Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Alex Moving & Storage Co

Additional Locations

Phone: (805) 203-0673 Fax: (714) 662-2423 View Additional Phone Numbers 2831 W 1st st, Santa Ana, CA 92703 http://www.alexmoving.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service moving and storage.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alex Moving & Storage Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alex Moving & Storage Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alex Moving & Storage Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: Business started: 06/05/1989 in CA Business incorporated 06/05/1989 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 0164751.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alex Uribe, President Ms. Chris Uribe, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Uribe, President
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Alternate Business Names
Uribe Trucking Inc
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 2831 W 1st st

    Santa Ana, CA 92703

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    542 Flynn Rd

    Camarillo, CA 93012 (805) 203-0673

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The moving company was represented to me at the beginning & end of my move as Alex Moving & Storage working for North American Van Lines in Santa Ana, California. It was a corporate vendor for my employer that automatically included in the contract, coverage for full replacement value of all lost or damaged items up to $125,000. They arranged all aspects of this move and now have changed the agreed upon policies. The company has switched the policy since the claim in value to $18,000 ignoring the missing items and having repairs done by their personal adjuster, Mr. *****. The company gave a fraudulent misrepresentation of their insurance coverage. Alex Moving & Storage also received an additional fee for storing our items in California. I wrote every high ticket item on the appropriate sheets, as requested before the move. Immediately upon receiving part of our shipment, at our destination in California, the crew were told that day about damages and missing boxes. The furnishings were all to be fully boxed, wrapped & instead consisted of some opened or missing boxes. The condition of furniture pieces arriving were filthy and some missing pieces or damaged. Next, I emailed the company's relocation contact, Miss *******, of Alex Moving & Storage about the extensive damage and loss on that day as instructed to do so by their crew. In addition, I sent in support of my claim 6 pages, including 56 items, of very detailed information regarding specific items either LOST/UNDELIVERED or DAMAGED during the move. These pages describe exact damage to each item, as well as original & replacement cost. After 2 inspections the claim has not been settled & no further communication has been made by mail or phone by them. It has been over 6 months now & their very low last offer was denied by us some time ago. We were told by Miss Carmardo of Transguard Insurance several times to file with the other company because there was nothing we could do about the missing items they lost/damaged in our state 2 state move

Desired Settlement: The claim settled for all damaged and missing items that were lost by the moving company. The high value items were listed and is totally being ignored with the excuse that we packed the items and they were paid for the packing, storage and moving of our household goods state to state.

Business Response: The damages were addressed by Transguard insurance company and North American Van lines. Multiple  offers were made to the customer to settle her claim from both Transguard insurance company and by north American she refused all. The last offer was on January 9,2014 which trans guard has not here back from Ms ****** ******. We have exhausted every effort to settle this but customer is unwilling to resolve this matter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The last offer dated after their second inspection was less than the previous offer. Alex Moving and Storage has repeatedly refused to settle this complete claim. The company has not taken responsibility for the multiple missing and damaged items reported on their required forms along with North American Van Lines back in August 2013. Alex Moving and Storage has also used multiple stall techniques to tamper with forms, not respond in a timely fashion or at all as well as continually sending low ball offers that were unacceptable and are still unacceptable. The company needs to settle our claim for an amount that is acceptable to us. We have answered every email and letter and they have ignored us and ended all communication. Also, ignored several attempts by BBB to respond to this complaint. We have not received any checks or serious offers from Alex Moving & Storage or North American Van Lines and combined they have had 3 inspections! We have been misled and still are fighting for justice from **** *****, owner of Alex Moving & Storage.
 
Sincerely,

*** ******



Business Response:

Alex Moving and Storage has responded  to Ms. ****** on every occasion, also our insurance company has worked with her on many occasions. She is very unhappy with her claim not settling the way she

would like. She has been informed on how to proceed but chooses her platform.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business and it is not correct because they have not responded on every occasion in reference to complaint ID *******. There is not a proposed solution in their response. It was only two lines that made no sense at all because there has been no communication with them for some time and no new offer. Again, Alex Moving & Storage in this response gave no offer and has not told us any way to proceed so this is why we contacted you. The solution to this claim would be for them to pay us for the losses we suffered. On a document that they changed with white out to alter our insurance policy value demonstrates the many ways they haven't been proactive in ending this claim. On this form they wrote $16,085 so that amount would settled this claim. We have been trying since August 9,2013 and Alex Moving & Storage has not wanted to settle for nothing above $5,000 and never increased the amount after the second inspection. Our items were valued at more than the small offers they made. Phone calls and messages even left for the owner, **** *****, were never returned by him. This company has not been cooperative and we have been patient long enough. If they want to settle this claim they will offer us a decent and fair settlement and not continue to ignore us or play games. Also, they have everything and even the altered form they sent to us by mistake.

Regards,

****** ******

Consumer Response: Application had been uploaded and I will wait on response from you.