This business is not BBB accredited.

Meramak Inc

Phone: (800) 225-3400 Fax: (562) 267-4004 View Additional Phone Numbers 407 W Imperial Hwy #H377, Brea, CA 92821 http://www.meramak.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers merchant services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Meramak Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Meramak Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 2013 Business started: 11/20/1997 in CA Business incorporated 01/04/1999 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Lapotaire, CEO/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Lapotaire, CEO/President
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Payment Processing Service Credit Card - Merchant Services Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies Point of Sale Systems

Alternate Business Names
Meramak The Bankcard Center
Industry Tips
Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    407 W Imperial Hwy #H377

    Brea, CA 92821 (800) 225-3400 (562) 267-4000 (562) 267-4000 (800) 944-1111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Meramak, Inc. withdrew $1,744.10 from our Company’s checking account without prior notice or authorization. 03/11/16….$385.00 03/24/16….$378.00 04/12/16….$595.00 04/18/16….$386.10 $1,744.10 Numerous phone calls starting on 4/26/16 to their 800-225-3400 and 562-267-4000 between 8AM & 6PM have gone unanswered. The only time someone answered my call was on 5/10/16 and I was told that owner **** ********** was unavailable because it was his birthday and he will return my call. He has yet to return my call.

Desired Settlement: The resolution we are seeking is the have the $1,744.10 refunded by Meramak, Inc.

2/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Merchant service continues to deduct several hundred dollars from the bank account without notice or authorization. When you call the company within business hours, it goes to voicemail no matter what ext.

Desired Settlement: Would like to be contacted immediately and refunded the money that was not authorized to the merchant service company. Also would like to find out if we are in contract or can we cancel both of our accts.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

In regards to complaint ID number ******** we have researched the amount charged to the customer and have concluded the charges are valid. We have written and signed documentation to prove these charges are valid and the customer has agreed to these terms. Attached you will find the contract that was sign by Screen Printing on Time as well as the personal guarantee on page 2 and a copy of the placement agreement that was signed indicating that they agreed to have their fees withdrawn.

 

Thank You,

 

**** ********* ************************** ******** **** ************ * **** ************ ***

 

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent Meramak a 30 day notification that I was terminating their services with them on 09/15/2013.On Oct. 15, 2013 I sent another letter along with the terminal stating that I was ending business with them. I should have not been charged anything after Oct. 15. Come to find out in January 2014, that they had been taking service fees out for Nov., Dec., and Jan.. When I made them aware of this, they looked into it and told me my account was closed. I was still charged for Feb. March and April for a total of $327.03! Not a single transaction was processed during that time, since I didn't even have the terminal. I also have delivery confirmation from the USPS that the terminal was received by Meramak on Oct. 16, 2013.I have been on the phone with them for going on 5 months now with no satisfactory results.***** ***, has been the middle person between myself and **** *********, who in the past has always been helpful, but apparently had no time for me now.Every time I am told someone will call me back, it doesn't happen.***** called me on a Friday to tell me that **** would be calling me the next Tuesday. That never happened, and whenever ***** ***s she is going to call, she never does.This company has made lot's of money over the years with my business, and the stressful and unfair treatment I have received over the past 5 months has been difficult to say the least. It;s only been 9 months since I had a double mastectomy, and I'm supposed to avoid stress. This situation has caused me undue stress and anxiety, and I just want my money returned to me and I will never do business with Meramak again.I have been telling them for months that I had had it, and they only thing they are prompt about is ignoring me. They have not been able to tell me why any of this is happening, other than to guess. Very unprofessional.Meramak seems to have no problem stealing $327.00 from small struggling business's.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive back into my bank account the 6 months worth of service fees that were taken out of my account when I closed the account on October 15, 2013.I have termination notice, delivery confirmation of terminal and bank statements showing the funds were taken from my account.

Business Response:

Attn: **** **
888 of San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
*** ********* **** **** *** ****** ** **********

RE: ********* ******** *******
Complaint ID: ********

To whom it may concern:

We provided this merchant with credit card services for many years with no complaints. Our
records don't show the account was ever properly terminated and the terminal returned was
broken. We can't provide a refund for a service that had already been provided. Especially
since that service Is provided by a third party and neither was even notified. We don't check
or require that people process any minimum number of transactions it Is not a prerequisite
for service.

The account has been closed and no further money is owed.

***** ***
Meramal, Inc.
Bus*************
Fax ***** ********
*********************

</

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Regards,

******* *******
Hello,

Thank you for responding.  However I am very disappointed in Meramak's response, but not surprised.  
Their letter to you is the first that I heard of the terminal being broken.  After countless times of speaking with them, the issue of a broken terminal was never mentioned.
I called them after the first month I noticed I was still being charged for services not used.  I gave them a 30 day written notice, then I sent in my terminal after 30 days and they still kept charging me.  Every time I spoke to *****, she never knew why I was being charged, and admitted that they had no idea why Global World Pay was still charging me.  
As you can see by my attachments, my service was to end by Oct. 15, 2013.  They continued to charge me service fees through March of 2014.  They took a total of $327.00 over 4 and 1/2 months.
As far as 3rd party goes, that is Global Pay which is with Meramak, not me, yet they did nothing for all that time, and now they are telling bold face lies about the reality of this
I am not satisfied with this response and would like to pursue further.
As far as not having complaints over the years I dealt with them, that is true.  However it does not justify the unprofessional treatment I have received just by wanting to go with another merchant provider.  I was not under any contract, and I called to get exact instructions on how to terminate my service with Meramak to avoid all this.  
As you will see in the notices I attached, I was in compliance with their policy.
Thank you for your attention to this matter and I hope to hear from you soon,
******* *******

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:
I am sorry this merchant has had so much trouble and after reviewing the account again we
have decided to refund the merchant the last 2 months of service to compensate for the
delay in getting her account closed.

**** ********* / Meramak Inc.
************ *****
****************

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to cancel monthly credit card payment services with this company for over two months now and my service representative ***** *** (************ extension ****) has stopped responding to my requests via phone and e-mail (two weeks without a response). When I call the company's main telephone number know one answers and it goes to voice mail. After leaving a message(s) know one calls back, ever. This has been going on for months now. I have now paid for two months of minimum credit card processing fees for a service my company is not using. Meramak also withdrew from our business checking account $430, without permission or invoice, for equipment they never allowed us an opportunity to return because know one will answer the phone or call us back. Please help!

Desired Settlement: I would like Meramak to properly close my account and stop monthly service charges, and allow me to return the credit card processing equipment and receive a refund for $430 for the equipment once it is returned.

Business Response:

Attn: **** **
BBB of San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
*** ********* **** **** *** ****** ** **********

RE: *** ****** **** *******
Early Term Fee Charge
Complaint ID: ********

To whom it may concern:

This merchant was set up on a 3 year contract for credit card services and after only a few months
cancelled.

The merchant chose a 3 year term where all the fees were waived so having both established their
account for free and also providing free processing equipment we could not waive the cancellation
fee.

Sincerely,

***** ***
Meramak, Inc.
Bus ***** ********
Fax ***** ********
*********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The company (Meramak) illegally withdrew funds from our business bank account to satisfy what they believe was a breach of contract.  We attempted to cancel our account properly and their administration staff (***** ***) gave incorrect information on how to do so.  If Meramak wanted to dispute this fact they should have done so with proper communication to our company either via phone or email.  Neither of which they had the decency to do.  They simply illegally withdrew funds from our account to pay off the contract.  This is unacceptable and illegal.  Our company is considering legal and criminal action at this time.

Regards,

****** *****



Business Response:

To whom it may concern:
This merchant was set up on a 3 year contract for credit card services, and after a few
months canceled.
The Merchant chose a 3 year term program where all the set up fees were waived and the
equipment was provided at no charge. For this reason we cannot waive their cancelation
fees for early termination.

**** *********

Meramak Inc.

*****************

****************

4/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have three separate credit card processing accounts with Meramak. We cancelled all three accounts on 10/8/2013 by phone, email, and fax. We called to get confirmation and we were told it would take a week or so for someone to get back to us to confirm the the cancellations. No one ever did. We called at least five more times to get the confirmation. They assured us they received are correspondence about the cancellations. In the mean time they continued to automatically debit our band accounts for the monthly minimum billing charge. We called them to stop and they always said someone would contact us and of course no one ever did. We finally put a stop payment on our business checking accounts to stop their illegal debits. Incredibly they attempted to charge our bank accounts again today (January 6th, 2015), three months after we told them to stop. Do not do business with these shysters / scam artists.

Desired Settlement: Stop attempting to charge our bank accounts and issue a formal receipt of account cancellations that were promised us back in October of 2014.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

We provide and take the liability to provide credit card servioe for al 3 accounts as Indicated
with the understanding they would provide a 30 day notice to cancel.

Since it is a monthly service not prorated If any portion of the month of service is provided
the merchant is charged for the whole month. Having 3 accounts just compounded
additional fees. However Meramak closed all 3 accounts In a timely manner.

Sincerely,

***** ***

Meramak, Inc. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We cancelled all three accounts by phone, by email, and by fax on Oct 14th 2014.  They continued to charge our bank accounts the minimum monthly charges months later.

Regards,

**** ****************



3/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Meramak Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)