Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

MarineDepot.com

Phone: (714) 456-9979 Fax: (714) 456-0070 View Additional Phone Numbers 14271 Corporate Dr, Garden Grove, CA 92843 http://www.marinedepot.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers aquarium and pet supplies.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MarineDepot.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on MarineDepot.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 01/07/1998 in CA Business incorporated 06/26/2000 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Wong, CEO Mr. Wayland Wong, COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Johnston, Marketing Associate
Principal: Mr. Ken Wong, CEO
Principal: Mr. Wayland Wong, COO
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

Online Retailer Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Aquariums - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Fins Furs & Feathers Inc Marine Depot Marine Depot Live Marinedepotlive MarineDepotLive.com PetStore.com
Industry Tips
High Pressure Sales Tactics

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14271 Corporate Dr

    Garden Grove, CA 92843 (800) 566-3474 (714) 456-9979

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently, i ordered a light mount for my aquarium from MarineDepot on June 29th for total of $245.00. The 2 separate packages shipped on June 30th as ***** home delivery for free. On July 1st, the tracking number showed me that both of them arrived at 12:52:03, but as my parents came home from work at 2:00pm. There is nothing on the "front door" as ***** mention on the tracking. Well, then i were immediatly contact MarineDepot via email, it took them few days to reply and told me to wait 8 days?.?.? so far its been 7 days and i had sent them at least 3-4 emails without any reply back!! what does that mean when i paid for my stuffs; i expect to have them in my hands but if anything goes wrong, this company has to take full responsibilty for the lost package.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD TOLD THEM I WOULD TAKE A REPLACEMENT WHEN I FIRST CONTRACT THEM, BUT NOW I WONT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY ANYMORE. THIS COMPANY NEED TO FULL REFUND BACK TO ORIGINAL PAYMENT

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

We are sorry to hear that one of our customers is dissatisfied with our services and certainly appreciate you contacting us regarding BBB complaint #********.

As indicated in the complaint, Mr. **** does claim to not have received his packages which contained the fixture mounts.  Mr. **** initially contacted us via email on Friday July 1st regarding his lost package. A representative of Marine Depot replied to his email within 24 hours apologizing for the circumstances. We informed the customer that many times the delivery driver can hide packages to help conceal the delivered package and avoid theft. We also notified Mr. **** that a lost package investigation had been created and filed with ***** to track their movements and attempt to find the lost package.

Mr. **** replied to our email on July 5th stating that he had never received a reply from us, we apologized to our customer and reassured him that we did in fact reply to his email and that a lost package investigation had already been opened on his behalf with *****. Mr. **** replied to our email on July 6th with his dislike of having to wait until the conclusion of the investigation to receive a refund.  

We reached out to Mr. **** on July 9th via email stating that ***** had concluded their investigation and had confirmed that the package was in fact delivered to the correct address on July 1st. We notified our customer that if the package was not present, it will be considered a theft and a police report will have to be filed with his local police department. A copy of this police report will need to be provided so that we may move forward with a refund.  Mr. **** has sent several emails since then stating that he refuses to file a police report for the package that was stolen off his property. Our last correspondence with Mr. **** was via email on July 12th in which he stressed that a police report would not be filed.

We are looking forward to receiving the police report so that we can move forward with the investigation and provide Mr. **** with his refund. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I refuse to fill out police report because it doesnt worth the time i put into this. The package is now at somewhere, i do not know if the package is missing/delivery wrong address or stolen. there is no evidence that ***** or MarineDepot gaves me, they just say that package is stolen and refuse to do anything. Then told me to get my own to fillout police report? Until there is a evidence from ***** that they actually delivery my package, then i will personally fill out police report. Fill out a wrong information can be a crime. 


Regards,

**** ****



4/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON FEBRUARY 23, 2016, I MADE A PURCHASE FROM THIS MERCHANT. THE PACKAGE NEVER ARRIVED OR WAS DELIVERED. I NOTIFIED MARINEDEPOT AS SOON AS WE RETURNED FROM OUT OF TOWN FOR A FAMILY EMERGENCY ON FEBRUARY 29, 2016 AND MARCH 1, 2016. I SPOKE WITH MANNY P. I WAS TOLD THAT THEY WOULD BE CONTACTING FEDERAL EXPRESS TO START A CLAIM AND PROCESS MY REFUND. THE PROCESS WOULD TAKE 8 BUSINESS DAYS. IT IS NOW MARCH 14, 2016 AND I HAVE NOT HEARD FROM MARINEDEPOT SINCE MY INITIAL CONTACT NOR HAVE I BEEN ISSUED A REFUND. FEDERAL EXPRESS CALLED MY HOME 2 DAYS AFTER SPEAKING WITH MARINEDEPOT AND WAS TOLD ALL THE SAME INFORMATION THAT WAS INITIALLY PROVIDED. I WAS TOLD BY FEDERAL EXPRESS REPRESENTATIVE, GWEN, THAT THE DELIVERY DRIVER WOULD BE AT MY RESIDENCE WITHIN THE NEXT TWO BUSINESS DAYS TO SHOW ME WHERE THE PACKAGE WAS DELIVERED. THIS NEVER HAPPENED. I WAS ALSO INFORMED BY GWEN THAT I WOULD BE RECEIVING A CALL FROM HER ON THE FOLLOWING MONDAY. THAT NEVER HAPPENED EITHER. I HAVE BEEN EXTREMELY PATIENT AND ACCOMODATING WITH THIS PROCESS, BUT ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. NOT ONLY DO I NOT EVEN HAVE THE ORDERED MERCHANDISE, BUT I ALSO HAVE NO REFUND EITHER 11 BUSINESS DAYS LATER. I HAVE ALSO REGISTERED A COMPLAINT WITH GOOGLE TRUSTED STORES AND MARINEDEPOT MISREPRESENTED THE INFORMATION INDICIATING THE ISSUE HAS BEEN RESOLVED. THIS ISSUE IS NOT RESOLVED AND IMMIDIATE ATTENTION IS DEMANDED AT THIS TIME.

Desired Settlement: MY CREDIT CARD INITIALLY USED FOR THIS TRANSACTION CREDITED FOR THE ENTIRE PURCHASE AMOUNT OF $302.97 IMMEDIATELY. NO OTHER OPTION WILL BE ACCEPTABLE OR CONSIDERED ANY RESOLUTION AFTER THIS RUN AROUND SINCE FEBRUARY 29, 2016.

Business Response: Hello ********* ******** of the Better Business Bureau,


We are sorry to hear that one of our customers has become dissatisfied with our services and certainly appreciate you contacting us regarding BBB complaint #********.

As indicated by the customers initial statement, the order was placed on 02/23/2016 with special instructions to only ship via UPS or FedEx. We process their order and shipped via FedEx the following day on 02/24/2016 with tracking number ***************. Per all of FedEx records, the package was delivered two days later on 02/26/2016 and "left at front door". We have no record of customer mentioning that they would not be available to receive package at time of delivery. Customer called us and informed us that they returned back to town and their package was never received. We informed the customer of what our records showed via the tracking information provided and we would start a lost package investigation.  At this point, FedEx started investigation and FedEx driver confirmed on 03/03/2016 that package was delivered. A second investigation was commended to further investigate since customer still confirmed package was never delivered. FedEx has taken more time than usual to confirm or deny that package was delivered. 

Please note, in most cases, refunds or replacements are not issued until the conclusion of any lost package investigation. 

During this time the customer has also filed a complaint with Google Trusted Stores and a resolution has been made. We have issued a full refund to the customer on 03/24/2016 even thought there was no conclusion to the lost package investigation yet. We understand that this process has been delayed longer than usual and we concluded that we would cover the charges of the items before we received a response from FedEx. We want to sincerely apologize for the delay and hope that the refund helps our customer. 

***** **  ****** ***** ******** ******* ********** 

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wont cancel order, not even a half day after it was put in, even though it hasn't been shipped. They will be mailing the product to someone that didn't order it and I'm out $30, or whatever it was.

Desired Settlement: I wanted the order either canceled, or shipped elsewhere... to **** ******* ** ********* ** ****** *** **** ***** ** *** **** The post office is not forwarding mail as they should and I've already tried contacting them 3 times to resolve that matter.

Business Response:

Dear ****** ***** of The Better Business Bureau,
We certainly appreciate you contacting us regarding BBB complaint #********.  We are sorry to hear one of our customers is dissatisfied with our service.
Mark Fleener placed an order to be sent to his desired shipping address which is verified in his PayPal payment. Most online orders placed at MarineDepot.com Monday-Friday are processed and shipped the same day, as noted on our website. Packaging and processing orders quickly and efficiently is something we are known for. When Mark Fleener contacted us, his order had already been packaged, processed and shipped. We also only ship orders to addresses associated with a customer's verified PayPal account. After the order had processed, we couldn't make changes to the address since it was not already verified by PayPal. It was also too late to cancel the order because the item(s) had already been packed, processed and shipped.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to explain the matter in greater detail.
Sincerely yours,
*****
Customer Support,
MarineDepot.com

5/6/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on about 4/13/15 I ordered clam shell food for my fish. it was sent overnight due to being frozen. apparently fedex tried to deliver it at 12:30 pm per fedex tracking. They have in their system we are closed between 12-1. Also the door clearly has our hours of business. We are open 8:30-noon and 1-5 (normal business hours) M-F. Per the employees at marine depot they attempted to call my number at the clinic ************ which I have several receptionists at my medical clinic and a way to leave a message. No one received a call or got a message. Marine depot then instructed fedex to throw it in the trash per Manny at Marine depot. They have a disclaimer that you have to be there when delivered which I was there from 8:30-noon and 1-5. No one reattempted delivery. I paid $96.96 for this and they refuse to refund this. Not only am I out this money but my puffer fish really needs these clams.

Desired Settlement: or refund

Business Response:

Dear ***** ***** and the Better Business Bureau,

As frozen foods are perishable, they are only guaranteed and covered on the first delivery attempt as stated on our website. It is the customer’s responsibility to be available to receive the package. If the customer is unavailable to receive the package, arrangement needs to be made with the shipping carrier prior to the first delivery attempt. Our system automatically emails tracking information once the order has shipped so the customer can make arrangements for delivery. If the frozen foods package is undeliverable for any reason, the product must be destroyed because it is a perishable item. This is stated in our shipping policies under Package Refusals: “Frozen foods and live orders are only fully covered on the first delivery attempt. It is the customer's responsibility to ensure the receipt of the package on the day of delivery.”

The frozen foods order was placed on Monday, 4/13 and shipped the same day. The customer is aware that frozen foods shipped via FedEx Standard Overnight delivery because it clearly shows the shipping method at checkout and the order was placed online. There is also a $24.99 frozen foods overnight shipping charge in which the customer agreed to pay for.

The FedEx package was shipped on scheduled under FedEx tracking #************ and this number may be tracked at http://www.fedex.com. The package was attempted for delivery the very next day on Tuesday, 4/14, but the FedEx tracking number shows a delivery exception: “Customer not available or business closed”. During second delivery attempt the next day, 4/15 at 7:46 am, the customer refused the package.

Since this perishable package was refused by the customer and has now spent 3 days in transit, we authorized UPS to destroy the package because the frozen foods are no longer salvageable and cannot be refrozen and resold. The order was fulfilled and shipped promptly. FedEx also attempted to deliver the package on time. This perishable shipment is not covered under our guarantees since the customer was unable to accept delivery. Both we and the shipping carrier fulfilled our ends of the agreement. We are unable to issue a refund or replacements due to these circumstances.

Of course, we do value our customer's business and truly care about the animals that this food was intended for. As a courtesy, we are willing to cover the overnight shipping if the customer wants to purchase replacement frozen food. We have noted this noted in the customer's account if they would like to re-order. Simply give us a call as we will be more than happy to take care of the shipping charge. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.

Sincerely yours,

*** **
Customer Service
www.marinedepot.com
1-800-566-3474; ************

3/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase of (2) Neptune DOS units from business. Order placed 12/1/14. Item was listed as pre-order with a stated 4-6 week fulfillment/delivery time frame at time of order placement. Maximum expected delivery date of Jan 11, 2015. When Jan 11, 2015 came and passed, I contacted MarineDepot.com by phone. I was told that I was on a waiting list and that not enough product had been received from the manufacturer to receive my two units within the 6 week time period. I was told my order would be fulfilled by the end of January. The month of January came to a close with no units arriving nor any contact being made by MarineDepot.com. I called again and was told they didn't have any idea as to when I would receive my two units at this point. I informed them I would call them when the units did eventually arrive and would expect a partial credit because of the lengthy delays. The two units were delivered Friday February 13th, 2015. I called MarineDepot.com Tuesday evening February 17th, 2015 to request a partial credit. I spoke with **** who told me they have no control over when this item is available for shipping. **** stated he did not have the authority to offer any credit or compensation for the 75 day wait between order placement and delivery. He said his supervisor, ****, would call me back the next morning. ******, a supervisor, called me Wednesday morning February 18th, 2015. I provided ****** all of the information contained above and restated my position. ****** offered one of two remedies to the situation (neither of which I agreed to as they did not resolve the matter). The first offer was to deduct $20 from a future order I may place with MarineDepot.com. I informed ****** this was not a reasonable resolution as I had no plans to order anything from them again in the future. I then offered to return the two units for a full refund. ****** agreed but stated he would not cover the return shipping. He offered no additional resolution. The call ended here.

Desired Settlement: Partial refund in the amount of $94.49. This is exactly 15% of the total order cost of the two items purchased. This refund is to compensate for the 33 day delay in delivering the product.

Business Response: Dear ***** ***** of The Better Business Bureau,

It pains us to hear when any customer is dissatisfied with our services and certainly appreciate you contacting us regarding BBB complaint #********.
As indicated in the complaint, ***** ******* pre-ordered two Neptune Systems DOS systems in December 2014. While we do our best to offer accurate estimated delivery dates for pre-order items, the actual delivery date is ultimately determined by the manufacturer. We list estimated delivery dates on our website's product pages as a courtesy to customers (based on the most up-to-date information we have available). Unfortunately we cannot guarantee the actual arrival or delivery date for pre-order items since they are new and not yet available.
We have a pricing agreement in place with the product manufacturer which stipulates we cannot sell the DOS (or any other product from their brand) below the minimum price they set. That is why we cannot agree to the settlement sought by the customer in this in****ce. As an alternative, we offered to credit ***** *******'s MarineDepot.com account $20 that he/she may apply toward a future purchase as an acknowledgement of the lengthy wait time and to hopefully make things right. We also created a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number, #*********, so that ***** may return the units for a refund if he/she prefers to do so. As long as the units are still sealed in their boxes, no restocking fees will be applied. We did not offer to cover return shipping costs because there is evidently nothing wrong with the units, so the burden of shipping the DOS units back to us would fall upon the customer in this case.
We would like to note that when customers pre-order products on our website using a credit/debit card, we do not charge the card on file until we physically have the product available to process and ship the order.  ***** ******* could have cancelled his/her order at any point between the time the order was placed and shipped if he/she felt the wait time was excessive or if he/she found the DOS available from another store. Since that did not occur, we processed and shipped the order immediately after receiving stock (on a first-come, first-serve basis).
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to share what transpired. We look forward to working with ***** ******* and the BBB to resolve this matter as soon as possible.
Sincerely yours,
**** ********
MarineDepot.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau of Greater San Diego,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from Marine Depot is regrettable and unacceptable. As recently as February 18th, 2015, Marine Depot offered a 2-3 day lead time on their website for new orders of the Neptune DOS product. When I addressed this with **** during our previously documented phone conversation he confirmed that they did not have any of these units in stock, did not have any idea when they would receive more units, and admitted the posted lead time was incorrect. I took a screenshot of the 2-3 day lead time and have provided it as an attachment here. This practice is considered unfair and deceptive in most states (including Florida and California).

A return and refund would have been acceptable the first time had Marine Depot offered to pay for return shipping (which is simply the least they could do). As **** notes in his response they are unwilling to do so.

A credit towards a future purchase places the onus on the consumer to enter in to another transaction with the offending business. A secondary purchase should not be required to receive relief from the unfair and deceptive trade practices that precipitated the original complaint.

To be clear - Marine Depot is not disputing the fact that they offer unrealistic lead times (regardless of where the lead times are sourced). If you don't know when a product will be made available simply do not post a lead time. They have not disputed the fact that when confronted with evidence of ongoing unfair and deceptive trade practices (2-3 day lead times) they agreed that the time frame provided to their current and potential customers was knowingly false. They are not happy about being exposed. The best way to avoid this is to deal with your customers in all matters in an above the bar fashion. Your actions as a business should be beyond reproach.

Due to Marine Depot's regrettable unwillingness to resolve this matter during the initial stage of this BBB consumer complaint the only resolution I will consider at this point is my original offer of a 15% refund of the total sale price. If Marine Depot wants to avoid running afoul of MAP pricing for this product they are more than welcome to cut a check to me out of their general account for general customer goodwill/amends.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,
Thank you for your message. Our initial position has not changed.
***** ******* knew this was a pre-order. The “ETA Date” (ETA = estimated time of arrival) listed on the DOS product page was our best estimate of when the item would arrive here. New product time frames are subject to change. We update them when we receive new information from the manufacturer.
We would like to reiterate ***** ******* was NOT charged for pre-ordering. By pre-ordering he simply reserved the product. We fulfilled his pre-order in the order in which it was received and then he was charged. If ***** ******* had paid up front and then waited a long period of time without the product in hand, we could under****d how his request for compensation could be warranted.
We do not believe a refund of 15% as requested is justified. ***** ******* could have cancelled his pre-order at anytime, especially without a paid commitment. We did not force him to wait or hold him hostage to his pre-order. We do not charge credit cards for pre-orders and back-orders until they are ready to be shipped for this very reason.
***** ******* may return the product for refund as long as it's still sealed in the original retail box. Our return policy clearly states we are unable to accept returns on Neptune Systems products once the manufacturer’s packing seals have been broken. The customer is free to send back his return under the Return Merchandise Authorization issued on 2/18/2015 as long as the new and sealed conditions are met.
Sincerely yours,
**** ********
MarineDepot.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I will not pay for return shipping. The items have not been opened nor have the seals been broken. This has been my position from the beginning. A 15% refund of the total purchase price will compensate me for their knowingly deceptive trade practices.

Regards,

***** *******

3/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two aquawind fans 7028.900 in July of 2014 from Marine Depot and both have stopped working.Called Marine Depot and was told to call Tunz USA for warranty and was told the fans have signs of moisture we can not warranty the fans.These are cooling fans that sit on top of a fish aquarium to cool the water. Tunze told me that Marine Depot should tell people that these fans can not go in a canopy and in Marine Depot ad it says the fans can be used for every aquarium edge and accelerating the evaporation process and thus achieving a cooling of the water.I installed the fans on the edge of the glass just like the ad says.These fans have a two year warranty

Desired Settlement: The cost of each fan was $77.99 ea total of $155.98 ok with store credit

Business Response: Dear ***** ***** of The Better Business Bureau,

We issued a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number on February 2, 2015 to ******* and ***** ****** for the two Tunze AquaWind Aquarium Fans.
Once we receive the fans, their account will be issued store credit for the purchase price.
Our customer service manager already emailed the customer to notify him/her of this proposed resolution.
If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Sincerely yours,
**** ********
MarineDepot.com
714-385-0080


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on MarineDepot.com
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart