BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Meramak Inc

Phone: (800) 225-3400 Fax: (562) 267-4004 View Additional Phone Numbers 407 W Imperial Hwy #H377, Brea, CA 92821 http://www.meramak.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers merchant services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Meramak Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 5 complaints filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Meramak Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 20, 2013 Business started: 11/20/1997 in CA Business incorporated: 01/04/1999 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Lapotaire, CEO Ms. Karen Say, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Lapotaire, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Karen Say, President
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Payment Processing Service Credit Card - Merchant Services Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies Point of Sale Systems

Industry Tips
Identity Theft

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    407 W Imperial Hwy #H377

    Brea, CA 92821 (800) 225-3400 (562) 267-4000 (562) 267-4000 (800) 944-1111

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (562) 267-4000(Phone)
  • (562) 267-4000(Phone)
  • (800) 944-1111(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to cancel monthly credit card payment services with this company for over two months now and my service representative ***** *** (************ extension ****) has stopped responding to my requests via phone and e-mail (two weeks without a response). When I call the company's main telephone number know one answers and it goes to voice mail. After leaving a message(s) know one calls back, ever. This has been going on for months now. I have now paid for two months of minimum credit card processing fees for a service my company is not using. Meramak also withdrew from our business checking account $430, without permission or invoice, for equipment they never allowed us an opportunity to return because know one will answer the phone or call us back. Please help!

Desired Settlement: I would like Meramak to properly close my account and stop monthly service charges, and allow me to return the credit card processing equipment and receive a refund for $430 for the equipment once it is returned.

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent Meramak a 30 day notification that I was terminating their services with them on 09/15/2013.On Oct. 15, 2013 I sent another letter along with the terminal stating that I was ending business with them. I should have not been charged anything after Oct. 15. Come to find out in January 2014, that they had been taking service fees out for Nov., Dec., and Jan.. When I made them aware of this, they looked into it and told me my account was closed. I was still charged for Feb. March and April for a total of $327.03! Not a single transaction was processed during that time, since I didn't even have the terminal. I also have delivery confirmation from the USPS that the terminal was received by Meramak on Oct. 16, 2013.I have been on the phone with them for going on 5 months now with no satisfactory results.***** ***, has been the middle person between myself and **** *********, who in the past has always been helpful, but apparently had no time for me now.Every time I am told someone will call me back, it doesn't happen.***** called me on a Friday to tell me that **** would be calling me the next Tuesday. That never happened, and whenever ***** ***s she is going to call, she never does.This company has made lot's of money over the years with my business, and the stressful and unfair treatment I have received over the past 5 months has been difficult to say the least. It;s only been 9 months since I had a double mastectomy, and I'm supposed to avoid stress. This situation has caused me undue stress and anxiety, and I just want my money returned to me and I will never do business with Meramak again.I have been telling them for months that I had had it, and they only thing they are prompt about is ignoring me. They have not been able to tell me why any of this is happening, other than to guess. Very unprofessional.Meramak seems to have no problem stealing $327.00 from small struggling business's.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive back into my bank account the 6 months worth of service fees that were taken out of my account when I closed the account on October 15, 2013.I have termination notice, delivery confirmation of terminal and bank statements showing the funds were taken from my account.

3/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service