Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hear and Play Music

Phone: (877) 856-4187 View Additional Phone Numbers 22521 Avenida Empresa #113, Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688 http://www.hearandplay.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers piano instructional materials and software.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hear and Play Music meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hear and Play Music include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hear and Play Music
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 23, 2013 Business started: 08/06/2000 in CA Business incorporated 09/18/2002 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jermaine Griggs, President Ms. Andreka Lewis, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jermaine Griggs, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Andreka Lewis, Complaint Handler
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Music Instruction - Instrumental

Alternate Business Names
Infomind Inc

Additional Locations

  • 22521 Avenida Empresa #113

    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted this merchant midway through my 30-day trial period and requested to cancel, and in that message I asked for instructions on how to return the four DVDs I had received (that I have never, till now, opened). The Hear and Play Webmaster responded and emailed a URL to me that she said I had to use in order to cancel. Additionally, she provided a blanket statement that simply said the DVDs were a free gift for me to keep and that I did not need to return them. I followed the link she provided (*********************************), and submitted a cancellation for every product that had a checkbox available to checkoff and received three emailed confimations that my membership had been cancelled. However, it is now two weeks later and I was just billed $22. I emailed the webmaster "and" ****** ****** (the President & CEO) inquiring about what in the world just happened and could someone give me a call? ****** never responded to me although the website boasts if you ever need anything, feel free to contact hm directly and he will respond. Instead ***** **** sent me a blunt response that elevated instead of aided my dissatisfaction. Her response (which contained my message to ****** and showed he forwarded it to her) never addressed my concern, but instead displayed a screenshot of an invoice they never sent to me. She even went so far as to say in her response that I am actually going to be billed by them "again" thirty days from now, and told me to have a blessed Sunday. They present their products and services in a tricky manner when you're initiating their services. Basically I learned today that the trial period was for one thing and included the 2 "free" DVDs, but the other two DVDs are pretty much $22 a piece, and there is no satisfaction or money-back guarantee.

Desired Settlement: Additionally, I feel this company should itemize their products and services on one page with clear explanation of what can be cancelled and what has no satisfaction or money-back guarantee if thats how they are going to operate. The current process they are using is trickery.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

In the banking industry we call this unfair and deceptive acts and practices (UDAP). This company really needs to rethink how they present their products and services on their webpages.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: The customer wanted to cancel her subscriptions so that she would not be billed in the future. So she was provided with a link to cancel, which the customer used to cancel. However the customer was not aware that the link does not cancel items that were purchased on a payment plan since, the customer has already received the item and will need to return it for a refund. The item was accepted on a payment plan at checkout for a $5 shipping fee and two $22 payments that would occur 30 days apart for the payment plan. This brought about confusion and cause the customer to think that we had still billed her for the subscription she cancelled, instead she was actually being billed for items she actually ordered not a subscription. She has already been refunded for the $22 charges and we have personally spoken with her.

10/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During a purchase of the 300 page workbook, I received an option to sign up for one free month of Gospel Music Training Center. I declined the offer, but was somehow signed up any way. After the unwanted free month was over, my bank account/debit card was charged $37 for the next month. Even though I used PayPal to buy the 300 page book, Hear and Play charged my bank directly instead of going through PayPal. As soon as I saw the charge, I went to their cancellation page and attempted to cancel the GMTC membership. I then called the company, but was never connected to a person. I then filled out a problem ticket on their site asking for a refund for the unauthorized charge, but I only received instructions to cancel the subscription. When the third month came around, my bank was charged AGAIN! I double checked the previous cancellation confirmation email, and found that it was for the wrong subscription. I cancelled again, verified that the confirmation was for GMTC, then submitted another ticket. Now after three weeks of correspondence on a second problem ticket, they have repeatedly offered to cancel the account for me—even though I have told them multiple times that I have already done it—and they have skirted the real issue of the two unauthorized charges totaling $74. In their most recent reply, they claimed that I paid $2.97 for the "free" subscription—I have PayPal receipts proving that I only paid for the 300 page book—and have offered a refund if I return the yours-to-keep-no-matter-what bonus materials. Their wording was not clear, but it seems that they are only offering to refund the fictional $2.97 instead of the real $74.

Desired Settlement: Plain and simple, I want a refund. Their system 1) billed me for an unwanted product that I never used, and 2) failed to unsubscribe me after the first charge.

Business Response: The customer purchased the 300pg Book and was then offered a promotion to join the Gospel Music Training Center for a $2.97 fee. The payment of the $2.97 fee started the subscription which has a $37.00 payment that is automatically taken out once a month from the card that was used to make the original purchase with. The customer was not aware of the existing subscription and wanted a refund. The customer was very upset with the billings and was given a full refund for both months of the subscription and a refund of the $2.97 fee. The customer is now satisfied.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10194047, and find that this resolution is accurate. I consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was mislead by advertisement of product...and when I requested my money back I've received a run around. I have left several telephone messages but no one responds back. The email response has been ineffective.

Desired Settlement: I would either like the product that I purchased or a refund.

Business Response: This case has been resolved. I spoke with the customer and solved the complaint back in early January. The customer is ****** *********, did not like the course and tried to contact us about it but was not able to since we were closed on Dec 26th. I spoke with her shortly after and provided her with a refund and offered her an additional course. I made sure that she was satisfied and was no longer upset with us. She needed a few days to decide which course she wanted, she chose a course over the phone with me on Jan 15th. The customer is now satisfied and has no further complaints

10/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hear and Play Music
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart