Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

FirstService Residential California

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 428-5588 View Additional Phone Numbers 15241 Laguna Canyon Rd, Irvine, CA 92618 View Additional Email Addresses https://www.fsresidential.com/california/home View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that FirstService Residential California meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for FirstService Residential California include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on FirstService Residential California
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 08/06/1980 in CA Business incorporated 12/31/2011 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bob Cardoza, President, CA and West Region Ms. Heidi Grouya, Executive Assistant to President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Cardoza, President, CA and West Region
Customer Contact: Ms. Heidi Grouya, Executive Assistant to President
Number of Employees

301

Business Category

Property Management

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Alternate Business Names
FirstService Residential California LLC

Additional Locations

  • 15241 Laguna Canyon Rd

    Irvine, CA 92618 (949) 448-6000 (800) 428-5588

  • 5473 Kearny Villa Rd #200

    San Diego , CA 92123 (858) 457-0200 (800) 527-3914

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold my town house located at **** ****** *** ** in Chula Vista, Ca, closing on the 14th of April 2014. I was charged HOA dues for the two HOAs I am a member of by direct account deduction as usual. My problem is they also directed my escrow company to withhold these fees from the sale price as well, resulting in receiving double the HOW member dues. When I asked about this I was told that I couldnt have my automatic deduction removed before they complete the transfer of ownership account and start billing the new owners. This is completely unacceptable as I no longer am responsible for this property and yet I am still listed as such and will be charged again soon. The email I received when asking to be removed told me it would take 30-60 days and then I could send another request and a check would be issued in as much as an additional 60 days. Again this is totally unacceptable practice for a property that is now completely closed and no longer my property.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund issued for both of the HOA member dues for the month of April 2014 and to have automatic billing removed from my account.

Business Response:

Prior owner **** ******** COE checks were posted to his accounts on Monet and Hillsborough on 4/22/14 therefore leaving a credit balance.  A week after we became aware of the overage on both his master and sub accounts, we processed refunds on 4/29/14.  Both refund transactions took 7 days to process on the AR side.  We inform our prior owners to allow 10-15 business days from the time the refund is processed in AR to the time AP retrieves the request to post the transaction, print the check, obtain signatures and mail the refund.

 

On the AR side, it looks as refund was processed timely and both checks were cashed by owner, please see front and back copies attached.  Let me know if there is anything I need to do on my end. 

 

Eliana Iturrizaga

Accounts Receivable Manager

4/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My account recently got behind and was handed over to *** ***** *** ****. Upon contacting *** ***** *** **** to bring my account current I was assured the late fees would be waved. On Feb.10, 2015 I have a letter from *** ***** *** **** stating my account is current and the late fees were waved. Now I get a bill stating I still need to pay the late fees to bring my account current. I called to complain and ********* ******* told me to fax the letter to her. Now ********* ******* will not return my calls and e-mails in regards to this matter. I have gone to her boss **** and still no response.

Desired Settlement: A letter that states my account is correct and up to date with no late fees.

Business Response: We just received confirmation from our accounting department that the letter was received from the collection attorney, and the attorney's office will be notifying the homeowner directly of the waived fees.  Thank you.

4/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned from 3-months of Active duty training. To find a letter stating that I would be taken to collections for a $250 dollar payment for a HOA due that was not paid. Instead of calling my cell phone or contacting me through another method. I called and explained the situation. The secretary said that I could email the service desk to take care of it and explain the issue. In the meantime i asked how to pay for the current bill. They gave me a 3rd party number to contact. This company charged me $17 to pay a $250 HOA payment which is highway robbery. The lady claimed its what the credit card company charges. Which is a lie in itself. When I told this to the lady, she said good bye and hung up the phone. I had to call back to make the payment and pay the $17. She said I could expedite it for another $10 fee. Worse than ******* ***** or ***** **** prices. So I received an email from ***** ***** Account Services ************* ***** **** *** **** **** ***** *** * ******* ** ***** ******* ************ * **** ***** ************ Follow us on | ******** | ******* | ******** | ******* ****** ************************************ *********************. ***** said my fee's have been waived but I still had to pay a collection cost of $38. So basically he is telling me the fee's were $3 and the other costs was collection costs. Which is another lie. That is just another fee.

Desired Settlement: I've already made the payment. I want this crooked service to not charge me the late fee as they promised and find another payment system. The payment system they currently use is fraudulent. Using something like Paypal. So stop trying to make me pay money that I already paid + the $17 payment fee.

Business Response:

Please find the attached response from FirstService Residential in Dallas, TX.  Thank you.

April 2, 2015 




Mr. **** ****** 
**** ********** ***  ***** ***** ** ***** 

Re: BBB Case #******** 

Dear Mr. ******, 

We are in receipt of the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau on March 27, 2015. In response to 
your complaint, we have waived the collection fee of $38.00 so your account now shows a zero balance. 

Paypal is a means by which our homeowners can pay their account balances online, as a convenience if they wish 
to use it. Since they are a third-party vendor and need to be paid for the service they provide, we cannot control 
their pricing. Homeowners who do not wish to pay the additional fee are welcome to mail a check to our office, 
at **** *** **** ******* ***** **** ******* ** *****. 

We understand that being deployed for three months, made it difficult for you to mail your check and you needed 
to make the payment quickly upon your return, so you used Paypal and were charged their fee. Hopefully, future 
payments can be made by mail, in order to avoid using the online bill-pay system. 

I hope we have satisfied your concerns, and thank you for bringing them to our attention. Our most sincere 
thanks for your service to our nation. 

Best regards, 

******* ***** 
Senior Vice President ?

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

I appreciate you understanding my particular situation. I will make sure to use the pay by check method in the future to avoid these additional fee's.

Regards,

**** ******

1/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I pay two different HOAs for two different properties to First service residential. Over the last year I have been sending out two checks -one check per each property- to pay on time, they have a machine that deposits the checks to the corresponding accounts, however, the machine sometimes deposit the two checks to one of the accounts and here is the issue that I end up with: an account with extra credit and an account with late fees. I have been working with them over the last year to fix the problem, however, they are aware of the problem but they are not working on getting their machine to deposit the check to the right account and they charge me unnecessary late fees.

Desired Settlement: Any late fee should be waived because I was not late on payment. It was a system issue on their side. they should take proactive measure to prevent this problem from reoccurring in the future

Business Response:

FirstService Residential CA notified of this complaint on 1/16/15 at 4:30pm as previous email notifications did not reach us.  We are sorry for the delay in responding.

After reviewing the homeowner's two HOA accounts, an ** ******* ******* sent an email to the homeowner advising the late fees assessed were removed, as well as informing the homeowner that one of the checks had an incorrect account number, which may have been the cause of the confusion (copy of email attached).  Both accounts are in good standing order and paid in full through January 31, 2015. 

Thank you.

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mortgage broker for my home refinance requested an HOA certification (lender questionnaire) for my current property from FS Residential on my behalf, for which I paid FS Residential $275 using my debit card. FS Residential were unable to complete or provide the HOA certification. After they charged my card the full $275 they advised my broker that they are not the correct company for my development and that only Accell Property Management (another company) can provide an HOA certification for my property. I have called FS Residential and asked for a refund but had no success. My mortgage broker also emailed FS Residential on 11/7/14 requesting a full refund of my $275 for the reasons stated above but FS Residential declined to provide a refund. FS Residential should have checked whether they are responsible for my property before charging me any kind of fee, let alone $275. I now have to additionally pay Accell property management $200 for the HOA certification. I can't tell whether the service provided by FS Residential is bordering on fraud or just plain incompetence but it's certainly not right to take a customer's money then direct them to another firm because they cannot provide the service. I am astounded and disappointed at their unapologetic stance. It's clear to me that this is not right. I would really appreciate your assistance in resolving this matter.

Desired Settlement: An apology, a full refund and a change in their policy. They should check a property address first before charging fees for a certification they cannot provide. I would not want this to happen to someone else.

Business Response: We were first notified on December 24, 2014 of your complaint (in the process of rectifying issues with email notifications from BBB) and immediately looked into the matter.  We apologize for the delay in this response, and also for the inconvenience you may have experienced.  The following is what was determined:It appears that, in this case, they (the broker/lender), ordered a questionnaire on the master association (LARMAC) which is managed by FirstService Residential, CA, but it sounds like they only wanted it on the sub association (which FSR does not manage).  The work was completed based on the order form submitted through WelcomeLink and within the timeframe requested; unfortunately, there is no way for us to know that the document received (and requested) was not what they needed.  However, to create goodwill, we will provide a full refund in the amount of $275 and it will be processed within 24-hours.

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While on deployment I was charged multiple fines for modifications to my yard through my HOA serviced by FirstService Residential (FSR). Upon returning I communicated, corrected and received approval of all modifications. Upon approval I requested an account ledger of all fines, I received the ledger on 1FEB14 and requested a waiver to submit to the HOA board through FSR on 20FEB14. The request was sent to the stated parties in the instructions provided on the waiver request form, which I received confirmation from the corporate office that it was received and forwarded to the Community Manager (CM). I did not receive any update on my request in which I attempted multiple contact attempts to the Community Manager, when I finally did speak with her (Ms. ******* ******) and received an irrelevant excuse as to why she did not have it. I sent an e-mail with the scanned copy of the original faxed copy with a time and date stamp and confirmation of receipt on 14MAR14. I heard nothing and received no reply. I called the CM multiple times and left voicemails with request for status updates and never received a call back or follow up email. I called Corporate again in which I was put on hold so Corporate could attempt to reach the CM and they could not. The next day I got a call from the CM saying again that she had nothing now 01APR14, I requested she send me an e-mail and that I would reply with the attachment again. On 02APR14 I replied, she received. I was told that the waiver would not be reviewed by the board as "I MISSED" the deadline for board review and the next board date would be 13MAY14. I sold my house on 09MAY14 in which I was required to pay $1,321.68 without any representation, the Division Rep. told me there was nothing I could do and that I would just have to pay with no representation. My request was never even seen by the board that was very cooperative knowing I was Military. Someone didn’t do their job and I paid for it.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that FirstService Residential be the one to refund all requested fines that the board was not able to review due to the lack of professionalism and due diligence with some sort of customer service and work ethic. All fines will be a full refund of $1,321.68 from FSR and not the HOA as it was FSR's interior issues and sub-par protocols that the board was never given the opportunity to make the decision (in which I was told by board members should not be an issue). All of the above is also a complete breach of the Service Members Civil Relief Act.

Business Response:

FirstService Residential CA learned of this posting on September 2, and since, has been working diligently to gather information regarding this claim.  We contacted the previous homeowner (complainant) on September 9 to request additional documentation needed for review, and will be in further contact going forward.

 
*******, the complainant was very grateful that our executive called him last evening and knows the information we requested is necessary for further review.  We will remain in contact with him until this is resolved.

 

Thank you.

*****

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on FirstService Residential California
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart