Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Daly Movers Inc

Phone: (714) 538-2831 Fax: (714) 639-5615 View Additional Phone Numbers 10612 Stanford Ave, Garden Grove, CA 92840 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dalymovers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving and storage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Daly Movers Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Daly Movers Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Daly Movers Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 2013 Business started: 11/04/1994 in CA Business incorporated 11/04/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 0182890.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Martin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Martin, Owner
Number of Employees

38

Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers

Alternate Business Names
Al & Son Arpin Van Lines Agency Box Stop Pack 'n' Ship
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 10612 Stanford Ave

    Garden Grove, CA 92840 (800) 395-6683 (714) 547-1791 (714) 537-7790 (714) 538-2831

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Client was contracted by the company I work for to move my personal items across the country as part of a corporate relocation. My marble table was broken in-transit. While I understand things break and accidents happen, the storage crate it was packed in was damaged. I documented, took pictures, sent written notifications and was more than flexible with replacement and refund procedures for resolution. Today is a year to the date from the original furniture pick-up date and the issue has still not been resolved. Business practices, level of professionalism and customer service are unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: A full 8-months after moving my household, this company finally kept an arranged appointment to pick up the table to evaluate repairs. Upon doing so, there has been no communication or status updates over the last two months since my follow up on 9/6/13. After being more than flexible with the process, I now expect nothing less than full compensation for the item damaged by Daly Movers.

Business Response:

We apologize for the unreasonable delay in settling this claim. We were attempting to have this item repaired, but being  unable to find a decent repair facility in New York, we decided to have the item shipped back to California to have it looked at by a marble firm we have done work with in the past and trust. The shipper was advised of this process, and has understandably run out of patience. Unfortunately, our firm is unable to repair the piece because critical pieces are missing. We will therefore cash the shipper out. To that end we are currently securing several replacement estimates on which this settlement will be based. We anticipate full and complete claim settlement within several weeks of this response dated  1/27/14.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[This business does not meet the standards of BBB Quality. Through the tactless management of my customer claim, Daly Movers has demonstrated a gross failing of both performance and integrity. 

 
My customer concerns have not been followed up in a timely manner. In response to my BBB customer claim, there is a serious lack of urgency by this business to resolve an issue that occurred over a year ago. While Daly Movers confirms there has been an "unreasonable delay in settling this claim,” they again fail to outline a deadline to resolution. As indicated in their statement "we anticipate settlement within several weeks,” the schedule toward resolution is inappropriately vague.
 
This company broke my table in transit and rather than accommodate the customer to replace it, they have demonstrated a pattern for disregarding service to the customer.
 
To review the order of events: damaged upon arrival, photos were sent to the business that clearly illustrate that there were critical missing pieces (marble churned to dust) prior to the repair measures they outline (sample photo attached). These pictures show a crate surrounding the packed table was also broken, with the protecting wood splintered of the frame.  Opening the crate upon arrival, their movers were also witnesses to this. 
 
Rather than compensate for damages at that time, it was the business’ chosen path to attempt to resolve the matter by fixing the table. Yet, they are a moving company who failed to pick up the table until over 8 months from the time when the piece was delivered.  On 8/22, they chose to only take the table top for repair (not the base) and now 5 months later state they are going to get estimates on the value of the item. However, the replacement value of a table cannot be fairly estimated with only half the table (table top). A picture of the tables designer base (which they do not have) is attached.
 
This business failed to notify me that they received the broken table, communicate their measures to resolve the matter and has lost my trust in following through on compensation for an item they broke. The BBB accreditation of this business needs to be reconsidered.]

Regards,

**** ******



Business Response: We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused. Our intentions were honest and honorable but for a variety of reasons we failed to resolve the claim in an expedient manner. After speaking with the marble company we use- Chiarini Marble and Stone --(one of the best in the nation and the reason why we shipped the piece back to Ca)  they reported that the $2000 replacement cost is reasonable. Therefore, we will issue payment in that amount in our next check run. After thirty five years of exemplary customer service, please do not judge us by this mistake. **** ******, President, Daly Movers.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service