Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

MGX Copy

Phone: (858) 679-6700 8840 Kenamar Dr #405, San Diego, CA 92121 http://www.mgxcopy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial printing, online printing, and booklet printing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MGX Copy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MGX Copy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on MGX Copy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 25, 2006 Business started: 02/25/2006 in CA Business incorporated 01/25/2010 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence Chou, Chief Executive Officer Mr. Ian Dunn ( Former), Operations Manager Mr. Andrew Shu , Chief Technology Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence Chou, Chief Executive Officer
Principal: Mr. Ian Dunn ( Former), Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Andrew Shu , Chief Technology Officer
Business Category

Printers Copy & Duplicating Service Image & Graphics Printing

Alternate Business Names
XMGX LLC

Additional Locations

  • 8840 Kenamar Dr #405

    San Diego, CA 92121 (858) 679-6700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came to the business in order to print a work portfolio at a high quality. I have a major issue with the customer service lack of assistance in my case. Which ended up costing me 23.82$ with no product delivered that is worth the amount. I am not a professional printer and was very heavily relying on the support of the customer service. I showed the nice lady that was helping me the file I had and carefully paid attention to the changes she told me had to be made in order for the print to be successful. When I got back to my home I made the changes and e-mailed her the file. She looked at it, sent it to their print shop so they would look at it, and then sent me a digital copy to show me what it would look like printed. She gave the green light saying that it looked good. I gave the green light because the digital file looked great as well. But when the print came out 5 days later I was disappointed to see that it was of extremely low quality. I am not a professional printer but even I made better prints at our universities' print center when I was still a student, last year. When I asked what could have caused the issue, I was tolled first that it was because I used the wrong font. Then in the same e-mail I was told that it could have also been a low quality of dpi that caused it, and that they recommend that it should be at least 300 dpi. First, I know from our print center and some research online is that most printers print excellent quality at 200 dpi while my file was at about 270 dpi. Second, I was not made aware of their 300 dpi policy before the book was sent to printing. Third, after I made the complaint she told me the file should actually be 600 dpi. Ok, I can deal with the lack of consistency and miss information that im getting. Everybody make mistakes, no big deal. But why do I have to pay for a mistake that I did not make?

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back please.

Consumer Response:

I would like to retrieve my complaint due to the companies action of re-printing the document at
desired quality for no extra charge.
They did a great job and made me a happy custumer. 
Thank you for your support.

********* ******

2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been trying to resolve a dispute regarding print quality issues since October 2012. Our first order of "perfect bound" booklets were bound incorrectly, truncating the spine artwork, and had several other print quality issues with alignment and color. Our second order (with spinal artwork reviewed and approved by ***) and visually then verbally verified to be correct, also experienced the same print quality problems! In total, our company spent of $4,000 on booklets that we donated to a local non-profit that makes artwork accessible to the community. I am now the proud owner of 15 boxes of useless booklets and the only winner thus far has been *** and ******** ****, who has pocketed $4,000+ for printing garbage that I couldn't even give away for free.

Desired Settlement: Given that the exhibition took place in November, and the replacement order had the same defects, there is no opportunity for replacement on this complaint. Due to my staff not pursuing this complaint aggressively from the outset, ******** ******* has been unable to resolve a billing dispute in our favor. At this time, I have over 1,000 booklets of poor quality remaining, having given away a few hundred of good to moderate quality. I am requesting a $3,000 refund directly from MGX Copy.

Business Response: I have just spoken with Mr. ******** and we have come to a resolution. Mr. ******** was not satisfied with the quality of our books and we do apologize to any customer that is not 100% satisfied with our products and services. We were not able to resolve this issue in our typically quick manner as we were not awawre of the issue until recently. As we saw the BBB compliant today, we immediately spoke with Mr. ******** and resolved the issue today. As per our 100% satisfaction guarantee program, we have offered to either reprint the project at no cost to the client, or to provide a refund. Mr. ******** has chosen to accept a refund of approximately $2700 that corresponds to the actual number of books that were below his expectations. We have informed Mr. ******** that these errors came as a result to a machinery malfunction, and is not typical of the great experience that our customers receive when ordering from MGX Copy. We apologized and look forward to getting another chance to earn back his business. We believe we have resolved this issue amicably, fairly, professionally and now consider this matter settled.