Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Cal Term Exterminators Inc

Phone: (760) 754-4400 Fax: (760) 754-4590 View Additional Phone Numbers 1745 E Vista Wy #8, Vista, CA 92084 http://www.caltermexterminators.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service termite and fumigation services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cal Term Exterminators Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cal Term Exterminators Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 1998 Business started: 08/19/1991 in CA Business incorporated 09/15/1995 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 2841.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nelson Richardson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nelson Richardson, President
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Pest Control Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1745 E Vista Wy #8

    Vista, CA 92084 (760) 801-4367 (760) 754-4400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have attempted to get this company to honor its commitment to repair or pay for repairs to the house based on their inspection prior to purchase where they missed major damage. They have refused registered letters, said they would call back and have not. They just basically ignore us. We have both pictures and the invoice form our contractor statement and pictures. letter to them first sent on 9dec2013. We have also filed a complaint with the California Structural Pest Control Board. ****** **** Calterm Exterminators 1745 E. Vista Way, #8 Vista, CA 92084 RE: **** ***** ****** Road, Fallbrook, CA 92028 Dear ******, On August 12, 2013 your company did a wood destroying pests and organisms inspection (termite inspection) on the property referenced above. Your company also did the recommended work and provided a clearance on September 17, 2013. After the clearance was issued, my wife and I began remodeling the home and found damaged wood in areas that were accessible and should have been seen by your inspector during the August 12th inspection. As a result we are asking to be reimbursed for the replacement and repair to the wood that was missed by your inspector. Enclosed you will find a bill for the repair of damaged wood and photos showing the damaged wood and accessibility to the damaged area. The pictures show how severe the damage was. The sub floor was paper thin and several floor joists had to be replaced and wall studs cut out and sister studs put in place and the surrounding wall base replaced. While our intention was to replace the tile we ended up rebuilding that section of the house. The pictures also show how accessible the area is where the damaged wood was. I think you should reimburse me for this $2500 added expense. Sincerely, ***** ** ****** *** **** ***** ****** **** ********** ********** ***** ************ ***** ******

Desired Settlement: that they pay for the damage they missed.

Business Response:

This letter is being written in response to the recent complaint the BBB received about our company. Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention so that we may address the problem further. We regret that Mr. ****** feels ignored and unhappy; however, our records show he has talked to several people on our staff on a number of occasions and our company revisited the property 3 times between November and December. The following dates, communication log and events have all been documented. Our records show the following:

 

08/12/2013: Original Inspection

09/17/2013: Work was completed as outlined in original inspection report.

09/17/2013: Notice of Completion and Clearance was issued. 

09/19/2013: Mr. and Mrs. ****** buy their new home on **** ***** ******.

 

10/18/2013: First call was made to our company by ******* ****** claiming she believes we missed some work when we were there in September. This call was made on a Friday and an inspection gets scheduled for Monday 10/21/2013. 

10/21/2013: Inspect Property. Our inspector investigates the damage in question. He explained to ***** at this time that we are not responsible. The entire bathroom had been torn out for remodeling and the “accessible” areas to which he refers to were only visible and accessible after the fact when his repair man ripped up the floor of the sunken tub. It even states in our report: 

THIS IS A STRUCTURAL PEST CONTROL INSPECTION REPORT: NOT A BUILDING INSPECTION REPORT, therefore, no opinion is being rendered regarding the structural integrity of the building. The following areas were not inspected, as indicated in section #1990, paragraph (J) of the Structural Pest Control Act, rules and regulations: furnished interior, inaccessible attics, insulated attics and portions thereof; the interior of hollow walls: Spaces between a floor or porch deck and the ceilings or soffit below: stall showers over finished buttresses and similar areas to which there is no access without defacing or tearing out lumber, masonry and finished work, built-in cabinet work: floor beneath coverings, areas where storage conditions or locks make inspection impractical.”

10/22/2013: ******* ****** called to schedule work. We gave her a bid of $400 to fix the rest of the damage in question and scheduled the repairs for the following week. 

10/23/12013: ***** ****** called. He insisted at this time that we need to fix all the damage for free and canceled the work until we talk to his repair guy, ***** ******, about the work he had already done. ***** was instructed to call the owner, ****** **********, but he never gave him a phone call.

11/05/2013: ***** called and talked to ******. Absolutely no work was done or agreed to be done on the shower. As a courtesy to the home owner, ****** agreed to do the work and replace the wood at the eave free of charge. The repairs get scheduled for November 11, 2013. 

**11/11/2013: The damage at the eave in question, which is marginal at best, we replaced and repaired at no charge in light of customer service. Only work done by our company was at the eave.** 

12/13/2013: *****’s first call after we did the work claiming we now owe him an addition $2500 to cover costs to his own repair man.  Please note the entire initial job including all wood repairs and termite treatment was only $2400 and now he is asking $2500 for minimal work done in comparison. We tried to be compensating but we are not responsible and told him we were not paying. 

12/18/2013: ***** called about a registered letter. No certified mail was ever refused or received at our office. When ***** called, the office manager asked ***** to send a copy of the letter via email so we could read and address what the letter said since the post office never delivered. In this email a number of pictures were provided. This was the first time in the entire process that ***** ****** presented any pictures to us, which should be noted was not until a month after all the remodeling and extra work we did for free was completed. 

1/26/2014: ***** filed complaint to BBB. 

Ultimately, despite our best efforts and doing work for free, Mr. ****** still refuses to accept the fact that our company is not responsible and can not be held liable for anything opened up during remodeling into areas we could not previously see. There is nothing more we can do for him at this point.

Thank you for taking the time to read this letter and go over all the facts of the case before proceeding any further with this complaint. Please don’t hesitate to call the office with any questions. 

Have a great day, 

****** **********,

President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This letter is being written in response to the recent complaint the BBB received about our company. Thank you for bringing the matter to our attention so that we may address the problem further. We regret that Mr. ****** feels ignored and unhappy; however, our records show he has talked to several people on our staff on a number of occasions and our company revisited the property 3 times between November and December. The following dates, communication log and events have all been documented. Our records show the following: 

08/12/2013: Original Inspection

09/17/2013: Work was completed as outlined in original inspection report.

09/17/2013: Notice of Completion and Clearance was issued.

This work was contracted by the previous owner and done before we took position, we were not present, we received the report just prior to closing. 

09/19/2013: Mr. and Mrs. ****** buy their new home on **** ***** ******. 

10/18/2013: First call was made to our company by ******* ****** claiming she believes we missed some work when we were there in September. This call was made on a Friday and an inspection gets scheduled for Monday 10/21/2013. 

10/21/2013: Inspect Property. Our inspector investigates the damage in question. He explained to ***** at this time that we are not responsible. The entire bathroom had been torn out for remodeling and the “accessible” areas to which he refers to were only visible and accessible after the fact when his repair man ripped up the floor of the sunken tub. It even states in our report: 

THIS IS A STRUCTURAL PEST CONTROL INSPECTION REPORT: NOT A BUILDING INSPECTION REPORT, therefore, no opinion is being rendered regarding the structural integrity of the building. The following areas were not inspected, as indicated in section #1990, paragraph (J) of the Structural Pest Control Act, rules and regulations: furnished interior, inaccessible attics, insulated attics and portions thereof; the interior of hollow walls: Spaces between a floor or porch deck and the ceilings or soffit below: stall showers over finished buttresses and similar areas to which there is no access without defacing or tearing out lumber, masonry and finished work, built-in cabinet work: floor beneath coverings, areas where storage conditions or locks make inspection impractical.” 

The only reason that the area was torn out was because when trying to remove the tile the whole subfloor and joists gave way. There was in fact access to this area which their inspector missed on the initial 08/12/2013 inspection because he did not go up the hill and look. 

10/22/2013: ******* ****** called to schedule work. We gave her a bid of $400 to fix the rest of the damage in question and scheduled the repairs for the following week.

We never received a bid nor did we ask for one. 

10/23/12013: ***** ****** called. He insisted at this time that we need to fix all the damage for free and canceled the work until we talk to his repair guy, ***** ******, about the work he had already done. ***** was instructed to call the owner, ****** **********, but he never gave him a phone call.

This letter is the first time we have heard or seen the “owner’s” name we have never had contact with him.

Mr. ****** and I tried together on several occasions to contact this company, but their phone did not work.     

11/05/2013: ***** called and talked to ******. Absolutely no work was done or agreed to be done on the shower. As a courtesy to the home owner, ****** agreed to do the work and replace the wood at the eave free of charge. The repairs get scheduled for November 11, 2013.

This call NEVER took place. 

**11/11/2013: The damage at the eave in question, which is marginal at best, we replaced and repaired at no charge in light of customer service. Only work done by our company was at the eave.**

Repairs were minimal see miss-matched paint, was this what he says was worth $400? 

12/13/2013: *****’s first call after we did the work claiming we now owe him an addition $2500 to cover costs to his own repair man.  Please note the entire initial job including all wood repairs and termite treatment was only $2400 and now he is asking $2500 for minimal work done in comparison. We tried to be compensating but we are not responsible and told him we were not paying.

What does the cost of the original work have to do with anything? They missed major damage which was visible if they had bothered to look. 

12/18/2013: ***** called about a registered letter. No certified mail was ever refused or received at our office. When ***** called, the office manager asked ***** to send a copy of the letter via email so we could read and address what the letter said since the post office never delivered. In this email a number of pictures were provided. This was the first time in the entire process that ***** ****** presented any pictures to us, which should be noted was not until a month after all the remodeling and extra work we did for free was completed.

What does this last sentence have to do with anything?? I showed the pictures to the repair crew that did the small amount of work they missed the first time. 

I sent a registered letter on 12/2/2013 which they refused see attached returned letter which I have unopened. The area is still available for their inspection 

1/26/2014: ***** filed complaint to BBB. 

Ultimately, despite our best efforts and doing work for free, Mr. ****** still refuses to accept the fact that our company is not responsible and can not be held liable for anything opened up during remodeling into areas we could not previously see. There is nothing more we can do for him at this point. 

Thank you for taking the time to read this letter and go over all the facts of the case before proceeding any further with this complaint. Please don’t hesitate to call the office with any questions.

Have a great day,

 

****** **********,

President

This is the first time we have seem this name or had contact from him


***** G ******

Business Response:

I thought I had already submitted a second response online; but, it was only to state that I’m not sure how to respond. The claims Mr. ***** submitted completely contradicts what my owner and all my files say. The “accessible” areas he is so adamant about we missed only became accessible after remodeling and tearing out the floor. The damage was covered by a sunken tub, which would have been impossible to inspect at the time back in September 2013. I have documentation of phone calls with Mr. *****, and if our phones “were not working” at any point this is the first I’m hearing of it. I do understand having the registered letter returned; however, we never received a notice from the post office nor did I ever refuse any mail. He may want to bring that issue up with the post office. Please let me know how to proceed with handling this complaint. Thank you!

 

****** ****

Office Manager

Calterm Exterminators Inc.

O: (760) 754-4400

C: ***** ********

************************

www.caltermexterminators.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID******* , and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Their response is to stonewall the issue and spray BS, I would never do business with this company and have recommended to the Real Estate companies involved they black list them.  

Regards,

***** ******