Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Antac Pest Control

Phone: (858) 505-8080 Fax: (858) 505-9010 View Additional Phone Numbers 5735 Kearny Villa Rd #106, San Diego, CA 92123 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.antacpest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential pest and termite control services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Antac Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Antac Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Antac Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 07, 2004 Business started: 03/14/2003 in CA Business incorporated 03/14/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Structural Pest Control Board
1418 Howe Ave #18, Sacramento CA 95825
http://www.dca.ca.gov/pestboard
Phone Number: (916) 561-8708
Fax Number: (916) 263-2469
pestboard@dca.ca.gov
The number is 4333.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Josh Long, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Josh Long, Owner
Number of Employees

75

Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control Bee Removal Beekeepers Insulation Materials Bird Barriers, Repellents & Controls

Alternate Business Names
Antac Pest Control of San Diego Inc
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages


Additional Locations

  • 5735 Kearny Villa Rd #106

    San Diego, CA 92123 (858) 505-8080 (877) 268-2262

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've had in tax service for almost 4 months now and have not had proper service there are ants both outside and inside my home. Got a message yesterday telling me that there was going to be a technician today in between 8 and 12 a.m. no one ever came so when I call to ask them when he's coming they told me I didn't need to be home but then I needed to be home they kept flip flopping on that that I want to cancel my service they would let me so I kept my service and they want to cancel it I have ants in my house they were a professional they threaten me physically they know my address I'm very upset offense no one should have to go through this

Desired Settlement: Let people know that if these guys are in charge including the manager *** and ******. I want apology from both of them and any money and services that I have paid up to this point refunded also they would give me proof that he tore up a contract I want proof

Business Response:

August 20, 2015

Re: *** *****’s Libelous Review-Antac Pest Control

To whom it may concern:

I am writing to express concern about a former client who is slandering our company across the Internet and causing our own office staff to have fear of this man.  After allowing the customer to cancel his agreement without any early termination fees, Mr. ***** continued to call and harass our office staff throughout the day. At one point, the calls reached 23 in one hour.  He was explaining that he was going to do all he could to make sure we were wasting time. He said at one point he didn’t want to cancel, but that he wanted to have us send a tech out every day, but he would be sure not to be home so that we are wasting time.

Mr. ***** is posting false statements on a majority of review sites throughout the Internet, alleging that our branch manager threatened physical violence. He emailed me just to inform me of the review that he was posting across the Internet. His ******** review and comments have been removed and he has been blocked. His review on ******* has been removed and he has also been blocked on ******* as a contributor. **** and ***** will be contacted as well. On ****, he is alleging that our office ladies and our branch manager threatened him. When he discovered he was blocked from ********, he enlisted his wife to start writing reviews that were even more misleading.

A Cease and Desist letter has been sent to Mr. ***** regarding communication with our office and staff members due to the flood of phone calls and threatening nature he was communicating with our office staff. His phone calls have stopped, however his online reviews of false, and misleading statements (LIBEL) continue. We will be contacting an attorney to receive counsel as to how to proceed with a lawsuit for libel. This is a deliberate attempt to destroy our reputation that we have worked very hard to uphold.

Please see the timeline of events below:

Tuesday, 08/18/2015

01:55 PM

*******

OFFICE

[ Edit ]

****** called in saying he is unhappy with the services and still has a lot of ants. I explained to him the free callbacks he is entitled to since it is part of his agreement. I let him know that if at any point between his regular services he's still seeing pests he can give us a call to retreat at no additional cost. He then said no and just wants to cancel. I told him that it will be 60% of the remaining services. He then got extremely angry saying he will not pay that and to show him "where the **** it says that". At that point I asked him to calm down and he said that I'm the one that needed to calm down. I told him to call back when he's calmed down and hung up. He called back less than a minute later and he answered and was laughing saying how we must not have caller ID and that I answered. I told him I knew it was him and that I could go ahead and help him. He said if we do not cancel he will post on **** bad reviews about us and have his family do the same. He said he has 2 businesses and blah blah blah. He went on and on about the agreement and I read him the part about the early cancellation and the part where it says if the customer is not satisfied then we can retreat at no additional charge and that is why I will send my service manager to take a look. He said go ahead and he will call every day because he is on disability and has nothing better to do than bother us for the free reservices. Let him know that by law we have to wait 10 days for the next service. He asked where it says that and I said the product label. I tried scheduling for 8/31 and he said that doesn't work. I then said our service manager would be happy to talk to him about his account and he went off on how I threatened him. At that point I told him I'm going to have to hang up since he said just claimed that I threatened him. He called back and spoke with ********* and after she was done with him he called back and I answered. He went on again about cancelling. He said I threatened him with my service manager to discuss his attitude. I had put him on speaker phone so *** could hear how he was talking to me. He then said how I was being childish by changing my voice and kept laughing the whole time. *** took call.

Tuesday, 08/18/2015

02:21 PM

***

OFFICE

[ Edit ]

Spoke with ****** ***** after he had spoken with ****** and *********. ****** is being very difficult and wouldn't allow ****** or ********* to schedule a call back svc. ****** was argumentative and told me he didn't want to be a customer so I told him I would cancel his acct but he would still be responsible for the cancellation costs. ****** then said he would call every day demanding a svc every 10 days until we cancel his service. ****** continued to interrupt anytime I spoke with him so I told him I would need to end the conversation and hung up.

Tuesday, 08/18/2015

02:54 PM

***

OFFICE

[ Edit ]

I spoke to **** about this issue and suggested it best to cancel the service and not charge the cancellation fees. **** gave the ok. ****** continued to call so I answered the phone and told him his acct is cancelled and there wouldn't be any fees. ****** then said he didn't want to cancel the service and wasn't making any sense, he kept talking about having cancer. ****** left a message that he had his agreement and was going to stop by the office. In one of the phone conversations I told ****** not to come by the office, he was making the office staff very uncomfortable and they did not feel safe.
****** called a couple more times, I answered and he made threats about small claims and wanting his money back. Also mentioned he talked to his attorney, called the police and looked me up on ********.

Wednesday, 08/19/2015

08:11 AM

*******

OFFICE

[ Edit ]

****** called in rudely asking if his account is cancelled yet and that no one will send him a letter stating it. I let him know that his account is inactive and he asked then if I could send him a screenshot of that. I let him know that I can send a screenshot and asked for an email: ********************. He then asked for a letter. I told him that's something management needs to send over to him. He laughed and said right, and that *** doesn't come in until 9am. He went on how he made 18 bad reviews, is going to the pest control board and taking us to small claims. I told him that as a human being he has that right to do so and that we are very much aware of the reviews. He kept saying how he's trying to start off with a new day and doesn't get why we are being like this. Again, I told him the best thing to do is speak to management and he said he'd rather talk to **** ****. I told him he's out on vacation and he said "wow, isn't that something personal you shouldn't be sharing with me". I told him again that his account is inactive and I will have management send him what he's asking for. He then said he wants his $200 back for the shitty service. I told him he didn't pay $200 and he laughed again saying that the price doesn't matter and that he still has ants. I told him AGAIN to just call back at 9am to speak to management because this is now out of my hands and I can no longer help him. He went off on another rant and I told him I would have to hang up now. He said "of course you do" and laughed and said he was waiting for me to hang up. I hung up. **

Wednesday, 08/19/2015

12:50 PM

*********

CUSTOMER

[ Edit ]

****** called and asked for ***. I told him he was not available. He said he was on the other line. I told him *** wasn't in the office. He said we have yet to send him something that his account is cancelled and has no balance. I told him its cancelled and he doesn't owe anything. He asked me to say that to his representative. I repeated it and told him its cancelled and there is no balance like we've told him all day. He also said its great that *** told him to cease contact but it needs to come from a lawyer. He said by the way tell *** his ******** profile is nice. Hung up on him. --**

Wednesday, 08/19/2015

12:39 PM

***

ALERT

[ Edit ]

DO NOT TAKE ANY CALLS OR REQUESTS FOR SERVICES FROM THIS CUSTOMER.

Wednesday, 08/19/2015

12:20 PM

********

CUSTOMER

[ Edit ]

****** called in to say that he got the email *** sent but that is not what he wanted. He also said that it is very nice that he sent the cease and desist email but that has to come from an attorney not the manager of a pest control company. I let him know that I would relay the information and have a manager call him back --**

Wednesday, 08/19/2015

11:40 AM

*********

OFFICE

[ Edit ]

****** has called back to back all morning to the point where we have to ignore any private numbers. He posed as different identities to get to talk to ***. He then started harassing me again and saying he knows he’s there. --**

Wednesday, 08/19/2015

10:39 AM

********

CUSTOMER

[ Edit ]

****** called in again as an anonymous phone number. He wanted to speak to ***. Then went on to tell me that nobody is helping him and he wants his money back and that he has already written bad reviews everywhere and has contact the pest board and BBB and wants his money back. I simply said thank you ******. Have a nice day. --**

Wednesday, 08/19/2015

10:26 AM

*********

CUSTOMER

[ Edit ]

****** called again immediately harassing me because I told him *** was busy at the moment. He kept harassing me about how I didn't ask him exactly what time. He kept saying I just want to be done with you guys. I reminded him we have not contacted him. He of course acted like I was a liar and he kept acting like a victim as if we were the ones harassing him. He also asked if we were at the same address. Hung up on him. --**

Wednesday, 08/19/2015

10:06 AM

*********

CUSTOMER

[ Edit ]

Spoke with ****** yesterday afternoon after he spoke with ******. He immediately started going off on me and I told him I was not the person he was speaking with previously but I would be happy to help him. He said yeah I know and continued to be rude and started making comments about ******** helping another customer in the background. I told him she was not talking to him and that she was helping another customer. He said yeah I know. I asked him how I could help him and he kept saying I should know who he is. I again told him I was not the person speaking to him previously and he kept saying I know. (okay.........). I asked again how can I help him and he said he’s been trying to schedule an appointment and nobody will help him, I told him I can schedule an appointment for him, and he kept going off about random things and not making sense and I told him I would be happy to schedule with him if he can calm down and stop yelling at me because I cannot concentrate and look at my schedule with him yelling at me. He continued to yell at me and be rude and sarcastic. I told him he can call back when he calms down because I cannot get him scheduled while hes yelling at me and refusing to answer any of my questions and refusing to accept my help. I told him I can call the technician to ask what time he will be there and he continued yelling at me, I offered to schedule another service, he kept yelling. I told him I can’t help him with him yelling while I am trying to make the situation right. --**

Wednesday, 08/19/2015

10:01 AM

********

CUSTOMER

[ Edit ]

****** called in around 8 am wanting to speak with ***. I let him know that *** would not be in the office until around 9 am today. He said that I wanted a letter in writing about the contract being cancelled not just a verbal authorization. I informed him that the account was cancelled and that it had been deactivated. He said "Then why am I being charged 60% of services I don't do!!" I explained to him that there were no charges on the account and that there was nothing owed. He then said that he wants his money back and I let him know that I will have *** give him a call when he arrives. He said fine and that he didn't understand why he wasn't in and that this is a government facility and he didn't understand why we were open. He then said that he will call back at 9 when *** got in. ****** called back at 906 wondering if *** was in the office yet. I let him know that he had not arrived yet. ****** was upset and said something about bankers hours and that he wanted to speak to him as soon as possible and that he will just be calling back. He then hung up --**

Please also read the statement from *** *******, our branch manager:

“Mr. ***** was a newer customer having completed two of the six services he signed up for with no issues or call ins complaining about the service or any ant issues. On August 19th, Mr. ***** called the office to complain he was seeing a lot of ants and wanted to cancel his service. The office assistant Mr. ***** spoke to let him know he was scheduled for service on the 19th, Mr. ***** was aware of that and said the technician hadn’t shown up. The office assistant offered to call the technician but Mr. ***** said no and wanted to cancel his account. The office assistant explained the early cancellation fees and Mr. ***** became irate and condescending regardless of any explanation or offer to service for the ants he was seeing. The office assistant suggested sending the service manager to look at the ant issue and Mr. ***** somehow perceived that as a threat. Because of Mr. *****’s behavior the phone call had to be ended. Mr. ***** proceeded to call several times being irate and condescending regardless of who he spoke to. The manager intervened and was treated the same way resulting in the conversation being ended. In between Mr. *****’s multiple calls to the office (23 in one hour) the decision was made to cancel Mr. *****’s agreement without any cancellation fees. Mr. ***** was explained this but continued to be argumentative throughout the whole process and then several negative reviews with false allegations to purposely harm Antac’s reputation which he said he would do.

Mr. ***** was already scheduled for service with an all-day appointment the same day of his complaints and was offered a timed appointment but he said that wouldn’t work and just wanted to cancel. No matter what was offered or any empathy given did not appease Mr. *****.”


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

*** *****



Consumer Response: I don't understand the chain of events that an attack is claiming. Originally called because I had ants all over my kitchen and they were supposed to have a technician come out that day with never showed up.  When I call them to let them know that they never showed up I have requested for someone come in the house to which they told me that a technician has to enter the house to make sure that I do have aunt and that at that point I would like to make an appointment which they would not let me make. I've been asked to not be a customer but they advised me that there were fees associated with that.  I've been told them that's fine I don't want to pay please keep me as a customer but let's schedule the appointment with ******* not however when I talk to a manager and let him know about my problem he also let me know to call him after my doctors appointment which I was on my way to but still had time to talk to him but he hung up on me. Which started the ball rolling but none of these people had talked to was until after I was threatened by the person who answers the phone and when they told me that I am still a customer and that I can't do anything about it as a customer I have every right to call my pest control until the answer to give me a date. I left multiple reviews on multiple websites to show my dissatisfaction the seasons of this letter I received from them was an email after they allow me to go ahead and contact them to try to get the information necessary to resolve this week after many attempts at calling them and emailing them I finally got what was needed but they definitely made its longer than what it should have. Now their response was to everything that I had done but none of it was to respond about what happened to get to that point including the simple prospect of just having services applies for something that they should not give me trouble for but yet did. All I'm seeking for is for my money back and not to deal with this company ever again my review is legitimate and will stand behind it.  I was not threatening I was repeatedly calling to find out what my services world which I actually have recordings of these guys are deliberately trying to scare me talking about libel which goes against I believe what **** is for it it's an honest review with they could have fixed and still can.  

Business Response: My initial response remains the same. I hope that Mr. ***** can find a company that will be able to take care of his needs

Consumer Response:

My complaint is specifically for the contract where its safe if I am NOT happy with the results they must come into my house within 10 days to fix the problem. This is where all of this started then they would allow me the privilege of what I pay 4 per the contract to have a technician came in everything else started so instead of them releasing me from my contract as I had suggested it was until after everything was said and done that they had to release me because it could no longer handle meverything as a customer. All I wanted them was to complete the contract that I had paid for and I had signed. 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

*** *****



4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Antac on Wednesday, April 15th to make an appointment to spray my condo for ants. Upon calling Antac, I was quoted a price of $64.00 for a spray.The rep ****** that I spoke with also told me about options for "bi-monthly" service, which I declined and told her that I'd have to ask the landlord if this is something that he was interested in doing. In the meantime, I just needed to get the condo sprayed. I rearranged my scheduled to ensure that I was home on April 16th when the tech Alec showed up. Prior to spraying, he wanted to discuss payment and the contract- he pulled out a contract that highlighted my "bi-monthly" service. I explained to him that I was only doing a 1 time spray and that I had told the customer service rep who booked that I wasn't doing "bi-monthly". He said he needed to call his boss "***" because this would change the price. Upon talking to ***- I was quoted a price of $95. I would have happily paid this price, had it been what I was quoted. The tech Alec was extremely nice- my problem is with *** and ******. Upon calling the company myself to explain what I was quoted… *** was extremely extremely rude and combative. He questioned everything that I said and did not want to "make it right" even though I was clearly quoted a different price. He then put me on the phone with the rep and told me to talk it out with her. Which was awkward (I can't believe a manager would do that) and got extremely elevated. She (covering her own back) completely changed the story of what actually happened, was talking over me and was extremely rude. She didn't let me finish my sentence before putting *** back on the phone. He told me that they were having their rep leave and were not spraying my house. I'm omitting the details of the convo for character purposes but it was awful. I burst into tears and the tech felt awful. I felt compelled to file this complaint because it was above and beyond a price dispute. I was treated terribly!!!

Desired Settlement: I have not yet had luck determining who "***" reports to. But I'd like the owners of the company or his manager to hear my story. I'm a HR professional, my husband is deployed, and I have 2 small children. Juggling to make this appt happen was not easy for me- to be treated miserably, and then not have the appt even happen is 100% unacceptable. If I EVER treated one of my employees the way that I was treated yesterday, I would not have a job. *** needs to have some serious remedial training to teach him how to give good client service, and how to treat people. The fact that I'm contacting the BBB because a Pest Control company had me literally sobbing (and I'm a pretty tough cookie) is unimaginable to me. I'm positive that the owners of this company would not want this kind of behavior going on. I'd like an apology and a phone call from whomever *** reports to. My ultimate goal here was not only to do right by my self, but to prevent anyone else from feeling this way.

Business Response:

To Whom it may Concern,

I have conversed with those involved with this conversation and have taken statements from all. I'm not sure where the disconnect happened during the conversations, but we NEVER have sent a technician out to perform a one-time service for such a low price. The quoted low price is only honored when the customer agrees to an annual agreement.

Regarding the way our employees are trained: Our employees are trained to be very respectful and courteous, even in situations where there integrity is being questioned. I'm sorry that the customer felt differently. We sent a technician all the way out to a home under the impression that the would-be client wanted to commence an annual maintenance program. Again, there must have been a disconnect of some sort. Luckily, the issue was addressed before we started treating the home.

The below statements were submitted to me regarding the phone conversation with the person filing the complaint:

 


******’s conversation-


"On 4/15/15 ***** called into the office with concerns regarding ants in her condo that she had noticed since the week prior. ***** did mention that she had a baby and needed this taken care of and will do whatever it takes. I explained to ***** the benefits of going on our Bi-Monthly maintenance program as it would take care of the egg cycles throughout the seasons. Price was quoted at $114 for the initial with a $50 discount with the consideration of the size of her condo. I then let ***** know that the price every other month would be $74 and we would service the interior and patio area.  I explained that not only would it cover for ants but for spiders, crickets, silverfish, earwigs, etc. ***** did mention that she did not know whether her landlord would pay for the services however, again, she will do whatever it takes. ***** mentioned that she would pay for the initial of $64 and have her landlord pay for the rest of the services. I informed ***** that my inspector would be able to stop by the following day and she said that would work as she does work from home and can be available.  I mentioned that the tech would be bringing over the agreement for her to sign and she could provide either cash, check or a credit card number for payment. ***** thanked me for my information regarding the matter and was glad we could schedule her soon.


 


Note: Not once did ***** ask for a one time pricing for ant services. "


 


***’s conversation-


"I received a call from **** who was doing an initial treatment and asked for onetime pricing to treat the inside of a condominium. I gave **** the price and hung up. A few moments later **** called back and said the customer wanted to speak to me. ***** got on the phone and began talking about the pricing she was given was for a onetime service and did not involve a contract. I went over the pricing and explained the services calmly and professionally despite ***** talking over me and insisting the price she was quoted should be honored. At no time during the conversation was I rude and combative as there simply isn’t any reason to be. Regardless of any explanation I gave to ***** she wasn’t willing to listen and only wanted her side heard.


I placed ***** on hold and Spoke to ****** about the issue. ****** relayed her above statement to me and I told ****** I was going to have her speak with ***** to go over their initial conversation about pricing. I got back on the phone with ***** and explained that I would have her speak with ****** to go over the pricing she was given; my reason for doing this is with all the information customers are given when they call, I felt it would jog *****’s memory of the pricing she was given.


I listened as ****** attempted to speak to ***** but ***** was argumentive and spoke over ******. Seeing that the conversation wasn’t going anywhere I took over the call and let ***** know that since she wasn’t willing to listen and an understanding couldn’t be met I would have the technician leave without performing the service. My conversation ended and I hung up the phone.


At no point of mine or ******’s conversation with ***** were we rude, combative or unprofessional. "




 


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

You seem to be missing the point… *** and ****** were terrible to me.  Their integrity was not questioned- it could have been as simple as poor communication and could've been easily resolved.  I actually paid Orkin MORE money to spray my home, and got on a contract with them because they treated me with the respect that I deserve.  At the end of the day, I want nothing further from you- but do want my voice to be heard and for you to understand just how unacceptably I was treated.  Even the technician was in disbelief and horrified at the behavior of his manager.  Perhaps you should chat with him?  I'm standing up on this so it doesn't happen to another customer in the future.  

Regards,

***** **********



Business Response:

I will definitely speak with the technician to try to get to the bottom of the situation. If in fact there was poor customer service, I apologize. I will be speaking to everyone in the office to ensure that proper customer service is enforced. Thank you for the heads up.

2/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In sept of 2014 I called Antac with dissatisfaction and cancelled my contact with the company. My dissatisfaction had grown over the prior 18 months steaming from multiple missed appointments (they blamed access to my home. The gate has had no malfunctions and my fence is unlocked) and no resolution of pest problem. I received an email apologizing for my experience and requiring a faxed formal request for cancelling service. I informed them that I would not, that my verbal would need to suffice. The company's email acknowledged my request to cancel. Furthermore the sept service was not performed nor billed for, again acknowledging my separation with the company. In November I received a robo call reminding me of my service appointment the next day. I called Antac to confirm that I did not want that company on my property and reminded them of our prior conversations and communications. They told me that since I had not submitted a formal cancelation letter 30 days prior to appointment that I would have to pay for the service regardless. I am now dealing with a collection agency for the erroneous service appointment fee. I have all email, phone records, and financial documentation available.

Desired Settlement: i want the attempt at debt collection to end and for antac to never again contact me for any reason.

Business Response: Mr. *******,

Please see the attached document. This was the letter written in response to the ****** List review you posted explaining everything. Thank you.

Dear Mr. *******,

                First off, I would like to sincerely apologize that the services performed the past 2 years did not meet your expectations. We at Antac strive to provide quality customer service in the office and out in the field.

                To address the issue regarding the cancellation fee of $41.40; our company has a policy in place for our maintenance programs. We offer a one year agreement for either a bi-monthly or a quarterly service which is then renewed monthly after the first year, until such time that it is cancelled by the contract holder. The customer is welcome to cancel at any time. However, the company cancellation policy requires the contract holder to submit a written notice of cancellation 30 days prior to the next scheduled service. If said letter is not received prior to the next scheduled service date, there will be a 60% cancellation fee. These requirements/policies are stated on the Residential Service Agreement and New Customer Checklist that is signed during the initial treatment prior to the start of service. Please refer to the exclusions and limitations section on the back of your Residential Service Agreement under terms, and the terms and conditions section on your New Customer Checklist.

Our records show that on September 11, 2014 you called in requesting to cancel your services. During that phone call, you were given an email address, sales@antacpest.com, to submit the written notice of cancellation. You were provided with instructions on how to cancel your agreement. Those instructions were; a cancellation letter must be submitted with a handwritten signature and sent by mail, by email, or fax. You informed our office that even though you did not want to provide this letter, you would still be sending it over. It was then reiterated that as long as our office received the letter within 30 days of your next scheduled service, there would not be a cancellation fee.

On November 11, 2014, you contacted our office with questions as to why there was a service scheduled for November 12, 2014 when you had already cancelled the agreement. You were informed that your cancellation letter was not received in the allotted time frame resulting in a continuation of service. The email address provided on September 11, 2014 is a “community” email address and is delivered to every email address within our company. We agreed to accept your cancellation on November 11, 2014. However, because it was not within the 30 day cancellation period, we offered to come out and perform the final service for the regular fee of $69, or you could choose to decline service and pay the 60% cancellation fee.  It was at that point you refused to pay the cancellation fee. We then informed you that failing to pay the cancellation fee of $41.40 could result in being sent to collections.  

In regards to your issue with constant rescheduling of your general pest control services, we have checked our records and have found that there have only been 3 rescheduled or missed services in the past 2 years due to the gate being locked. The first rescheduled appointment took place on July 12, 2013 when our technician was unable to gain access through the back gate. The service was rescheduled and we were able to come back on July 17, 2013 to complete the service. The second rescheduled service took place on May 14, 2014 when again our technician could not gain access through the back gate. Our technician called you and waited at the property before leaving. Our office also called and left a voicemail for you to contact us so this appointment could be rescheduled. This specific appointment was never rescheduled because our office did not hear back from you as to when it would be convenient for your schedule. The last and most recent rescheduled appointment occurred on September 10, 2014 when once again our technician could not gain access through the locked gate. Our office called you on September 11, 2014 to reschedule this appointment. At that time, you informed us that you would like to cancel your services. We informed you of our cancellation policy again at that time.

We, at Antac, did our utmost to relay the cancellation policy and contacted you each time we were unable to gain access to the property and needed to reschedule a service. I hope this letter has clarified any confusion or misunderstanding you may have with our company policies.  We hope that you can find a pest control service that meets your expectations.

 Again we apologize for any inconvenience the above mentioned issues may have caused and we hope we have clarified everything for you.  Please feel free to give us a call if there are any additional issues that need to be addressed. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

While acknowledging the courteous and professional nature of the response from Antac, it does not address the regular failure of their technicians – the reason for the cancelation in the first place. My relationship lasted for fewer than 24 months, 11-12 scheduled services, I am sure LR would have the details. The response admits 4 missed appointments. That is a failure rate of more than one-third.  Each of which was met with a phone call and confirmation that notes exist on the account that there is no lock on the gate. Not that it is unlocked, but rather there is; in fact, no lock on the gate. Which lead me to believe that the technicians sent to my home were lazy, inept, or illiterate. Whichever it may be, I no longer want to be inconvenienced by this company. Based upon email and phone correspondence, there has been absolutely no ambiguity on my demand to cancel service. This whole debate should have been resolved with my verbal request months ago. Instead they have deliberately prolonged this experience by hiring a collection agency for $40. I don’t know why they don’t want me to just go away, that is certainly my goal for them.

On the website it states that “all work is guaranteed.”  I suppose that in order for Antac to a meet this guarantee, they must be competent to perform the work in the first place. And thank you for reminding me about the *****’s list complaint. I will now attempt to post this there as well.


Regards,

****** *******




Business Response: Mr. *******,

I have looked through the notes in your account and would like to clarify that the gate we are referring to is the gate allowing access to your community not the gate to your back yard. The gate code we have on file hasn't worked when the technicians have attempted service. Of the four missed appointments, one was because the technician called in sick and the other three were because the gate code (****) on file didn't work.  Repeated calls to the phone number on file (###-###-####) to obtain a working gate code have not been returned. With regards to the $40 cancellation fee, the account notes indicate you spoke with L****** in September, 2014 and agreed to send the required cancellation letter. If you would've sent a signed cancellation letter with your hand written signature in September, it would've met the cancellation requirements of 30 days before your next scheduled service and there wouldn't be a fee .
The scan you did send in November 2014 didn't come through on our end and we need that to close the account, otherwise your account remains open. You are correct that this whole debate should have been and could have been resolved months ago if we would have received the requested signed letter. There is no need to deliberately prolong any experience and have not turned your account over to collections. We simply need the cancellation letter along with the cancellation fee and your account will be cancelled. Thank you.
*** *******
Branch Manager
Antac Pest Control

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

So my account is still active? Wow, it appears that the manager has not read his own contact. Illiterate, inept, lazy? These seem to be corporate characteristics. The contract term states that "after the initial one year period, this contract is automatically renewable on a month-to-month basis, and can be canceled by giving 30 days written notice prior to contract renewal date." There is absolutely no requirement of a need for signature for cancelation. So now this gets chalked up to harassment because there has certainly been written communication between us. Furthermore the satisfaction guarantee states that "should the problem persist, Antac will continue to work to solve it to your satisfaction or Antac will will refund your last month payment." So the problem has persisted, ***, and I am still not satisfied with the results of your company. Antac is now the pest that will not go away. Should I be expecting a refund soon?

I have verified through the HOA that the fence has been in proper working order for at least two years (the time frame of my relationship with Antac). Additionally I believe you to be lying in regards to the multiple attempts to contact me regarding the inability for a technician to enter the neighborhood because the control pad to enter the gate is actually linked to my cell phone.
I wonder if Antac has a policy of publicly distributing private client information? I am sure that a lawyer can figure it out.
This is my final correspondence through this medium. But I promise that you and **** **** will be hearing from me.
 
Regards,

****** *******



Business Response: I've attached the requested paperwork for ****** *******. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

?Despite the poor service that I felt to have received, the reason I am now in an argument with antac is because of the process of canceling the service. I was instructed from the initial attempt to cancel that contract, to submit a signed letter. Through email and phone conversations I was clearly told that a written response alone would not be sufficient, it had to be signed. Furthermore when I did submit written (not signed) cancelation instructions, I was again told that it was not sufficient for formal cancellation. This is simply not the policy that is printed on the contract that I signed. 

Regards,

****** *******



Business Response: Mr. *******,

Your account has a zero balance and is closed. We will not be contacting you any further.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I decided to refinance a VA loan to a lower rate at the end of last year to save money because we were expecting a child. The VA loan required a pest inspection and issues were found. The initial pest control company gave us a very expensive quote and couldn't schedule in time for us to close with the rate we locked in. After getting a few other quotes and considering availability we went with Antac. The manager was nice and seemed very knowledgeable and he told us exactly what they would do. Unfortunately he sent someone else to do the work. The person they sent was late and seemed very aloof, but my mom said that he seemed to do the needed wood rot and termite treatment work (although she was inside the house watching my toddler). We received a completion to close on the refinance, and paid our bill which as approximately $1,150. Fast forward to 6 months later and we are in the process of selling our home (escrow has been opened for our buyer). A different pest inspection company came out to inspect our property and they found that the work had not been done properly. He pointed out how the Antac guy just painted over the wood rot when he was supposed to cut it out and replace it, and based on the evidence found it appears he never treated the area where he said he sprayed for termites as there was no evidence of dead termites, only new ones. I called Antac and they sent **** who came over that same day to inspect and he confirmed the work was not done properly. While I was hoping for a refund, Antac insisted on redoing the work which I do understand that they just want to make things right. However, their receptionist ****** has come across as having a bit of an attitude when I am trying to schedule this work (I expected that she would handle me with kid gloves and be apologetic but she has come across as having an attitude just like when I initially dealt with Antac last year). Then Antac cannot complete all of the work right away (only the termite work). The availability to fix the wood rot work is cutting it close to our closing date for the sale (is scheduled for 7 days before close). This is such a hassle and I had hoped for a refund so I could pay the other company to have it done right away (could have been one less thing to worry about). This whole situation has caused me undo stress which I do not need. I have a brand new 8 week old baby and I am selling our home while I'm on leave from work. I just hope Antac does the work correctly this time and on schedule (keeping my fingers crossed that there are no delays and I receive the clearance quickly). I'm just completely saddened that a company would take my hard earned money and then not do the work that we had an agreement for. I am reporting this to BBB so that Antac takes this seriously and so this does not happen to future customers. Perhaps Antac should put in a quality control process where they send an inspector back out to check the final work before providing a completion certificate.

Desired Settlement: Antac insists on doing the work (repair), but I would have been happy with a refund. Especially in light of the fact that Antac can't do the wood rot work right away (Termite is scheduled on 3/4 and Wood work on 3/17). I just want this to hurry up and be fixed (but now I'm going to have to wait for another 2 weeks).

Business Response:

*****,

Thank you for your patience and working with us on this issue. I apologize and am embarrassed that this even happened. Antac is an honest and reputable company who stands behind the quality and work performed. I hope your account notes below show we moved on this quickly as soon as you informed us of the problem. The heavy rain that was forcasted and we received for the week of February 27th thru March 2nd prevented us from scheduling the work on those days. The local treatment and repairs have been completed and hopefully to your satisfaction.

You called the office on Wednesday February 26th, 2014 making us aware of this issue. We sent an inspector (****) out the same day to inspect and he confirmed the work wasn't completed. We wanted to schedule your work to be done sometime between February 27th thru March 2nd and unfortunately the rain forecasted prevented that. ****** returned phone calls with you on February 27th and 28th to let you know the local treatment would be done on March 5th and the repairs on March 17th, 2014. ****** called you back later on February 28th to let you know there was an opening on March 10th and moved the repairs from Mach 17th to the 10th.

1/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a service of organic pesticide. The organic pesticide didn't work. They offered to use regular pesticide, which I felt very uncomfortable using due to having small children and dogs. I decided to cancel the service, because I didn't want to keep exposing my kids to chemicals. Now they are charging me a 60% fee for cancelling a service that didn't work. Also their contract States "up to 60%." It is very vague.

Desired Settlement: I would like to not have a cancellation fee for services that didn't work. If they cant guarentee organic pest control it shouldn't be on their service contract.

Business Response:

Mrs. ******,

I have attached your signed agreement and new customer checklist. I have underlined sections on the back of the agreement under service and terms that pertain in part to your reason for cancelling. If you had any issues or concerns when  you signed the agreement, you had 72 hours to cancel the service without any cancellation fees. The customer checklist is provided for your benefit do reiterate the important parts of the agreement so you better understand what you are agreeing to before starting the initial treatment.

As stated in your agreement, Antac does not guarantee complete elimination of your insects and control can be gained depending on the severity of the infestation. The severity also determines how many treatments over time are needed to gain control. The initial treatment (7/19) and one call back (8/16) service was done with the organic treatment. You called again on 8/23/13 to schedule another service because you were still seeing a lot of ants and told the office staff you didn't want the organic treatment and asked to try our other products to see if that works better. The service was done on 8/29/13 using the synthetic products. After the last service on 8/29, the only coorespondance between you and the office was on 11/7,11/20/ and 11/26/13 about balance, payment and to reschedule a service, but no mention of your concerns with non organic products. You mention in your complaint that you were"very uncomfortable" using the regular pesiticide but you requested those products. You also mentioned in your complaint about being charged a cancellation fee for a service that didn't work, but after the call back service on 8/29/13 there is no correspondance from you indicating the service isn't working. A regular scheduled service was done on 9/13/13 with no activity noted during the technicians inspection and treatment. The history of your account shows we serviced when you requested a service and stopped using the organic treatment at your request. Your account history also indicates that more services were needed initially and insect control was gained.

When i spoke with you on 12/3/13 you only mentioned the reason for cancelling was because you weren't comfortable with the products around your children and pets, but gave no mention that the service didn't work. You made the decision to cancel the service and  we honored your request. If you look at the 'new customer checklist (attached) you initialed and signed, it says under 'early cancellation: if for any reason, you are unable to fulfill the one-year obligation, you will be required to pay up to 60% of the remaining contract value'. During our conversation you said the 'up to 60%' was vague and i informed you the cancellation fee would be 60%. Based on the information i have provided, i cannot waive the entire canellation fee, but will in an effort to settle this complaint lower the cancellation fee from 60% to 40% changing the amount do from $165.60 to $110.40.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I started out with organic pest control, which is what I wanted - due to not wanting to have chemicals around my children and dogs. They didn't work. The techs that sprayed my house told me it doesn't work very well and tried talking me into the regular pesticide. During this time my 2 year old son broke his femur and was in a cast from his chest to his ankle. Dealing with my sons needs and the ants everywhere was the only reason I even allowed the regular pesticide at my house, because he couldn't be out in the yard around it. I was too overwhelmed with my injured son and 9 month old daughter to deal with canceling the pest control. Once my son was able to be to walk again and be outside  - I wanted to cancel the service, since the organic pesticide didn't work and regular pesticide makes me extremely uncomfortable. Two members of my family had developed diseases and passed away due exposure to certain chemicals. Why would I want my children around extra chemicals?!  I think that 40% is still an excessive fee for cancellation. I feel like I signed up for one service and when it didn't work - it didn't - I am being bullied into using the pesticide that I don't want around my family or I have to pay a large fee. Why is it ok to offer an organic pesticide in the service contract when it doesn't work?  I could understand how they are treating me if I had signed up for the regular pesticide, but I didn't. Why am I being punished for not wanting pesticide around my children and dogs?  Who charges such a large cancellation fee?  It seems like that all they care about is the money - not their customers. That will eventually catch up with them. People don't want to deal companies that are so inflexible and uncaring. 
Regards,

***** ******



Business Response:

Mrs. ******,

Thank you for your explanation as to your sensitivity to chemicals. While it may not have come across that we don't care about your feelings I can assure you we do care and would have addressed your situation differently had the information you shared in your response been available to me at the time this issue began. As a company we don't want to force any service or products on anyone who isn't comfortable for whatever the reason. The service technician should have better explained the difference between the organic and synthetic products so you understand how they work. The issue isn't that the organic product doesn't work, in fact it can and does work but the issue is in the explanation to the customer so they know what to expect and not expect. The organic products do break down quicker, typically 7-10 days and depending on how bad the pest infestation is may require more treatments which are included at no extra cost. When the insect(s) come accross the organic product it is effective and control can be gained. In your case you were dealing with an ant issue. Ants are a social insect meaning they are always around each other and 90% of an ant colony is always in their home with the remaining 10% out looking for food and water. The 10% is what you see and what the organic product is effective with. The synthetic products are made of derivatives from plants and are designed to be transferable as well as timed released. Because of this design, the ants take the product back to the colony where control is gained much faster whereas with the organic treatment, the ants need to come across it. Control will be gained over a period of time.

My suggestion would be to put you back on service only using the organic treatment with the understanding that more services may be needed if necessary after the 7-10 days have passed from the previous treatment. We have several customers who use the organic treatment and they are satisified with that service. The number of call backs between scheduled services varies with the organic product and the customers needs. If you are still wanting to cancel the service, what cancellation fee to you feel is fair?

Best regards,

*** *******, Manager, Antac Pest Control.

 

11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we signed up for the service, we were told we would be notified when a tech comes to service within two hours of that service. Since then, we have received automated messages that have given a blanket 8 to 5 timeframe for next day service. They have also sent techs out without giving notice from the automated message. This has resulted in service only being performed in the front yard and not the back, as it is gated. We were charged the same amount($69.) When we called customer service, they said we could reschedule the back yard, but an additional $69 would be taken from our credit.

Desired Settlement: I do not desire compensation or an apology, but want the service management to be aware of this issue and to take appropriate action for customers in the future. I do not intend to use ANTAC at the end of my current credit.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****,

I applogize for any onconvenience or misunderstanding you might have had while on service with Antac Pest Control. Antac's policy is, using an automated system to call each customer the day before their service to remind the customer a techincian would be on their property for a service. There are customers who ask for a call enroute on the day of service and when a customer makes this request they are told a call will be made 30 minutes ahead. Every service scheduled for the next day is put into the system for the automated call. If you were ever surprised by a technician showing for a service because you never received the call it wasn't intentional.

You indicated in your complaint that when the front was serviced and the back wasn't because it is gated, you were charged additionally when the back yard was done. I checked your account history and there isn't any additional charge for coming back to service the back yard. Antac has always included a warranty for the maintenance service and not charge customers inbetween services unless it's for a service not covered under the maintenance plan. I am more than happy to go over your account history with you if you feel you have been overcharged.

Sincerely,

*** *******

Branch Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

To whom it may concern,

Mr. ******* did not correctly address my email.  He said I was not incorrectly charged.  This is correct, but what he neglected to address is that I declined service because it would have incurred a second charge.  This was the issue, and not an actual charge.

****
**** *****



Business Response:

Mr. *****,

I looked at your account prior to my last response and based on what i saw in your history you shouldn't have been charged for the second service, that's why I made that comment to your initial complaint. I'm not sure where the misunderstanding came from the office, but what i can see in your account it shouldn't have been a charged service. My appologies for the misunderstanding and that this issue caused you to cancel your account. 

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Antac Pest Control does business unfair: I had contract with Antac to repair the termite wood damage and complete fume my house and contract was signed on 7/9/2013 with schedule below: 8/12 and 8/13 --> repair the damage wood 8/16, 8/17, 8/18 --> fume (cover) the house 8/19 or 20 Final inspect the root for damage and repair if something broken during the work (fume). The problem came when 9:00AM on 8/12 nobody show up at my house for repair and nobody call and tell me what happen I called the guy (who do the contract with me -*** ***** - Employee ID # or Certification # *******). He said the repair guy was sick and could not come. I asked why nobody called or told me because/ I need to took a day off (that cost me money). He answered he was about to call me to resched/ule the repair (after the fact and he should call me a day before) He also say "IF You Do Not Like It Then You Call Antac To Cancel the Contract" but When I called Antac to ask for canceling Antac told me I have to penalty because I cancel the contract Eventhough ANTAC fault not my (not doing correct according the contract) It total unfair for me I lost a day for nothing, then penalty ($money) for somebody else fault, if I cancel the contract. Because, I lost everything if I cancelled the contract so I need to go with ever Antac gave to me. After that the repair done the day after, and fumigation was done according the schedule However, the final inspection only finished at 9/26/2013 (more than a month after fumigation) The final root inspection found 14 broken tile on my root, so my question is If it rain during last 30 days what damage can be? Because of that question I have to put myself in dangerous by go up to my root to put temporary cover on all broken title. For all of reasons above I believe Antac can not be in BBB list for good contractor.

Desired Settlement: I would like have Antac's explanation about " I have to pay penalty if I cancel the contract with Antac fault" I would like my complain will post on BBB for somebody want to use Antac service what is the actual Antac's company do to people.

Business Response:

Mr. ****,

I am familiar with your account and the repairs needing to be rescheduled to the next day because the repair technician suffered an injury and couldn't do the repairs on the day originally scheduled. While we strive to have every service experience be a good one for our customers from the inspection to the completion of any services scheduled, there are times when things happen that are out of our control that delay or create issues with the service schedule. Yours happened to be one of these occasions. I appologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and hopefully my response will help you understand that we acted quickly when we were made aware of the situation.

On August 12th, 2013 at approx. 9am I was told the repair tech had been injured and wouldn't be able to work that day. I had the office call your inspector *** and inform him of the situation so he could call you. During this time the office was checking with our 'on call' repair crews to see if they could do the work on the 12th. Unfortunately everyone had work already scheduled for the 12th, but there was a crew available for the next day (Aug 13th). *** called you shortly after 9am and explained the situation with the repair technician. *** also explained another repair crew would be out the next day to take care of the repairs. The repairs were completed on the 14th and the fumigation was completed on time without any delays. Every effort was made to have repair technicians go on the 12th and when that wasn't possible it was scheduled for the next day. All of the contacting and scheduling was done within a 20 minute period and the injury to the repair techinian occurred around the time he was supposed to be at your home. All of this occurred behind the scenes and you had no way of knowing what was being done to fix the problem. I trust that with this knowledge of our timely response you will believe every effort was made to address your situation.  

The tile warranty was provided to you free of charge and any tiles broken during the fumigation will be fixed a soon as possible. The roofer who takes care of the tile warranties is often back logged 4 to 6 weeks to replace the tiles. It wasn't necessary for you to get on the roof to cover the broken tiles as there wasn't any risk of damage from rain. There were three broken tiles on your roof before the fumigation, how long have they been broken and have you had any damage from those broken tiles? If you would have called the office or your inspector asking the question about possible damage with the broken tiles, you would have been told it wasn't necessary for you to get on the roof to cover them.  

The repairs to your home were on the exterior. Neither *** nor Antac requested or required you to be home when the repairs were scheduled to be done. We do repairs all the time when no one is home so the decision to take the day off was yours and don't understand why it's our fault if you decided to take the day off and be home. If Antac or *** requested you to be home then you would have a valid complaint regarding the cancellation fee if you cancelled your contract and I would have looked at waiving that fee. You said in your complaint that you should be notified the day before if there if the repairs need to be rescheduled. If the injury to the repair technician had occurred the day before then you would have been notified the day before, but since the injury occurred the day of you were notified within 15-20 minutes of us learning about the injury.

Desired Settlement: The delays with your repairs were out of our control and every effort was made to start them as soon as possible which was done the next day (Aug 13th) and completed on August 14th. If the delay would have been in our control or our fault then there wouldn't have been a cancellation fee if you decided to cancel the services. Unfortunately things happen that cause delays that are outside of our control and this was clearly one of them. I ask for your understanding here and request you with draw your complaint. Your complaint is unfair and unfounded.     

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

*** ****

Here my response:

1/- On the day of repair I CALLED FIRST to find out what go wrong, why nobody showed up to do the work. Neither ***, nor ANTAC initiated the call. During the time I called ANTAC and discussed about to cancel the contract, you ANTAC (people answer the phone) still try to find out (put me on hold and talked with the supervisor) how to do with my call:

Let me cancel the contract without penalty or

Promise me the repair work will be done on 1 day (next day).

I stayed in the contract with ANTAC only you (ANTAC) said the work will be done on the next day. So if I did not call you what happen?

2/- Technician suffered an injury so he could not come to work:

I am not carpenter but I do know 1 thing the job (to repair all wood damage at my house) could not be done by 1 man. It has to have a group at least 2 or more to finish because the amount of wood that need to repair and their location (some at 2nd floor).

* First: If 1 technician was injury, then where were the rest of the crews (who were assigned to work on my house).

* Second: If the injury technician is foreman, then the rest of the crews can start the work then the foreman (replacement) shows up to supervise later (as it was done at my house on the second day. Foreman just stopped by couple minutes to show the crew what need to be done and at the end of the day when final inspection was performed.)  

In both case 1 technician injury could not stop the work.

So go figure

3/-Stay home during the repair time:
 A/- Some thing will done on your house, your property do you let somebody do it  or you watch them to do the job and to make sure it is done properly?
In my case, if I was not at home on the repair day who found your crew made a big mistake. Your people missed a big junk of repair (front entrance). I and your foreman had to discuss that forgotten job and finally your screw admit their mistake and finished the job.
B/- Work done outside: I have dog on backyard - So can your crew do the job without me present.

      Or your crew just knocks my dog out then does the job

      Or sue me when 1 of you man is bitten by my dog?
C/- Because that (above) I volunteer stay home for 2 days repair. Only request was "the date" are set and follow on time.

4/- THE MOST IMPORTANT is your employee (***) TOLD me "IF YOU DO NOT WANT IT THEN YOU GO HEAD TO CANCEL THE CONTRACT".  (This how ANTAC employee deal with customer????)
      However, if I cancel the contract because ANTAC did not do right jobs then I have to pay penalty. SO ANTAC do business the way such as:
            I stay in contract --> ANTAC has JOB
            I cancel contract --> ANTAC get FREE money (penalty)from me.
      Either way ANTAC get money. IS THAT HOW ANTAC DO BUSINESS?
If I knew that no way I do business with ANTAC.

5/- For the root I do not know much about it but:
      Before the work 3 titles broken
      After 14 break
      I do not and won’t ask you to cover the 3 old damage title. If it rain then what happen at the NEW 11 broken title? Who will pay for damage (if it’s happen) special with ANTAC who did not do the job right at first time.

The ONLY I want for the root is repaired it after your work.

6/- The tile warranty was provided to you free of charge:

            Nothing for free. Everything is included in the price and it got to negotiate upfront (before sign contract). So if the contract states I need to pay ($200 or what amount it may be) for title warranty then may be I did not sign contract with ANTAC. There are a lot of fumigation companies in San Diego and I actually had 4 bids from 4 different companies about the job need to be done on my house. Your number is not the lowest but I chose Antac because Antac did fumigate the house in my neighbor.

Beside that, I told Antac’s employee, I have tiles (more than 50) you can use them to replace the one broken. That why he “waived the tile warranty”
 Under customer view, I do not care how many hours are needed for repair the wood, how many nails/ wood you need to use for repair, how many gallon of chemical you use for fumigate my house, how many title is broken and need to repair after work.

            The only thing I care:

                        Replace all damage wood

                        Fumigate the house

                        Repair the broken tile

                        Work is done on time

For all of those (above) I have to pay such amount of money, and the amount of money is negotiated before sign in contract.

For me: no such work is done for free.

7/- In Final:

            I do not need any from ANTAC I just want anybody out there in San Diego know how ANTAC does business and I will make sure to do that at least with all my friend, relative, who I know or work with.





Business Response:

Mr. ****,

I realize you’re not asking for anything from Antac and my reason for addressing your points is to hopefully help you understand that while there were issues regarding your services, Antac’s intention was to provide you with the best service possible. Unfortunately issues came up the day of your scheduled services and we exhausted our resources to find a solution. I hope this response eases any ill feelings you might have toward Antac.

1.       When you called and were placed on hold, we were aware the repair technician wasn’t going to be able to work that day and were in the process of contacting our repair subcontractors to see if they could do the repairs that day. Unfortunately they all had work scheduled for that day and as soon as we knew it could be done the next day, you were told.

If you hadn’t called, we would have and were about to call you to inform you of the issue and when another worker could be there. Antac always tries and most of the time does complete work when promised. However, there are times when things out of our control delay what we initially promised.

2.       Termite repair is not handled the same as other wood repair and in most cases one repair tech is assigned to each job. There was only one tech assigned to do your repairs and he got hurt. The crew that came out was one of our sub-contractors who has a crew and foreman because of the many different jobs they do, but this is not the norm when dealing with termite repairs.

3.       Each repair may or may not require the customer be home. The only point I was making here was Antac didn’t require you to be home for the repairs to be completed.

4.       *** indicated to me after he spoke with you that because of the delay, you wanted to cancel the work and told you if you wanted to cancel you could.

5.       Regarding the roof tile warranty, I was not aware you had the tiles to replace the broken ones. The roofer who takes care of the tile warranties if often booked out several weeks at a time. Fortunately with the San Diego weather, we don’t get much rain when your fumigation was done. The fumigation company is always looking to add more roofers so the tile warranties can get completed quicker, but it’s been difficult finding good roofers. This also covers question #6.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

*** ****

Here is my.
How about the Antac say.
THESE ARE MY FAULTS AND WE ARE SORRY. WE WORK BETTER NEXT TIME
instead keep say because of this, because of that , ... all of those just are UNTRUE.
TP




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Antac Pest Control
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart