Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

GPS Moving & Storage Inc

Phone: (888) 896-2086 View Additional Phone Numbers 2402 Main St #A, Chula Vista, CA 91911 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.gpsmoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers long distance moving and storage.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GPS Moving & Storage Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GPS Moving & Storage Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on GPS Moving & Storage Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 10
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 03, 2010 Business started: 03/21/2008 in CA Business incorporated 03/06/2009 in WY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1325 J St #1540, Sacramento CA 95814
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 930-2760
Fax Number: (916) 930-2778
The number is 1754831.

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1325 J St #1540, Sacramento CA 95814
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 930-2760
Fax Number: (916) 930-2778
The number is 642006.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tammy Cruz, Manager Mr. Chaim Lugasi, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tammy Cruz, Manager
Principal: Mr. Chaim Lugasi, Owner
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers

Alternate Business Names
Viva Moving and Storage Inc
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 2402 Main St #A

    Chula Vista, CA 91911

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our contract included "Wrapping of all furniture with special protective moving pads (pads free, tape free and labor is free) * Disassembling of furniture & Reassembly of furniture at destination." Unfortunately, our wooden bedroom furniture was wrapped in saran wrap and arrived dented. Our $1600 french-door refrigerator was completely disassembled, however upon delivery they were unable to reassemble the refrigerator. It sits in my kitchen completely useless. In addition, the movers left huge gouges in our walls and ceilings, which will be deducted from our security deposit. Finally, our contract included placement of furniture in desired rooms. Most of our furniture was left in the back room, requiring me to complete the move myself. GPS did not complete the signed contract and has not responded to e-mails requesting resolution.

Desired Settlement: It is reasonable that GPS should cover the cost of a replacement refrigerator and removal of the damaged refrigerator. In addition, GPS should cover my $2400 security deposit to cover the cost of the residential damage and the labor associated with not completing the move/contract.

Business Response:

GPS Moving would first like to apologize for the furniture that was damaged during the duration of the move. After looking over Mr. & Mrs. ******** file our records indicate no claim was submitted. Although we allow up to 60 days to submit a claim we would like to re-open the ******** file and allow proper claim to be filled out and returned within 7 business days from time it has been received. I will send a claim form via email and U.S. mail our claim. This will give the ********'s the opportunity to address the damages and provide any photos, videos, or receipts regarding each item and/or repairs that was done inside the property while the movers brought in your belongings. If you have any questions regarding your claim, our Claims Dept info included in your email/attachment. Please contact them directly if you have any questions or would like to check the status of your claim. Again we do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Once we receive your claim please allow up to 30 days for claim to be processed and thoroughly investigated.

 

Thank you for your time & patience,

 

GPS Moving & Storage

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response received from GPS is a slap in the face considering that a claim was filed with ****** ****** ********** and the settlement was approximately $200. ****** ****** ********** will not cover the cost of the damage to the house or the repair of the disassembled refrigerator. GPS Movers is trying to skirt the issue of not completing their contractual agreement. This is a completely unacceptable and enraging response.

Regards,

******** ********



Business Response:

After receiving an email from Mrs. ******** on 5/31/16 I realized a claim had been submitted prior to me taking over claims. I apologize for the misunderstanding. I have contacted our claims department for further info regarding the ******** claim submitted and will be in touch once I have information to provide the customer. I would like the opportunity to view any photos/videos of the damages needing to be repaired or receipts to any repairs that been paid for in advance. Per my email to Mrs. ******** I asked she give me until the end of week to gather details and get back to her. Mrs. ******** has been very helpful and made herself available if I needed further info from her.
 
We will make sure to resolve this matter in a timely manner and pay for any damages to furniture or property caused by GPS Moving staff.
 
Thank you for your patience. I will be in touch soon.

 

GPS MOVING & STORAGE

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Regards,

******** ********



4/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This situation involves more than one issue and requires more explanation than this space allows. I would like to send an attachment that will provide more details. In brief, at the recommendation of the Public Utilities Commission, I asked GPS to do a visual inspection prior to my move to get a quote in writing. I asked for a “not to exceed” price – which is the maximum amount I could be charged. I was assured by ******** at GPS via email that this would be no problem and my email was forwarded to their legal department on January 6, 2016. I have copies of that email correspondence. On January 11th, GPS did a visual inspection and I was quoted a guaranteed price of $4600. I was told my items would arrive between 5-7 days. On moving day I was told it was going to cost me an additional $742 more, and I had no choice but to agree since I had to be out of my place that day. When the movers arrived 12 days later, almost every piece of furniture had been broken or damaged, some beyond repair. Several items were lost. Representatives of their company knowingly made false statements to me as well as engaged in unethical and illegal business practices. I have spoken to a supervisor named **** at GPS who said she would not honor the original quote or compensate me in any way. I have filed a claim and provided photographs to their claims company but they only reimburse by weight, not by value.

Desired Settlement: I want money refunded. I expect GPS to honor their original written guaranteed quote.

Business Response:

On 1/11/16 a consultant met with Mrs. ***** and performed a thorough walk through of each room and put together an accurate list of items according to what the customer would like shipped including 30 file boxes. All our quotes are guaranteed and binding according to the list of items which each customer is sent a copy via email. Mrs. ***** received her quote from her onsite visit the next day on 1/12/16. Included is the information listed below to show the customer all the items requested to be shipped and should there be any changes they should contact us to make necessary changes.

If you have submitted an inventory list of your belongings please review the list below to confirm that the information is correct. Since this list is used to determine your guaranteed and binding price, please let me know if there are any changes/updates that need to be made to the list.

On 1/12/16 customer emailed our sales rep to correct some of the items on her list and was sent a new quote. Mrs. **** contacted us on 1/14/16 and 1/20/16 to update delivery address/email/contact numbers and discuss discounts. On pick up date 2/29/16 before the move took place our guys did a walk through and got an actual inventory count. We calculated 152 boxes. When brought to her attention about her box count she stated she did not say 30 boxes she said there will be 50 boxes. We gave customer additional 20 free boxes. Now we have 72 additional boxes. Our foreman told customer the additional cost for the 72 boxes and asked if she would like to ship them. Customer agreed and continued to sign her contract. All of GPS Moving customers sign a contract before move begins. On the contract it states “price was agreed to before move began” with her handwriting and signature.

On delivery date there were some damages to 7 items that were signed by Mrs. *****.  A claim was submitted. We apologize for any inconvenience or miscommunication between GPS Moving and Mrs. *****. We are willing to work with her to try to resolve this matter with both parties being satisfied with the outcome. Since the claim is in the processing stage we would like the opportunity for the claims department to finalize this case as the law says.

All GPS Moving customers are welcome to contact us or the Claims Department if there are any questions or would like to check the status of their claim.

Thank you for your time and patience,

GPS Moving & Storage

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

GPS’s continues to misrepresent several facts in their response to my complaint, in order to justify adding additional costs onto the original guaranteed price that I agreed on.

The first false statement in their response was what they claimed happened during the visual inspection on January 11th, when GPS sent *** to my home to do a walk through. He went through every room of my home and garage and noted my entire household inventory. I had a stack of file-sized boxes flattened out on the floor of my garage, which I had planned to use in packing smaller items. *** asked how many there were and I estimated approx. 30-50 boxes. I also had a number of plastic bins that were going to be used to pack items, as well as a stack of additional empty product boxes in a corner I had planned to use (which would hold TVs, microwave, vacuum,etc.). At that stage of my move I had no way of estimating how many boxes it would take to pack up my entire house, as I am not a professional mover. That is the job of the moving company professional to estimate how much space my items would take. At no time did I ever state that my entire household would require only 30 boxes, as *** falsely claimed. He also told me on 1/12/16 that the delivery time for items going from the West Coast to the West Coast would take 5-7 days. The movers on moving day also gave me this time frame. In reality, it took them 12 days to transport furniture 2 states away, and when I reminded them of the time frame *** gave me he claimed that he told me it would take up to 21 days. This is a blatant lie.
Another false statement they made in their response to my complaint was that I contacted them on 1/12/16 in order to correct some items on my list. The truth is that after the walk through inspection, A** added an additional $450 to my original quote, and submitted an updated inventory list WHICH WAS EXACTLY THE SAME as the original one I had provided to ****, the sales rep who had provided the original quote. I sent **** an email questioning how they could justify adding $450 to the original quote when nothing had been added to the original inventory list. (I have retained a copy of that email exchange.) ***’s justification for the price increase was that he said the bookcase and queen bed were bigger than expected, and that I had more plastic bins than what I had listed on my original inventory. A queen-sized bed has standard dimensions, and I had not misrepresented the size of the oak bookcase to K*** because I told her it was oak with five shelves. I conceded that I might have miscounted the number of plastic bins, but didn’t feel that a few extra bins justified adding $450 to the quote. After haggling with their sales rep, they adjusted the $450 additional price increase down to $222, which I agreed to pay. My contract clearly states it is a guaranteed price, which was not to be exceeded.
Despite this guarantee in writing, on the morning of the move, after the movers had taken almost all my furniture and items downstairs preparing to load them onto the truck, I got a call from ***. He told me that there were over 100 boxes and that I had told him I only had 30 boxes, so it was going to cost me an additional $742 more. My original guaranteed price was $4600, and it was now going to cost me $5342.56. I was very upset and got into a heated argument with him. But since I had to vacate my apartment by the next day and since the utilities were being turned off and I had a one-way non-refundable ticket to Washington, I HAD NO OTHER OPTIONS AT THAT LATE DATE BUT TO ACCEPPT THESE ADDED CHARGES. There was no way I could have gotten another moving company out at the last minute to take these items and GPS knew that. They had me over a barrel.
The movers took 12 days to deliver items that were two states away. When they arrived and opened the moving truck, I was shocked to see how many things they had piled on top of one another; some 10 layers deep. Despite padding the furniture, almost every item of furniture got damaged or destroyed.  The leg on my bed’s headboard snapped in two because of the weight placed on top of it (valued at $250), and had to be throw out. A $39 floor fan snapped in two and also went in the trash. My bathroom étagère ($89 value) was broken in three pieces and had three big chunks of wood missing from the broken pieces. The top portion of my computer desk had broken off and come apart from the bottom (which I had just bought second hand for $59 four months prior), as had the top portion of a wooden curio cabinet (valued at $139). A $150 oak bookcase had a 6” gash in the wood in the lower right corner. A leg on my entertainment center (valued at $120) was broken.  There were gashes on the front and side of my wooden TV cabinet ($100 value). There was a piece from a hand-painted folk art stool that was broken, which is invaluable and irreplaceable. The socket on my floor lamp was broken which I paid a handyman to repair ($20 an hour, plus the part.) The movers also lost several items; a step ladder ($25 value), a large roll of bubble wrap ($29 value); a box containing my rechargeable vacuum cleaner had come apart and was missing the cord ($59 value that is unusable without a cord); a metal pole from my shoe rack was missing ($69 value, which I can’t find a replacement for); a caster was missing from a utility cart ($55 value, which I cannot find the right size caster in order to replace them). A leg from my couch was removed by the movers and lost. I have not yet gotten this fixed.  Many of the plastic storage bins were crushed from the weight piled on top, and several handles broke off so that they no longer close.
GPS fasley claimed that only 7 items were damaged. I sent GPS a copy of the claim form I sent to their claims company, Anthem Claim Management, showing color photos of everything that got damaged or broken and lost (I included a similar item to what was lost), so GPS is well aware that the damage was much more extensive than only 7 items, as they claim in their response. 

I stand by my original complaint and request that they honor their original $4600 guaranteed price.


Regards,

****** *****



4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got GPS company to move my things from California( Nov 2014) to Virginia( Dec 2015). First of all, the contract of the delivery date was around 2nd week of December, but they called me that they are delivering earlier. I felt like I was pushed, harassed and stress out to comply with their demands that I didnt have a choice if I wanted my things earlier before the holidays. I talked to the apt manager in Virginia that I will be moving earlier contrary to the planned date. This already cost me so much money since I have to pay the rent at an early start. When I got to Virginia my things were not delivered as I was told but delivered later! I DID NOT said a thing nor complained because I didnt want to ruin my days and be upset. However, one box of my items was lost, my NEW expensive mountain bike was disassembled, and my dining ( table for 6 ) table legs were gone!!! I spent Christmas and new year without a dining table. This is just HORRIBLE, TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE . I filed for a claim. I gave them an honest assessment of the lost items. I even sent an email of the cost of the repairs it will cost me for the dining table legs repair, and its going to cost me $400. Each leg already cost around $35-$50, plus labor etc. This company has the worst , insensitive customer service at all with regards to moving and taking care of belongings to STORAGE and fairness to customer. It's like when you made a deal with them, the customer is at their mercy if you want your things delivered they will manipulate you according to their liking and convenience.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get $515 I am claiming for. Honestly I feel this is the least amount I can ask for. It SHOULD COST MORE ACTUALLY not mentioning ALL THE INCONVENIENCES and UNFAIRNESS they have done to me, and the other items ruined during the move which I am not even claiming anymore.

Business Response:

Mrs. ***** contents were pickup from her storage unit. All items were inventoried at time of pickup. The customer was provided copy of this list.  We had a folding table noted but there were NO legs listed on the inventory. 

 

In regards to the delivery day, we had a truck that was scheduled to arrive at her destination just 2 days before the customers’ request. To be courteous to the customer, we had contacted her and informed her that we can ship at this time or wait for the next truck and due to X-Mas and New Years it might be delayed a little. She chose to go with the earlier delivery.  Yes, the truck didn’t arrive on the exact date, as this is a cross-country move and arrived just a few days after (customer was informed ahead of time)

 

We still accepted the claim that was submitted by the client and processed it. The customer had agreed to basic liability insurance of .60 pppa.  According to this agreement GPS Moving is obligated to pay the customer $48.00. However, GPS Moving always goes above our obligation and offered a compensation of $210.00.  The customer feels this is not enough…we had informed her that she could also contact out third party arbitration program through American Moving and Storage Association.

 

 

GPS Moving staff has always shown respect and clear communication with the customer.

 

Respectfully,
GPS Moving

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
Regards,

****** *******


THIS RESPONSE FROM GPS IS NOT FAIR AT ALL FOR  A CUSTOMER. IF THEY DONT FIND THE DINING TABLE LEGS THEIR OPTION FOR ME IS TO GIVE THE EXACT AMOUNT OF $500  THAT IM CLAIMING FOR, FOR ALL THE LOSSES AND DAMAGEs, 

OR FIND ME THEIR OWN CARPENTER TO REPAIR THE LEGS OF MY DINING TABLE HERE IN ROANOKE , VIRGINIA  AND SHOULDER THE EXPENSES AND PAY THE REST OF MY CLAIMS. I HAVE VIDEOS AND PICTURES ON MY PHONE OF ALL MY THINGS SENT THRU THEIR MOVING COMPANY.
Thank you.

Business Response: We will be happy to work directly with the customer to resolve this issue. Please contact us at your convenience. 

Respectfully, 
GPS Moving 
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 
Regards,

****** *******
" I WOULD LIKE THEM TO WORK WITH ME NOW ,LIKE WHAT IS THEIR PLAN FOR THIS CASE THROUGH THE MEDIATION OF BETTER BUSSINESS BUREAU.

If they have somebody to fix my table provide the person's name and phone number and the declaration paper of the check their sending me for the other damages made.I am glad their willing to work with me...but it will be done through BBB....i dont want BBB to drop this case till they really resolve this case.


Business Response: If the consumer would have purchased insurance on the move, we would have the insurance company come out and scheduled a repair. However, this is not the case. We feel that the estimate for repair that consumer is filing is grossly overestimated. We are kindly requesting that she acquires 2 more written estimates and forward it to our office. 

Thank you

2/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 4, 2014, the day that our move was scheduled to be packed and loaded, the movers arrived close to 1 hour late. We have moved across the country several times between us and so we understand that breakage is a part of the moving process. To have items packed with blatant disregard to our belongings, it’s as if there was an intent to break items. Regardless of our decision to purchase additional insurance we did not anticipate GPS to intentionally show disregard for doing their job. Almost every piece of furniture was dinged on the corners or gouged from being dropped, banged, etc. Doors on one cabinet were snapped off at the hinges. So many boxes were packed with a deliberate lack of care that we have to question how anyone, much less a “professional” mover, would expect the items inside to arrive undamaged. Boxes of obviously fragile items were thrown together with no packing materials. A record player was packed on the bottom of a large box and then heavier things were placed on top of it--blatant disregard--no person would have expected it to arrive in one piece! Many items were irreplaceable such as vase from our honeymoon in Costa Rica, a hookah from a deployment in Jordan, glass decanter inherited from grandparents, etc. ALL of these items were damaged or destroyed; not some, not by accident but out of blatant disrespect for our property. Additionally, when trying to schedule a delivery date for our items to be removed from storage and sent to us here in Georgia we were told several times that we should be receiving a call back by the end of the day or that we would be contacted with a status update and then the promised time would come and go. It took over a week for someone to return a phone call to us to get our things on the way to us and by that time we were calling nearly every day in an effort to try to arrange a delivery. When truck finally arrived no boxes were labeled so we had a horrible time trying to sort through and unpack.

Desired Settlement: We would like our insurance claim to be processed immediately-we submitted this claim with a letter explaining our experience in detail as well as completed forms and an entire disc of pictures to show damage; boxes as we opened them and found them improperly packed; etc. We would like to be reimbursed for all damages. We would also like to discuss a refund as we feel this level of service is unacceptable and have not received any apology, explanation, etc in almost 2 months. We understand this process is to take up to 60 days but we are now at day 50 and again feel the level of service both in customer relations and actual moving services has been horrendous.

Business Response: GPS Moving takes full responsibility and is working directly with the client to resolve all issues.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and are accepting their offer as we understand that in order not to we will have to sue. The company is covering damages but will not issue much of a refund as they insist they did not profit much in our contract.  We will wait for the business to perform this action  as they are also requesting that we remove and reword some of the reviews we have placed on-line, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** * *** *****

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved from Riverside California to Jacksonville Florida and contracted with GPS to handle the move. The initial bid was less than other movers so we selected GPS. After our belongings had been loaded, the revised bid was almost twice as much as the initial bid, from $11,000 to over $7,000. There was no extra belongings added that the agent did not see. In my opinion, the agent low-balled the initial bid and adjusted it after we could not make a change. We also noted that GPS added $1,000 for packing even though we had packed 90% of the belonging. GPS did remove that charge after we complained. We had also notified GPS that we did not have an address in Florida yet and was told that they could hold the delivery for up to 30 days at no charge. We also notified them that we had to make arrangements for payment when we go there. I had asked the guy that gave us our original estimate how GPS was to be paid and he told me by personal check. we were rushed through signing the paperwork and later discovered that GPS would only accept payment in cash or a Postal Money order, not by personal check as I was told. We notified GPS of the address in Florida. We were notified by GPS that the belongings had been shipped and would be in Florida on or about the 9th of January even though we did not approve it. We then received a call from the driver who informed us that he would deliver our belongings on January 8th and would not unload unless we had the balance of $8,250 in cash or by Postal Money Order and that it would cost us $700 per day for each day of delay.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the original estimate the agent gave us to be used as the full payment for shipping our belongings. Our belongings held without charge until we can get the balance due if no refund or accept our personal check as payment as originally stated by agent.

Business Response:

GPS Moving would like to take this opportunity to submit a response in regards to complaint # *******.   

 

At time of reservation our client had reviewed and even updated the inventory list of all the items she wanted for us to relocate from CA to FL.  The inventory had a total of 360 items of which 191 were boxes (total move price of 11,442.58). On the day of the move we had actually picked up a total of 537 items of which 334 were boxes (total price of 16,500). That would give us a difference of 143 boxes additional and 34 additional misc/ furniture items.  The packing agreement was $1 per cft @ 50% off. Since the cft increased due to the additional items the packing service fee increased as well. 

 

After reviewing the packing services we had agreed that the customer had done about 70% of the packing themselves and GPS Moving had deducted the packing fee from the contract. (The customer mentioned this to the movers during the move - the movers passed on the message to the office the following morning. GPS Moving had called the client and credited the additional packing fee on our own).

 

In regards to the delivery: our client contacted us by phone on 12/27/14 informing us that they would be ready for delivery as of 1/1/14. At that time we had requested the customer email us with the delivery address. GPS Moving didn't ship our client’s belongings until we had a written notice from our client to ship. This written notice also included a delivery address. (Customers email attached (EMAIL received on 12/28/13).

 

Our driver contacted our client and notified them that he will be arriving on the 6th of January to deliver. The client informed him that they would not be ready with the payment to receive delivery. Our driver said that he could wait till the 7th for no fee but if had to wait longer there would be a waiting fee.

 

Before making a reservation, during the move process, and after dispatching of our clients belongings we had reviewed and confirmed all the payment options (both verbally and in written form). (The email received from the client also confirms that they are aware of the payment options) 

 

Thank you,

***** *.

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Response

The appraiser was shown every box and item that would be shipped. He also knew that we were getting estimates from two other carriers. It is still our feeling that he low-balled the bid knowing that it would be adjusted later when we had no other choice. We had to leave many items; a refrigerator, dining room set, and numerous chairs, outside tables and tables.  We are now opening boxes. We have found medium boxes with empty boxes inside, a medium box with nothing but GPS wrapping paper, a small box with 5 ball point pens and wrapping paper filler, boxes with trash that we put into the trash dumpster, medium boxes with one or two plant pots made of plastic. We have not opened all boxes yet but seriously expect to find more,  The driver did call us. He stated that he was going to Atlanta first and then would deliver our furniture. My wife told him that we were having trouble getting the balance because of issues with the bank. He informed us that it would cost us $750 per day for every day after the delivery date. There was no offer of waiting.

We are very dis-satisfied with GPS,s service. We will not recommend their service to anyone.


Regards,

****** ****** 

Business Response:

GPS Moving had provided a moving quote based on what was shown to us. The box count was taken and matched from an evaluation preformed by a major van line. And the box count was way under. If what the client is claiming is true and there were a few boxes with trash in them please provide pictures to support this and we will refund for the relocation of those boxes.

 

Regarding delivery time. The drivers was planning to deliver in FL first and then travel to GA. When he was notified that they were not ready he said he would go to GA first and then return the next day.

 

Respectfully,

GPS Moving Staff

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted GPS Moving to move me from San Diego, CA to Edison, NJ. I also paid them extra to pack my household stuff. They delivered my good in poor condition with many of items broken and some items missing. After months of followup they have agreed to settle at around 60 cents per pound of damage citing the contract. I do not believe this is applicable since: 1. Damage is not due to unforeseen issues, it largely due to unprofessional packing (ex. microwave was wrapped in blanket, not in hard covering as is common practice. Lamps were not dismantled etc.) 2. I had paid extra for packing services so expect a reasonable level of service. (ex. artwork was carelessly shoved in boxes without wrapping the artwork in a protective packing. Due to this several paintings got bend and / or had their corners broken)

Desired Settlement: In good faith I had submitted a claim including only those items which I had to dispose off, though damage was much more pervasive. That claim was for $ 550. Request help from BBB to get that claim paid in full.

Business Response:

GPS Moving has reviewed the claim submitted by Mr. *******.  He was given the option to purchase additional moving insurance. Since he chose the basic insurance @ .60 pppa that is how the refund was calculated. We charged our client less then $1 per cft for packing that was also taken into account when offering the total refund amount.

 

I am sorry that our client is not satisfied with the offered amount. As explained to Mr. *******, we are willing to collaborate further and offered the option of arbitration that we have set up with American Moving and Storage Association. I hope our client considers this route in settling the matter.

 

Respectfully,

GPS Moving Staff

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

60 cents per pound of protection is not applicable in my case since the damage is extensive, items are missing and damage is clearly due to incompetent packaging and handling by the GPS Moving. 

 
Even the items that were delivered in 'unbroken' condition, the way in which they were delivered was extremely disheartening. Many boxes were broken, lamp shafts bent / dented, furniture parts missing etc. I tried to work with the mover in good faith and did not include these items in my claim. I believe mover should reciprocate by accepting claim, which only includes items lost or broken beyond repair, in full.

Regards,
***** *******



Business Response:

As suggested, our client has reached out to AMSA for arbitration. We will work directly with AMSA to resolve any issues.

 

Than you,

GPS Moving Staff

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Clarification - Its a complaint to AMSA which maintains a pattern of unethical behavior by moving companies for benefit of general public. Its not a formal arbitration process which i understand is separate service provided by AMSA. 

Regards,

***** *******



Business Response:

Per our records the consumer did not - signed a waiver/agreement to use the American Moving & Storage Association for arbitration.  The consumer did file a complaint with AMSA and we provided all the requested information to AMS. We were not yet notified in regards to how the consumer would like to proceed in regards to arbitration.

 

Please let me know if you need additional information.

Thank you

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very unhappy with with this company. We were promised a binding price and guaranteed that the price would not change. Then the guys get there and start loading I think all is good to go then he tells me that I owe another $518.75 because the guy that came out the first time did not do the inspection correctly. What a rip off the truck was already being loaded what could I do I had to be out of that place???? The guys who were there were rough with my stuff and left scratches on the walls I had to go back and repaint....then they had the nerve to ask for a tip sadly I did tip them cause I didn't notice that till they left. Then when they deliver to the new place same thing shoving the couch through the door... scratched! the hallway... scratched! I was told everything they broke down they would put back together???? Lie....they only put the beds and tables together.....We had to do the rest... To top it off stuff is missing (dolly and 6 shelve brackets) and they broke my antique coat rack!

Desired Settlement: Refuind me for the missing items and for the hassel I had to incur during an already stressful time.

Business Response:

Our client has contacted our office and informed us that the dolly was missing from the delivery.  We had checked our lost and found corner and determined that the dolly is not in our possession.  She was then contacted, and informed that a claim maybe field for it.  In regards to the estimate vrs the final moving price.  The paperwork we have in hand, lists all the items that we picked up in addition to the original list and what we charged for them. Our client approved it prior to loading of the truck and her contract states that the price is given prior to start of move. 

At this time, we request our client to submit a claim form and we will be happy to process the claim for the missing dolly or any damages that occurred during the move. 

Respectfully,

GPS Moving Staff


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

12 Customer Reviews on GPS Moving & Storage Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart