Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Bite-A-Way Termite and Pest Control

Additional Locations

Phone: (619) 582-7378 Fax: (619) 582-7348 7370 Mission Gorge Rd, San Diego, CA 92120 http://www.biteawaypest.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service pest, termite, ant and bird control as well as fumigation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bite-A-Way Termite and Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bite-A-Way Termite and Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bite-A-Way Termite and Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 05, 2007 Business started: 05/31/2005 in CA Business incorporated 06/29/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 4826.

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 5215.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles M Brown, Vice President Mr. Rodney Houston, President Ms. Daa'Iyah N Peterman, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles M Brown, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Rodney Houston, President
Number of Employees

22

Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Checks, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
Alternate Business Names
Bite-A-Way Termite and Pest Control Inc

Additional Locations

  • 7370 Mission Gorge Rd

    San Diego, CA 92120 (619) 582-7378

  • 926 S Andreasen Dr #110

    Escondido, CA 92029 (760) 233-2120

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used this business for service last year and thought it would be good to use them again, but I was very wrong. When I called for pest service they told me my account had a $75 credit and I owed $50 for a pest service at my house, instead of the usual $125, which I gladly paid on my credit card. However, they said the credit was improperly applied to my account and was meant for someone else. This is not my fault and clearly an internal training issue for the owner's accounting team. Upon receiving a statement from them, I called for an explanation and spoke to first ******, and then the office manager and finally, the owner, *******. All three were very rude and unprofessional on the phone. Each of them admitted to the internal error but still told me that I was responsible for their mistake, which I refuted and explained that I did nothing wrong here and paid exactly what they told me to pay and the paperwork the service technician brought showed the same $50 amount. When I finally got the owner told me that "I would pay for this" and hung up on me. I was shocked and appalled that a business owner treated me like this for something his own employees were responsible for. I truly could not believe how unprofessional this owner was and that he did not even attempt to resolve with me and just screamed at me and hung up on me. I hope this process will resolve this dispute in a timely fashion. I want an apology from the owner, *******, for abusive treatment over the phone and a billing adjustment for their own accounting error which he feels I am responsible for even though his employees were not trained properly and made the billing mistake. This is clearly an internal training issue for his company, of which, I am not responsible.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology from the owner, *******, for abusive treatment over the phone by him and his staff, and a billing adjustment of $50 for their own accounting error which he feels I am responsible for even though his employees were not trained properly and made the billing mistake. This is clearly an internal training issue for his company, of which, I can not be held responsible.

Business Response: In response to the customer complaint, first, I would like to state that the customer mentioned that he spoke with "*******" the owner, when in reality he actually spoke with "******" who is the primary owner of the company. I am not sure how he got the names mixed up but that in itself is not the issue at hand.

Our summary of this incident is as follows:
On October 31, 2014, the customer was provided with a pest control service and was billed in the amount of $125.00.  He paid the amount in full. Then, on or around  August 13, 2015 he called for a new service to be done on his same property. At the time of his call, he was quoted a service cost in the amount of $125.00 (same as he paid in 2014), but he was told that there was a $75.00 credit applied to his account from the previous service  done in 2014 (meaning that he must have over paid in that amount).  He was also told that with this credit, his total bill for the new service would be reduced to $50.00.  The service was then completed and he promptly paid the $50.00 with his credit card (see attached receipt and service invoice.)  
When his payment was being processed, it was discovered by our Office manager that the $75.00 credit he was told he had on his account was actually applied to the account in error (the customer never made an over payment and he was not entitled to the credited amount.) The customer was then promptly notified of this error and was billed for the additional amount owed of $75.00.  The customer then called our office on August 27th, and the error was explained to him initially by our Pest Control Scheduler (******), then by our Office Manager (********), and finally our owner (******). We knew that it was made quite clear to the customer that he was never entitled to the credit of $75.00, but irregardless of the fact, he still insisted that the error was our fault and that he should not be billed for the actual amount he really owed.
Every company or organization is bound to make an accounting error at some point and time  This situation is no different than if your bank mistakenly deposited money in your account and you then withdrew the money (knowing that it was not yours) and when the bank discovered the error you not only refused to pay it back, but you became angry with the bank for asking for repayment of the money and afterwards decided to file a  consumer complaint.
It is not the policy or intention of Bite Away personnel to be rude with customers.  Quite to the contrary, our employee's are always complimented for their courtesy and professionalism. In Summary, we feel that this customer has taken advantage of a human error in accounting made by Bite Away.  Our position is that he still owes this company $75.00 for services rendered.
Sincerely,
******* ** *****
**** *********
Bite Away Termite & Pest Control, Inc.
   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all, I requested an apology from ******, the business owner, for how I was treated on the phone.  He claims that their company receives compliments for how courteous his staff is but I can attest that this is not true as evident with my conversation with him.  I was appalled at how I was treated and have never been hung up by a business that I purchase goods or services from, and absolutely, never, by the owner.  I am still in shock about this and have yet to receive an apology, so I guess he doesn't care about service.

Secondly, ****** admitted that his staff made a mistake and that is unfortunate, but that does not make me responsible for his team's error.  I paid in full what was requested at time of service and that is all I will pay.  ****** has already attached receipt showing my payment in full.  I have been in the service industry for 20 years as a manager and would NEVER ask my client to pay for something because my own team made a mistake, especially saying "Oh, you will pay for it."  I take this as a threat and unprofessional.  As a manager, I would use this mistake as a training opportunity and attempt to keep me as a client.  It is apparent ****** does not care about keeping me as a client based on his actions and verbal abuse.

In conclusion, I am not trying to take advantage of anything.  I clearly paid what was requested at time of service and agreed upon by both parties.  Now, I am getting a bill months later demanding to pay more because the business made a mistake for poorly trained staff.  This is unacceptable and I would never ask a client of mine to do this.  This is part of business and *****y needs to recognize this and move on. 

Thank you for your time.


Regards,

****** *****



Business Response: Second Response::


While this customer continues to emphasize ******'s alleged rudeness to him, he has failed to mention his own rudeness to the ladies of our office staff and to ******.   The remainder of our initial response remains unchanged.   
Sincerely,
******* ** *****
**** *********
bite Away Termite and Pest Control, Inc. 

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October of 2012, I sat down with ** (representative for Bite-Away ) to resolve my termite problems and also to repair or replace my patio roof because it had a small amount of leaks due to dry rot. I only agreed to give Bite Away my business if they could fix the problems that originally caused the leaks, before replacing the roof. Two of Bite Away's employees explained to ** that there was not only termite damage, but also other problems that could have caused the leaks on the roof. So I told ** that if you agree to repair or replace whatever was needed to fix the leaks on the roof, I would have your company do the complete job.After the job had been completed, I looked on the roof a noticed several cracked/broken tile aroundand near the patio roof. I did buy the $200 tile insurance. The employees spent a lot of time walking on the roof and I do believe that they could have caused some of the new leaks.There was really no way to check to see if the leaks were gone until it rained. Since we had heavy rain in January 2013, I checked the patio on a rainy day and discovered that not only was the roof still leaking, it had more leaks than before Bite Away did the work. 75% of my patio is now leaking. I called ** on 1/15/13 at 2pm, and he told me to contact the owner, ****** ******* and see if I could work out a deal to fix the leak. So I asked ** why should I have to make a deal with his boss if repairing the leaks was included in the original agreement. After talking to the owner, he refused to correct the problem. He said they don't fix roofs, they only do termite repairs. I told him that ** made an agreement with me to fix or replace the leaks in my patio roof. So I told the owner that if he did not send anyone out to fix the problem, then I was going to pursue legal action. The owner ******, told me "do what you have to do".It would not have made since for me to entered into an agreement and pay $900 to just repair dry rot without correcting all the problems.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get back the full amount(approximately 1,000) of money I paid to repair or replace the patio.

Business Response: Hello,


I have forwarded this information to the owner of the company.  Either myself or the owner take care of this matter within 24 hours.

Thank you,

******** ********

Business Response: In response to your letter dated 02/25/2013, the following statement is provided:
On October 23, 2012, Bite Away Termite issued a Wood Destroying Pests and Organisms Inspection
Report, rpt #*****, which recommended fumigation of the property and replacement of fungus &
termite damaged wood at the patio roof sheathing and exterior eaves of the property. The wood
replacement recommended on the report was completed on November 12, 2012, and fumigation
completed on November 13, 2012. During the course of the fumigation process, some roof tiles were
broken by the fumigator, since the owner of property had purchased Roof Tile Insurance, the broken
tiles were replaced as per the contact agreement. Subsequent to the completion of all work, the owner
called our company on January 15, 2013 and complained that the patio roof was leaking more than it
had been prior to the repair work which was completed. The owner was informed at that time that we
had meet our contractual agreement by replacing the damaged wood (which was obviously caused by a
significant roof leak), and that he should contact a licensed Roofer to inspect and sea l the surface of the
roof to prevent further leaking.
In summary, we feel that the owner who was aware that he needed a Licensed Roofer to seal the roof is
attempting to hold Bite Away liable for a pre-existing problem/condition of a leaking roof that was never
part of our contractual agreement.

****** ** *******
Owner
Bite Away Termite & Pest Control, INC