Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hydrex Pest Control

Phone: (858) 695-0455 Fax: (858) 695-9645 View Additional Phone Numbers 9530 Dowdy Dr, San Diego, CA 92126 http://www.hydrexsd.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers termite and pest control services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hydrex Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hydrex Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hydrex Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1972 Business started: 06/01/1921 in CA Business incorporated 10/01/1962 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 1106.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stan Hayes, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stan Hayes, Operations Manager
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control

Alternate Business Names
DEMCO Enterprises Inc
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages


Additional Locations

  • 9530 Dowdy Dr

    San Diego, CA 92126 (858) 695-0455 (800) 735-7378

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I CONTRACTED FOR A TERMITE INSPECTION ON MY HOME AS A CONTINGENCY FOR ESCROW. THE INSPECTION WAS DONE ON AUGUST 1, 2016. TO THIS DAY I HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE TERMITE INSPECTION REPORT. i FIXED THE DESCREPENCY TOLD TO ME BY THE INSPECTOR AND CALLED TO HAVE IT WRITTEN AS CORRECTED ON AUGUST 4, 2016. i HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE COMPLETED REPORT EITHER. I HAVE CALLED SEVERAL TIMES AND BEEN PROMISED IT WOULD BE SENT TO ME VIA EMAIL AS WELL AS TO MY R.E. AGENT TO EXPEDITE THEIR LACK OF TIMELINESS BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE ONLY THING THEY KEEP IS THEIR HOURS. NO CALLS AFTER 5PM

Desired Settlement: I NEED THOSE REPORTS TO COMPLETE MY COMMITMENT TO THE BUYERS OF MY HOME OR THEY CAN CANCEL THE PURCHASE.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

I filed a complaint against Hydrex pest earlier this week. There had been no contact about my termite inspection  for over 1 week. Or for the sign off of repairs. This was putting my real estate transaction in jeopardy.

The day after filing I was in contact with **** ******** fom Hydrex. She said the company had been sending emails as requested but I told her noone on the list had received anything from Hydrex.

Barb went out of her way to insure that the emails were received A.S.A.P. that day. I appreciate her actions but would suggest that there is no customer service like personal service. Maybe they need to pick up a phone to be certain there are no concerns and the job is completed.

Regards,

*** ******

11/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Hydrex Pest control to treat our home for termites ,, on sept 24 2014 their sales agent Syd Naranjo , came to our home and recommended that they would treat the problem with electro gun and D-foam and subterranean termites with Termidor-sc. He said it was not necessary to tent our home because the electro gun treatment would eliminate the infestation , and that the Termidor would also prevent ants from entering our home for up to five years ,, on sept 26th 2014 their crew arrived to do the treatment ,, on Nov 26 2014 we had to have them back again to retreat our house because we found evidence of termite droppings in the same area that supposedly was treated before ,, when their employee left he assured us that the problem was solved. , now again on April 5th 2015 we are suffering the inconvience of them having to do another treatment on the same area. , We feel that we are getting the run around and that their methods are ineffective ,, We paid $2,180 for their recommeded treatment , it has been ineffective to say the least ,, We should have fumigated ,, we would like a full refund for their ineffective method and false promises made by their sales representatives we have also have ant s invading. Our home as well after the treatment ..

Desired Settlement: Since we have given them 3 chances to remedy this problem to our satisfaction ,, and the pest problem still exists , we would like a 100% refund so that we can contract another company to do the job correctly

Consumer Response: Hello, to whom it may concern,

I have settled my complaint with this business , they have retreated our home at no charge..
Please withdraw my case. ...thank you
***** ********

Sent from my iPad

2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Rats at our home, and chose Hydrex to survey the home, and suggest a pest control solution. The initial, FREE, home inspection went fine, and the employee, *****, was competent. He suggested that we would have Four (4) Bait boxes in our yard (we have since found out that this is much more than we need, and indeed INFLATES their price!!!). Apparently, there was a paragraph in their forms that could be regarded, by them, as a CONTRACT, when we believed that we were only signing a form that allowed the pest company access to our yard to place the bait boxes. After several months, I first called, asked to CANCEL their services, and was told "We will NOT DO THAT, YOU HAVE A CONTRACT." No manager would return my calls (X 4). The next month, I sent HYDREX a letter detailing the problems, and asking to cancel, and also to get a call from a MANAGER. On Jan 27, I again called the company, and was told -- "You have a contract, we will NOT STOP YOUR SERVICE." Manager named "Stan" was to have returned my call on Wed, Jan 27, but no call has been received. Since, in good faith, I did not see the actual CONTRACT wording, and thought I was signing a WORK order, I would like to get a final bill, and STOP all services with this unprofessional, at best, company.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of Hydrex services, and no more calls from the employee who has called on Jan 27, and on Jan 28 to REFILL the Bait boxes. I feel that this was a "Bait and Switch operation", from the start. I would NOT RECOMMEND this business to anyone in San Diego!

Business Response:

I attempted to contact *** ********* (complaintent) on 1/28/15, one day before receiving this complaint, with no response. On 10/21/14 *** entered into a signed service agreement for monthly rodent abatement provided by Hydrex pest control. She received a discounted

initial and monthly service charge by agreeing to maintain said monthly service for a minimum period of 12 months as prominently indicated on agreement signed by her. Only after the rodent is*** was resolved at her home did she attempt to take advantage of Hydrex by

claiming we somehow attempted to deceive her, even though the terms of agreement she signed were absolutely clear and readable. Legally, she is liable to pay us a cancellation charge amounting to 50% of the balance of the contract as indicated in service agreement.

As we are not a litigious company. and in the interest of resolving this is***, we are waiving cancellation charge and flagging her file as do not do business with.

**** *****

Operations Mgr.

Hydrex Pest Control


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hydrex Pest Control
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart