BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Valet Movers

Phone: (858) 292-1848 Fax: (858) 292-1903 1574 Fayette St, El Cajon, CA 92020 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.valetmovers.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service national moving.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Valet Movers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Valet Movers include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Valet Movers include:

  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Valet Movers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 24, 2010 Business started: 12/10/2009 in CA Business incorporated: 12/10/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1325 J St #1540, Sacramento CA 95814
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 930-2760
Fax Number: (916) 930-2778
The number is 1977033.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Yossi Hakmon, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Yossi Hakmon, President
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

Movers Moving & Storage Company

Alternate Business Names
TLV Inc
Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company lost several personal items during a cross country move, also failed to deliver a large piece of furniture that is still currently unaccounted for. Their representatives are rude, abrasive and completely unprofessional. In fact, they blamed the missing items on me. I have had to continually call them for status updates, most times they don't answer the phone. When they do, they give you the run around and shift blame. How this company is still in business I will never know.

Desired Settlement: Locate the deliver the missing items immediately and provide restitution for loss of income due to their incompetence. This has become a full time job tracking them down

Business Response: We apologize for the frustrations Ms. ****** has suffered, but we are doing our best to rectify the situation. Unfortunately, there are some items that are missing at this moment, but we are doing our best to get all of Ms. Fowler's items to her. We have located the large piece of furniture that Ms. ****** is referring to and it will be delivered shortly. As far as Ms. ****** being blamed or having to track us down, we are not sure where this accusation comes from. Ms. ****** continues to call us for updates and we continue to answer and we continue to do our best to solve her problem.

Thank you,
Valet Movers

9/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Valet Movers picked up all of our household belongings on August 3rd 2014 from San Diego California, promising delivery to Syracuse New York within 10 to 14 business days. Today is September 1st and our items still have not left their San Diego warehouse and Valet Movers has no idea when they will be shipped out. We have been living without any of our belongings for over a month now and the worst part is that we have no idea when they will be shipped. This is an enormous inconvenience, especially since we have a 8 month old son and his crib and belongings are still stuck in San Diego with Valet Movers. Valet Movers has offered no resolution and no information on when our items are going to be shipped.

Desired Settlement: I want my items shipped immediately and I want to business to provide credit for essential items we have been forced to purchase due to their negligence, including bed, crib, chairs, cooking utensils.

Business Response: The customer's items were shipped out as of 9/2/2014. He was sent an email that includes the driver's contact information on that day. The customer was told initially that delivery for out of state moves can take up to 21 business days. This is especially true during the summer months. The customer also signed a contract saying that it may take up to 21 business days. We apologize for the customer being inconvenienced but we have assured him that his items will be delivered very soon.

Thank you,
Valet Movers

7/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by Valet Movers in regards to a bid they placed on moving my household goods from Santee, CA to Atoka, TN on 29 May 2014. Initially when I was contacted by a representative named **** she stated that I would be charged $990.00 with 75 ft from the moving truck to be free and the first flight of stairs as well. When the movers showed up they charged be an additional price of 50 dollars because to them a flight of stairs only consist of 7 stairs in which my flight of stairs was 14 and at no time was the flight of stairs justified under any contractual paperwork before the movers arrived, only that the first flight of stairs was free. In addition, their policy is that they have 21 business days from the first delivery date to delivery your items or 25.00 dollars of each day after that. I contacted them numerous times about where my items are and they told me their truck had broke down and that another truck had to pick my items up and that my bill would be adjusted at a later date for delivery past the 21st day of the due delivery date. I then contacted a representative who answered the phone named ******* on, 3 July 2014 since the driver contacted me stating he would be delivering my items on Saturday, 5 July 2014 about the price being adjusted. The representative named ******* had told me that after calculating the price from the 21st day it was only going to be 60.00 dollars but my calculation shows that their company should have deducted 250.00 dollars being that they operate 7 business days a week as stated by **** when we initially agreed on the contract. ******* the representative also stated that there is no where in the contract that states their business days but it is a given. I tried explaing to her that it was not stated Monday through Friday and that their business operates 7 days a week so it is a business day if they are operating 7 days a week. I just want what was promised to me and they are not abiding by our contract which states 21 business days and in their case they are open 7 days a week and should be held to their standards.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the amount the contract states 21 business days and their after 25.00 dollars a day times 10 days from the 21st day would be $250.00. Additionally, so that this does not happen in the future their contract be adjusted to reflect business days being Monday through Friday instead of not showing a timeline for business days and their representatives explaining wrong information that their company does not want to conform too.

Business Response: Mr. *****,

We want to apologize for the fact that you are dissatisfied with our service. Due to the high volume of customers we move in the summer months, we are sometimes unable to send out items as quickly as some of our customers would like. However, we prepare our customers for this scenario by including the possible time frame in our contract, 21 business days. We also confirm the customer's understanding of this time frame over the phone the day before we pick up the customer's items.
In some unforeseen instances, delivery can be pushed back beyond the 21 business day time frame and we refund the customer for every business day that delivery is late. It seems the confusion in your particular case stems from the understanding of what we are referring to as a business day. Our contract refers to a business day in the legal sense or the general explanation of a business day which includes Monday through Friday. You mentioned being told that our office is open on weekends. This is true only for the purpose of customer service questions or issues that we can address from the office. However, regardless of this fact, the same definition of a business day applies. This would work the same way if we were to, for example, close our office entirely for a full week. If we did, Monday through Friday of that week would still be counted as business days. This does not change whether we are open or not.
Therefore, our offer of a $60 refund covers the length of 2 business days. If your items were delivered on Saturday, June 6th, your delivery was late by 2 business days. We hope this clarifies the situation for you a bit more.

Thank you,
Valet Movers

7/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told by ****** at Valet Movers I would get a $50 credit since the delivery of my merchandise took longer then I was promised. When the driver arrived he said I have information about that and said I have to collect the original amout owed. I gave driver the money in cash and called ****** on Monday since it was was on saturday when the truck arrived.The delivery was on May 31 and June 2nd I talked to ****** and said they would send a check. It is now July 3rd and have sent emails with no responce.

Desired Settlement: just send me what was agreed on the $50

Business Response: We have sent Mr. **** his refund. It most likely delayed because of the holiday weekend.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ****

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired valet movers to move our belongings from Oceanside California to Gainseville Virginia. We were quoted a in home estimate only to be charged almost 1500 dollars more when they picked up our stuff. Nothing we could do it was already on the truck. We were told it would take 10-15 days to deliver once we gave them a address. Around the 15 of January I called and said we were moving in on the 28th of January. I was told that move in date would be done and our stuff would be shipped and there on time. Well the 28th passed and then was told it would arrive by the 1st of February. The 1st came and went and then were told the 3rd and still no delivery and then we were told the 6th. We have faintly got a confirmed date of the 6th but now they expect my wife to drop everything she is doing to meet the driver at a certain which my wife can not do because of work obligations. I asked to push the time by 2 hours and they said no it can not be done and that we need to be there at there time or be charged a re-deliver fee. Further more I have asked for my receipts on numerous occasions only to hear nothing back from them. I need these for my records and for tax reasons but they do not seem to care about answering phone calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I want the valet movers to first of give me copies of my receipts and I would also like a partial refund. My wife and I paid to move in at a certain date because we were promised that our stuff would be there. So now my wife and daughter have been living in a empty house for close to 2 weeks all because they lied about service and delivery time. Meanwhile I have been trying to deal with them over the phone and by email while I am deployed to Afghanistan.

Business Response: In order to give a binding estimate to a customer we do an onsite estimate. We go over the details with the customer, what items they want to ship and those they don't  .  The price of the move is based on the item list that the customer provided during the onsite estimate (please see estimate vs. actual inventory for the day of the move attached). On the day of the move Mr ******* was not on-site. He had a friend represent him and sign the contracts in his place.  As the move progressed additional items were being added that were not included in the estimate. Valet Movers advised Mr *******'s friend that adding addtional item will increase the cost of the overall move.  Our movers also called and notified Mr. ******* at this time to let him know the additional items would increase the price. We loaded the additional items clearly with their consent.

 As for the delivery, the  1st availbe date of Mr. ******* was Jan 28th.  Valet Movers has a 7-14 business day window for shipments going to Virgina. He moved into his new home on the 28th. This was his 1st available delivery date. He revceived his items on Feb 6th, which was in our delivery window. We can not ship his items out in the time frame of Jan 15th - Jan. 28th because if it gets there to soon, something changes such as not getting the house as planned on the 28th; we have a shipment in route and nowhere to drop it off. Then we need to place it in storage at his expense and he would need to rent a truck to pick up the items in storage and take them to his home. This would be an additional cost for the customer. So we have written procedures, where the customer states their 1st available date and Valet Movers standard is to ship the items 7-14 business days from that date. 

As for the receipts we have sent them Multiple times to his email *********************** but I will also included in the attachments.

We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused Mr. ******* and his family.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

****** *******


Valet movers is a poor excuse for a moving company. I paid for packing service which I was charged for by the square footage. So in my case I paid over 700 dollars for packing service which was less then substandard. Our belongings were packed very carelessly and because of that, we received multiple items that were broken and damaged and some of these things can not be replaced since they had been in my wife's family for years. I was told that every item would be wrapped and cared for properly yet nothing was. Our hanging portraits were mistreated and not packed right and the glass was cracked because of that. 

 
I only requested the in house packing because I was told that they would pack everything individually and bubble wrap all breakables, which was not the case, so I pretty much paid 700 dollars for my things to get thrown in a box with no regards to the safety of the item. On top of receiving broken goods, I have stuff that is missing. I can not file a claim for these things since they got packed in a box and they are not on the inventory. I regret using Valet movers to help with my move, and I want a partial refund back since they lied to me at the time of estimate about there in home packing service. The way that I see it is, there packing service was nothing how they explained, and I could have had complete stingers come in and take better care of my valuables then they did, and because of this I want my money back for the so called packing service they provided. 

Business Response: We are sorry for any inconvenience and want Mr. ******* to understand that this is the 1st we are hearing about his damaged items. We have a claims process that we will get started for him. We will contact Mr. ******* and
have a claims process opened so we can reimburses him for the damages.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

****** *******


A sorry is not going to cut it. This company lied to me about their packing services and how our move would be handled. For them to say that they are a certified and licensed moving comapny is complete joke. They treated my stuff with no care and threw my belongings in a boxes wih out proper wrapping and care. If I would have know that I would be paying 700 dollars to have my belongings thrown in a box and damaged and broken I would have just paid a homeless person half as much and got the same result. There response saying they didn't know is a lie and for them to say that they would start a claim is joke becuase I have yet to be contacted. And furthermore their joke of a claim will not cover damages or lost articles. On top of the damages there packing service did not inventory what they threw in boxes so now that things are missing we have no way of showing proof of what was in the box. If they would have just packed my things properly like I was told they would do, we wouldn't be in this mess. I still want a refund for the packing service and will not be satisfied till valet movers is ready to discuss a refund. I am more then ready to take this to court if need be, I'm sure the greater San Diego area and fellow military members will e glad to know not to use this shady, irresponsible moving company. I will be filing a complaint with my military chain of command in order to get help from base legal services. 

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid Valet Movers just under $4,000 to move our personal property from San Diego to Portland, Oregon. When our items arrived to our new home in Portland, we were in disbelief to see the movers unload our smashed, battered boxes & our Tempurpedic mattress was folded in half and duct-taped. Our daughter's wooden table/chairs was disassembled by the movers in San Diego and when we attempted to put it back together again we saw that they had completed smashed in the screw holes. Several of our boxes never made it to Portland. Over all, it will cost us over $3,000 to replace our damaged items. When we called Valet Movers about our damaged property they told us we had to go through the claims process through Anthem Claims. We did that, a process that took about 6 months. The claims agency recommends that we be paid $63.00 (.60 per pound of damaged item, per the Valet contract). Of course, we need to pay someone to notarize this document in order to be issued a check, which is laughable. We were very upset when we saw all the damage and ****** of Valet Movers assured us that we just had to go through the claims process and that the owner of the company was personally invested in rectifying the situation. Once I called ***** of Valet Movers to tell her about the claim from Anthem, she told me all they have to pay us is $63. $63!!! Here is my problem: Can a company so blatantly disregard one's personal property and ruin the items we entrusted it to ship? Regardless of what the contract says about "reimbursement", is it not an inherent breach of contract to charge $4000 to ship someone's goods and then destroy those goods in the process? Valet Movers essentially charged us to ship garbage from San Diego to Portland, as we have had to throw out many of the damaged items.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund or payment for our damaged items. We sent an itemized list to the claims company, which I can share with you.

Consumer Response: Hello there,

I just want to confirm that I have, in fact, contacted Valet Movers numerous times regarding our damaged items.  I have been in consistent correspondence since July 2013.  Please let me know if you need any further information.
 
Thank you,
******

Business Response: Valet Movers is apologizes for the inconvenience and damaged/loss that occurred. We have a claim process that is implemented when items are damaged or lost during shipment. There are 2 forms of coverage offered to
a customer when they choose to move with us (1) Limited Liability Coverage or (2) Replacement Coverage.(1) Limited Liability is offered at no charge to the customer and as Ms. ***** stateded .60/per lbs. (2) The Replacement Coverage is an additional cost and gives full value protection giving the customer the option of repairing items  to same condition as when received by Valet Movers,  reimburses the customer for the cost of the repair, or to replace with similar item. When the customer opts out of the Replacement Coverage the .60/lbs is then applied. Ms. ***** had damage of a file cabinet, childs wooden table, and missing hardware for a futon. Valued at $63.00 of Limited Liability Coverage. The matress is in usable functioning condition. Valet Movers understands that Ms. ***** is unhappy with her experience moving with us and we would like to make a reasonable settlement. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I find the response to be very general.  Before I can 'accept' this response, I would need to know what Valet Movers considers to be a "reasonable" settlement.  The mattress is not, in fact, in usable condition: it was permanently damaged.  We had to purchase another one.  I am attaching emails of my previous correspondence with the company so you can see how they had initially indicated responded to our complaints.

Regards,

****** *****



Business Response: Being in the moving business we know it doesn't harm the Tempurpidc mattress permanently  when folding.  Once laid out it will form to original shape.  Attached is information direct from the website of Temerpedic supporting that it is okay and will not damage the mattress.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

FIRST, I could not open the attachment as a .msg file.  However, I did review the Tempurpedic website and saw this:

Folding during moving

If needed, you can fold your Tempur-Pedic mattress to make it easier to move. Fold it with the TEMPUR® side (top) in.

About folding and cold weather

If the mattress sits in cold weather (below 50°F) folded, do not try to force it to lay flat. It may take a few hours, depending on the temperature of the room, but the mattress will naturally unfold as it warms up.

Transporting or storing

When transporting or storing your mattress, lay the mattress flat—not on its side or folded.

Please note the last portion: WHEN TRANSPORTING OR STORING YOUR MATTRESS, LAY THE MATTRESS FLAT- NOT ON ITS SIDE OR FOLDED.  When the mattress was unloaded from the truck, it was duct-taped in half.  
 
SECOND, I think the best way to proceed here would be to discuss what Valet Movers believes to be a fair settlement, instead of getting sidetracked in debating whether my items were actually damaged.  They were, and I have the photos and email documentation to substantiate that.  What is your proposed settlement?
 

Regards,

****** *****



Consumer Response: ?Thank you for following up with me.  To answer your questions, No-- Valet Movers has not offered a specific settlement.  And, Yes-- I did follow the claims process they asked me to with a company called Anthem, which determined the reimbursement value to be $63 based on weight.

If I could share a bit more information with you in light of your meeting tomorrow:

We have never moved across the country like this.  I did not know what to expect when arranging for moving services.  I chose Valet Movers based on their rating with the BBB.  I figured that a company that had an A- rating with the BBB had to be good, because I trust the services your organization provides.  In addition, when researching companies & options I asked the representative to tell me about Valet Movers.  She told me that it's a small family run company that cares greatly about its reputation.  This also resonated with me, so we chose to entrust our belongings with Valet Movers.

I really would like to impress upon you the reckless damage done to our items: we are not talking about accidental or incidental damage.  I was there when the movers opened up the door to the moving van.  Our stuff was strewn all over the inside of the truck, boxes crumpled and opened up, spilling out.  The Tempurpedic mattress was duct-taped in half, like a taco.  In addition to the items that Valet Movers told you were damaged (file cabinet, childs wooden table, and missing hardware for a futon) there was a shattered crock pot, the folded mattress, and several (at least 3-4) missing boxes.  Our daughter's wooden table was clearly destroyed by the movers who unscrewed the 4 legs-- they bashed in the screw hole for not one, but two of the 4 legs.  This means that after ruining the first leg, they did it again to the second. The complete lack of professionalism and wanton disregard for the condition of our personal belongings was truly unbelievable.  From my perspective, it's breach of contract for Valet Movers to so brazenly destroy the very personal property that they were paid $4,000 to ship and care for.

I will scan the supporting documentation for this and send it to you asap, but first thing in the morning at the latest.

I truly appreciate your help in reaching a fair settlement.  Thanks for hearing me out.  It's been a really frustrating 7 months of dealing with this company.

****** *****



3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted Customer service about my concerns regarding unethical business practices, damage to my property on delivery,failure to honor a set delivery date i.e. furniture arrived 3 days late, The mover cheated me out of $100 dollars i.e. The mover told me it was their policy to pay a percentage in cash before he would move my furniture, when I called customer service to complain the mover said I gave him the $100 dollars as a tip. totally unacceptable to me their customer service seemed un-sympathetic to my problem. 1. Futon bed damaged 2. Computer chair one leg missing 3. 3 days late on delivering furniture 4.Asking for more money because my apartment was not near the side walk were they had to unload. 5. Cheated me out of $100 dollars.

Desired Settlement: I like for an adjustment on the amount they charged me for the move to reflect a lower amount , compasate me for damaged furniture and my $100 dollars back.

Business Response: We apologize for any inconvenience Valet Movers caused our customer.  We have forwarded her claim to our insurance for reimbursement of her damaged items. 

Also, the $100 was refunded to her as soon as she expressed concern that the amount was not reflected on her estimate. 

Additionally, she was charged a long carry at delivery, with the first 75 feet being free.  This is noted as a possible charge in our contract.  Our customers new residence did not have parking close enough to her building for a tractor trailer.  Therefore a long carry was necessary.

Unfortunately, we have no control over the time it takes a driver to arrive at a destination.  We do our best to estimate their arrival to our customers but sometimes there are things that happen beyond our control.   We like to have our customers items delivered within 7-14 business days from the customers first available date of delivery, we were well within this time frame.  This customers first available date of delivery was January 6th, and it left our warehouse on route to San Antonio on January 8th. 

Again we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

Valet Movers

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

****** ********

Before I hire Valet Movers the price was $968, and the agents was nice until I hire them.
I had a feeling that my business with Valet movers was not going to go well, It starts with boxes, I have to call 3 times before they bring the boxes to me.
it was just right for me to have the boxes first before the movers can come to pick up my staff because i have to box it myself. But luckily my 71 yrs old mother was packing everyday because my cousin keep on bringing boxes to my house.
2nd, the movers was late coming to pick up my staff because they was in a different city for another pick up. the schedule was from 11 to 12 p.m. but they didnt come until 3:00 p.m.
3rd, i have an inventory list, most in that list was not in the truck because the movers keep on asking more money. and the addtional boxes cost more money,
4th, the mover ask for $100 dollar cash + the $945 check that i wrote them, and did not mention on the reciept that they recieve a cash from me.
5th, valet movers bring my staff late than the scheduled we agreed upon. Before i hire them the agent said that it will take 3 to 4 days of delivery. So, i did not look at the date scheduled on the contract because i thought it wont take long to make it to Indiana ( my mistake) Valet movers pick up my shipment on the 4th of Janaury, but the shipment did not leave San Diego until the 8th.
additional to the stressful issue, when me and my mother leave San Diego, our stop over was AZ, but when we get to AZ, there was no flight back to Indiana. We arrived AZ on the 6th but we end up staying getting a hotel in AZ for 4 nights because of a weather problem in Indiana. Southwest first available flight to Indiana was Friday the 10th.
6th, me and my mother  has to stay in a hotel for 3 additional nights again when we arrived in Indiana because we have nothing to use in Indiana. it was very cold.
 my car  was picked up the same day when valet movers pick up my shipment
My car arrived 4 days after it was picked up and was  in Indiana in my garrage when we arrived but the furniture was not regardless on what the weather was,
I also had a problem calling valet movers about my shipment because, the phone # that was in the email that was provided to me by an agent, was not answering and when the driver finally answer, he gave me a different number to call, and this  person has to call me back because he has to call someone. (chaos)
When the shipment arrived, the driver did not bring the truck infront my place, i made a comment on how am i going to get my staff? He respond of saying, oh I dont know, you look like a strong woman(not funny to me), i already figured out that the Valet movers and any associated with them works the same, they want more money money money. and i feel so helpless.
he wanted more money from me besides the $605 that I gave him. I also mention to the driver that i give cash to the movers that picked up my house good in San Diego, So, i dont think i should be giving him $605 dollars. It was a big issue, he told me to call Valet movers, when I call Valet movers, I speak to *****, she at first told me that she was going to speak to her boss, and she will call me back. But she did not call. At this time i was more stress because, I was telling the delivery guy that i dont have to give the whole $605 which he agreed on giving me once the Valet mover say okey  but that didnt happened.
When i  call Valet mover again and speak with *****, she was rude and told me that the $100 that the guys in San Diego that pick my staff was a tip. i said NO!
First of all I have no Idea that i have to give a tip, I was already stress because the $968 dollars that attract me of hiring them became over $1,700+ $100 cash
plus the fact that when the  goods arrive the delivery guy has to make more money from me?? Oh my God!!
I have to call a friend so that my goods can be drop off to my house because the delivery guy was saying that if i dont have the extra $225 to give them, they are going to re sched the delivery and it will cost me more money. Actually it was more than $325 or something, they just waived some.
I was helpless and very stress because what if i dont have no one to call? It just that mean that my house hold cant be deliver to my house?
Plus the fact that the Valet movers agent just rudely hang up on me.
Finally Ria the person that i spoke to when i hire Valet movers call me and speak to me in Tagalog (philippine language) she mention that the guy that they hire who pick up my housegood already known of doing such a thing, meaning they already know that this person always asked cash from their client. She explain to me that the company will send me the $100. Which they did.
4 days ago this agent ***** call me and asked me how to get their name off BBB what can they do to erase it, and if I want the $225 money back that i gave to the delivery guy? I reminded her first of how rudely she treat me the last time i spoke with her. and I asked her what did she do of the pictures that i send her because my t.v. stand was broken, my futon spring came out from the back and some glasses are broken etch. She said she send it to claim, I told her to call me once she heard from claim.
My experience with Valet movers was a night mare. I was helpless. when all i wanted to clarify is why do i have to pay the exact $605 when i already give $100? Plus the delivery guy asking for more money? They made me feel so helpless and no choice of whatever they say to me in order for me to get my house good. I was stress mentally, and hurt about what i been thru by this company. So, i feel that besides the broken furniture, the extra $225 that i give to the delivery guy plus the 3 nights of stay in Mariott Hotel in Indiana  they should re-imburse me including the pain and suffering. I feel pain because it was a hurtful experience dealing with this company  and the cost that was getting higher and highter, not  to mention that fact that after picking up the house goods, the shipment did not arrive in a timely manner.
And I want to Thank you BBB for being there to the people that are being treated unfairly. I wish i can make this shorter, but i have a hard time not explaining why I am not accepting the respond of Valet Movers..

Thank you.

Business Response:

In short, Ms. ******** did not inform us that she had more items that she was taking other than what was already reflected on her estimate.  This contributed to the additional charges.  As far as the $100.00, we were under the impression that we had rectified the issue when we refunded the money to Ms. ********.  The long carry at delivery can happen at any time that the driver cannot park their tractor trailer close to a customer’s residence.  Unless a customer knows for certain that a truck of that size cannot safely park near their residence, Valet Movers has no way to predict that long carry charges will be incurred.

Delivery dates are based on the customers first available date of delivery.  In this case Ms. ********’ was on January 6th.  We tell our customers that it could be anywhere from 10 – 14 business days from that date for delivery, but that on rare occasions it can take up to 21 business days, depending on the availability of a truck.  We were well within the 10-14 days as we delivered Ms. ********’ belongings on January 13th. 

We have sent her claim to Anthem Claim Management.  And they will be contacting her for further information.

We are sorry if Ms. ******** felt like she was being treated poorly.  We will speak with all employees that have been in contact with Ms. ********, so that in the future these types of issues do not happen again.

Attached is a copy of Ms. ********’ Moving Estimate where she initialed that she understood that there could potentially be additional charges at delivery as well as the out of state delivery time frame.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

****** ********

I do not accet this.  Yes  i did added some boxes. why was the original boxes was not included to the shipping?

why was the mover picked up some shipment from different city when mine scheduled to be picked up in an arrange time?

Why was the mover pick up the boxes asked for cash and did not put on the reciept?

why did they call it  a tip w/out me knowing it?

it was my fault that i didnt really look at the delivery date because I assume that when i asked the agent, she mention 3 to 4 days.

why  am i being  passed around when i was  calling the phone# that ***** provided on her email on the 8th saying that the shipment was shipped?

why was it shipped on the 8th when they pick it up on the 4th? (I wouldnt hire them if i knew)

why they didnt notify me that the shipment wont leave the same day but after 4 days?

it was a very dissapointed doing busines with Valet movers.

***** the agent was very very very rude.

They stress me out and i feel that i was taking advantage.

I was mentally  and emotionally hurt by this company.

and like mention on my email. if i didnt have a friend to help me pay them with more money when they deliver the shipment,  I will end up not getting my shipment at all and will cost me more money for re-deliver it to me. it was a nightmare not able to ask question to a customer service (agent *****) what to do whats going on because she rudely hang up on me.

They can measure the area where i live why the truck could not come to the front of my house. Because i feel that again, this company just basically take advantage of me.

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used Valet Movers for our move from San Diego to Twinsburg, OH. Our experience has been a disappointment from the start. Despite assuring us that we could rely on their written estimate, Valet jacked up the price $500 on moving day. During our selection process, we made clear that we would only select Valet if its estimate was binding. We were repeatedly promised that we could rely on the estimate, which we did. But once moving day arrived, suddenly the customer-service person with whom we'd been dealing was supposedly no longer with the company and Valet made clear that it had no intention of keeping her word. Valet threatened to dump our "extra" boxes if we refused to pay the increase. With travel plans for our cross-country move in place and a 12-week-old infant in tow, we were in no position to argue with them and had no choice but to pay the increase. But Valet's unfair and misleading pricing practices are not the primary concern of this complaint. Our main problem right now is Valet's refusal to respond to our inquiries regarding what they failed to deliver. Most of our shipment arrived on September 27, 2013. Three items were not delivered: our gas-powered generator, our flat-screen TV, and our antique mirror to our bedroom set. We notified Valet of this problem that day. The subcontractor/driver confirmed that his manifest indicated that those item numbers were not included among the shipment that he loaded at Valet's warehouse. After a month of follow up, Valet finally informed us that it had located the mirror. We responded asking when we could expect to receive the mirror and what Valet was doing to locate the other items. We have not heard anything from them since. It's been over two weeks -- since October 28 -- without so much as a peep from Valet. We believe that Valet's failure to ship three of our most visibly valuable items was no accident. We believe it was retaliation for our complaints about their unethical pricing practices.

Desired Settlement: To resolve this matter, we would like our mirror, our TV, and our generator delivered to us. We would also like the $500 price increase refunded. If, for some reason, Valet is unable or unwilling to deliver our actual items, we would like the replacement value: $2,449.94. Per Valet's request, we have already provided the company with supporting documentation for the "missing" items. If Valet wants a non-disclosure/non-disparagement agreement signed, it will have to refund the entire contract price and return or compensate us for the "missing" items.

Business Response: We are sorry that the ********'s are disappointed in our service.  Mrs. ******** has stated that we charged her an additional $500.00 and misled her to believe that the estimate that Valet Movers provided her was "Binding Not To Exceed".  The estimate was sent to her "Binding Not To Exceed Based On Inventory".  On the day of her move there were 35 boxes added to her inventory (131 cubic feet) that contributed to the additional charge.  No one in our company would have ever threaten to "dump" her boxes if she didn't pay the additional amount.  That is not how we work.  We treat every customer respectfully and treat their belongings with utmost care.

After we were notified that there were items missing from Mr. and Mrs. ********'s inventory, we instructed her to begin the claims process.  We were told that they would not because the 0.60 cents per pound would not cover the cost of the missing items. (TV, generator and mirror).   Unfortunately, this is our process.  We would be willing to find a happy medium to reimburse them in addition to any money received from claims, but the claims process has to be started.  Mrs. ******** would like the total replacement value of $2449.94, but must understand that there is a depreciation in value.  We feel that almost $2500.00 is not a realistic expectation.  We have located her mirror.  As soon as we have a truck going to her area, we will ship it to her. 

We do not retaliate against our customers.  We value their business and do our very best to make sure all of our customers are satisfied with  our service.

We have attached the contract for review.

Respectfully,

Valet Movers

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We remain dissatisfied with Valet's response. Though Valet states that it is willing to find "a happy medium" to reimburse us for our missing items, it fails to offer any particular resolution. Its response to this message should do so.

Regarding Valet's demand that we pay an additional $500 over and above the estimate, Valet is correct that its estimate read "binding not to exceed based on inventory." But Valet omits the critical information that followed, which changed the terms of our agreement:

Before we paid the deposit, I spoke with Valet's customer service representative (Trudy) to explain that we were leaning toward going with a competitor because, even though the other company's estimate was slightly higher, it was willing to stand behind its estimate and would not charge us more if its estimate was low. When I explained this to Trudy, she told me she would have to check with her foreman and get back to me to see if Valet would match the competitor's term. She called me back shortly thereafter and confirmed that Valet would stand behind its estimate. She promised that we would not be charged more than the estimate even if we wound up having more cubic feet than the estimator predicted. 

We were not willing to take the risk that the estimator was wrong. We do not estimate the cubic volume of our belongings for a living. We wanted to rely on the expertise of someone who does that professionally. We made clear to Trudy that we would not go with Valet if the estimate was not binding. We relied on her representation that we would not be asked to pay more than the estimate. Her promise that we would not be asked to pay more than the estimate is what induced us to select Valet for our move. It was my understanding that she was recording the conversation where she made this promise, so I was doubly convinced that we could rely on what she said. She even called me back a few minutes later to try to convince me that the competitor was dishonestly "padding" its estimate, and that we should rely on the accuracy of Valet's estimate instead.

But when the movers appeared to pick up our belongings, the foreman admitted that this is a regular occurrence with Valet: he is always dealing with customers who are dissatisfied because Valet will not stand by what its estimators predict. We are convinced that this is Valet's business model: intentionally underestimating the cubic volume to obtain the business, and then jacking up the price when it's too late for consumers to have reasonable alternatives.

Valet offers no excuse for its weeks-long failure to respond to our repeated requests for information about when we could expect to receive the mirror and what was being done to locate our other belongings. We remain convinced that the failure to deliver these items was retaliation for our complaints about Valet refusing to stand by Trudy's promise that the estimate was binding.

Further, we don't believe Valet is adequately valuing the benefit of resolving this matter informally. Should we decide to litigate, we will not have to pay an attorney because I'm admitted to practice here. But Valet's likely cost of obtaining local counsel in Ohio will be greater than our demand to resolve the matter. With travel and litigation costs such as court-reporter and transcript fees, Valet's out-of-pocket expenditures will outstrip our demand several times over.

And those are just the practical realities of litigation; that doesn't even begin to account for Valet's liability exposure. Our demand seeks only our economic damages. A lawsuit would seek non-economic damages to compensate us for the aggravation, anxiety, and stress caused by Valet's business practices. Valet also will be at risk for treble damages under Ohio's consumer-protection statute and punitive damages for tort claims such as fraudulent inducement and conversion. And in Ohio, in a punitives case, the jury can elect to award a prevailing plaintiff attorneys' fees. (I have been keeping contemporaneous records of the time I've spent dealing with Valet in case a jury eventually awards us attorneys' fees.) I feel good about our chances against an out-of-state moving company that took advantage of a young local family. So we would respectfully request that Valet reconsider its position about the reasonableness of our expectations in light of these realities and its likely liability.

In sum, we think it's in everyone's best interests to resolve this matter informally. Given that our mirror has been located, we will decrease our demand by its $400 cost (provided it is delivered by the end of this calendar year). We will also compromise on our demand for the $500 increase that Valet demanded on moving day and seek only half that amount. This brings our demand to
$2,299.94. And to show our good faith in these negotiations, we will reduce our demand by 5% and offer to resolve our dispute for $2,184.94.

To be clear, that demand includes a release of liability, but not a nondisclosure/nondisparagement provision. Please understand that if we do not resolve this matter informally through the BBB, our demands to resolve our issues will only increase.

Regards,

****** ********

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding Mrs. ********’s rejection to our attention.  As Mrs. ******** correctly indicated, the Binding Estimate provided by Valet Movers was binding for the inventory and services identified on the estimate. Mrs. ********’s binding estimate clearly indicated that any changes to the inventory being shipped or the services required could result in a change in the pricing. If Mrs. ******** had presented with the same list of 81 inventory items, her price would have remained unchanged, however Mrs. ******** presented with 118 items (when she had only indicated she would be moving 81 items). We regret if Mrs. ******** understood she could increase the number of items on her inventory by almost 50% without incurring additional charges; however this was not what was conveyed to Mrs. ******** by Valet Movers.  Mrs. ******** shipped additional inventory over what she had indicated on her Binding Estimate and her price was adjusted to reflect the added inventory. Mrs. ******** is not eligible for a refund for the additional items she shipped.

There was an exchange of emails with Mr. & Mrs. ******** on the missing items and Mrs. ******** was provided with updates on the status of our search as information became available.  Unfortunately the process of searching and locating a missing item can take time. We strongly deny that Valet Movers retaliated or acted out of malice in anyway shape or form.  The items were most likely lost due to human error. If and when the missing items are located they will be returned to Mrs. ******** promptly.

As we have indicated, we would like to resolve this amicably without the need to litigate however Mrs. ******** must understand that any offers of compensation will be based upon the underlying terms of our contract including Mrs. ********’s choice to waive the Full Value Replacement coverage offered by Valet Movers and instead choose the free limited valuation coverage. Mrs. ******** is not eligible for or legally entitled to recover compensation above the level of valuation coverage she chose which was $0.60 per pound per item claimed. 

Though we appreciate Mrs. ********’s description of what litigation may involve, we encourage her to refer to her contract for the agreed Mandatory Choice of Law, Venue and Jurisdiction which establishes Circuit or County Court, in and for San Diego County, CA.  As Valet Movers is compliant with applicable federal regulations and the requirements of our tariff, and as we have broken no laws, we are prepared to offer a vigorous defense should Mrs. ******** decline our settlement and chose to litigate.

Mrs. ******** accepted a binding estimate to move a specific list of inventory. Mrs. ******** increased the number of items she shipped by almost 50% and her price was adjusted accordingly. Valet Movers will continue to search for Mrs. ********’s missing items but will work with Mrs. ******** to arrive at a compensation package which reflects our legal liability and our desire to resolve this issue amicably with Mrs. ********.

Because Mrs. ******** did not open up a claim for her missing items, we started that process for her.  Any questions she might have can be directed to Anthem Claims Management 1-877-476-5983.  Additionally, her mirror was located, and is in route to her house.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Valet’s response remains woefully inadequate and is fundamentally mistaken.

First, Valet refuses to acknowledge that its employee specifically told us that the estimate was binding. That assurance was made to secure our business and we relied on it. Trudy purported to speak for the company when she assured us that Valet would not expect us to pay more than the estimate. As Valet’s agent, she bound the company to new terms, namely that we would not be asked to pay more than the estimate provided. Valet’s response doesn’t even mention her name, but the company cannot avoid her promises to us on its behalf.

Second, Valet claims that we added items to our inventory between the estimate and the move. That is not true. Every single item that was included in the move was in our home when Valet’s estimator completed her on-site estimate. If she was unable to accurately predict the cubic volume of our items, Valet should get a better estimator. 

Third, we disagree with Valet’s assertion that it has broken no laws. We believe our most visibly valuable items were taken in retaliation for our complaints. When we complained about this, Valet was slow to respond to our inquiries and then ceased communicating with us altogether. Valet has violated Ohio law and suit will be filed in Ohio if we cannot reach an amicable resolution. If Valet believes that it is entitled to litigate in another forum, it is welcome to make its arguments on that point to the court in Ohio.

Also, Valet indicates that our mirror in en route to our home. But it has provided no specifics regarding delivery. We will obviously need to be present for the delivery of such a large item. Valet should provide the requisite details so we can make the necessary arrangements.

Finally, Valet has not offered any settlement. If Valet wishes to resolve this matter without the need for litigation, it must respond with a specific offer to settle. We will not negotiate against ourselves. Our demand remains the same.

Regards,

****** ********



8/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Valet Movers picked up our items on 3 June 2013 from San Diego, shipment was to South Carolina but till now we have not even received a call or an email to tell us when we will received our items. Every time we call them, they would give us all types of excuses and say it will be ship to us the following week and would call us to inform us on the drivers number. So far we have received no emails or calls of such. My husband and I have nothing in our current house at all, we had to spent extra money buying everything again.

Desired Settlement: Compensation of getting a new bed and stuff we had to buy new cause all our items are with the movers.

Business Response: We regret that the customer felt like no one was in contact with them regarding their move, as was discussed with them at the time of their contract signing.  After pick up, when your item is shipped you will receive an items shipped email that will give you your driver's information for you to contact your driver directly.  The customer also stated that no one contacted them.  We have documented conversations from 6/18, 6/30, 7/12 and an email from 7/12.  They were informed that delivery can be up to 14 to 21 business days from your first available pick up, after the 30th day if your household goods have not been delivered you will be paid $25 for each day past the 30th day.  Their first available date for delivery was 6/11/2013.  Their household goods were delivered and signed for on 7/21/2013.  The 30th day would have been 7/25/2013, taking into account 7/4/2013 which was a holiday.  We apologized for the inconvenience and the body of the email is included:

Dear Mr. *****:

 

Again, my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience of not receiving a call about the delay of your shipment.  I expressed this to you during our conversation today.  Your time is valuable to us and so is our reputation with the Better Business Bureau and we earned all of our previous high recommendations.  Sometimes unfortunately due to issues beyond our control a shipment gets delayed and unfortunately that is what occurred with your shipment.  Although the 21 business day time frame has elapsed, we are working to ensure that you receive your household goods as soon as possible.  As per our conversation if you have not received your items by the 30th business day on the 31st business day we begin paying you $25 as is outline on the back of your bill of lading paperwork.

 

Again, my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience.

 

*****

Also, on the day that they posted on Yelp and with the BBB, they had received an items shipped email that morning at 8:30 AM, unfortunately, either the item crossed or they did not have a chance to check their email before posting on yelp and with the BBB that they had not been contacted.  Again we apologize for any inconvenience caused to the customer for a delay in delivery of their items.



6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been contacted by *** from Valet movers and had gone over the cost for my move and I had her send me multiple estimates that would show me the cost of what it would take to bring everything that I had owned and the cost was too high to bring everything so it was suggested that we get rid of things that we did not need to carry. Based on the estimate from the inventory I gave her which did not include my living room furniture, bed set, and marble dining table, because it would have costed us too much to move it we had ship. My relocation "specialist" did not inform me or guide me through any of the steps of the move and I was told that if there was any fluctuation in our inventory to tell them and it would be adjusted so that it could be the cheapest move possible for my husband and I because we were in the military and I told her I could not pay more than $1000 for a move. Our estimate including everything when I had first spoke to her her regarding moving everything I owned it would cost $2028.75 and I had sold my heavy belongings so that it only included 15 boxes, a flat screen, washer, and dryer for $990 and I was fine with that amount because it was all I could afford. On July 26th when the company came to load all of our thing we were told that it would cost us $1967 which was outrageous. I had called Liv immediately and told her that we could not afford this is she told me to either move with them and pay or cancel the move and pay 75% of the move just to cancel it. I was forced to continue with the company because we could not afford not to. I kept calling Liv to find out where was our things after 14 days had left the company with no phone call to me by Liv or the new person who took over which was ******** and she answered and told us that it took 14-30 days from the day we said that we could receive it. 8/20 I just received my shipment and when unloaded my washers knobs had been broken off and my dryer was dented and the top had shifted, my mirror broke. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay to fix my washer, dryer, and replace my mirror. Pictures were takenn by the driver **** and by myself.

Business Response:

The representative that was originally working with ***** was ***, who is no longer with the company. ***** was working on a tight budget, and we advised that her items added up to a weight that would cost her more than was she desired to spend. ***** said she was still getting rid of certain items. *** told her to update the inventory every time she desired to add items. We wrote up an estimate based on the item list that she provided. On the day of the move, ***** and ***** had 25 extra boxes, a stroller, and five bags, that had never been updated in our system. Although the boxes were small, they were heavy. It was the customer’s choice to go by weight (we give a choice of cubic feet or weight). ***** signed off on the revised estimate stating that there was going to be extra weight.  We have the weight ticket showing an additional 560 lbs. This caused a price increase of 554.40. There is nothing we can do about this extra weight. ***** was upset about the increase in the price, which is understandable. However, at that point, ***** had already signed off on the revised written estimate. We then explained our cancellation policy. ***** decided to go through with the move. When her shipment arrived, she chose to contact yelp as well as the better business bureau before attempting to contact our company. The next day, ***** emailed me with pictures of the damage to her items. Her washer and dryer were damaged, and her mirror was broken. Our company immediately gave her the contact information for our claim’s department. We provided ***** with the paperwork she could not locate. We also followed up with the claim department multiple times to ensure that the process was being handled as quickly as possible. Claims is now in the process of investigating the items, so that they can reimburse the customer for the damages. Our company has been communicating with ***** on a regular basis from the first day she contacted us. Starting three days ago, ***** stopped responding to our calls, due to the hurricane she is experiencing in Florida. We contacted ***** to let her know I have been trying to reach *****. He told me he would relay the message. ***** sent me an email stating she was having problems with her phone and to email her instead. We emailed her stating I would like to send a repairman out there to take a look at the damage and fix it, and that we just needed to know when she was available to set the appointment. I never received an answer. I have contacted ***** again so he can relay another message.  Our company feels that we have done our best to resolve this problem. We have followed up continuously with any concern. We would like this customer to feel satisfied with the services that they paid for, and will continue our attempts to get in touch with ***** ********. 

Thank you. 

Valet Movers

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I sent ******** the pictures and filed a claim on 8/20 and she had never contacted me regarding having someone come out to repair my washer and dryer. I was told that I was going to receive a check for $400-500 check for the damages caused to my washer, dryer, and mirror, and I received a called stating from caroline that I would only be getting $228 for all three because I had never purchased extra insurance but this is not what was explain to me before and she said that her company would help aside from the fact that we had no extra insurance. I had a repairman which I had paid out of my own pocket come over and invoice what was wrong with my washer and dryer and $228 will not cover the replacement and I had offered to email it to caroline but she said even if they could send a repairman claims would only cover $228 and that we either take it or receieve nothing and that I also had to sign a disclosure agreement because of the review I had posted about my experience with that company. I asked her to explain further and she told me to contact Diana from claims to get the details on how to get the $228. I am NOT PLEASED AT ALL with the response from this company. I would like for this to end on a good note but it doesn't look like it will and my qualms with this company will be resolved.

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response:

Valet movers would like address that our initial position has not changed in this matter. Our only goal was nothing less than to satisfy this customer and we have done everything in our reach to do just so. Valet Movers has a long list of emails asking ***** when she would be available to have a repairman come out. We have even gone as far as contacting her husband in an attempt for him to have her give us a call. When we finally got ***** on the phone, she refused to have us send a repairman and instead wanted to use the one she had already hired and scheduled to be at her house on the 28th of August. We submitted the paperwork as quickly as we could to our claims department, had them analyze the issue at hand, and came out with a check for 228.00 for the customer. I believe Valet Movers has done our best to resolve the matter. When our representative contacted *****, she refused to take the check for 228.00. We will continue to contact her in an effort to get a physical address to send the check to. 

Thank you,

VALET MOVERS

858-292-1848 x****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I not feel like Valet Movers are trying to reseovle the situation especially when ******** had called me when she recieved the previous message from the BBB and yelled at me. She told me the conversation was being recorded and went on accusing me of lying and cutting me off from speaking and then she hung up on me. This is not trying to resolve the situation. I want nothing further to do with Valet Movers. 228.00 is not worth the stress of dealing with a company who tells me one thing and then states another. Valet movers handled this in a very shady manner and I am extremely unhappy with the outcome. I do not want anything from this company nor do I want to be contacted by this company.

Regards,

***** ********

8/29/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Valet Movers picked up my items on June 23rd from San Diego, and delivered them on July 16th in West Lafayette, Indiana. First of all, the delivery date was too late for me, since the first available date of delivery for me was July 2nd. My family had to stay at the new house without beds and any furniture for two weeks. Secondly, they lost some of my items: dining table, tennis bag which includes five tennis rackets, several tennis balls, two badminton rackets, jump ropes, and some towels, tennis ball pickup hopper, skateboard, and one 1.7 cubic feet of cardboard which includes lots of priceless goods, such as my kids' notebooks, folders, and so on. They told me that they couldn't find them, but those are too big to disappear. I even doubt that someone in this company stole them. Furthermore, all my floor lamps, three storage boxes, sofa, a computer desk, and a bookcase have got damaged. The only reason why I have chosen Valet Movers even though some others offered me cheaper price was that only this company is accredited by BBB. I didn't expect to have this kind of problem with a BBB-accredited company. Therefore, I am filing this complaint to let other consumers to know the issues I had with this company in order to prevent them from having the same problem in the future.

Desired Settlement: Several days of delay for delivery and minor damage on furniture are still understandable, but my missing items are too big to disappear. I even doubt that someone in Valet Movers stole my goods. I am now filing a claim of insurance for those items, but it covers only $0.60 per pound per item. Therefore, I hope that BBB will help me to get my missing items or some refund for them, which is worth $958.97.

Business Response:

In response to complaint ID#*******, customer *** *******. Valet Movers has worked with the ******* family to resolve any glitches during the delivery process. From the start, we have always kept a very clear communication ground with this customer. *** booked on June 9th, 2012 after we waived the price of the packing materials and offered her a 50.00 off coupon. We then picked up the items on June 22, 2012 at 11 AM per her request. We always inform our customers and it is written on the estimate and contract that the delivery time is approximately 10-14 business days from the first available date that the customer is able to accept delivery of the items. There is a window of time that the customer must be available to receive their items.

In this case, *** had informed us that her first date for delivery was July 2nd, as stated in her complaint, and on the contract. The items reached the customer on the 10th business day. Please keep in mind, that if we ship the items out earlier then said, and the customer is not there to receive their items, an additional storage fee will be applied at that time, as well as a re-delivery fee. This is why we never send out items before the customer is ready to accept them. Our business makes an effort to continuously make sure people understand this concept.

On July 17th, *** emailed us stating she had damaged items and was missing a dining table, a tennis bag, and a nut to a twin bed. Attached to the email, were pictures of the damaged items. Per our company guidelines, the damages where immediately addressed and sent to our claim department. By California law, unless a consumer purchases additional insurance, items are reimbursed as sixty cents per pound per article, as stated in our contract. At the same time we were looking for the missing items in our warehouse. We were willing to go the extra mile, and help this customer out of pocket. Valet Movers then contacted *** to ask for the receipt of the missing table. Before *** could find the receipt, we identified the table and tennis bag, as well as the picture box in our warehouse, and immediately shipped the items out.

We have taken ***’s phone calls on numerous occasions, and have never let any of her questions go un-answered. Valet Movers understand *** *******’s concern of the issues during delivery and we like to apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. At this time we are processing her claim for the damaged items and we have shipped the remaining items that were misplaced during her move with us. 

Any questions *** *** ****

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As I stated in the complaint, my desired settlement is refund for missing items, but I don't see any offer of refund for missing items, which are a tennis bag, five tennis rackets, several tennis balls, a tennis ball pickup hopper, jump ropes, a skate board, and one 1.7 cubic feet of cardboard box. In addition, the person from Valet Movers called me last week, and kept yelling at me, saying that I should not file a claim to BBB. Now, I am determined to fight to the last until I get the refund from Valet Movers.

Regards,

*** *******

Business Response:

Valet Movers called *** ******* on August 23rd, 2012 in an effort to resolve this complaint. We asked him to go over the missing items with us. Our company wanted to get a better idea of the brand names and the prices so that we could help Mr. ******* recover his loss. We had already followed up with our claim department who had received Mr. *******’s claim, however was missing paperwork. Mr. ******* confirmed that he knew he needed to send in the inventory list, but did not know which one to send in. We advised the customer to send in both inventory sheets that our company had provided. We also provided him with the claim department’s email address. *** could not provide us with the brand names or the exact prices of the missing items, because each item had been purchased at least two years prior to the move. He said he did not remember whatsoever. At this point, we told him to email the inventory sheet in, and that we would follow up with the claim department. The next day, we received a list from the claim department with brand names and prices for every item. The tennis racket models were of this year. Claims is a process, and we have notified our client that the investigation process takes up to 40 days. We are still in communication with *** and still willing to resolve this matter. We do however, need to wait for our claims department to do their part, so that we may finalize the process. 

********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** *******

2/8/2012 Delivery Issues
1/2/2012 Delivery Issues