Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pest control, household fumigation, furniture fumigation, marine service, termite reports, commodity and quarantine fumigation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Harbor Termite and Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Harbor Termite and Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Harbor Termite and Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 08, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1948 in CA Business incorporated 06/27/1977 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 441.

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 6316.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Augustine, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Augustine, President
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Pest Control Services Fumigation Services

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, All major credit cards including, Visa, Master Card, American Express, and Discover.
Alternate Business Names
Harbor Fumigation Harbor Pest Control Inc Special Touch Pest Control Services

Additional Locations

  • 6160 Fairmount Ave #K

    San Diego, CA 92120 (619) 584-8155 (888) 295-7378 (619) 584-8182 (888) 586-4816

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My experience with Harbor Pest has been a disaster. I have contacted them to rectify the situation. Their response was to blame me for expecting a termite inspection and service to identify all termites and remove them, to make excuses, and further to claim that I told the inspector to make an incomplete inspection--which I did not. A customer has a reasonable expectation that a termite company will perform an inspection and remove all termites. This is not what happened. Unfortunately, this is only the first of my complains with Harbor. Today, December 16, 2013 I learned that Harbor is claiming I did not pay for the service performed. This showed up in an escrow document where they are claiming I owe them a total amount of $1075.00. This includes a down payment of $212.00 on a check that has cleared the bank. I paid the full amount of $863.00 on November 1, 2013. However, Harbor must have lost or misfiled this check because it has not cleared the bank. Because I just learned of this today I stopped payment on the lost check tonight at an additional personal cost. Below I will paste the letter I wrote to Harbor Pest. December 5, 2013 **** ******* Office Manager Harbor Pest Control **** ******** **** ***** * *** ****** ** ***** Dear Ms. ******* On October 4, 2013, your pest inspector **** ***** came to **** ******** ****** and did a termite inspection, I accepted Harbor’s bid for work, and the work was performed on October 23, 2013. My goal in hiring Harbor Pest to complete this task was to treat the house for termites so that any and all the termites would be removed. Unfortunately, while this is what I paid Harbor for, this was not the result. On November 26, 2013, less than five weeks later, **** returned to my property and informed me that I had subterranean termites. Imagine my shock in finding that the job I had hired Harbor to do was not complete. This is hard to swallow and I was told treatment for this would cost an additional $550. In addition, on this visit, **** found many other instances of areas where termite repairs would be required before he would “sign off” on a termite inspection for escrow. I am writing you because it is clear **** did not do a proper inspection for damage the first time and additionally, failed to organize a complete termite treatment—the first time. I am now faced with over $5000 in additional costs and the possible loss of a sale of my home because of Harbor Pest’s errors. I have been a homeowner and landlord for over 25 years so I have had many opportunities to work with talented and competent contractors --and I have never had a problem. The situation has been extremely upsetting for my family and damaging to my escrow...

Desired Settlement: Below I will paste the remainder of the letter I wrote to Harbor Pest. ...For these reasons, I am requesting Harbor Pest consider good customer and public relations and complete the termite treatment and the additional repairs **** found at Harbor’s expense.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******:

We have received your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau.  We understand that you may feel otherwise, however we have continued throughout this process to provide to you the service you indicated at each stage in this process.  We are endeavoring to be forthright in our responses to you and others involved. 

A Limited Inspection and Report dated 10/04/13 was sent to you well before any work was performed.  The inspection report describes what was inspected, what was not inspected and our recommendations for the findings which included fumigation for drywood termites and repairs to drywood termite damage.  If our inspector had been aware of your desire to sell this home, we would have insisted on a full inspection. Ms. ******, we are required to give you this report before we perform the work so there is no misunderstanding.  There was no fine print, in fact; plainly on the front page, it states that a Limited Report was performed.  On the second page, the top paragraph clearly states that a Limited Report was performed.  At that time we offered you a price for fumigation and inquired if you would like a bid for repairing the damage found.  You decline the repair bid but accepted the bid for fumigation.  Based upon this inspection report you chose to have Harbor Pest Control perform your fumigation.  The fumigation was completed on 10/21/2013. 

In mid-November your agent contacted our office to schedule full inspection for the purpose of selling this home.  He was informed at that time and understood that the inspection report from October 2013 was not sufficient for the sale of the home.  We returned to your home and performed a full inspection and report for escrow at no additional cost to you.  During that inspection we found, disclosed to your (or your agent) and bid upon additional termite treatment needed.  The additional damage repairs found are beyond our scope of work.  As is our policy, we offered to refer you to a reputable termite repair company.  You agreed to have Best Rate Repair bid upon the termite/fungus damage repairs.

Regarding payment for the fumigation, we mailed an invoice upon completion of the fumigation in October showing the total due of $863.00 (Fumigation price of $1075.00 less the deposit paid of $212.00).  Although this balance was due within 30 days of the completion date, we understood that you were in the process of a sale of the home and had raised concerns.  We chose not to push the issue of payment while attempting to resolve your concerns.  As a result of not questioning payment, neither you nor we were aware that your final payment for the fumigation had not arrived at our office.  The question of fumigation payment came up during a telephone conversation between the escrow company, you and **** *********** on 12/16/13 at approx. 4:20pm.  We did not send the invoice to the escrow company until after this conversation.  We thank you for visiting our office the next day to resolve the balance on your account.  Upon your approval we also sent the paid invoice to the escrow company.

Apart from your concerns, we have continued to respond to you and your realtor’s requests for service in order to assist in the expedient close of the sale.  To that end, I understand that your Realtor has scheduled to have the subterranean termites treated on 12/24/13.  We have received your signed work authorization for this treatment and the cost of $550.00.  We will mail you an invoice as soon as the work is complete.  At the request of your realtor, we have also scheduled a re-inspection of the repairs being completed by others.  It is our hope that your escrow will close in a timely manner.

Please understand it is not our intent to antagonize you at all.  We understand your position and we now hope you understand ours.

We do wish you best in this Holiday Season.

Sincerely,

******* ************

Vice President

Harbor Pest Control Inc.

6160 Fairmount Ave Ste K

San Diego CA 92120

###-###-#### office

****@harborpest.com

 

Dear Ms. ******:

We have received your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau.  We understand that you may feel otherwise, however we have continued throughout this process to provide to you the service you indicated at each stage in this process.  We are endeavoring to be forthright in our responses to you and others involved. 

A Limited Inspection and Report dated 10/04/13 was sent to you well before any work was performed.  The inspection report describes what was inspected, what was not inspected and our recommendations for the findings which included fumigation for drywood termites and repairs to drywood termite damage.  If our inspector had been aware of your desire to sell this home, we would have insisted on a full inspection. Ms. ******, we are required to give you this report before we perform the work so there is no misunderstanding.  There was no fine print, in fact; plainly on the front page, it states that a Limited Report was performed.  On the second page, the top paragraph clearly states that a Limited Report was performed.  At that time we offered you a price for fumigation and inquired if you would like a bid for repairing the damage found.  You decline the repair bid but accepted the bid for fumigation.  Based upon this inspection report you chose to have Harbor Pest Control perform your fumigation.  The fumigation was completed on 10/21/2013. 

In mid-November your agent contacted our office to schedule full inspection for the purpose of selling this home.  He was informed at that time and understood that the inspection report from October 2013 was not sufficient for the sale of the home.  We returned to your home and performed a full inspection and report for escrow at no additional cost to you.  During that inspection we found, disclosed to your (or your agent) and bid upon additional termite treatment needed.  The additional damage repairs found are beyond our scope of work.  As is our policy, we offered to refer you to a reputable termite repair company.  You agreed to have Best Rate Repair bid upon the termite/fungus damage repairs.

Regarding payment for the fumigation, we mailed an invoice upon completion of the fumigation in October showing the total due of $863.00 (Fumigation price of $1075.00 less the deposit paid of $212.00).  Although this balance was due within 30 days of the completion date, we understood that you were in the process of a sale of the home and had raised concerns.  We chose not to push the issue of payment while attempting to resolve your concerns.  As a result of not questioning payment, neither you nor we were aware that your final payment for the fumigation had not arrived at our office.  The question of fumigation payment came up during a telephone conversation between the escrow company, you and **** *********** on 12/16/13 at approx. 4:20pm.  We did not send the invoice to the escrow company until after this conversation.  We thank you for visiting our office the next day to resolve the balance on your account.  Upon your approval we also sent the paid invoice to the escrow company.

Apart from your concerns, we have continued to respond to you and your realtor’s requests for service in order to assist in the expedient close of the sale.  To that end, I understand that your Realtor has scheduled to have the subterranean termites treated on 12/24/13.  We have received your signed work authorization for this treatment and the cost of $550.00.  We will mail you an invoice as soon as the work is complete.  At the request of your realtor, we have also scheduled a re-inspection of the repairs being completed by others.  It is our hope that your escrow will close in a timely manner.

Please understand it is not our intent to antagonize you at all.  We understand your position and we now hope you understand ours.

We do wish you best in this Holiday Season.

Sincerely,

******* ***********,

Vice President

Harbor Pest Control Inc.

6160 Fairmount Ave Ste K

San Diego CA 92120

###-###-#### office

****@harborpest.com

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I want to resolve this issue without getting **** Chase into more trouble.  My experience with Harbor and its affiliates was a very unprofessional one and I have detailed files and photographs at my perusal.  I would be satisfied if Harbor considered good public relations and agreed to send me a check for $550 to cover the sub-t treatment. 

Regards,

**** ******



Business Response: February 11, 2014

Ms. Sarah Goelz

The Better Business Bureau

Via BBB Website

            RE:       Complaint from Ms. **** ******

                        Complaint ID #:  *******

Dear Ms. ******

Thank you for the extensions you have awarded Harbor Pest Control as we work through the concerns of Ms. ******.

We apologize for the delay in responding to Ms. ******’s rebuttal.  After additional review, Harbor Pest Control continues to feel we have provided the service requested by Ms. ****** at each step in the process.

However, in the interest of good public relations and to maintain our strong standing with the Better Business Bureau; we agree to refund the cost of the subterranean treatment that was performed on December 24, 2013.  The cost of this treatment was $550.00. 

The refund check will be available for Ms. ****** at our office.  Ms. ****** can contact our office the week of February 17, 2014 to arrange to sign the Release of Claims and pick up her refund. 

Thank you for your patience as we have worked to resolve this complaint.  Please contact me immediately if you or Ms. ****** have any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

**** *******, Office Manager

for **** *********, Owner

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******

9/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Harbor Pest control and contracted with them to provide Termite tenting and insurance for a personal property around 2010. After the original inspection and tenting, they refused to provide any follow-up treatments when termite activity was detected, even by professionally contracted roofers in June 2013. The service associates refused to test the roof for infestation without having the roofers return at my expense. The service associate refused to check the attic space as he could not fit. A complaint was left with the service technician without a response. A complaint was then left with their customer service desk without a response. I was contacted to re-new with them for another year, and a follow-up complaint was delivered to their customer service representative Aug 20th that got the response... 'We'll get back to you in one or two days'. I followed up again Aug 29th, and received my first phone call from ****, who explained her VP is out of town, and proceeded to lecture me why everything the service technician did was right, and I am wrong as a home owner to expect their employees to check for termite activity. Her last note was to let me know that my policy expired one day prior on Aug 28th, and chastised me that I should not have commented that one of their employees was too large to inspect my attic or roof. The company advertises comprehensive termite coverage, but does not come through. Their field representatives and customer service desk upsell that all incidents are not under warranty unless you pay upcharges for additional treatments. After a few years as a customer, every service call for active infestations were always met with a "that's not covered". I always had to treat infestations myself with Home Depot bought supplies. Home owners be weary.

Desired Settlement: This company advertises termite coverage, but does not come through, so I'm asking for a refund of my last year's dues. They have never treated my home since the original tenting even when called to the property and seeing visible signs of activity. Even if I do not receive a refund, maybe this can forewarn other customers they may be treated as a nuisance rather than a policy holder.

Business Response:

Dear *** ***** *****, BBB Representative:

Although disappointed that my team and I have not come through for the customer, I do feel that the customer's Desired Settlement is reasonable.  As requested by the customer under the Desired Settlement portion of their complaint, I put a check in the mail for a refund of the customer's last year's dues.  Attached to this email is a copy of the check and my letter, which accompanied the check. 

I am disappointed that we did not come through for this customer.  My team and I are committed to learn from this experience so that we are able to improve our service and customer relations in order to meet the Pest and Termite Control needs of our customers.

Please let me know if you have any questions or need anything else from me.  Thank you for your help resolving this complaint.

Sincerely,

**** ********** Owner


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Harbor Termite and Pest Control
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)