Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hume & Company Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (760) 598-2201 Fax: (760) 598-2224 View Additional Phone Numbers 1949 Avenida Del Oro, Oceanside, CA 92056 http://www.humetermite.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers termite inspection and pest control services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hume & Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hume & Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hume & Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 2004 Business started: 07/24/2003 in CA Business incorporated 06/19/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 4369.

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 10741.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jamie Hume, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jamie Hume, Vice President
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Pest Control Services


Additional Locations

  • 1949 Avenida Del Oro

    Oceanside, CA 92056 (760) 598-2201 (760) 598-2202

  • PO Box 1128

    Vista, CA 92085

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was given an estimate for $1350 for fumigation and $1250 for repairs. I called to find out what the repairs were and to itemize them. Still waiting for that. I also told Dan Hume I wanted to pay for the fumigation with my credit card. I called numerous times for the breakout on the repairs and still never was given a break out. I decided to forget the repairs and just pay for the fumigation. I called to pay and was told they do not accept credit cards.I was never told this was a cash transaction,$1350 is not something I normally pay by cash, unless I am offered a discount.There is nothing on their invoices nor was I told this. I have been trying to pay but I want to charge it. I find it hard to believe a business charging these amounts does not accept credit cards.I have called and emailed numerous times to resolve this but *** Hume has not had the courtesy to return my calls.

Desired Settlement: Accept my credit card or give me a cash discount.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

Spoke with the home owner in regards to the complaint that we do not accept credit cards. After discussing this with ******, we agreed to deduct 5% off her bill. She agreed with the terms and is sending in payment for the work completed by our firm.

Thanks

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hume & Company Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)