Download Download

This business is not BBB accredited.

La Jolla Termite & Pest Control Inc

Phone: (858) 454-4315 Fax: (858) 459-4315 View Additional Phone Numbers 5666 La Jolla Blvd #116, La Jolla, CA 92037 http://www.lajollatermite.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers organic, green and conventional pest control and termite services for residential and commercial consumers.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for La Jolla Termite & Pest Control Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for La Jolla Termite & Pest Control Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on La Jolla Termite & Pest Control Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 2005 Business started: 08/01/2005 in CA Business incorporated 01/17/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 5864.

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 11004.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Owner/Manager
Number of Employees

11

Business Category

Pest Control Services

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, cash, check
Service Area
Serving San Diego County

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5666 La Jolla Blvd #116

    La Jolla, CA 92037 (858) 740-4942 (888) 454-4315 (858) 454-4315

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: La Jolla Termite and Pest Control will not honor their warranty. The fumigation of my house included a 4-year warranty. Near the end of the warranty period, an inspector from La Jolla Termite and Pest Control found termites and recommended re-fumigation. For the past 7 months, I have not been able to get them to perform the fumigation despite several conversations with different employees, another inspection, and messages to the owner, ***** ******** Each conversation ends with promises to get back to me. Meanwhile, the termites continue to eat my house. Available Proof: I have the original contract, a picture of the handwritten inspection report recommending re-fumigation and emails to the company.

Desired Settlement: Pay to have another firm re-fumigate the house and repair the termite damage caused by the delay of warranty service.

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Workmen destroyed 400 roof tiles. Seller paid $600. for new tiles. I paid $2,000 for repairs. I did not contract with vendor to tent my house, but I gave them permission to go onto my roof (not to destroy the roof). I was afraid that it might rain and I would have leaking and mold problems, so I paid to have the work done. The Termite work was contracted between the vendor and the buyers(us) real estate broker. Vendor tried to extort $750 in insurance premium from me. Since I was not a party to the transaction, except to allow them go go up on the roof, I declined.

Desired Settlement: Vendor will reimburse me for my costs.

Business Response: Dear Mr. & Mrs. *****:

Please be advised that I have been retained by La Jolla Termite & Pest Control Inc. to
represent them with regards to the fumigation work performed at *** ***** ****** *****,
****** ****** ********** *****. Please direct all further communications concerning this matter
to this office.

Initially, your attic was going to be heat treated to resolve the termite problem, but about
a week later you decided to proceed with fumigation, At the time the fumigation contracts were
signed, you were informed that you could obtain tile insurance from La Jolla Termite & Pest
Control Inc. for the cost of $750.00. The tile insurance would pay for the repair for any damage
to your tile roof (which acccording to public records is approximately 30 years old) during the
fumigation process. You declined the tile insurance. You were also offered a Tile Replacement
program, which you also declined.

In addition, you signed numerous documents that stated the company would not be
responsible for any damage to the tile roof. The "Fumigation Notice & Disclaimer" states: "THE
ROOF SURFACE AND PERMITER AREAS OF THE BUILDING MUST BE WALKED
UPON, AND DAMAGE WILL OCCUR. THIS COMPANY WILL NOT ASSUME
LIABILITY FOR SUCH DAMAGE OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGE THAT WILL OCCUR
TO ROOFS OR ROOF COVERINGS AND AREAS BELOW SAME ... We will not be held
responsible for these items." Your signature appears at the bottom of that page and is dated
March 7, 2013.

You also signed the "Damage Release Waiver for Tile and/or Metal Roofing." Under the
paragraph entitled "ROOFS", it state~J the following: "We will be fumigating your structure for
the control of drywood termites. In order to put the tarps of the structure we must walk upon
your tile and/or metal roof surface. Due to the fragile nature of these roof surfaces and the
weight of the tarps, DAMAGE WILL OCCUR to your roofing system. We will do our utmost to
ensure damage is kept to a minimum. Keep in mind the roof must be walked upon when it is
covered with the tarp preventing us to see where we are stepping. DAMAGE WILL OCCUR.
Mega Fume, Inc. and/or your licensed termite company assume no responsibility or liability for
damage rooting during the fumigation process. By signing below, you certify that you have read
and understand the above text and will assume all responsibility and liability for damaged
roofing." Your signature appears directly beneath this paragraph and is dated March 7, 2013.

La Jolla Termite & Pest Control Inc. is willing and interested in resolving this matter with
you in an amicable manner. I have advised my client that they are not financially responsible for
the damage that occurred to your roof during the fumigation process; however, despite my
advice, they wish to make you a good faith offer in order to settle this matter. You received a bid
from *** ***** **** ****** prepared by ****** *****, who provided you with a quote of
$2,500.00 to repair the damage to your roof($600.00 for materials and $1,900.00 for labor). My
client is willing to pay $600,00 for the materials to repair your roof. As previously stated, this is
a goof faith offer only and in no manner whatsoever an admission of liability or responsibility for
these damages.

If you elect to take advantage of this opportunity, you must contact this office on or
before April 11, 2013. This offer is more than reasonable considering that La Jolla Termite &
Pest Control Inc. offered you tile insurance, which you declined, and that the fumigation
contract(s) clearly place responsibility for damage to the roof on you. Please also keep in mind
that should you decide to reject this offer and proceed with legal action against my client, the
prevailing party will be entitled to their reasonable attorney's fees and costs.

If you have any questions, I can be reached at ***** ********.

cc: Client(s)
**** ***** (*****************)

Sincerely,

*** ******* ** ****** *******
*** **** ** ******** ***.
Attorney for La Jolla Termite & Pest Control Inc.