BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Diego, Orange and Imperial Counties
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

The Moving Co

Phone: (619) 591-5970 Fax: (619) 591-5976 1669 Brandywine Ave #D, Chula Vista, CA 91911 http://www.themovingco.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers interstate and intrastate moving, storage and local international state to state.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Moving Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Moving Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Moving Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 13, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1991 in CA Business incorporated: 12/09/1997 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The license number is 0190706.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Romeo Da Costa, Owner Mr. George Spinali, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Romeo Da Costa, Owner
Principal: Mr. George Spinali, President
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Service Area
Serving San Diego County
Alternate Business Names
Agent For Mayflower Van Lines Moving Co The Moving Company Inc
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 1669 Brandywine Ave #D

    Chula Vista, CA 91911 (619) 591-5970

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for The Moving Co

Discount: Free use of plastic boxes on local moves. subject to availability.

This company offers interstate & intrastate moving, storage and local international state to state.

To receive discount, contact (619) 591-5970 or print out this BBB Discount Offer and bring it with you.

This BBB Discount Offer is not valid in conjunction with any other discount, offer, special or promotion.
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ** ***** Dispatch Manager The Moving Company (Mayflower) 1669 Brandywine Avenue Suite D Chula Vista, CA 91911 619-591-5970 Toll Free: 800-894-9494 Fax: 619-591-5976 April 13, 2014 2:30 PM PT RE: **** * **** ********* Packing and moving from **** ******* ******** ****** *** ****** ** ***** ** **** ***** ***** ***** *****, San Diego, CA 92110 (Packing and move-in to take place on 4/10 & 4/11/2014). Dear Mr. ** *****: The purpose of this email is to advise you that our recent moving experience was a complete disaster, and the worst moving experience we have ever had!! I have already disputed the charge to our credit card and stopped payment on check # **** for $600 payable to ***** ****. Problems have included, but are not limited to: 1. Having a “Not to exceed” Contract of $3462.27. I realize we purchased additional insurance. 2. The loading and move-in were to be accomplished April 10 & 11. The movers did not leave until 1:30 AM on Saturday 4/12. (Why were move resources not sent to assist the moving crew?) 3. My wife was made to write an additional $600 check before the movers would leave (at 1:30 AM) for apparently what they termed an extra distance to walk. (This is not permitted under the terms of the agreement unless a change form is mutually executed.) I intent to contact the State Attorney General and the Better Business Bureau to investigate the legality/potential criminal aspects of the additional $600 charge. 4. About 5 – 7 % of our belongings (that are not items that are appropriately excluded such as flammable items) were left at the condo we were vacating, but these was told everything had been moved. We had to work from 1:30 AM – 3:30 AM and 8 AM – 4 PM on Saturday, April 12, 2014, making 8 trips with both my SUV and my wife’s Lexus to move the remaining personal possessions. A TOTAL of 28 hours of us moving things that YOUR COMPANY CONTRACTED to move. a. Items left included but are not limited to: i. A 50 pound safe. ii. A brand new Harmon Kardon AVR 1700 Stereo Receiver – still unopened in the box. iii. An extensive array of Elfa storage system that were on wheels – portable, which were clearly marked to be moved and which room. iv. Vacuum v. A 4-tier stainless steel wire shelving we had to tie to the top of my SUV because of size. vi. Large wastebaskets (2). vii. Other shelving that we had disassembled and put with similar stuff to be moved, and marked such and rooms to place in. viii. I have had over 12 boxes of books marked clearly for “Loft” upstairs. The negative impact to my back will be assessed this upcoming week. I suffer from chronic back pain and see my PCP, acupuncturist, massage therapist and chiropractor. The boxes needed to be moved for safety reasons and my wife could not even slide them. ix. A brand-new $10,000+ Sleep Number Bed was not assembled correctly. There are broken pieces under the bed and one of the supports was not installed. We are having Sleep Number experts come out and set-up properly and repair and will send the bill to you. x. A 6 foot high cabinet in the condo master bath marked to be moved to the new address master bath was not moved. xi. Many items were placed in the wrong room at the new address. xii. We are just starting the unpacking and will list any other items damaged or missing. Bottom line, this was the worst moving experience I have had. Not only the service was the worst, but requiring an on-the-spot check for an additional $600 I find reprehensible, unprofessional and question the appropriateness of it given the contract. The crew took excessively long breaks (but worked a lot of hours since it was a too limited of a crew for the situation). I look forward to you contacting me to discuss a resolution, which must include a significant reduction in the cost of the move, and payment for our time moving things that your Company was contracted to move. I am copying the CA State Attorney General’s Office of Consumer Affairs and the Better Business Bureau, as well as our Bank with this documented material – which I hope will result in an investigation. **** ** ********* **** ** ********** ****** *** **** ***** ***** **** ***** *** ****** ** ***** *** ************ *** ************ ******************* ******** ******** ****************************************** Addition to above letter sent email with delivery confirmed. 1. The "Additional Services Performed" form did NOT have "#6 LONG CARRY (Excessive Distance)" marked or in any way indicating that it applied. Additionally, if applicable, there are spaces for The Moving Company to enter distance in feet "between vehicle to entrance" and "Between entrance and apt./office". 2. The "Additional Services Performed" form was provided (signed) 4.10.14 when the "Combined Agreement For Moving Services and Freight Bill" which contained the "NOT TO EXCEED PRICE" was executed 4.4.14. I would be interested if this is a form of "bait and switch"? Sell one package of services at a price specific and then charging an additional amount NEVER mentioned nor documented on the "Additional Services Performed" form prior to executing the "Combined Agreement for Moving Services and Freight Bill".

Desired Settlement: Total Refund AND payment for the items we have found/will or may find to be broken, including a $10,000 Sleep Number bed we had recently purchased. The bed (our only one) cannot be slept on and a Sleep Number tech cannot come out until Friday April 18 with a minimum visit charge of near $200. Given the time my wife and I had to spend going back to the condo we were moving out of, The Moving Company left 5-7% of our household goods at the condo after telling us everything had been removed that was supposed to be removed. (I have pictures of many of the items but not all would fit in a single picture frame.) Additionally, they charged an additional $600 - personal check accepted only, made out to a specific person - the crew leader. BEFORE they would unload our possessions. Since my wife and I spent 28 combined hours moving stuff ourselves having to use my intermediate SUV and my wife's convertible. We feel The Moving Company should pay us 14 hours for 2 people just as the rates they present and they should include the premium for working a Saturday which they say they will charge. They claim the additional $600 was because of the excess walking distance they had to endure because of the loading dock placement. A representative came to our condo to provide a "Not To Exceed Price" and it was suggested he visit where we were moving. He apparently did not feel that necessary. We had no knowledge of the moving in arrangements (i.e., loading dock The Moving Company would use) and we do not regard the distance as excessive. My wife relented to the intense pressure to pay an additional $600 in order to capitulate to their demand for an additional $600 if we wanted our possessions unloaded. Thus, "agreement" was under known distress. The "Additional Services Performed" form gave indication of what an "excess distance" was in terms of definition, but offered no associated cost. (I guess it is "get what you can!) Lastly, they did not deliver the possessions on the dates promised but went in to a third day, in part because they arrived at our new apartment at 3 PM and did no work until 5 PM until my wife, under intense pressure, wrote the $600 check. She received no invoice and did not sign anything. They could not even get the marked boxes/items to the correct rooms.

Business Response: Hello. We have worked with the customer directly to completely resolve all issues. He will be contacting you shortly to report this.

Thank You

Consumer Response:

Dear BBB:

I am pleased with the resolution that I arrived at with The Moving Company.  I want to add that The Moving Company was very quick to work on resolving things.  However, how do I put it with my complaint so that people clearly see an agreeable resolution was quickly reached, and that I am pleased with The Moving Company’s speed and efforts.

 

Thank you for your guidance on this matter.

Sincerely,

****

 

7/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used The Moving Company in August 2011. They damaged an expensive cabinet. They broke the wheel off along with a large chunk of wood, taped the area, disposed of the wheel, and shrink wrapped it and did not inform me of the damage. They also shrink wrapped a refrigerator immediately after un-plugging it which caused mold to grow. They moved both items into a storage unit where they sat for 2 months, still wrapped. The crew moved many items into the unit while I was in the office completing paperwork, therefore, I was unable to inspect some items for damage. I filed a damage claim with The Moving Company along with a photo of the cabinet damage with their tape and shrink wrap still attached. They denied the claim on the basis that I did not allow them to inspect the items while in storage. The storage unit was in Ventura County and The Moving Company in San Diego County and I had to vacate the unit in order to avoid a full months rental fee. I was not aware of the damage until I emptied the unit.It was dishonest to damage a cabinet and not inform me. It was stupid to shrink wrap a cold refrigerator/freezer and put it into storage still wrapped.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting The Moving Company reimburse me for the damage they caused. I did not buy the additional insurance, but the contract covered $.60per pound, and both items are heavy.

Business Response:

June 4, 2012

 

BBB of San Diego

5050 Murphy Canyon Suite 110

San Diego CA 92123

 

REF#*******

 

Attn: * ******

 

Hello. I am writing in response to complaint #******. We moved the customer's items from San Diego, CA on 8/12/11 and into her father’s garage in ****** and a mini storage in Simi Valley. CA on 8/13/11. We received an email l from the customer on April 2, 2012 at 11:20 a.m. reporting the damage. On April, 2012 @ 1:52 p.m. a claim form was email led to the customer. Our office received the customer's completed claim form on April16 2012. On May 4, 20 12 at 7:52 a.m. we requested customer verification on the mini storage address so the items could be inspected. On May 10, 2012 at 11:03 a.m. we were advised by the customer that she had moved the items out of the mini storage to her new residence. A denial letter was sent on May 10, 2012 because the customer moved the items herself from the mini storage to another location in October 2011.

 

Claim was denied for the following reasons;

Our Company did not have an opportunity to have items inspected to determine if

   there was transit related damage prior to the items being moved again.

The customer moved the items herself before reporting the damage.

The customer moved the items out of the mini storage in October 2011 yet did not

   report the damage to our company until April 2012.

 

Unfortunately without our company being given the opportunity to inspect the items before the customer moved them again, we cannot accept responsibility for the damage which could have been caused during the second move which we were not involved in. In addition, it is a concerning that the customer moved the items in October of 2011 herself yet did not report damages to our company until April of 2012 6 months after she moved them herself.

 

Please feel free to contact our office if you are in need of any further information.

 

Sincerely

**** *****

The Moving Company

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I sent them a photo with THEIR tape and shrink-wrap still on the damaged cabinet-they specifically taped the damaged area on the cabinet. That is proof that they caused the damage. I witnessed their mover shrink-wrap my refrigerator immediately after un-plugging it causing the mold. They put it into storage still shrink-wrapped. I also had additional damage with I did not report to them because I didn't have sufficient proof that it was their fault. The most significant was scuff marks on the top of my wood dinning room table which will need to be refinished per a licensed cabinet maker. Their movers dis-assembled the table and wrapped the top in a blanket and put it into storage still wrapped. It stayed wrapped in my home while I was waiting for a professional to re-assemble the table. After removing the blanket, I noticed the scuffs in the finish and later remembered that the blanket they used was old and had move's tape wrapped around it holding it together. In retrospect, it was most likely the tape/old blanket that rubbed the finish of the table.

In response to their reasons for denial:

1 & 2. I informed The Moving Company that the crew arrived at the storage unit prior to the time that I had scheduled with them. Therefore, I was in the office filling-out the contract and associated paperwork while they took it upon themselves to unload the truck. It took significant time as it was a one person office and she was also opening the office for the day. Therefore, I was not given the opportunity to inspect the items as they came off of the truck. I would have noticed the cabinet‘s missing wheel and possibly the broken/missing wood underneath it. The dinning room table top was still wrapped in the damaged blanket, so I never had a chance to inspect the top of it. As for the refrigerator, the crew should know not to shrink-wrap a cold refrigerator and put it into storage. I moved the items out of storage on the 10th of the month to avoid a contractual requirement to pay a full month after the 10th. I saw the cabinet damage, but had to remove it. The table top and refrigerator came to my new home still wrapped.

3. The cabinet photos were taken Dec 2011. The Moving Company can confirm the date by looking at the photo properties detail. Moving to a different city, selling and buying homes are major life changes, so yes, it took a while before I filed the claim, but it is my understanding that I was still within the legal timeframe.

It is very un-professional of The Moving Company to cause significant damage to these expensive items and refuse to take responsibility for their actions.]

]

Regards,

******* *********

 

Business Response:

l am writing in response to the customer rebuttal for complaint #*******. To summarize; the customer is claiming that her cabinet was shrink wrapped on the damaged portion of the cabinet. In fact, the customer's cabinet already had pre-existing damage to it The crew pointed that out to her and the piece had to be shrink wrapped so that it would not fall apart when being moved. The surveyor that looked at the belongings prior to the move has also verified that.

 

The customer is also claiming that her refrigerator was shrink wrapped directly after unplugging. It is the customer's responsibility to disconnect their appliances. The customer knew her goods were going into storage and therefore the refrigerator should have been unplugged in advance and given adequate time to defrost. Had the refrigerator not been wrapped the condensation/water leakage due to the customer not properly allowing it to defrost could have damaged the other items in the shipment. Moving companies have no control over atmospheric and mechanical issues. Those are all out of our control. The crew has also verified that before the refrigerator was loaded, they witnessed black spots

(which appeared to be mold) on the rubber seal of this refrigerator. Also. there was a very foul smell in the refrigerator when opened at origin (before loading).

 

Finally, the customer claims that the moving crew arrived at the storage unit early. The crew could not unload the items into the mini storage without the customer first opening it. Therefore, if she was still completing paperwork and was not available to oversee the unloading. the mini storage unit should have never been open. The customer rented a storage unit that was too small and had to change the unit. This caused a delay in the move not the crew getting there too early. The customer was standing right at the mini storage door while the crew was unloading into the unit.  The crew

actually had to ask her to step away from the door because she was impeding the crew's access to bring the items into the mini storage efficiently.

 

The customer did not select Full Value Protection Coverage on her move. She selected the Basic Liability coverage of .60 per Ib per article

.

Our company still stands firm in denial of the claim for the following reasons;

 

• Our Company did not have an opportunity to have the items inspected in order to determine if there was transit related damage prior to the items being moved again by the customer nor to inspect the items to determine if the damage was transit related or pre·existing damage.

• The customer moved the items herself before reporting the damage.

• The customer moved the items out of the mini storage in October 201 1 yet did not report the damage to our company until April 20 12. The paperwork that a customer signs when items are delivered to a mini storage states, “I further understand by signing below I acknowledge that l am waiving the nine-month filing period for a claim on damage/loss to my goods. Due to the non-secure and transitional environment of a mini storage facility, all damage and/or loss must be clearly described on the bill of lading prior to the crew departure and reported to The Moving Company immediately."

 

However, as to resolve this matter, The Moving Company will allow a customer service gesture in the amount that the customer requested - S339. Once we receive final approval from the BBB to proceed a check will be mailed to the customer.

 

The Moving Company has not had a BBB complaint in over eight years. We pride ourselves on providing great service to our customers.

Please feel free to contact our office if you are in need of any further information.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *****

The Moving Company

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

 

Per my telecon wil BBB this morning, further documentation is not required since I am accepting the offer.

 

Please inform the Moving company to send the check to : ******* ********* **** ***** ****** ******* ***** ** *****

Regards,

******* *********