Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers pest control services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Corky's Pest Control Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

52 Customer Reviews on Corky's Pest Control Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 50
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 52

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1978 Business started: 03/18/1967 in CA Business incorporated 03/16/1970 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
The number is 1382.

Dept. of Agriculture
5555 Overland Ave, San Diego CA 92111
Phone Number: (858) 694-2739
The number is 31164.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Harry Mizer, CEO Ms. Nancy Schaible, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harry Mizer, CEO
Number of Employees


Business Category

Pest Control Services Fumigation Services Termite Control Bee Removal Lawn Maintenance

Method(s) of Payment
American Express
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 909 Rancheros Dr

    San Marcos, CA 92069 (760) 432-8801 (800) 901-1102


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Though we were initially apprehensive using Corkys, due to so many online customer complaints re: Mis-communications and customers complaining about being hit with suprise charges, fees, bills later.    This is why I was very careful in confirming with Corkys rep *** numerous times, that Corky's treatment will locate and treat (all the termites in home), and he confirmed that there where no hidden stipulations or suprises that we needed to be aware of, and *** confirmed that All termites in home will be treated , for the best possible price he can give at (1,680.00 Total) and with a Full 4 year warranty on entire home, with no suprises, gimmicks. All Termite info was given to Corky reps, especially Mr ***, whom I spoke with approx 3 times or more.( Even offered to email current termite report (Showing both Drywood & Sub Termites found in home), but he advised that report email not neccessary, as we have already confirmed that we have the termites in our home, and that he will just send a Corkys rep to stop by and take a quick look to schedule out job.      However, even after all of this, their termite rep ******* showed up to set up treatment , he was at least very nice & professional, but after quick inspection he now tells us that the Corkys job, as he was told only covers the Drywood termites only, and the Subterranean termites, to treat, will be an addtl 1,200.00 charge. My wife and I both were in shock, as to where these huge addtl charges come from, that were never even mentioned by anyone until now, especially since both species of termites were confirmed with Corkys office many times before appt.  We have since called and emailed Mr ***** *****, and *********/Corky's Corp Management (*************************) (**********************) numerous times to try to obtain help and resolve, they have not even bothered to reply or show any integrity or concern for us, even as a first time customer.

Desired Settlement: As first time clients, we feel they have intentionally & unlawfully tried to Bait & switch on our agreed pricing, just as many of their other customers have complained about online. As per our confirmed Quote/ agreement with ***, we would still like (All termites Species) on entire home fully treated , for the best possible price he quoted us for (1,680.00 Total) and with a Full 4 year warranty on entire home.

Business Response:

In the process of investigating into why the ******’s concerns were not attended to promptly, it was discovered that they directed their concerns, via email, to email addresses that were no longer valid. Customer concerns are important to us and we strive to answer those concerns promptly.

In our first contact with the ******’s, the conversation was directed toward the detached structure and the treatment for the drywood termites, known to be present in this structure.  We bid the detached structure at $1680 (over the phone as we advertise) for the treatment of drywood termites, and we assured the ******’s that all of these termites would be exterminated by our treatment.  Our service technician was asked, while on the property attending to the required report for the detached structure, to also inspect the main structure (the home) and found Subterranean termites and at this point gave the additional quote of $1200.00 to treat for this separate problem. The treatment for drywood termites is vastly different than that for subterranean termites.

We have agreed to include the main structure, the home, in the 4-year warranty for drywood termites, that normally would only cover the detached structure.  This will make us responsible for any new or future treatment for this species, drywood termites, for 4 years. 

We regret the ******’s misunderstanding and assure them that our treatments for drywood and subterranean termites and the warranty we offer, are unparalleled and our pricing for these treatments are the best in the industry.  We cannot include the treatment for Subterranean termites in the $1680 bid as the main house was not part of the original bid.

We would hope the ******’s understand our position.  We are in business today, because we provide excellent services performed by industry professionals at pricing that most often beats our competitors. 

It is the ******’s decision to hire us or not as there has been no contract signed or commitment made. We would certainly appreciate their business. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Hello BBB,

     How ironic, After Viewing all Corky's many other online complaints re: these ***e issues, that is pretty much the response we expected from them. That is  all merely a Mis-communication, and that we had the wrong email contact etc.

As mentioned I have left a few phonecall messages for ********* and Corky's upper management, in which were always told, she or they are in a manager's meeting, they will call you back as soon meeting finished, so obviously these were all intentional lies to customer, in which Corky's management never intended to bother calling us back. 

Thank you for all your  help BBB in trying to resolve, but this company has done nothing but waste our time, so now we will just file our complaints with the  (Structural Pest Control Board) at this point.



******* ******

4/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
12/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Corkys came to my house and sprayed for ants, i then paid the technician. A few weeks later the ants returned and i called Corkys to inform them that the ants had returned. Corkys scheduled for another technician to return in which he did and sprayed for ants. Corkys then billed me again and are now harassing me to pay them.

Desired Settlement: Quit harassing me to pay.

Business Response:

Ms. xxxxxxxx,

After a review of the file we emailed you of your call with our customer service rep it was clear that you agreed to an ongoing service to be paid monthly.  However, at this time we have removed your balance bringing your account to zero and have removed you from the maintenance program.   

Thank you,

Corky's Pest Control

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


***** ********

12/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a Formal Complaint against Corky's Pest Control, Inc., located in San Marcos, CA. I only contacted Corky's Pest Control one (1) time during the summer to conduct a termite inspection in my house as a requirement, in part, for a home appraisal conducted earlier this summer (2015). During the termite inspection, I asked the technician to do a "ONE (1)" time front and back of my house treatment for ants. At which time, I wrote a personal check and paid for the service in full. That is the "ONLY" time that I requested and authorized that service. At NO time after the treatment did I request, authorize nor even want any further services to be performed by Corky's Pest Control. Since then, Corky's Pest Control has been falsely billing me for services that I did not request, or authorize, and for services that were never performed. I have an iron gate in front of my house, that you can't climb over or under, and a gate the leads to the back and sides of my house, of which both are ALWAYS Closed and Locked at All Times. You cannot even get near my front door unless I am there to unlock the iron gate. That is how I Know Corky's Pest Control invoices are fabricated and that no additional services could have been provided without my knowledge, consent and personal presence. When I arrived home from work, I noticed that a pre-printed invoice was wedged in my iron gate, which also meant that someone just made up an invoice, left it on my gate and expected me to pay for a service never performed, requested, authorized or wanted; on my property that NO ONE can gain access to without me there to UNLOCK and OPEN not one, but TWO GATES. At the very least this is very unprofessional business conduct; and if this continues will raise to a level of Harassment and Fraud, of which I will seek legal action to stop.

Desired Settlement: After receiving the first fabricated invoice, that someone stuck on my front iron gate, I sent a message to Corky's Pest Control, using their own Website that there invoice was invalid; of which that message was copied and documented for legal purposes. At this point and forevermore, I want Corky's Pest Control to NEVER contact me again for any reason, as I want Nothing to do with them. Additionally, I want Corky's Pest Control to STOP sending me fabricated invoices for services I did not request, authorize, or want. The contents hereto have also been copied and documented for legal purposes as of this day on Tuesday, October 6, 2015.

Business Response:

After further review I have confirmed that this account has been cancelled and has a zero balance.

********* *****

******** ********* ** ***** *****

O: ************     C: ************


Corky’s Pest Control

*** ********* *** 
*** ******* ** *****

6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/12/2015 I contracted Corky's to provide termite remediation to my property. They agreed to service my property on 5/14/2015. I asked that my disabled wife be called before their arrival. That did not happen (tech had wrong name and phone number for my wife: "*******" vice "*******" and ******** vice ********). Structural repairs were to be completed by a subcontractor on 5/18/2015 and Corky's rep *** was to meet me on 5/20/2015 to approve the work. That has yet to happen. The subcontractor piled the debris from the job on my wife's flowerbed and did not return as promised to remove and dispose of the debris. After repeated emails to ***** ******** of Corky's the sub returned to dispose of the debris on 5/21/2015. Having reached my threshold of pain with the way Corky's staff was treating me, I requested Mr. ******** forward my email to Corky. Mr. ******** replied that he had forwarded my complaints the company's COO. Now 2 weeks later I have heard nothing from anyone. I am unhappy that I was required to pay for services before they were performed despite the fact that the contract I signed states that payment for services is due 30 days after services are completed. I am unhappy that my wife was not notified that people were on my property. I am unhappy that my wife's flowerbed was destroyed. I am unhappy that *** never came to show me the work that was done and that I had paid for in advance. But I am most unhappy that I have heard nothing in the form of acknowledgement of any of my complaints or an apology from anyone for the horrible customer service I received throughout this entire ordeal. From mis-spelling my wife's name to the shoddy cleanup and the promises not kept, I don't get why I was treated this way. If my complaints were in fact forwarded to someone higher in the company than Mr. ********, it would have been at the very least professional for someone to respond. I tried with Corky to no avail. I now have no choice but to go to the BBB for help.

Desired Settlement: Having given Corky's ample opportunity to respond to my complaints and make me feel better about my experience and having heard absolutely nothing from Corky or anyone else and having paid full price IN ADVANCE for services that, as of this date, have STILL not been completed to my satisfaction, I believe a refund of 1/2 of the price I paid is in order. Each aspect of my entire experience with Corky's received 1/2 the attention I would expect from Corky's staff and sub contractor; therefore I think Corky's deserves 1/2 the money I gave them UP FRONT. I wish I had used a credit card. Live and learn.

Consumer Response: I am very pleased to report that Corky himself of Corky's Pest Control phoned me last Thursday 6/11/2015 and was very receptive to my complaint. Furthermore, he agreed to refund 1/2 of the charges I had paid with no argument whatsoever. I received that check on Saturday 6/13/2015. This has settled my complaint to my complete satisfaction.

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Corky's Pest control come out to my house to spray for Black Widow spiders in 09/14. They did not do what they said that they were going to do which was to spray under the mobile home and in the sheds on my property. Their technician said that he did not know how to spray under the mobile home. I told them that I would call them to do it the next time if they did it correctly and I had to be at home to see that it was done correctly. the next thing knew, they billed me for services in 11/14 that I did not authorize. I called them several times and the operator said that she would transfer me to the person who could help me. That person did not answer and I left a message telling them the problem. I never received a call back. Now, they have been sending me collection notices for that $49 charge. They have no email address so I sent them a message through their website. A lady called me back and said that I was supposed to cancel service through a cancellation service. No one had ever informed me about this before. She would not listen to me and refused to remove the bill or stop sending me notices. I did not order this ongoing service and I do not owe for the service that they came out unauthorized because I did not want them at my house without my knowledge or advance notice.

Desired Settlement: Remove the unauthorized charge and stop billing me.

Business Response:

We are sorry you had a less than exceptional experience with our company.  As of May 4, the $49 charge was removed from your account.  We appreciate the opportunity to correct this situation for you.

Corky's Pest Control

1/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: on dec 11 i called to make a payment for the month of november, i ok'd it with billing dept. having a payment due for the december service was in a couple of days, as they request payment at time of service, the employee told me she was going to again submit payment on thursday.My reply to her was "Oh no you are not i will call you when i want the bill paid". well today dec 22 i called to pay the bill and i was told the bill had already been paid. upon looking in my bank account i WAS billed again. oh my goodness. i called the manager of billing dept. I told him i was making a report to the BBB, he did apologize and offered me a discount for my next monthly service. i declined the discount and just would like to make you aware I then had him remove all of my billing information and now will send them a personal check. By the way the service I do receive from the technician is awesome. I am very pleased with the technician.

Desired Settlement: for the employees of the billing dept to NOT charge until the customer authorizes it. she was specifically told to not bill.

Business Response: First we would like to thank you for the compliment to our service and our technician; we take great pride in both. Second, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you. However this did bring to light a system error which we were unaware existed. We now know what to do differently to prevent such a thing from happening again. As for future services and payments, we are in transition to an entirely better system which we expect will prevent any such errors from occurring!
Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

Corky's Pest Control

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


******** ****

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Going with Corky's, even as a test case has been a terrible mistake. I was mislead at the outset by ***** *****. I was told that bed bug treatments would cost $375 considering the size of our portfolio and the number of bed bug jobs we do monthly. This agreement was no upheld after work began. $375 was for the first room (living room) and $75 was charged for each room thereafter. Further I was never informed that initial inspections would be charged at an additional $75. I never got any agreements in writing so shame on me. The issue at hand is an inspection of18 units where I was charge $1350 for a 3 hour inspection (1:30 to 4:30 PM on 8/20/14). The initial invoice which was sent to me by mistake reports on it "do not discuss pricing with client" and that is a direct quote from the invoice. This appears to be a malicious attempt to mislead and overcharge. Further, the invoice that was sent to me reported no issues found. After several emails requesting the result of the inspection, I was sent pictures of the notes the inspector took for 13 of the 18 units.

Desired Settlement: I think that $1350 is not a fair price for a 3 hour inspection. I think a more than fair bill would be $100 per hour which would be a $300 invoice.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


****** *********

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a termite inspection. Sales person and tech said the heat treatment would heat the attic to 150-160 degrees. We had a heat gage in the area. The temp got to 94 and 82 in the two areas. It gets hotter than that in the summer. The tech said there was no way the treatment worked and they would have to come out with two people and three heaters to complete the job. After phone calls from the office we were told they had completed the work per the contract and if we did not pay, they would place a lien on the property. We sent a letter stating all with a timeline of what happened along with a notice that should we not receive a visit from the General Manager by Feb 4 we would be filing a complaint. We have no problem paying for the service, but we want the service complete. It appears they have no intention in doing this. Please help.

Desired Settlement: We have no problem paying for the service, but we want the service complete.

Business Response: Re: BBB Complaint #*******

Ms. ******, 

It seems to me that there has been a misunderstanding regarding your service and because of that I would like to offer my apologies.  Based on your inspection report the price we quoted and the heat treatment performed was for two of your five attic spaces, as far as I can see the remaining three attics were neither quoted or treated.  

In an effort to allow you to start over with another company or us I have removed the $1631.00 charge from your account for the work quoted and completed.   If you would like to continue with our company please call our office to schedule an inspection where we can properly quote treatment for all of your attic space.

Thank you for your time, 


***** *****
CEO, Corky's Pest Control

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I have a complaint about Corky’s Pest Control. In December I had them come out to check my porch for termites. Since then I have had numerous calls from them to ask when I will schedule service. I told them I have other things going on and will call them when I was ready. The calls continue. In the last week these are the calls I have received: Jan 3 at 6:08 pm Jan 6 at 3:36 pm Jan 8 at 5:46 pm Jan 9 at 2:18 pm Jan 10 at 3:45 pm

Desired Settlement: I would like the calls to stop immediately and Corky's not to contact me again.

Business Response: In our response to the issue of too many calls.  I would like to apologize for the numerous calls and assure that
there will be none in the future.  We have noted our records as of the last call we made on Jan. 10th, that our
constant attention was not appreciated and we are not to call in the future. 
Our sincere apologies,
********* ******** *****
Personal Assistant to ***** *****
Corky's Pest Control
909 Rancheros Dr.
San Marcos, CA 92069

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

52 Customer Reviews on Corky's Pest Control Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart