Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Hydrex Pest Control?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hydrex Pest Control

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 735-7378 Fax: (858) 695-9645 PO Box 261127, San Diego, CA 92126 http://www.hydrexsd.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers termite and pest control for residential and commercial consumers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hydrex Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hydrex Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hydrex Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1972 Business started: 06/01/1921 in CA Business incorporated: 10/01/1962 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 1106.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stan Hayes, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stan Hayes, Operations Manager
Number of Employees

38

Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control

Alternate Business Names
DEMCO Enterprises
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages


Additional Locations

  • 9530 Dowdy Dr

    San Diego, CA 92196 (800) 735-7378

  • PO Box 261127

    San Diego, CA 92126

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Rats at our home, and chose Hydrex to survey the home, and suggest a pest control solution. The initial, FREE, home inspection went fine, and the employee, *****, was competent. He suggested that we would have Four (4) Bait boxes in our yard (we have since found out that this is much more than we need, and indeed INFLATES their price!!!). Apparently, there was a paragraph in their forms that could be regarded, by them, as a CONTRACT, when we believed that we were only signing a form that allowed the pest company access to our yard to place the bait boxes. After several months, I first called, asked to CANCEL their services, and was told "We will NOT DO THAT, YOU HAVE A CONTRACT." No manager would return my calls (X 4). The next month, I sent HYDREX a letter detailing the problems, and asking to cancel, and also to get a call from a MANAGER. On Jan 27, I again called the company, and was told -- "You have a contract, we will NOT STOP YOUR SERVICE." Manager named "Stan" was to have returned my call on Wed, Jan 27, but no call has been received. Since, in good faith, I did not see the actual CONTRACT wording, and thought I was signing a WORK order, I would like to get a final bill, and STOP all services with this unprofessional, at best, company.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of Hydrex services, and no more calls from the employee who has called on Jan 27, and on Jan 28 to REFILL the Bait boxes. I feel that this was a "Bait and Switch operation", from the start. I would NOT RECOMMEND this business to anyone in San Diego!

Business Response:

I attempted to contact *** ********* (complaintent) on 1/28/15, one day before receiving this complaint, with no response. On 10/21/14 *** entered into a signed service agreement for monthly rodent abatement provided by Hydrex pest control. She received a discounted

initial and monthly service charge by agreeing to maintain said monthly service for a minimum period of 12 months as prominently indicated on agreement signed by her. Only after the rodent is*** was resolved at her home did she attempt to take advantage of Hydrex by

claiming we somehow attempted to deceive her, even though the terms of agreement she signed were absolutely clear and readable. Legally, she is liable to pay us a cancellation charge amounting to 50% of the balance of the contract as indicated in service agreement.

As we are not a litigious company. and in the interest of resolving this is***, we are waiving cancellation charge and flagging her file as do not do business with.

**** *****

Operations Mgr.

Hydrex Pest Control

1/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/29/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our **** ******* *** ******** was subject to several Termite Inspections prior to our purchase and closing on 23 March 2012. In August 2011, ***** and ****** *******, then-owners of the property at **** ******* **** *** ****** ** ****** contracted Hydrex for a termite inspection in preparation for selling their home. Hydrex performed an inspection and found extensive termite infestation in the main house, garage and studio. A 3 August 2011 Hydrex report included an alternative local treatment recommendation in addition to the primary recommendation of fumigation. The *******s elected to pursue the local treatment option. In March 2012, as part of the process for purchasing the property, the previous owners contacted Hydrex for a reinspection. Again, Hydrex found only a few issues and based on their recommendations and desire by the then owners to avoid any use of toxic pesticides, the local treatment option was selected. As prescribed by the Structural Pest Control Board and the title company, Hydrex issued on 12 March 2012 a certification stating that the property was free of evidence of active termite infestation or infections. Based on this certification, we proceeded with the purchase of the property.Within two weeks of closing, we discovered evidence of active termites within the doorframe of the studio, as well as evidence of termite damage to multiple areas of the main house, garage and studio. Note, we did not receive an inspection report from the first visit, 9 April 2012. At that time Hydrex representative, ****** *******, reassured us that Hydrex would be responsible for any repairs that would be required. Subsequent to that initial visit, your inspectors and we have discovered more evidence of termite infestation. This evidence has been documented in the Hydrex inspection reports dated 24 April 2012 and 11 May 2012. Additionally, photographs of the areas with termite damage can be found at ***************************************************************** As we progressed to amiably remedy this situation we made nearly every other day calls to Hydrex and more often than not our calls were not returned.We finally got through to Hydrex management and made our case and as a result a Hydrex contracted carpenter came by to assess the needed repairs. He discovered even more damage and was clearly surprised by the extent of damage and how much was missed during the inspections. His tally of needed repairs was extensive and he submitted those to Hydrex. After not hearing from Hydrex after we were told we would within days of the carpenters assessment , after several unreturned calls we got through to Hydrex to have a Secretary tell us all management was busy but that the repair tally had yet to be approved by management. Finally getting through to Hydrex we were told they would be sending another contractor out to assess the damage. This Contractor arrived the next week and found even more damage and expressed his concern over the extent of the damage and the extensive and costly repairs needed. He said he would submit his report to Hydrex and we would hear from Hydrex. Again only after repeated calls to Hydrex did we find out that Hydrex was going to contract the first contractor to the do the repairs and he would come back to reassess the repair needs and we set up with him a date to start, but again asked for a work list, which we never got.As we pressed to have Hydrex repair the damage and adequately treat the property, our calls that did get answered or responded to ended up escalating through various levels of Hydrex management ending in two calls that finally got through to **** ***** the Operations Officer. In my one call I explained how I kept finding more evidence of pests and as a simple homeowner felt a professional inspection was needed. Only after pressing for this did Mr. ***** agree to send his best guys out to inspect the entire property assuring me Mr ******* and his VP and General Manager *** ********* along with a couple techs would inspect the property and made an appointment later to do so. When the team arrived *** ********* did not show up and Mr ******* explained he was expectedbut he never showed up. This meant the inspection would be conducted by Mr ******* who had done the earlier inspections and that no Hydrex management would be witness to the condition of the home. After this inspection was nearing completion in which even more infestation was discovered, Mr ******* called the carpenter to ask him to come by to reassess repairs give the additional damage discovered. The carpenter showed up several hours later and assessed the increased work needed, and found some additional damage. My wife and I then called Hydrex regularly and after being asked who was calling we were told on multiple occasions that neither Mr ***** or ********* were available. I finally go to Mr ***** after several days and asked for his assurances that all found work would be done and that we had yet to see any documentation by Hydrex as to what work would be done. Mr ***** assured me all work would be done, when I pressed that I still did not know what all work was he became defensive and said it was all things listed in the inspection by Mr ******* and the techs. I explained that the carpenter and I had found even more damage and that needed to be in the report and I would like to get a written copy of all work to be performed. Again Mr ***** mentioned the report and said the carpenter would be here as scheduled inferring I would then know the work to be done. I called the carpenter who said he had his list and assumed Hydrex was committed to the repairs he felt were needed.Work to replace damaged wood and treat surrounding areas locally was scheduled to begin Wednesday, 30 May. After finding more damage the weekend before I called Hydrex to report even more work would be needed. Mr ***** then contacted my wife and told her I was damaging would that could be repaire

Desired Settlement: Hydrex submit a detailed work to be done plan, put the plan into action and make repairs to all noted termite damage and complete full house fumigation when done.

Business Response:

Although Mr. ****** has grossly distorted his claims of non-response from our company regarding the issues on his home, I do not care to engage with him in such schoolyard antics. We are obligated to perform corrective measures on his home and it is our plan to do so in a timely fashion.

**** *****

Operations Manager

Consumer Response:

********

We continue to wait for Hydrex to do the work they must and per my last complaint --to actually get from Hydrex exactly what they are going to do. THe State Pest Regualtion Inspector and Hydreex will be on the property tomorrow to try and resolve what the order said must be repaired  and what Hydrex is going to ensure they do. Had yet another poor interface with Hydrex last week when they said they comitted to fixing everything, sent the crew out to fix it on Saturday and then on Monday after the second day of work packed up and left saying Hydrex pulled them off the job after we pointed out some substandard repairs, and noted they were refusing to do work called for in the order and in retrospect what are now code violations.

Long story short we continue to have to go to extremem lengths to get things fixed and fixed right after over 9 months. Only now with Hydrex facing fines and punitive actions come Friday for not complying with the state order we can only hope tomorrow's session will get this on track to resolution.

Yours turly, ****