Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pet Mountain

Phone: (888) 373-8686 8400 Miramar Rd #290, San Diego, CA 92126 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.petmountain.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers pet supplies for sale online.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pet Mountain meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pet Mountain include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

119 Customer Reviews on Pet Mountain
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 115
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 119

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 16, 2008 Business started: 02/13/2004 in CA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gavin Mandelbaum, Owner Mr. John Tabler, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gavin Mandelbaum, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. John Tabler, Customer Service Manager
Related Businesses
TorreyCommerce Inc
Number of Employees

47

Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

Products & Services

Pet Mountain sells the following brand(s): Over 400 trusted pet brands.

Pet Mountain offers the following product(s): Aquarium Supplies, Bird Supplies, Cat Supplies, Dog Supplies, Pet Supplies, Pond Supplies, Reptile Supplies, Small Pet Supplies, Wild Bird Supplies

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Master Card, Discover, American Express, PayPal, Amazon Checkout
Refund and Exchange Policy
60- Day Money Back Guarantee. Please read our returns policy - https://www.petmountain.com/returns
Industry Tips
Savvy Consumer

Additional Locations

  • 8400 Miramar Rd #290

    San Diego, CA 92126 (888) 373-8686

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered over $75 in Pet supply's including one item that turned out to be dangerous and defective and when I addressed the matter they basically told me to screw off. They sell dog toys and you would think they care about the safety to their customers dogs. I even sent them a photo of said item and again was just blown off. They need to take responsibility for what they sell what I consider members of my family.

Desired Settlement: I expected them to at least offer a STORE CREDIT and I would probably have used it and ordered another $75 worth of items that were in the order that my dogs loved .... These people have NO concept of business and are just greedy and don't belong in the Pet business.........I will ask for a refund BUT THIS IS NIOT ABOUT A $9 !!

Business Response: Christine,


Thank you for contacting us regarding order #*******. A refund was processed on 1/13/16 to remedy the situation in a timely manner.

Regards,
PetMountain.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

****** ****



THEY NEVER GAVE A REFUND !!! ..**** *** PAID ME BACK OUT OF THEYRE OWN POCKET !!... PEOPLE NEED TO KNOW WHAT KIND OF COMPANY THIS IS .

9/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday night I placed my order on pet mountain and paid $29.45 for the Express 2-3 Business Days shipping. Since I paid such an expensive fee, instead of the free shipping standard shipping I could have gotten, I expected it would ship out on Wednesday and I would receive my package on Saturday at the latest. After calling pet mountain twice all I found out was that since it is memorial day weekend that I won't even be receiving my package until Tuesday, which I think is absurd as their website did not disclaim the fact that shipping would take this long and still charged me $29.95.

Desired Settlement: I believe that I deserve to be refunded the $29.45 I paid for 2-3 day shipping

Business Response: Thank you for contacting us, your satisfaction is extremely important to us! After reviewing your order, it appears that you placed your on Tuesday September 1, 2015 at 1:21pm PST, which is past our 12:00pm PST same day shipping cutoff detailed on our shipping policy and product pages. Your order shipped on-time the following business day, Wednesday September 2, 2015. Please note that FedEx does not count weekends as business days and the day after shipment is considered the 1st business day in transit. Your package was delivered on-time on the 3rd business day on Tuesday September 8, 2015. Unfortunately, FedEx was closed on Monday September 7, 2015 in observance of the National Holiday Labor Day. Our shipping estimate tool on our shopping cart page displays the delivery dates for your convenience so you can make an informed decision before placing your order. If you need any further assistance, please contact us at ************** and we will be happy to help!

Thank you for shopping with us, we appreciate your business!

8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an object with a return policy. ****** *** Aquarium from order #******* . I never used the object. I didn't like the way it looked, as it was cheap and had too much air space. I returned the contents unused with packaging material. I received an e mail stating I had used it, and it was opened. I didn't use it, and of course it was opened. It was returned in good condition with adequate protection in the shipping. This company is running a fraud. I am not the first. Look at all the complaints. How can the BBB give these people crediblity

Desired Settlement: Refund, and the BBB should remove this company from your good name.

Business Response: Hi ****,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your recent order #*******. Unfortunately, the returned merchandise did not pass inspection:

1. Items were not returned in a corrugated shipping box to prevent damage.
2. Aquarium arrived shattered in the corner due to inadequate packing material.
3. Shipping label was placed on the product box and cannot go back to stock.
4. Items were not in their original condition as outlined on our return instructions.
To remedy the situation we have processed a full refund of the product cost as a 1 time courtesy. If you need any further assistance please contact us at ************** and we will be happy to help.

Thank you for shopping with us, we appreciate your business!
Regards,
Customer Service

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.   I did speak with the owner who apologized for how it was handled.   If they would have let me know, that the product arrived damaged and explained the issues with me, I would have responded much better.  All I knew was that I was accused of using the object, which I did not, and not packing it properly, and I did my best to pack it well.   I will continue to do business with them but just wished that they had handled it with better communication.  

Regards,

**** *****

6/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Petmoutain.com failed to honor its "Low Price Guarantee", and "Happy Guarantee". I provided the evidence that the item was sold at a lower price on its competitor,but Petmountain.com did not even attempt to verify my word. It simply brushed me off with the reasons below: It looks like you ordered this item on the 23rd. We’re not able to apply pricematches after the order is placed, as we need to be able to verify at the time of purchase that they have them for that price. It looks like with the coupon you used on this order, you ended up paying $74.79 for that filter, with the $30 that you saved being distributed evenly among the items. Since that coupon saved you quite a bit more than the $10 you would have received for the filter pricematch, you still ended up saving much more with the $30 off coupon. Since we can only apply 1 coupon per order, the method you took with the BONUS coupon saved you the most money possible! Below was my initial contact: Message: The Rena canister in this order #1588572 was sold for only $89.99 on petsolutions website. On the 5/23 till now, 5/25, this $89.99 is still the selling price. How can your \"lowest\" price be higher than your competitor\'s price? Please price match it for me, and send me the adjusted charge on my card for this transaction via email. Below is its webpage: http://www.petsolutions.com/C/Aquarium-Canister-Filters/I/Rena-FilStar-Canister-Filters.aspx Below is my reply I am sending to Petmountain: I contacted you on the 23rd,but you had closed before I placed the order! How could I have done better? You simply find a reason to not keep your "Happy Guarantee" and "Low Price Guarantee!! You could have checked with Petsolution at that time on the 23rd of May to see if they had it for that price or not before you turned me down,but you did not want to do it!!! You have NOT done what you can to verify my word! You are not fair! You said that you could accept only one coupon!?? WHAT COUPON?! Is price matching considered another "coupon?"

Desired Settlement: Petmoutain has to truly honor its advertised policies by trying to adjust the price for me without any unfair argument. I need a manager's reply and apology in writing to this irresponsible act of dishonoring its own policies. I hope BBB can reconsider the rating of "A+" for Petmountain.com

Business Response: *****,

Thank you for contacting us regarding order #******* placed on 5/23/15. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us!

Our Low Price Guarantee can only be applied to new orders prior to placing your order and cannot be combined with a coupon. On 5/26/15 you emailed us regarding your order #******* inquiring about our Low Price Guarantee. After reviewing your order we confirm that you save more money with the BONUS coupon that took $30 off your order rather than the $10 off you would have saved through a low price guarantee. Low Price Guarantee's are entered as a coupon at the time of purchase if applicable.

Here is our Low Price Guarantee Policy for your review - http://www.petmountain.com/content/37/shipping-rates.html 

Low Price Guarantee:

You deserve to always pay the lowest price online when shopping with PetMountain. If you find a lower price online simply call us at 1-888-373-8686 with the competitor website and model number prior to placing your order and we will match the total price for you! We reserve the right to refuse requests that cannot be verified or appear to be misrepresented or fraudulent.

Low Price Guarantee Guidelines:
1. New items only.
2. Coupons are not applicable.
3. Price adjustments will be honored for online stores only.
4. The total price of the item including taxes, handling, shipping and any additional charges will be calculated to ensure you pay the lowest price.


If you need any further assistance please contact us at 1-888-373-8686 and we will be happy to help. 

Regards,
PetMountain.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The BBB of San Diego, please consider the following factors:
First, the business did purposefully neglect the fact that before I placed the order, I already tried to contact the business by live chat and by phone,but the business had been closed due to the weekends and Memorial Day on the 25th.  Had I emailed the business that very early morning, on the 23rd at nearly 2:00 AM my time, I still would not have had any price adjustment from the business.--NOT that I asked for an after-sale adjustment.  Consequently, to avoid missing the sale price of "$30 off on any order of $99.99 or more", I placed the order before the sale ended, and I contacted the business at the earliest possible on the day after Memorial Day with my innocent faith that the business would willingly adjust the price for me once it could verify the standing sale price of its competitor.  Below is a copy of my original email to Pet Mountain regarding its higher price:  

Message: The Rena canister in this order #******* was sold for only $89.99 on petsolutions website. On the 5/23 till now, 5/25, this $89.99 is still the selling price. How come your "lowest" price be higher than your competitor's price? Please price match it for me, and send me the adjusted charge on my card for this transaction via email. Below is its webpage: 
http://www.petsolutions.com/C/Aquarium-Canister-Filters/I/Rena-FilStar-Canister-Filters.aspx

Secondly, the sale Pet Mountain had for two days, on the 22nd, and 23rd and by midnight (PST), it ended.  That was a special two-day sale as opposed to price matching.  I did not ask for a double-coupon sale on the item--This was NOT contradictory to the Lowest Price Guarantee of Pet Mountain.  I did not ask for an unreasonable price adjustment.  

Thirdly, the business simply did not attempt to verify its competitor's price since its competitor's price was truly LOWER, at $89.99 on the 23rd TILL NOW as opposed to Pet Mountain's so-called lower price at $99.99.  In fact this price of Pet Mountain now is still $99.99--that's $10 more than its competitor's price.  
http://www.petmountain.com/product/aquarium-canister-filters/11442-107524/api-api-rena-filstar-xp-canister-filter.html

The bottom line is:  Pet Mountain does not and did not honor its advertisement.  The "lowest price" is not really the lowest.  The fact is that if any consumer now buy the same item I did on the 23rd, Pet Mountain's price is still HIGHER than Pet Solutions' price, AND Pet Mountain does not try to make its consumer "happy" as advertised, either.  These two "guaranties" are misleading or deceiving to some degree.  Besides the price-matching that I ask for, my complaints is also a warning for future consumers, and these complaints and facts will be filed with the BBB.    

Regards,

***** ******



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that these responses would be satisfactory,and reasonable to me.  

I accept your explanations, and statements regarding your Price Guarantee, and Happy Guarantee, BUT I DO NOT want to take your offer, for it would be a loss to you if I accepted it.  My intention was NOT to get your merchandise free of charge.  

It was your customer service representatives' initial responses that made me feel you wronged me, and brushed me away after the you got my payment.  I hope by this time, you have accepted the fact that even though I wanted to contact you Before finalizing the transaction, I could not get any help.   

I consider this complaint resolved.  Thank you both of you.

 

Regards,

***** ******

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order #******* Placed on: Sat Jun 22 17:43:09 PDT 2013Petmountain.com enticed me to go shopping at their store by giving me a coupon for free shipping on my 1st order over $49. I have a screen shot of it saved, if you really need it. You can also see the coupon pop up at...http://www.petmountain.com/As you can see, the coupon makes me think that I will get free shipping on my first order over $49, not much else to it... This is the reason I spent around an hour a day, for about a week, getting to know most of the products on their site, and tallying up what it is that I needed to buy, whilst saving up the money for the purchase. I vested quite a lot of time and energy into getting to know the website and organizing my purchase (shopping under false pretenses), something I would not have done had I known the coupon was a lie, but I needed medicine for my pet fish, and I needed it fast, because nobody in town carries it, and I thought this coupon was awesome!Now, after spending hours shopping, I find that I have actually been charged for the shipping and that, ****, at customer service, feels me stupid to have believed the coupon and gone shopping at their store. She insisted that my being lied to was none of their concern, that I had the right to cancel the order, but that they would not be keeping their word as to the shipping being free on my 1st order over $49. She actually first tried to act like I didn't even spend $49 and has infuriated me greatly, repeatedly hanging up on me, and lying to me further... She tried to say that the coupon specified the shipping was only for 5-8 business days and would not admit that it didn't say that, no matter how many times I pointed out that the coupon said, "Get free shipping on your 1st order over $49", nothing more. I told her not to cancel the order, that I need the medicine, but I just now received an email saying that the order was cancelled, and she took her toll free number (1-888-373-8686) out of service, although, the website is there.

Desired Settlement: Is this bait and switch stuff legal? Can we not force them to keep their word and send me my purchase, as promised by the coupon? If not, can I not be compensated for having wasted my time shopping under false pretenses, and possibly even losing fish because my not having my medication when expected?I just emailed my bank about it to see what they can do and also contacted Google Trusted Sites. I want to do everything I can to get what I was promised and to warn others. Please help.9xxx-xx-xxxx

Business Response: Customer called in on 6/24/13 for an explanation regarding the coupon code he used, at that time we reviewed his order and notified him that the coupon code ******** if for Free Ground Shipping on orders with a sub-total over $49.00 as indicated at our checkout. At that time the customer requested to cancel the order because he refuses to pay for shipping and has proceeded to make death threats to our customer service representative. At that time **** the customer service representative instructed the customer that she will transfer him to a manager and he hung up before being transferred. He has proceeded to email death threats aimed towards **** (See copy below). We have since blocked him from placing orders at petmountain.com and have filed a complaint with the Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) - https://www.********************   Customer Email Copy: Name: **** ******* Email: ********@*****.com EmailVer: ********@*****.com Subject: Other Message: To Whom It May Concern, and ****: I am giving you one last chance to keep your word and put my order through as promised by the coupon. You can\'t cancel my order just because you don\'t want to keep your word on the coupon. Also, you can\'t be lying to people about prices at your store to get them to waste time shopping there and expect things to be okay. I will be filing a dispute with the bank, the BBB, ****** Trusted Sites, and my lawyer. I will also be hiring a bounty hunter to track **** down personally, and be posting this issue at 4chan for the hackers to have a go at the site. That\'s right, I have nothing better to do than go after those who betray me and my pets. I hope you chose to keep your word instead. Have a nice day. My fish, however, thanks to ****, will not. **** ******* ###-###-#### IP: ************* OS: Windows XP Browser: ******* Browser Version: 5.0 Guest Cookie:  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


They keep telling people to call them, but they're phone number is out of service. They are refusing to cancel an order.

Cancel order, issue refund. Fix your phone!

Regards,

**** *******



Business Response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Per your request your order has been canceled.

Thank you,
Customer Service

10/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for ground shipping (16.99 each) on two orders and both were delivered late. The web site stated delivery on or before October 11 and October 12. Both were delivered on October 13. FedEx tracking number(s): ************, ************. I chose ground shipping because of the dates shown on the web site. There was an option of FREE shipping that would allow the items delivered on October 13. When contacting petmountain directly not only did they not refund my shipping but I was flat out called a liar! The response was "I spoke with my manager and that shipping tool hasn’t estimated for a weekend delivery in the 10 years we’ve been open as a company, so I’m not sure where the mix-up was."

Desired Settlement: Refund on shipping costs for both orders.

Business Response: Hi *****,

 
Thank you for contacting us regarding ****** ******* and her two most recent orders with us. Customer satisfaction is our top priority and our FedEx ground delivery is a guaranteed service for on-time delivery. If any shipments are delivered late then the customers are granted a full refund of their shipping cost. This customer selected our upgraded Ground Service - (2-5 Business Days). We do offer Saver Shipping - (5-8 Business Days) and this is option is free on any order with a sub-total over $75. Please note that FedEx does not count weekends as business days and the following business day after shipment is counted as the 1st day in transit as stated on our shipping policy. 
 
Order #******* was placed on Friday 10/3/14 at 12:26 pm PST after our 12 Noon cut off for same day shipping and  shipped on-time the following business day on Monday 10/6/14 at 9:26 am. This order did qualify for free Saver Shipping - (5-8 Business Days) because the sub-total is $100.31 as shown on the attached invoice. Customer selected the upgraded faster delivery service Ground Shipping - (2-5 Business Days).FedEx Ground Tracking #************ arrived on-time on the 5th business day 10/13/14 at 10:36 am. 
 
Order #******* was placed on Saturday 10/4/14 at 5:30 pm PST and  shipped on-time the following business day on Monday 10/6/14 at 9:26 am. This order did not qualify for free Saver Shipping - (5-8 Business Days) because the sub-total is $54.40 as shown on the attached invoice. Customer selected the upgraded faster delivery service Ground Shipping - (2-5 Business Days). FedEx Ground Tracking #************ arrived on-time on the 5th business day 10/13/14 at 10:36 am. 
 
The dates the customer referenced for delivery is Saturday October 11th and Sunday October 12th. FedEx Ground service is only delivered on business days (Monday-Friday). The Free Saver Shipping option would have been delivered by 10/16/14 on the 8th business day. Our shipping estimate tool on our cart page is linked to the FedEx shipping database and will display accurate delivery dates when a zip code is entered. Feel free to add an item to the cart and enter this customers zip code 06371 to see how the useful tool is used for accuracy. We tested this for accuracy when the customer contact us and the customer's zip code takes 5 business days for delivery and did arrived on-time.
 
Our Shipping & Promotions policy page is available to all our customers so they can make an informed decision before placing an order- http://www.petmountain.com/content/37/shipping-rates.html 
 
Thank you for your time!
 
Regards,
Customer Service
www.PetMountain.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The dates shown on the petmountain.com web site specified my first order would arrive before 10/11/14, and for the second order before 10/12/14. Whether this isn't possible with ground shipping is not my fault, it was advertised on the companies website.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: ******,

Your satisfaction is extremely important to us and would like to investigate your claim in detail to conclude this in a timely manner. Our shipping methods are displayed as "Get is by" not "Get it before" and never displays Saturday or Sunday dates as shown in the attached screen shot for your review. Could it be possible you may have seen this on another website? Would you have a screen shot our our shopping cart page supporting your claim so we can add this to the investigation and further assist you?

Thank you for you time and assistance!
 
Thank you,
Customer Service
www.PetMountain.com

Business Response:

We have issued a full shipping refund on both of ****** *******’s orders to remedy the situation. Please let me know if we can be of any further assistance.

 

Regards,

Customer Service

www.PetMountain.com

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a filtration assembly from Pet Mountain on February 24, 2013. I ordered the pump with the same product number as my old pump. The new pump was not the same as my old pump (the numbers were the same). I called about this and the lady I talked to told me to throw it away as it was probably not a good pump. After talking for a while she finally understood that this pump (even with the same product number as my old one) was not the same as my old one, so I ended up buying an impeller. I ordered the impellar on March 7. I received the impellar and put it in the aquarium and it would not pump the water up to work properly. I called them back, and now I need impellar housing. At this point I wanted to just get my money back, but that was not an option!!I asked the young man if I bought the housing and it didn't work what else would I have to buy to make this work!!!

Desired Settlement: I ordered a replacement pump, received a pump with the same number as my old pump, but the new pump was not the same as my old pump. They want to sell me more parts, but no one told me up front that the pump had changed and my old parts would not work on a new pump with the same product number.

Business Response: #*******: After reviewing the notes on order #******* – we spoke with ****** on 3/5/13 at 4:00pm PST and was able to determine through technical support that the customer did not order all the parts required for the motor to run. To remedy the situation we waived the shipping on the impeller that was required for the motor to operate correctly and placed a new order #******* on 3/6/13 at 10:36am.

12/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered from them they choose to send 4 different packages I got 3 packages and called Fed Ex to ship the other one back to the company. Called the company sent them emails no response to the emails. I asked them to call fed ex to confirm the package is being shipped back to them so they could refund me for that item they refused to do so. One of the products was defective/damaged they said they would refund me for that but not for the package I'm having Fed Ex send back to them Cause It will not Arrive on the Guarantee delivery date. I've dealt with other companies (Better Companies) that have refunded me my money back before they received the items back. They (Pet Mountain) know they are getting the item back. Because Fed Ex is shipping them back but they refuse to refund me for a product I didn't receive. But are willing to refund me for the damaged one. It makes no sense to me when they know they will be getting the product back because Fed ex is shipping it back why they can't refund me for that item. I sent them pictures of what I received and the only thing I haven't not received is whats being sent back to them. Why should I have to wait for a refund? I had fed ex send it back cause it was not going to be here in the Guaranteed delivery time. It was also supposed to be ship to me in my name but they shipped it to the name on the billing information which is ******* ********. They screw up and refuse to make it right by refunding me the way it was payed. It is still in Bloomington, CA and has to be here by the 20th and it took 4 days to get here from the same place and it still hasn't left Bloomington, CA yet. So it more then likely won't be here the 20th. I see know why you rate them an F but you should add a - after the F. Also when i called the first time the customer rep. started to raise his voice at me. the company has all around bad business skills. I hope they all shut down. Also they packed catnip with cleaning products. Do Not Buy If already have Call Them Quick And Cancel. And when you call them they don't say there name at least not when I did


Yeah said they would refund me for the book and I didn't need to send it back and now they're saying they want it back. sent an email to the billing address email and not the shipping address i gave them. they are refusing now to refund me for the damaged book now until the receive it. I'm sick of the run around they are doing and the lying being told to me. I'd like a full refund of the entire order after all this. getting a customer rep raising his voice at me and laughing at me is not good business 

Desired Settlement: To Be Refunded the same way it was payed. But with all this hassle and run around by the company. If i could keep the products and be refunded for it all that would be awesome. But a refund for the 2 products is all I'm asking for.

Business Response: Thank you for contacting us regarding order #****** placed on 12/11/13. After reviewing your order it appears you selected the Free Saver Shipping - (5-8 Business Days). Your order shipped on-time the same day on 12/11/13 - FedEx Tracking #: ************. After tracking your package at www.FedEx.com it shows 3 of the 4 packages arrived early on the 3rd business day on 12/16/13 and the 4th package was scheduled to be delivered early on the 4th business day 12/17/13. Customer refused delivery on the 4th package. When the 4th package is received by our returns department for inspection we will process your package as a return upon receipt and issue a refund for the returned items. The name on the shipping address provided by PayPal is ******* ********. This name resides in the PayPal account used when placing this order. If you need to update your shipping name, address, email or phone number on your PayPal account then we recommend logging into your PayPal account and updating your records. A pre-paid FedEx shipping label for the book you wish to return has been emailed to the email provided on the order - ******************* from ********************. Return tracking #: *************** - we will process your return and issue a refund for the item/s you wish to return free of charge. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us. Thank you for shopping with us, we appreciate your business!

Thank you,

Customer Service

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They are scheduled to be delivered back tonight and if you lie and say that the products I sent back are damaged or what not and refuse to give me a full refund I will contact a lawyer. I took  pictures of them and they are the same products you sent in the same shape too. You've lied to me in the past already and according to the BBB your stores are shutting down left and right. So now I clearly see why. Rude customer reps and plus they lie so if when you get the packages and for any lie you come up with not to give me a full refund you will and up in court. And the name on the paypal account is right but I said ship it to me your company can't even do that right. Yes someone other then myself has the paypal account but I paid them. They were just a third party in this.  Here is some pictures of the book you sent peeling cover and please do read the warning label on both bottles and tell me if your company made the right choice not to inform me of this before you shipped it. Because a good business would've done that for their customer. What did you think was going to happen shipping this product to Minnesota Fed Ex ground at this time of year. Yes you offered free shipping and I took it. But you didn't have that warning on the product description. You're lucky I read it because if I used that product on my reptile tanks my animals could have died. I even called you and your customer rep ensured me you were a good business. And said the rating by the BBB means nothing cause you have to pay them for a good rating. No their rating is correct but I'd give you an F- not just an F 

Regards,

***** ********



Business Response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention! Customer service is very important to us and want to make sure you are completely taken care of when shopping at PetMountain. After reviewing your order it appears that your shipment FedEx Tracking #: ************ arrived earlier than the Free Saver Shipping - (5-8 Business Days) that you selected. We did do a complimentary upgrade free of charge to FedEx Ground so your packages would arrive early for the Holidays. We apologize for the condition your Tortoise Book and as explained over the phone we will pay for the return of the book at no cost to you. Sometimes products do get damaged during transit and all of our customers are 100% protected against loss or damage through our FedEx package insurance policy. For your convenience we have emailed you a pre-paid FedEx return shipping label - FedEx Tracking #: *************** the same day you brought this to our attention on 12/16/13. We are awaiting the return of the items you wish to return for a full refund. If you have any questions or need any further assistance feel free to contact us at 1-888-373-8686 and reference order #*******. Thank you for contacting us we appreciate your business!|

Thank you,

Customer Service
www.PetMountain.com
 
 

8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a dog life vest on June 27. When I recieved the vest it was too small. So, I ordered and paid for another one (larger). I obtained a return ship label from pet mountain and shipped origanal vest back on July 5th. Today is July 30th, and no refund. Although, I have been promised the refund, it is not forthcoming. I actually recieved a phone call from pet mountain, stating they were giving me a refund immediately. THAT WAS OVER A WEEK AGO. I have sent an e-mail every day asking for my refund.

Desired Settlement: refund my money as promised.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention! We recently received a large amount of returns and have completed your return. A full refund in the amount of -$20.99 has been processed on 7/30/13 at 1:35pm PST and an email confirmation detailing the full refund was sent to the customer at tnb587@yahoo.com. Please let us know if we can further assist you! Feel free to reach us toll-free at 1-888-373-8686.


Thank you for shopping with us, we appreciate your business!

Thank you,
Customer Service
www.PetMountain.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Finally, August 2nd, they gave my refund.  Thank you San Diego BBB !!!   PET MOUNTAIN is a horrible company to deal with, and I never will again.

Regards,

******** ******

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 6 pkgs of Pur Luv Fish Jerky and they were dated 4/2013. When I called Pur Luv, I gave them the code on the back and they said they were from 2009.How can a company sell expired fish products? My dog could have gotten very sick. She loved them and she got one everyday. I returned the first batch to them because of the expired date and they told me they would send me a fresh batch with a new date. I got a box with the same expired date. So, I got two shipments of expired Fish Jerky.I told them I want a refund. I feel they should be investigated if they sell expired goods.Thank you,****** ********

Desired Settlement: I would like back all the money I paid for this product. I also think they should compensate me with another item at no cost.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this to our attention! Your satisfaction and the safety of your pets is very important to us. We immediately removed these items from the website after we spoke with the customer and sent the expired items back to the manufacturer for a fresh batch.

Pur Luv Fish Jerkey - http://www.petmountain.com/product/meaty-dog-treats/11442-573854/pur-luv-fish-jerky.html?xx

We have scheduled a FedEx pick up free of charge and will issue a full refund upon reciept. FedEx Pick Up Tag - ***************

If you have any further questions please contact us at 1-888-373-8686 and we will be happy to help in any way we can!

Thank you,
Customer Service
www.PetMountain.com 

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i ordered a pet harness from pet mountain and though it is indeed pictured in the ad with a fleece lining it is not listed as having an insanely thick fleece lining which makes it far too hot to use in any weather other than extreme winter. i live in l.a. and its impossible to use this ultra-hot harness on my dog

Desired Settlement: i would like the company to 1) cover return shipping charges and 2) to reimburse me for the price of the item plus the original shipping charges i paid ($27.00)

Business Response: *****,For customers who wish to return items within 45 days of receipt may do so by using our easy returns tool by entering your email and order number. A full refund on the purchase price of the item will be processed back to the method of payment upon passing inspection. The product must be in the original condition including any product packaging, tags and manuals to warrant a refund.Easy Returns Tool - https://www.petmountain.com/returnsIf you need any further assistance, please call us at 888-373-8686.Thank you,Customer Servicewww.PetMountain.com 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The Business does not even address the content of my complaint, which is that I want them to pay for shipping due to the fact that the harness is completely useless in non-frigid weather (ie it is too hot for a dog in southern california).  Regards,

********* ********-*******

Business Response: *********,Since the item purchased is as described on the product page and is not damaged or defective then the customer is responsible for shipping items back due to buyers remorse as stated on our returns page.Returns Information - https://www.petmountain.com/returns Thank you,Customer Servicewww.PetMountain.com