Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Joshua's Pest Control

Additional Locations

Phone: (858) 547-9900 Fax: (858) 547-9955 6867 Nancy Ridge Dr #E, San Diego, CA 92121 http://www.joshuaspest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pest control services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Joshua's Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Joshua's Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Joshua's Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 2006 Business started: 04/10/2006 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 5021.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Alexander Bayless, Customer Service Manager Mr. Jason Walton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alexander Bayless, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Jason Walton, Owner
Number of Employees

70

Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control


Additional Locations

  • 6867 Nancy Ridge Dr #E

    San Diego, CA 92121

  • 8451 Miralani Dr #F

    San Diego, CA 92126 (858) 547-9900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and requested services be discontinued. Despite our efforts management appears to have knowingly persisted in sending service technicians to our residence. On three separate occasions pesticide and health concerns were explained to intercepted service technicians, which resulted in six separate phone calls to Joshua’s Pest Control and subsequent conversations with their “service managers.” Initially we unwittingly continued to accept the organizations acknowledgment of our verbal intent to discontinue services. However in January and February Joshua’s Pest Control continued submitting ETF’s bills to our financial institution for unrequested services. Unfortunately for my small scale farming plans, during April while away from our residence technicians were again dispatched. This time I arrived home just as they were packing up and after the application of pesticides. I did give the on-site technicians a piece of my mind which included several choice words. Which made me feel batter but did nothing to get back the time spent working toward my organic grower certification. Afterward we again called the customer service manager and explained the situation and again the representative/manager seemed condescendingly apologetic. This time I forwarded a certified letter requesting cancellation of services and I also requested my bank block the EFT for January’s bill and any billing from them on a go forward basis. On June 2nd and July 6th Joshua’s Pest Control sent us a bill for uninvited services rendered. We didn’t know they had come to our residence again but it’s possible they again came by when we weren’t home. No doubt Joshua’s Pest Control is planning to forward the disputed charges to collections. Which will further hamper my self-employment/farming initiatives exacerbating health issues, damaging our credit rating and wasting everyone's time. Further perceived provocation will result in legal against the named.

Desired Settlement: Do not send another bill or service technician to my residence. Any services provided were unwanted, your "managers" were verbally made aware on six separate occasions and then in writing in by way of a certified letter in May. Your service technicians knowingly trespassed to render services after your managers confirmed discontinuation of services.

Business Response:

Mr. ********,
The account for *** **** ****** was under the name "***** ********." The twelve month contract was also signed by ***** ********. The last completed service was on May 5th.

We have the following voice mail and transcripts on the account:

Voicemail:
"Hi this is Mrs. ******** and I know the tech is coming out today. I was hoping that you can you can tell the tech to not put the service slip anywhere on the door. I want him to up it all the way under the doormat. I don't want my husband to know that I am getting the service again. So if you could call me back and just make sure to leave the slip all the way under the mat hiding under the mat. Thank you and call me at ************."

Transcripts:
"
***** transferred call to me and ***** said she wanted to SCHED Q when husband wasn't home. She said she wants the service but her husband wants only organic. I set expectations about our non-organic products and she agreed to SCHED Q SAT 1/31 at w/ 30 min call and arrive after 8am."

"
***** called in and said that *** had been trying to get ahold of her. She mentioned having the service some time when her husband's not home. Transferred the call to ***."


The authorized account holder with Joshua's Pest Control is responsible for the account, and in this case ***** authorized us to spray your home.

As a token of respect I wrote off the $99 balance on the account, and closed the 12 month contract with no early cancellation fee. You will receive no further bills from Joshua’s Pest Control.

Kind regards,
****
Joshua's Pest Control
************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*********** ********

2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales agreement that the door-to-door sales rep provides is somewhat misleading. It states that you must pay a sum of money until the discounted rate is taken into account for. The discounted rate (as it turns out) goes from approx $260 to $69 for the initial service. This I understood, what was unclear until I tried to terminate the agreement was that regardless of the amount of full payments made at $99 each quarter, I must make the entire year of them in order to payoff the dead horse from the initial $69 fee. So now I find myself paying for 6 more months (2 treatments) of service at the $99 rate until I can cancel and get out from under this contract.

Desired Settlement: I just want out of the remainder of the contract without having to pay for it. This may seem irrational, but neither my wife nor I have noticed an appreciable difference in the numbers of pests that are in or near our house and it doesn't make sense to pay for something that is not needed.

Business Response:

Hi Mr. ******,
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your frustration with our service. I take a huge amount of pride in my employees clearly and transparently explaining the twelve month agreement. I do several different things on my end to ensure that my new customers understand the twelve month agreement.

1. On the agreement there is a calendar that details the months we will be completing the first five services.
2. The only thing I put in bold on the agreement is "(12) twelve months".
3. New customers are required to initial the following; "An initial treatment costing less than $219.00 is based on a minimum (12) twelve month agreement as indicated above. If service is cancelled prior to fulfilling the (12) month agreement by refusing to receive or pay for service as indicated in the above calendar and pricing, for any reason, the customer agrees to pay the difference between $219 and the and the discounted price of the initial treatment."
4. Another signature at the bottom confirming that you accept the agreement.
5. A copy of your signed agreement given with you before the service begins.
6. Our office calls before our service begins to go over the agreement over the phone, and confirm that you understand both the agreement and the cancellation reimbursement charge if the account is closed early. The welcome call was completed for Mr. ****** on 6/3/14 at approximately 12:19 P.M..

I hope you can see that I have good intentions, and I that I work hard to ensure that every customer clearly understands what our service entails. Please review our main company BBB page to see that we have no other complaints from our thousands of current customers regarding our agreement.

I want Mr. ****** to feel we have reached a fair resolution. I have two separate proposals:

 
1. In regards to your statement that "neither my wife nor I have noticed an appreciable difference in the numbers of pests that are in or near our house and it doesn't make sense to pay for something that is not needed." The second and final required initial on the agreement was that you understood that we return for free between your quarterly services. In your case you have only used one free warranty service on September the 14th. Treating for snails, ants, and spiders (the pests you marked as your home's largest issues) is a process. I propose that we use your unlimited free warranty services and get the pests under control.

2. If the first proposal does not interest you, I will defer to what you think is fair. If you think that we should close the account immediately, I will agree to any amount you think is fair in regards to the early cancellation reimbursement (in your case $150). If you feel the fairest option is to close the account with no charge I will agree to that as well. If you close the account immediately my only request is that you let me know where we failed to clearly explain the terms of our service so we can avoid any future customers experiencing the same issue.

Again, thank you for letting me know of the mistakes we have made in the six months you have been our customer and I will continue to review our processes to see where we can improve our communication with our new and current customers.

Kind regards,
********* *******
Joshua's Pest Control
858-547-9900


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Joshua's Pest Control
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart