damage and security deposit. Our rental agreement stated that my deposit would be refunded 14-18 days after departure. It's now been 19 days since my departure and my refund still has not been processed. I have attempted to contact the owner of this property several times and have been ignored over and over. The only response I have gotten said my refund would be processed this week but it was due back on Tuesday.

Desired Settlement: I would like my debit card credited the $350 immediately.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: Refusal to Return Secured Deposit and Cost DifferentialWe entered into a 2 Day Rental Agreement with Storyland House for Storyland 5 for October 11-13. The agreed upon total amount to be paid was $1098.00(Included a Secured deposit of $350).-1st payment of $565.47 was made on 8/13/13 via our Chase Credit Card to All Season Vacation. -Final payment of $532.53 was made on 9/27/13 to the same as listed above.On 10/8/13, I received an email from Storyland House-Administrative advising that Storyland 5 due to circumstances beyond their control was no longer available. At which time, I was offered Storyland 1 House. Due to the late notice, I looked at Storyland 1 and sent them an email confirming my interest. After back and forth communications, they agreed to Storylyand 1 at $170/night ($340 for 2 nights), with a $210 property and cleaning fee, and a $350 Security Deposit. For a total updated cost of $900.00. With dropped rate, we agreed via e-mail that the difference of the original cost of $198 and secured deposit $350 would be returned after property was inspected for damage. Per agreement 10/9/13 e-mail, we would have $548.00 returned.On arrival at the check-in time, we we're greeted by an individual(possibly owner) who advised the cleaning person was a no-show so she had to do it herself. Once she said she was done, we entered to a strong scent of cigarette. We had been told it was a no-smoking property. We had to buy a few scented candles to counter the overwhelming cigarette smell. We had kids with us.With the exception of the smoke smell and a few concerns with windows, the stay was pleasant and convenient with location to Disneyland. I made quite a few attempts to contact All Seasons via e-mail and phone regarding deposit and have not gotten any response. Nor a reason why I have not gotten my security deposit.I contacted Chase Credit Card Company to investigate the return of $548. They've had no luck either. Bad at the beginning and UGLIER at the end.

Desired Settlement: We want the difference between the original venue and 2nd venue, and the secured deposit return. Initial Property - Storyland 5Total Cost of $1098Final Property - Storyland 1Nightly Rate: $170Cleaning Fee: $210Secured Deposit $350Cost of $900Request is for $350(Secured Deposit)+ $198 (Cost Difference) = $548

4/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is a fraud. The company appears to set up a vacation rental home near Disneyland, but cancels the stay prior to the reservation date. The refund is not collected. The owner has been doing this since 2010 at least.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of deposit - $1,000

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently rented a home in Anaheim for vacation and checked out on January 6, 2014. I signed a contract with the owner ******** that stated I would receive my $350 deposit back within 14-18 days of checking out. It is now the 21st day since I have checked out and I have not received a deposit from this company. I received an email on January 13, 2014 stating I would receive a deposit. I sent various emails over the last 4 days asking where my deposit was. Not only have I sent emails, but I have called both of their numbers with no answer. It now seems as though this company that I rented a vacation rental from is now avoiding myself and my wife. I am more than willing to send you the contract I signed for the BBB's review. Patricia's contact information is ************. Email is **************@att.net and website is allseasonvacationhomes.net

Desired Settlement: $350.00 deposit refunded immediately.

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sirs:My wife and I rented a home in Anaheim, California, for a family trip to Disneyland through All Seasons Vacation Homes. Our rented time-frame was December 26 - January 2. We paid the deposit and down payment for our trip by credit card in August in the amount of $1682.50. Just last week, we were notified by the property manager, ****** **********, that the property was no longer available to rent even though we had a contract and had paid half our rent up front. With her letter, she enclosed a refund check which cannot be cashed after repeated attempts due to insufficient funds. ****** has disconnected her business phone number: ************ and her fax number. She doesn't return my emails either. Our family reunion has been ruined and we cannot find another property to accommodate our group. To make matters worse, ****** has commited fraud against us. We have paid for services not rendered and have not received a refund. Please help if you are able.Sincerely,**** *******

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund in the form of a cashiers check mailed to my office in ********.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Thanks for the email. At first our credit card company reimbursed us as a dispute item. Then I tracked down the actual owner of the property. He sent us a credit refund. His manager ended up skipping town with a lot of people's money. He had no idea what she was doing. She stole $20, 000 from one person! Anyway, you can close complaint and thank you!

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues