Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Knight Pest Control

Phone: (619) 280-2400 Fax: (619) 280-2482 View Additional Phone Numbers 4620 Alvarado Canyon Rd #9, San Diego, CA 92120 http://www.sdpestcontrol.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pest control services, including general pest control and termite eradication for homes and commercial buildings, as well as real estate reports for escrow and wood repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Knight Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Knight Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Knight Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 25, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1989 in CA Business incorporated 03/09/1993 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 5712.

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 8366.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Harris Taub, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harris Taub, President
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, major credit cards
Alternate Business Names
Knight Termite & Pest Control Inc

Additional Locations

  • 4620 Alvarado Canyon Rd #9

    San Diego, CA 92120 (619) 280-2400 (619) 804-8493

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Knight Termite to handle the fumigation of our home. They subcontracted Your Way Fumigation for part of the work. We were told our home would be secure at all times unless a crew was on site. Our home was entered either through an open window or an unlocked door during the night of 11/7/13 and we were robbed. However, it was noted that there was no indication that the window had been entered through because the items around the window were all in place. The thieves stole a safe, jewelry, cameras, a gun collection, cash, a coin collection, and much more. We estimate at this time that we lost close to $10,000 worth of personal items. The fumigation crew arrived Friday morning to take down the tent when they say they noticed an open sliding glass door and open window and that the house had been robbed and ransacked. We were out of town at the time and notified by phone. Our daughter arrived on site sometime later. I contacted the owner of Knight Termite Harris Taub by phone to ask for assistance in handling the situation and he was uncooperative and hostile stating it wasn't his problem. I expressed that as a result of their negligence and the negligence of their subcontractor we had been robbed. Further damage was done when the Sherriff's department fingerprinted items leaving behind black dust that resulted in damaging beyond repair our bedding, carpet in master bedroom and an upholstered dining chair. We feel that Knight Termite is directly responsible for all losses incurred and damages sustained.

Desired Settlement: We expect to be compensated by Knight Termite for all losses and damages.

Business Response: The customer was aware of the conditions that  a tent fumigation is conducted. It states plainly on the termite report  she received on 9/20/2013 that Knight Termite & Pest Control does not provide on-site security or assume any responsibility for the care and custody of the property. In the event of vandalism or breaking and entering. ALL VALUABLES SUCH  AS JEWELERY,COINS,,COLLECTIBLES,PAINTINGS, AND OR CASH,SHOULD BE REMOVED PRIOR TO FUMIGATION.  IT also states on the Occupants Fumigation Notice and Pesticide  Disclosure that all customers must sign. Although your homeowners insurance should cover burglary, just as if it occurred at any other time, we suggest that you remove CASH,VALUABLE JEWELRY,WEAPONS, or another valuables during the fumigation. We cannot be responsible for losses occurring while the building is unattended. As our liability insurance does not cover theft or losses, we recommend renters or homeowners insurance be purchased by the homeowner or tenant.  No company  wants any customer to suffer any loss from our services and we are truly sorry this has happened to Mrs. ********. We are waiting for the police report to determine if there were any standard conditions that were not met by  Your Way fumigation company.

****** **** - president Knight TERMITE & Pest Control

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First I would like to share the wording in my paperwork from Knight Termite: "The structure is uncovered and aeration begins.  During this time the windows and doors will be open while our crew is on the property.  When they leave the structure will again be locked up."  This is not the case.  We spoke in great detail about security of our home with *** ******* the representative from Knight who was our main contact.  He assured us our home would not be left unsecured and it was.  We did not experience a "break in", our home was robbed by someone gaining entry through the negligence of Knight Termites subcontractor.

 
Secondly,  I have attached the police report which shows the probability, that access was gained through an unlocked or open sliding glass door and not through a window.
 
Finally I would like to say that we did not release Knight Termite of liability.  Of course this company should be held responsible for losses that occur due to their negligence.  Also I would add that I have a copy of my contract and paperwork so Mr. ***** response to my complaint by simply quoting the contract once again seems to me to show a lack of cooperation.  

Regards,

**** ********



Business Response: THE COMPLAINT FROM **** ******** HAS BEEN RESOLVED TO HER SATISFACTION


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Knight Pest Control
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart