Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hear and Play Music

Phone: (877) 856-4187 22521 Avenida Empresa #113, Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688 http://www.hearandplay.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the retail sales of piano instructional material and software.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hear and Play Music meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hear and Play Music include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hear and Play Music
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 23, 2013 Business started: 08/06/2000 in CA Business incorporated 09/18/2002 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jermaine Griggs, President Ms. Andreka Lewis, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jermaine Griggs, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Andreka Lewis, Complaint Handler
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Music Instruction - Instrumental

Alternate Business Names
Infomind Inc

Additional Locations

  • 22521 Avenida Empresa #113

    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During a purchase of the 300 page workbook, I received an option to sign up for one free month of Gospel Music Training Center. I declined the offer, but was somehow signed up any way. After the unwanted free month was over, my bank account/debit card was charged $37 for the next month. Even though I used PayPal to buy the 300 page book, Hear and Play charged my bank directly instead of going through PayPal. As soon as I saw the charge, I went to their cancellation page and attempted to cancel the GMTC membership. I then called the company, but was never connected to a person. I then filled out a problem ticket on their site asking for a refund for the unauthorized charge, but I only received instructions to cancel the subscription. When the third month came around, my bank was charged AGAIN! I double checked the previous cancellation confirmation email, and found that it was for the wrong subscription. I cancelled again, verified that the confirmation was for GMTC, then submitted another ticket. Now after three weeks of correspondence on a second problem ticket, they have repeatedly offered to cancel the account for me—even though I have told them multiple times that I have already done it—and they have skirted the real issue of the two unauthorized charges totaling $74. In their most recent reply, they claimed that I paid $2.97 for the "free" subscription—I have PayPal receipts proving that I only paid for the 300 page book—and have offered a refund if I return the yours-to-keep-no-matter-what bonus materials. Their wording was not clear, but it seems that they are only offering to refund the fictional $2.97 instead of the real $74.

Desired Settlement: Plain and simple, I want a refund. Their system 1) billed me for an unwanted product that I never used, and 2) failed to unsubscribe me after the first charge.

Business Response: The customer purchased the 300pg Book and was then offered a promotion to join the Gospel Music Training Center for a $2.97 fee. The payment of the $2.97 fee started the subscription which has a $37.00 payment that is automatically taken out once a month from the card that was used to make the original purchase with. The customer was not aware of the existing subscription and wanted a refund. The customer was very upset with the billings and was given a full refund for both months of the subscription and a refund of the $2.97 fee. The customer is now satisfied.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10194047, and find that this resolution is accurate. I consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was mislead by advertisement of product...and when I requested my money back I've received a run around. I have left several telephone messages but no one responds back. The email response has been ineffective.

Desired Settlement: I would either like the product that I purchased or a refund.

Business Response: This case has been resolved. I spoke with the customer and solved the complaint back in early January. The customer is ****** *********, did not like the course and tried to contact us about it but was not able to since we were closed on Dec 26th. I spoke with her shortly after and provided her with a refund and offered her an additional course. I made sure that she was satisfied and was no longer upset with us. She needed a few days to decide which course she wanted, she chose a course over the phone with me on Jan 15th. The customer is now satisfied and has no further complaints

10/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues