Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Two Men Will Move You

Phone: (619) 296-7995 Fax: (619) 296-7704 3571 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101 http://www.twomenwillmoveyou.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers household and office moving services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Men Will Move You meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Two Men Will Move You include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Two Men Will Move You
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1965 in CA Business incorporated 03/01/1995 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is T-132907.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathleen Nutter, President Mr. Donald Nutter, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathleen Nutter, President
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Packing & Crating Service Movers - Office

Alternate Business Names
Two Guys Relocation Systems Inc
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 3571 Pacific Hwy

    San Diego, CA 92101 (619) 296-7995

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A new television in its sealed box disappeared during a move on November 2, 2014. Two Men Will Move You was the moving company that performed the move. The moving company indicated that since I did not sign up for special insurance they would only pay $.06 per pound. They increased the amount to $50.00. However, this new TV costs $150. There was nobody other than my wife and I and the two movers in either apartment. I thought I was hiring a company who would be responsible for moving my property. I expected them to be diligent while they loaded our property into their truck and moved it into our new place. Obviously, they were not. Whenever I called they said they would call me back. They never did. We got the impression that they were just hoping that we would go away. I could not in good conscience recommend this company to relatives, friends, and colleagues.

Desired Settlement: Fully reimbursed for the loss.

Business Response: 2 FEBRUARY 2015

******* * ******* ******
**** *** ********
********** ** *****

Dear ******* & ******* ******:

On 7 January 2015, our check No. *****, dated 7 January 2015, was mailed
to **** *** ********, ********** *** *****, which was settled for
more than the 60 cents per pound per article selected by you. This
check has not cleared our bank.

The other option was actual cash value at the cost to the customer of
$140.00 for $20,000 coverage. This option was not selected.

However, in case the options were not fully explained by the driver, we
intend to show our goodwill by offering an additional $94.39 for full
coverage of the television.

We have enclosed our check in the amount of $94.39. This check and the
$50.00 adds to $144.39.

Sincerely,


** ** ******
Claims Department

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men Move You did not show good faith effort in handling and settlement of the claim for the damages their movers caused. They continued to delay the claim process by not returning calls and taking no actions. When the claim was finally settled, they offered a settlement that showed they did not want to be held responsible and accountable for the loss and inconvenience that they had caused me. . In late June this year, three men from the company moved me. They broke 2 beautiful lamps and damaged a fridge door for me during the move, for which I had filed a claim. They also damaged one other floor lamp, which was not included in the claim as the damage was not noted until after the claim was submitted. I did show this damage later to the inspector and told him that I would not do anything about it. I had to contact the company repeatedly in order to get the claim processed: 1)Took numerous phone calls to just get a claim form. They would say they would email or mail the form but never did. 2)After the claim was submitted, they would take no actions without you keeping calling them. Every time you called, they would give you an excuse and tell you they would get back but never did. So you had to call again. 3)When an appointment was finally scheduled for inspection, the inspector did not show up. So I had to call again and had the appointment rescheduled. 4)Took couple of more phone calls to finally get the claim settled. Upon settlement, they sent me a check in the amount of $80.00 for the two broken lamps and the damaged fridge door, of which:1)$30.00 was for the 2 lamps with $15.00 each. The two lamps were beautiful before they were broken, and they had been with me for many years, which had a lot of sentimental value. One was a living room table lamp bought from **** *** at about $250.00 and the other was a living room floor lamp from **** ***** at about $120.00. 2)$50.00 for the damaged fridge door.

Desired Settlement: A good faith settlement that is fair and equitable to both parties.

Business Response:

On 28 November 2012. an acknowledgement of claim receipt was mailed to the
above address along with a check in the amount of $80.00 in settlements of
your claim.

We regret your move has given you cause to file a claim. Every attempt was made to settle claim professionally, quickly, and fairly.

******** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

February 19, 2013

 

**** *****

Dispute & Information Analyst

BBB of San Diego

5050 Murphy Canyon Road #110

San Diego, CA 92123-4389

 

Re: Complaint ID #*******

 

Dear Mr. *****:

 

I am writing this letter in response to the Two Men Will Move You letter dated January 2, 2013.  

 

Lack of Good Faith Efforts in Claim Processing

 

The damages were sustained during the move on June 28, 2012.

 

September 21, 2012, as provided in its letter, if correct, was not the first time and only time that I called to get a claim form. I recalled that I had called at least 4 times, if not more:

·         The first time I called, they told me they would mail it to me but never did it. I might have called more than once and was told that they would mail it to me but never did. 

·         I called again. They told me that they would email it to me but never did.  

·         I called again. I never received it as they said it was sent to my old address.  

·         I called again and finally got it.  

 

October 11, 2012, as provided in its letter, if correct, was not the first time and only time that I had called to schedule the inspection. I recalled that I called at least once before that and they told me that they would have the inspector call me. But they never did. After a while, I called back and happened to speak to the inspector. He attempted to send me away and said that he’s not sure about his schedule in the next two weeks and would have to call me back. At that point, I told him that they did not return calls and I did not want to have to keep calling back and I had waited patiently long enough for the claim to be processed. At that point, he scheduled an appointment for me.

 

November 5, 2012, as provided in its letter, was not the day that was scheduled for inspection. The inspection was scheduled for Monday, November 4, 2012. I waited at home but the inspector did not show up. So I called and they told me that the inspector put it down on his book for Tuesday. I did not know how this happened as he clearly told me Monday. So the appointment was rescheduled for Tuesday, November 5, 2012, and the inspector came on that day.   

 

Two weeks after the inspection, I called to follow up as I had not heard anything from them. They said they would have the processor call me back. They never did. So I called back (might have been more than once) and eventually spoke to the processor. A while later, finally I received a phone message from the processor informing me a check had been mailed to me. This was the first and only call that I ever received from the company during the entire claim process.  

 

After I received the settlement check, I could not believe how little they had offered to compensate the losses that they had caused. And I did not understand how the settlement was determined. So I called the company to discuss my concerns about the settlement. I was told that they would have the processor call me back. But she never did.   

 

Inadequate Settlements

 

I do not believe the company provided adequate settlements for the losses, damages, and inconvenience that it had caused me.

 

Refrigerator Door

 

I did not request a cash settlement. I simply suggested to the inspector while on site that I would be willing to consider a cash settlement if the cost to replace was too high, although I preferred to replace it.

 

On my last call to the company to obtain an understanding about the settlement, I was told that the manufacturer was no longer making the part, and therefore, they offered a cash settlement of $50.00.

 

I did my research and found that the part is available in the market for $123.21, which appears to be a reasonable cost for replacement. So the cash settlement was inadequate.  

 

Although this was an 11 year-old refrigerator, it is in excellent condition with the exception of the damages on the door caused during the move. I had intended to keep it for many more years but now because of the unsightly damages, I have to replace it earlier than I had wished, which would cost unnecessary spending to me.  

 

Broken Lamps

 

The settlement of $30.00 was inadequate for two broken lamps with a total cost of $370.00. Although it was provided in the contract that the coverage is based on weight ($0.60 per pound), it provides no protection for consumers. What if the broken lamp is an antique that is worth thousands or even millions but weighs only 50 pound? How is $30.00 going to compensate the loss?

 

Desired Settlement

 

The facts above did not support the company’s claim that every attempt was made to settle claim professionally, quickly, and fairly. Rather, I believe that Two Men Will Move You did not show good faith effort in the claim settlement process, and therefore, did not measure up to BBB’s A+ rating.

 

I ask that the company pay the cost to replace the refrigerator door and the two broken lamps. 

 

Thank you for your attention on this matter!

 

Sincerely,

***** ***

Business Response:

CLAIM WAS SETTLED IN ACCORDANCE TO LIABILITY COVERAGE SELECTED BY CUSTOMER ON
FREIGHT BILL CONTRACT IN ACCORDANCE WITH CALIFORNIA PUB LIS UTILITIES COMMISSION.
CUSTOMER IS REQUESTING FULL VALUE COVERAGE, WHICH IS NOT OFFERED BY TWO MEN
WILL MOVE YOU AND CUSTOMER DID NOT PAY ADDITIONAL AMOUNT FOR DEPRECIATED VALUE
COVERAGE. CUSTOMER SIGNED FOR $.60 PER POUND PER ARTICLE AT NO ADDITIONAL
CHARGE. THIS HAS BEEN EXPLAINED TO THE CUSTOMER SEVERAL TIMES DURING THE
SETTLEMENT PROCESS.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Dear Mr. *****,

 

I received the following message from BBB recently but have not had a chance to review and respond until now. I noted that the complaint has been marked as resolved and closed due to none response from me.

 

Unfortunately, the complaint has no where been resolved. Neither the poor customer service issue and lack of good faith effort in settling the claim has been addressed by the company.

 

I understand the BBB request receipts from me in order to mediate. Unfortunately, I do not have the receipts any more. So at this point, I don't wish to further deal with the company. However, this case was never resolved in any way and my complaints remain, and I don't believe that the company measures up to the BBB's A+ rating.

 

Please feel free to contact me should you need additional information from me.

 

Thank you!

 

***** 

 

Regards,

***** ***

12/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two Men Will Move You broke a large ceramic pot during my move on August 7, 2012. Staff photographed damage and agree to pay per value covered by contract. I have contacted the company repeatedly since August. They have not reimbursed me. They do not return phone calls or email.

Desired Settlement: The broken pot is unglazed ceramic and measures 12" diameter and 12" high. Please replace the broken pot.