BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

San Diego Center for Family Health

Phone: (619) 464-1608 Fax: (619) 303-8456 6280 Jackson Dr #8, San Diego, CA 92119 http://www.center4family.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers medical services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for San Diego Center for Family Health include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on San Diego Center for Family Health
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 23, 2001 Business started: 05/15/1997 in CA Business started locally: 05/15/1997 Business incorporated: 05/15/1997 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Medical Board of California
1434 Howe Avenue #92, Sacramento CA 95825-3236
http://www.medbd.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 633-2322
Fax Number: (916) 263-2387
The license number is 23489.

Medical Board of California
1434 Howe Avenue #92, Sacramento CA 95825-3236
http://www.medbd.ca.gov
Phone Number: (800) 633-2322
Fax Number: (916) 263-2387
The license number is 24732.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Roy C Springer MD, President Ms. Rhonda Frisbie, Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Roy C Springer MD, President
Number of Employees

22

Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D. Health & Medical - General

Alternate Business Names
Center for Family Health
Industry Tips
Cancer Treatment Scams

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6280 Jackson Dr #8

    San Diego, CA 92119 (619) 464-1608

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being harassed verbally and in writing by Quest Diagnostics and by a credit collection agency named Credit Collection Services retained by Center for Family Health in San Diego, Ca.Center for Family Health is claiming that they ordered lab services for me at a business named Quest Diagnostics. I have never heard of Quest Diagnostics.I want the harassment to stop. Center for Family Health claims that I owe Quest Diagnostics $127.00 for a test ordered by a Dr. Robin Spiering. I have never been seen by her, Dr. ***** ********?I have attempted numerous times to demand that Center for Family Health stop their harassment and to contact Quest Diagnostics and correct their mistake in sending me a bill in error for services not provided.This has been reported to the Credit Bureau and is now a black mark for me.Please help me.

Desired Settlement: BBB:I need your help. I am a victim. I want resolution.I want the bad credit mark removed and a letter of apology sent to me from all parties that have caused me duress.I need something in writing that I can submit to the Credit Bureaus so that I may restore my excellent credit.

Business Response: The patient is has not been contacted by Center For Family Health.  The services in question are for billing from Quest Diagnostics.  The patient was seen in our office by ****** *******, PA on behalf of Dr. ***** ******** for a UTI which required sending the urine on to the lab for culture.  The services were rendered.  Urine was obtained and forwarded to Quest for culture. 
The patients are always told that the urine will be sent out for culture to ensure the proper antibiotics were administered. 
The recommendation is to contact Quest to work out a payment structure for the service rendered.
Center For Family Health has not sent the patient to any credit bureau.
The account at our office is clear.
Thank you,

****** *******, Administrator
Center For Family Health

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am filing a rebuttal to Ms. ****** ********* response to my complaint because I am a victim of harassment and what I believe are unethical business practices. I dispute what she has claimed in her response to my complaint.

 

I was never told during my doctor's visit by the P.A. who attended to me nor from the office administrator and receptionist at Center for Family Health that there would be additional outside charges for my UTI lab test. I dispute that lab tests were ordered for me because after receiving harassing phone calls from Ms. ******* stating that I have an outstanding bill with a company named Quest Diagnostics,, she never provided me with proof of services; a bill. She would not share at my request any contact information for Quest Diagnostics so I could contact them directly to  dispute a so called bill for services I never knew were ordered for me on behalf of Center for Family Health.

 

Quest Diagnostics has never contacted me. Never saw a bill; again I never knew that Center for Family Health sent out my UTI  test to Quest Diagnostics. I was blindsided and misled.  I was given the impression that the lab work was done in-house., All I was told when checking out top pay my bill at Center for Family Health was that my office visit expenses that day was  for an office visit only with a PA named *******.

 

In May 2012 and then again in June 2012, I began to receive harassing phone calls from Ms. ****** *******. I asked ****** why she was calling about a past due bill? She then told me I had an unpaid/past due bill from a lab (didn't give me the name) who performed lab services for my UTI sample taken at Center for Family Health's office. I requested  from Ms. ******* that she mail me via postal, fax or email me a copy of these so called charges. She never told me the name of the lab and never sent me a copy of the bill. She became irate with me when I disputed her claim that I owed $127 to an outside lab and some lab test fees I never knew about. 

 

I first learned of the lab's name, Quest Diagnostics, in July or August 2012, when I received a collection notice from Credit Collection Services. I have had no success with Credit Collection Services either in getting contact information for Quest Diagnostics.

 

I can provide a copy of the collection notice so you can see that all is stated is the name Quest Diagnostics; no address or phone no.  I googled Quest Diagnostics and they have numerous locations. I don't know which location to call to dispute these charges and to ask for a proof of services since Center for Family Health will not comply with my numerous requests.

 

So how can I resolve this since both parties ( Center for Family Health and Credit Collection Services are not giving me the info. I am requesting? 

 

I would like to file a complaint against Quest Diagnostics but again don't know which office/facility processed lab test for me, if they ever did since Ms. ******* has been so evasive. I need to know how to get in touch with Quest Diagnostics so I can dispute a bill for services that I was not made aware of that were ordered for me without my knowledge by Center for Family Health.

 

 

Sincerely,

***** ** ******

Business Response: I have never contacted this patient regarding her billing.   In fact our billing staff has not contact the above patient regarding the Quest billing.  She is mistaken.  Also, I spoke with ****** ******* and her Medical Assistant and they did in fact inform the patient of sending the lab out to Quest.  This is part of our routine discussion with the patient. 
In fact in a future appointment, the patient asked that the lab not be sent out to Quest and it was not forwarded at her request.
Quest billing can be contacted at 818-737-5211.  We are always willing to assist our patients with Quest billing information.
Again, I apologize that the patient was not clear.  I am happy that she will now contact Quest and clear the account up through the correct office.
Quest can also assist her with the contact information of the person that has been contacting her regarding the statement.
I hope this will finally close this incident.
We are Center for Family Health are happy to service our patients and if she cannot resolve this through Quest I will assist her if she would like to come to my office and we can contact them together.
Thank you again,

****** ******** Administrator
Center For Family Health

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.