Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pro Pacific Pest Control

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 737-8266 Fax: (760) 480-1173 View Additional Phone Numbers 510 N Escondido Blvd, Escondido, CA 92025 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.propacificbee.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers insect (including bees) and rodent control services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pro Pacific Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pro Pacific Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pro Pacific Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 1997 Business started: 05/13/1997 in CA Business incorporated 05/17/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 5003.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ben Hoy, Partner Mr. Shane Hoy, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ben Hoy, Partner
Principal: Mr. Shane Hoy, Partner
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Pest Control Services Bee Removal

Alternate Business Names
Pro Pacific Pest Control LTD ProPacific Bee Removal

Additional Locations

  • 3026 E La Palma Ave

    Anaheim, CA 92806 (714) 602-5039

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    43114 Black Deer Loop

    Temecula, CA 92590 (951) 587-1366

  • 510 N Escondido Blvd

    Escondido, CA 92025 (760) 480-4844 (800) 737-8266 (800) 904-2337 (866) 904-2337 (858) 486-3311 (800) 737-2668 (888) 874-6795 (858) 485-5520 (619) 531-9133

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pro Pacific Pest Control charged me $1600 to catch rats/rodents and close off roof, door and interior garage holes to prevent entry. Specifically, $250 was charged for rodent-catching. They used peanut butter and basic traps inside and outside the house. At that time, I asked why they were using that, since I had already done the same thing without any luck. I told them the rats were so trap savvy that they flipped the traps, tripped them and ate the food, including peanut butter and feta cheese. They ignored me. They also indicated I might have heard the rats outside the house. I reiterated my point: traps were set by me and they were moved, flipped and eaten off of by rats in my house. For three weeks, nothing was caught. No surprise, as they hadn't done anything different than what I had used. There was no sense of emergency. Then, they decided to use different bait, which was somewhat more successful. Finally, one was caught. Then, the next week, another. Then, for two weeks, two rats deteriorated on the traps as no one came out to check them, so much so that other animals came and ate the kill. I was so disgusted that I had the manager come out. He was very aloof. Again, no sense of emergency. He was more thorough, setting traps throughout the house. Then, he used another type of trap outside which was the only legal type that should have been used. One week later, nothing was caught. He removed all the traps and stated his job was done. He admitted that rats don't like change in the environment. I was surprised that he didn't give it more time - it had only been one week. I told him that just because nothing was caught does not mean there are no rodents. He stated the contract does not cover catching rats outside the home. Well, then, why did they do it if it wasn't specified? And why was I charged $250 for setting the same traps in my home that I - a non-professional - already used? They also put liquid poison in my attic after everything was sealed, but nothing was caught. At least they tried on that count. It is my belief that they though they had a sucker and that they did as little as possible for the longest time possible. If it had been one of their family members, I think they would have tried harder initially. The only time I received help was when I took the time to call and clamor for it. They were not reliable. Several times they stated that they would come out to check traps and never showed; then, they only showed up after receiving phone calls from the office. What a bust. I am in the wrong business. I should catch rats for $1600 and have no accountability.

Desired Settlement: Catch rats. Period. $250 - that should show some results. 5 rats caught? Ridiculous. $1,350 for closing off holes? Catch some rats first before you close off the house. Show results.

Business Response:

We are very sorry that Mrs. ******* is unhappy with the services we performed at her home.  However we have made every effort to solve her rodent issue and all indications are that we have been entirely successful.  We certainly understand that these situations are unpleasant and frustrating for homeowners and they can never be rectified fast enough. With that in mind I’d like to address her concerns.

Mrs. ******* mentioned being unhappy with the type of traps and bait used.  We use snap traps for most of our trap outs because after all their years in existence they are still the best around and are widely used in the pest control industry.  As far as bait goes, it’s a systematic process, we try different baits and we nearly always catch them in the end. For the record, 5 rats is a good haul. 

The customer indicated that we missed appointments but we have no record of ever missing an appointment.  Her agreement included 3 follow up trap checks, those dates were on her written agreement at the onset.  The agreement shows her follow up visits as 3/31/14, 4/4/14 and 4/8/14.  We arrived each of those dates on time.  We came out several more times to keep after her issues at no additional charge.

Sequence of Events/Service Visits

3/26/14 First visit/Trap I                                                       Traps were set, rodent proofing and follow up appointments were set and the agreement was signed. Traps were set in the attic, garage and kitchen.

3/31/14 Trap II                                                                       Technician checked traps, nothing caught.

4/4/14 Trap III/Rodent Proof                                               Customer missed appointment so Trap 3 was not completed. Rodent roof was performed however as it did not require access to the home.

4/8/14 Trap III                                                                       Traps were checked, nothing caught.  Additional traps added to the attic space. 

4/10/14 Trap IV                                                                     One large rat caught outside front door. 

4/14/14 Door Sweep Installed                                               Technicians returned to install door sweep.  

4/18/14  Additional Trap Check                                           Caught one squirrel and one rat in exterior trap. 

5/14/14  Customer Called Office                                           Customer called office and said that she believed something had been caught.  Appointment set to check for the very next day.

5/15/14 Additional Trap Check                                             Returned at customer’s request, customer missed appointment.

5/16/14 Meeting with Field Manager                                    Field manager went to customer’s home to survey the issue.  Three additional rats were removed, plans to monitor for activity are made.

5/17/14  Traps Set / Monitoring Set Up                                Field manager returns, set 25 additional traps.  Donuts are set out in the open throughout the home to monitor for activity.  Follow up visit scheduled for 5/23.

5/23/14  Follow up Visit with Field Manager                       Field manager returns.  None of the traps or donuts were moved, touched or eaten.  Furthermore, no other evidence of activity was found either.  No droppings or urine are discovered anywhere in the home.

We understand that these infestations are very trying for our customer’s and we wish there were easier faster solutions.  We have been at this for many years and have yet to discover a better method for resolving rodent problems.  In the end it is clear that Mrs. Strantz’s home is now free from rats and has been sealed properly as all of the rodents were caught on the exterior of her home not within the living space or attic. We have offered a bait service to aid in mitigating the exterior rodent population for Mrs. ******* but she has declined.

At this point we have yet to receive payment on the balance on her account to which she had agreed to pay.  Once that balance has been settled, she will benefit from a 2year warranty against future infestations which we are proud to stand behind.  This includes trapping, replacement of any exclusionary barriers, the installation of new barriers if they are compromised, all free of charge. 

We are sincerely sorry for any frustration that Mrs. ******* has suffered, rodent issues are tough to deal with.  We do however feel that the job has been performed and completed in a timely and professional matter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

 
It is clear that respondent is happy with the catch of "5" rats (not sure that number is correct - perhaps they are counting the squirrel), but he is not the customer who paid $1,600.
 
Nothing was caught inside the house, in spite of recent droppings - not a mouse nor a rat.
 
For 3 weeks, nothing was caught using simple traps and peanut butter.  I told them initially that I was concerned, I had already used that to no avail, and had some reaction to feta cheese, but the traps were tripped.  Nothing changed in their bait use until I complained to the office secretary.  So what is the "systematic process"?  Things were quite obviously ineffective the first few weeks and Pro Pacific was unconcerned.  And not one creature in the house was caught using their "wait and see" system.  Not one.  I saw rats and mice with my own eyes, there were droppings, yet nothing was caught.
 
By their own admission, from 4/18 to 5/14 no one came to my house.  One month.  
 
During this time, rats were rotting outside.  By the time I called them to see what was wrong with their follow up, animals had eaten most of the carcasses.
 
5/15 If they came they did not knock.  My car was in the driveway.  My cell phone was on.
 
It is not clear to me that "all areas have been sealed."  Subsequent to the sealing of holes in the garage, I had fresh evidence of mice, but could not catch any.
 
I purchased and set out the "donuts".
 
New traps were set by a different attendant.  He gave them one week outside.  Rats are trap savvy.  I told him one week wasn't enough time.  He told me he would remove them, no discussion.  
 
Not effective.  Not timely.  Not professional.  Way over-priced.  Concerned about the calendar contract coverage, but no sense of accountability.  Dismissive of customer.  No way to do business.
 

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

We continue to recognize the frustration that rodent issues can cause for our customers.  That being said, there is still no evidence that any activity has continued at our customer’s home, this includes droppings or urine which would certainly be present. The fact that nothing has been caught inside the home is actually a very good indicator of positive results. 

Fortunately, Mrs. ******* will benefit from a two year warranty on her home against future rodent issues.  We will continue to work to protect her home against infestations.  Furthermore, we will schedule a field manager to return to her home to inspect and insure that the work has been completed properly at her convenience.

6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Pro Pacific for a bee removal. The bees have been around for 3-5 days before they came out. Located under the right side of the shed. They quoted us I believe around $175. The service provider said there was no honeycomb and he sprayed poison and filled with foam so the bees could not get back in. The guy told us "there is no way they will come back". 3 months later the bees were back on the opposite side of the shed. I called them again and they said the warranty was up and they quoted me a higher amount to come back out. Since the bees came back when they said they wouldn't, I got a different company to come out and remove them the second time $300. The bees had been there for 3 days and there was more than 2 fist size chunks of comb that were taken out. They screened it in around the left side of the shed. 8-9 months later the bees were back and now in the front of the shed. This time we paid $500 for the removal. They took out the whole floor of the wood shed and found that there was comb left from the first removal area. Comb is what attracts the bees. They said since the removal was not done correctly the first time, with the comb not being removed, the bees were attracted back. I have spoken to many professionals and they ALL say the comb is the issue and MUST be removed. After discussing this with Pro Pacific, they laughed and said there is NO WAY bees can make any comb at all before 7 days of being there. I saw the bees come in since its right outside my office window and I saw the amount of comb made from the second 2 removals. The person I spoke with said he professionally removed bees for 10 years prior to working at Pro Pacific and pretty much called me a liar that the bees produced comb in less than 7 days. Professionals that I spoke to said comb, even a small amount can be made in the first day or two. That is the bees job. I spent $800 more than I should have because Pro Pacific did not do the job correctly by removing the comb when they did the 1st removal. They said they will take no responsibility, but said they would give me "a couple bucks" to make me happy.

Desired Settlement: A refund is no where near what it has cost me. Ideally I would like the $800 I over paid.

Business Response:

We never like to hear that any of our customers are unhappy with work that we perform or our technicians who implement the work.  Some pest related issues are more persistent than others but we always strive to work a problem until it is resolved.  In persistent cases our customers enjoy the benefit of our warranty.  Should a problem continue past our warranty, additional efforts come at additional costs but our repeat customers do get favorable pricing. With bee hives, old hives can and do attract bees.  Having said that, we always provide the solution that best fits the information we have for a given job.  We gather the information from a physical inspection along with verbal information we get directly from our customers. As with all our customers, it is up to them whether they wish to move forward with any work we propose as our estimates carry no obligation.

In this case our technician did not find any honeycomb at the site of the extermination. Without cutting into the structure it is in many cases very difficult to say with any surety whether or not there is honeycomb present.  This point was demonstrated by the second company who came out subsequent to our service there.  This company, even with the foreknowledge that we had been out there to exterminate a hive in this same shed floor only 3 months prior, still was not able to find the honeycomb.  That honeycomb was later discovered after they had to come back for yet another hive in the same shed floor.  At this point they found the honeycomb only after pulling up the floor at a cost of $500.  This is in no way an attack on the reputation of the company that came out after us, just as it should not be an attack on us who performed the work initially without the foresight that they benefited from. A good knowledge of the history of an infested structure is key in these situations.  Even with the floor pulled up and multiple hives exposed, there could still be honeycomb left from a previous hive elsewhere in this structure that may lead to future infestations.

Had the customer had us back out to her home on the second hive, we would have certainly worked with her on price to get her taken care of.  We regularly compensate customers for a second extermination when they employ us to remove honeycomb.  She instead went with an alternate vendor in an effort to save money.  Unfortunately this did not pan out as we charged her $175 for our initial extermination, she ended up paying $300 for the second.  There is no way she could have known that it would turn out that way nor were we kept in the loop here, so we certainly did not agree to this charge nor to the next. 

While we certainly feel for **** ******* plight we do not feel that we shoulder any responsibility for the costs that she incurred.

11/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pro pacific pest control was completely unprofessional when trying to handle account information...the manager *** (who's supposedly the main guy and has no boss) questioned my logic over the situation. Extremely rude and now loses 3 clients who would have been lifetime customers. He has no idea how to work out issues. This company is getting a complaint through the board of pest control and through the BBB. If there's ever an issue with billing or a complaint towards a service good luck bc tad is the only guy to speak to and is extremely unprofessional and rude. As a family owned business I question their capability on keeping life long customers. I transferred service to my new address and payed my bill previously. They cashed my check but continue to say they didn't get paid and trying to charge an additional 88 dollars for a new address fee when no one informed us until after they serviced. The manager tad told me he questions my logic over the situation. So rude I was shocked. I asked to speak to his boss and he said he's the main guy and that there is no one else to speak to.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to accept my banks proof of paying for our service under the agreed contract. From nov 5th 2013 I want to have a closed account with there company bc I told them to cancel services. I am payed and do not owe an additional 88 dollars

Consumer Response: The company fixed the issues and were very respectful and understanding of the confusion when they called back the next day. We resolved the problem. 

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agent who wrote the contract said rat was in wall and needed construction. Said if they found the animal it would be $650, if not it would be $450. Took men 20 minutes to remove possum from under house. Wanted $450. The bill was adjusted to $200. The manager was rude and accusatory. The contract read if the stench remained they would come out and make it right. The stench remained. They said they gave me a discount and therefore contract was invalid. I wanted them to do what they had promised that the space would be cleaned and deodorized. This has cost me the rental of the room at $575. The stench remains.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to clean and deodorize the area as promised.

Business Response:

It is our intention to satisfy every customer. We made two visits to Mrs. **** home. The first was to provide an inspection and attempt to find and remove the source of the smell. The technician, *****, was unable to locate the source of the smell. He believed that the source may be coming from an animal trapped in a wall void but also recognized that it may be under the home somewhere. ***** made Mrs. **** aware of both possibilities and gave her two prices to cover either possibility. She agreed and a contract for service was drawn up. When the technicians who specialize in dead rodent removal arrived Mrs. **** insisted that they not open her wall. She wanted them to check under the house again. She understood that she was going to pay more if we opened the wall and found carcasses and she wanted to make sure that was not going to happen. The technicians obliged and checked under the home again. After some time of extensive checking they were able to locate a dead opossum. The opossum was removed and Mrs. **** decided that the job was too easy and she was not going to pay the agreed upon $450. The technicians on site were unsure of what to do. They called the office and Mrs. **** said that she would not be paying the $450. After considerable discussion she said the job was only worth $200 and that was what she was going to pay. At that time Mrs. **** was informed that we would not be coming back to her house if any additional service was necessary. Despite this fact after she had called and expressed her dissatisfaction, we still offered to send ***** out to survey the issue to determine whether the remaining smell was the result of the opossum or from yet another dead rodent. She insisted that we send our labor crew to return and refused to let us send out our field technician.

Consumer Response:

 

 

 

The office promised to have the owner contact me but that never happened nor has anyone else contacted me.   The stench continues in the master bath.  This has caused me the $575 rent of the room and my manufactured home is now for sale.  It is obvious the men never cleaned up after the removal of the opossum and has caused me money and stress.  They told me my guaranty of the contract is invalid as they adjusted the cost.  The original contract was not written that allowed for just the removal of the animal.  The original was written for construction should be found in the wall.

THERE HAS BEEN NO RESOLUTION OR CARINGNESS.

 

4?23/13

Business Response:

We are still willing to send out our technician to evaluate and advise. While she has paid for the services we have provided to date, if any additional work is needed, there will be additional charges.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In coming to an agreement on the cost, ***, office manager, said to call  him if the stench continued.  I called him at least 3 times to tell him that the smell continued and

I could not use the bedroom or bath and the room was for rent.  He assured me if it continued he would have someone check on it and clean it.  The communications with

*** were eratic.  Sometimes he would listen other times he accused me of calling them liars and be very agitated. 

We are one month later; the stench continues but mother nature has taken a hand it is less, but still uninhabitable.

Pro Pacific may attach their original contract as mine is very light.  ****** ******* sold this job with the RAT IS IN THE WALL OR CEILING!   Therefore:  650 if we find it.  450 if we don't

with construction to the wall.  The men were here 20 minutes, removed the possum and wanted $650.   The office negotiated to 200.00 paid Visa.

They say they have no responsibility in doing the job correctly since it was a discount.

Regards,

******* ****

Business Response:

We continue to offer to send ***** back out to re-inspect and advise.   The discount that was given to Mrs. **** was not on our own accord but rather the amount that she decided the the work was worth.  The signed invoice we have for the work clearly shows the charge for the work to be performed would be $650, which she signed.  We are not asking her to pay the remaining $450 but we are asking that she pay for any addtional work needed..

4/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a BEE problem--thay took care of BEE problem--I had to sign a 12 month--6 time pest contract---I was told this least session was my last time and I owed 70.00$ --I said OK---I just got a BILL for 140.00 ---which includes some sort of cancellation FEE---I have sent in the 70.00 BUT ---I WONT PAY MORE MONEY FOR THEM---I ALSO WILL NOT EMPLOY THEM AGAIN--

Desired Settlement: I will pay the 70 dollars--BUT --I WILL NOT PAY THIS ADDTIONAL FEE ---this was NEVER explained to me

Business Response:

I'm very sorry for any frustration that this customer suffered due to our mistake.  When we start a new pest contract with customers we often will wave the initial service charge and we only charge them their regular recurring service fee.  When customers opt out of the service agreement before the contracted services are completed, we do ask to reclaim that discount we offered in the begining.  This customer had in fact finished all his services as per his agreement with us and he owes us nothing further and was billed in error.  The customer and myself were able to communicate via email and we have resolved the complaint.

 

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired pro pacific pest control to spray for pest in and around my house. The main problem was spiders. The service was absolutely ineffective. I called and had them back to my house multiple times without making any progress against the spiders. I spoke with their representative ***, he told me if he could send a manager out and if I wasn't happy after that he would waive the fee. I told them that I would pay for two services but would not pay them for a cancellation fee, since I was cancelling due to their inability to solve the problem. *** insisted on having the manager come out, which he did. I still wasn't happy. *** then would not hold to the agreement he made. He said since I didn't meet with the manager he wouldn't waive the cancellation fee. Regardless if I met with him or not should not make a difference... Either they fix the problem or I cancel the service. I believe I was more than fair with them. They played games and were unable to provide a any service worth paying for. Be careful if you ever consider working with this company. They're not honest and their service is useless.

Desired Settlement: Refund all of my money.

Business Response: Mr customer received first service in July.  We were called back two months later.., he said spider were showing up again and wanted to cancel service.  We went out and serviced home for free (free retreats are available to our customers).  Our customer service department made a follow up phone call to confirm that service was satisfactory and that his spider problem had been addressed.  There was no answer, so a message was left.  We did not hear from Customer until the next time we were scheduled to service.  We make night before phone calls to our customers as a friendly reminder that we are coming out so they can prepare as necessary e.g. unlock gates to backyard, put dog away, etc...  When we made this phone call customer again expressed his concern with his spider issue.  He allowed us to come out and address the problem, and said "if problem is not resolved can I cancel?"  Service was provided, and again a phone call was made to confirm satisfactory service.  No answer - so we left a message and we received no more phones calls.  Our assumption was that problem had been resolved.  Skip forward a few months to December 20, 2012.  Customer has not paid for service yet...  customer receives an invoice from us on 12/20/12 at 12:20pm (via email).  Customer calls in to complain about service at 3:00pm.  Our office manager arranged to have a field manager go out to customer home to look at the problem and see if we can resolve it...  Customer agreed to have us out on 12/27/12.  BEFORE he would let us come out he asked "if I am still not happy with the service, can I cancel - and get out of cancellation fee?"  Our office manager agreed to those terms.  Our field manager arrived at specified time (between 10-12pm) and knocked on the door.  Mrs. Customer answered the door.  Our field manager told her that we were here to have a look at a persistent spider problem.  Our field manager said that she seemed surprised that we were called out for spiders, and was not aware of any on going spider problem.  Our filed manager was a little confused as well, so he asked to speak with Mr. customer since he was the one that had been dealing with our office and had the concerns, however he was told that Mr customer was asleep and would not be able to speak with us.  At this point Mrs customer said she may know where the spider problem was.  She walked our field manager around the house and showed him a wood pile in the backyard.  After showing him the wood pile she indicated that she had somewhere to be, and needed to leave.  After she left our field manager did a full inspection of the exterior of the home to determine if there were any spider problems closer to the house.  Nothing was found.  He still provided a full preventative treatment at that point.  All the while Mr customer who agreed to have us out at specified time continued to sleep, and never came to speak with our field manager.


Pest Control Service Background
When we get a call from a customer regarding a pest problem we send a tech out to evaluate and provide a free estimate.  Customers are given the option to have a one time service that comes with a 30 day warranty, or they can sign up on our quarterly service where we come out every three months to service the home and provide free retreats when necessary.  There is incentive to sign up on the pest control service because it is cheaper per service.  When our customer agree's to sign up we discount their OTS from $175 down to $88.  The idea being that they are signing up on a reoccurring service as opposed to just a OTS.  This is good for us as a company, and benefits the customer as well.  There is a certain percentage of people that will agree to sign up on the service so that they can get the discount up front.., but have no intentions of staying on the service at all.  In order to protect against that our contract states that the service lasts for one year, and we will provide four paid services within that year - and we seal that contract with an early cancellation fee.  The cost of the cancellation fee is the amount that we discounted up front, when they first signed up.   We feel that this is a fair arrangement, and 99% of our customers feel the same way.  HOWEVER, we also have a 100% satisfaction guarantee, and we state that if we cant solve it we will come out for free to do so.  If after that we still are not able to solve the problem we refund customer in full.  We feel that is fair, and so do 99% of our customers.

After reviewing Mr customers account it is abundantly clear that he did not really have any interest in resolving the problem (because there was no problem).  His only interest was CANCELLATION.  We offered to come out for free and provide follow up treatments at no additional cost.  And he allowed us to each time, but not without saying "if I am still not satisfied, can I cancel, and get out of my cancellation fee?"  After reviewing Mr customers account it seemed that he never complained about a spider problem until he received an invoice, or a call letting him know we were going to come out the next day for paid service.  We made calls after retreats to confirm satisfaction, and we never got calls back about that??  And then we agreed to send a manager out, and made arrangements to accommodate his schedule so we could have a look at the problem and determine whether or not our service technician was neglecting anything.  And, when our manager arrived Mr customer was asleep, and Mrs customer was not really sure what was going on...  After exterior inspection it was determined by our manager that there were no spiders (exterior was all we could do since Mr customer was asleep inside, and Mrs customer had an appointment she needed to be at).

We pride ourselves in exceptional communication.  We pride ourselves in being available to our customers when they need us.  When customers call - we answer.  When customers have concerns - we respond.  We are not always perfect, we certainly make mistakes and fall short occasionally, and when we do we take appropriate action to make things right with our customers.  However, in this case we feel that Mr customer it attempting to take advantage of our discounts up front, and make false accusation's to escape cancellation fees.

By the way: I refer to customers as Mr and Mrs customer not out of disrespect.  I only do that to differentiate between the two, and do not want to use their names as it is against BBB policy.

1/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are receiving collection calls for bills we have paid for on time. We stopped their service specifically because they did not properly manage their billing. In November and December we received notices from the company for past due bills. We tried to clear up the problem but they did nothing. We cancelled our service and then received a request from the business owner, *** ***, to come back. We refused because they did nothing to fix their internal accounting problems. Now they are sending a collection agency after us.

Desired Settlement: Send a letter to us indicating we are 100% paid, stop the collection agency from contacting us in any way, and a written apology from the owner, *** **** indicating they have an internal accounting problem and they (the company and any other agent representing the company) will never contact us again.

Business Response: We provided a few different types of services for customer back in November 2012.  At one point customer had a outstanding balance of $100.  Customer called in to pay this balance with a credit card on 11/14/12.  Our service agent took payment information from customer over the phone.  Payment was entered as $10, and customers credit card was only charged $10 as well.  This left customer with a $90 balance that was due.  We don't record phone calls so it is not possible for us to go back and see what customer intended on paying.  However, we do believe that the customers intentions were to pay the entire $100, not just $10.  Pro Pacific believes that this was key stroke/entry error on our part.  We continued to send bills for other invoices, and this outstanding balance was always mingled in with other invoices.  Customer did not understand why they were getting this bill, and did contact us to resolve the issue back in December of 2012.  We investigated customers account to see if we could identify the problem.  The problem is we were looking for invoice errors, not payment errors, therefore we neglected to see what the problem was.  We thought everything was correct, so allowed system to continue billing as appropriate.


Customer received an automated phone call from us due to $90 outstanding balance.  Customer called us to see what the problem is, and attempt to resolve it - and shortly after filed a complaint with the BBB.  We opened the account again, and this time around we were able to identify the problem.  Problem was, customer called in on 11/14/12 to make a payment of $100 with credit card, and we only charged and recorded a $10 payment.  In other words, our agent on the phone missed a zero (while entering payment).

We feel that this was an error on our part, and are regretful that we were slow to pinpoint the problem.  Obviously this was a waste of time and energy for our customer to have to call us on several occasions before we were able to figure out what happened.  As a result, we have credited customers account for the balance due.  Customer no longer has an outstanding balance with Pro Pacific Pest Control.

*** ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The facts provided by ProPacific are incorrect.  Their accounting that lead to $100 owed does not match the agreements we signed with them.  Their story about the $10 is wrong.  We agreed to $210 payment in November and I mistakenly paid $200.  The $10 charge was done by ProPacific to cover the $10 difference without our permission and knowledge.  We will only accept a resolution that clearly indicates there was no additional balance due, we paid on time, in full, and that the source of the error was an accounting mistake by ProPacific.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response:

  • There is no additional balance due.
  • Customer paid on time and in full.
  • The source of this error was an accounting mistake by Pro Pacific Pest Control.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

9/26/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unreliable service. We paid UP front for a 4 week pest service, came out the twice and now Pro Pest has missed the 3rd schedule time - as well as the reschedule of this 3rd appointment, and now, am not sure if the 3rd appointment that has been reschedule will ever occur!!!It's not that hard to schedule an appointment and make sure the technician shows up is it? If you can't get in, call - you have our number!! It's crazy that we have to track you down to just provide a SIMPLE service - THAT"s your business is it NOT??

Desired Settlement: If the service is not provided in full - would like 50% refund - since you only did 50% of the work!!

Business Response: I called the number provided and was connected with ****** (****'s wife).  I asked if she would be able to discuss the concern they were having or if I should call back for ****.  She said she was willing and able to discuss the problem.  There were 2 appointments that we missed with customer 2 days in a row.  After some investigation talking with the service techs, and talking with ****** I have determined that these missed appointments were due to a communication problem that we (Pro Pacific) had internally.  Our customer is in no way at fault for what has happened here.  I explained the situation to ****** and apologized for the inconvenience.  She was frustrated with the issue because it wasted a lot of her time, and she had every right to be frustrated.  I think we have come up with a resolution however, and we have her on the schedule to provide her 4th and final service 9/21/12. 

At the end of our conversation I asked ****** if she would still like me to call her husband and discuss with him.  She told me no, and indicated that she would let him know that we called and if he had any additional questions for me he could give me a call.

Thanks for your help!

*** ***