Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

The Moving Co

Phone: (619) 591-5970 Fax: (619) 591-5976 1669 Brandywine Ave #D, Chula Vista, CA 91911 http://www.themovingco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers interstate and intrastate moving, storage and local international state to state.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Moving Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Moving Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Moving Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 13, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1991 in CA Business incorporated 12/09/1997 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 0190706.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Romeo Da Costa, Owner Mr. George Spinali, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Romeo Da Costa, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Eskew, General Manager
Principal: Mr. George Spinali, President
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Service Area
Serving San Diego County
Alternate Business Names
Agent For Mayflower Van Lines Moving Co The Moving Company Inc
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 1669 Brandywine Ave #D

    Chula Vista, CA 91911 (619) 591-5970

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ** ***** Dispatch Manager The Moving Company (Mayflower) 1669 Brandywine Avenue Suite D Chula Vista, CA 91911 619-591-5970 Toll Free: 800-894-9494 Fax: 619-591-5976 April 13, 2014 2:30 PM PT RE: **** * **** ********* Packing and moving from **** ******* ******** ****** *** ****** ** ***** ** **** ***** ***** ***** *****, San Diego, CA 92110 (Packing and move-in to take place on 4/10 & 4/11/2014). Dear Mr. ** *****: The purpose of this email is to advise you that our recent moving experience was a complete disaster, and the worst moving experience we have ever had!! I have already disputed the charge to our credit card and stopped payment on check # **** for $600 payable to ***** ****. Problems have included, but are not limited to: 1. Having a “Not to exceed” Contract of $3462.27. I realize we purchased additional insurance. 2. The loading and move-in were to be accomplished April 10 & 11. The movers did not leave until 1:30 AM on Saturday 4/12. (Why were move resources not sent to assist the moving crew?) 3. My wife was made to write an additional $600 check before the movers would leave (at 1:30 AM) for apparently what they termed an extra distance to walk. (This is not permitted under the terms of the agreement unless a change form is mutually executed.) I intent to contact the State Attorney General and the Better Business Bureau to investigate the legality/potential criminal aspects of the additional $600 charge. 4. About 5 – 7 % of our belongings (that are not items that are appropriately excluded such as flammable items) were left at the condo we were vacating, but these was told everything had been moved. We had to work from 1:30 AM – 3:30 AM and 8 AM – 4 PM on Saturday, April 12, 2014, making 8 trips with both my SUV and my wife’s Lexus to move the remaining personal possessions. A TOTAL of 28 hours of us moving things that YOUR COMPANY CONTRACTED to move. a. Items left included but are not limited to: i. A 50 pound safe. ii. A brand new Harmon Kardon AVR 1700 Stereo Receiver – still unopened in the box. iii. An extensive array of Elfa storage system that were on wheels – portable, which were clearly marked to be moved and which room. iv. Vacuum v. A 4-tier stainless steel wire shelving we had to tie to the top of my SUV because of size. vi. Large wastebaskets (2). vii. Other shelving that we had disassembled and put with similar stuff to be moved, and marked such and rooms to place in. viii. I have had over 12 boxes of books marked clearly for “Loft” upstairs. The negative impact to my back will be assessed this upcoming week. I suffer from chronic back pain and see my PCP, acupuncturist, massage therapist and chiropractor. The boxes needed to be moved for safety reasons and my wife could not even slide them. ix. A brand-new $10,000+ Sleep Number Bed was not assembled correctly. There are broken pieces under the bed and one of the supports was not installed. We are having Sleep Number experts come out and set-up properly and repair and will send the bill to you. x. A 6 foot high cabinet in the condo master bath marked to be moved to the new address master bath was not moved. xi. Many items were placed in the wrong room at the new address. xii. We are just starting the unpacking and will list any other items damaged or missing. Bottom line, this was the worst moving experience I have had. Not only the service was the worst, but requiring an on-the-spot check for an additional $600 I find reprehensible, unprofessional and question the appropriateness of it given the contract. The crew took excessively long breaks (but worked a lot of hours since it was a too limited of a crew for the situation). I look forward to you contacting me to discuss a resolution, which must include a significant reduction in the cost of the move, and payment for our time moving things that your Company was contracted to move. I am copying the CA State Attorney General’s Office of Consumer Affairs and the Better Business Bureau, as well as our Bank with this documented material – which I hope will result in an investigation. **** ** ********* **** ** ********** ****** *** **** ***** ***** **** ***** *** ****** ** ***** *** ************ *** ************ ******************* ******** ******** ****************************************** Addition to above letter sent email with delivery confirmed. 1. The "Additional Services Performed" form did NOT have "#6 LONG CARRY (Excessive Distance)" marked or in any way indicating that it applied. Additionally, if applicable, there are spaces for The Moving Company to enter distance in feet "between vehicle to entrance" and "Between entrance and apt./office". 2. The "Additional Services Performed" form was provided (signed) 4.10.14 when the "Combined Agreement For Moving Services and Freight Bill" which contained the "NOT TO EXCEED PRICE" was executed 4.4.14. I would be interested if this is a form of "bait and switch"? Sell one package of services at a price specific and then charging an additional amount NEVER mentioned nor documented on the "Additional Services Performed" form prior to executing the "Combined Agreement for Moving Services and Freight Bill".

Desired Settlement: Total Refund AND payment for the items we have found/will or may find to be broken, including a $10,000 Sleep Number bed we had recently purchased. The bed (our only one) cannot be slept on and a Sleep Number tech cannot come out until Friday April 18 with a minimum visit charge of near $200. Given the time my wife and I had to spend going back to the condo we were moving out of, The Moving Company left 5-7% of our household goods at the condo after telling us everything had been removed that was supposed to be removed. (I have pictures of many of the items but not all would fit in a single picture frame.) Additionally, they charged an additional $600 - personal check accepted only, made out to a specific person - the crew leader. BEFORE they would unload our possessions. Since my wife and I spent 28 combined hours moving stuff ourselves having to use my intermediate SUV and my wife's convertible. We feel The Moving Company should pay us 14 hours for 2 people just as the rates they present and they should include the premium for working a Saturday which they say they will charge. They claim the additional $600 was because of the excess walking distance they had to endure because of the loading dock placement. A representative came to our condo to provide a "Not To Exceed Price" and it was suggested he visit where we were moving. He apparently did not feel that necessary. We had no knowledge of the moving in arrangements (i.e., loading dock The Moving Company would use) and we do not regard the distance as excessive. My wife relented to the intense pressure to pay an additional $600 in order to capitulate to their demand for an additional $600 if we wanted our possessions unloaded. Thus, "agreement" was under known distress. The "Additional Services Performed" form gave indication of what an "excess distance" was in terms of definition, but offered no associated cost. (I guess it is "get what you can!) Lastly, they did not deliver the possessions on the dates promised but went in to a third day, in part because they arrived at our new apartment at 3 PM and did no work until 5 PM until my wife, under intense pressure, wrote the $600 check. She received no invoice and did not sign anything. They could not even get the marked boxes/items to the correct rooms.

Business Response: Hello. We have worked with the customer directly to completely resolve all issues. He will be contacting you shortly to report this.

Thank You

Consumer Response:

Dear BBB:

I am pleased with the resolution that I arrived at with The Moving Company.  I want to add that The Moving Company was very quick to work on resolving things.  However, how do I put it with my complaint so that people clearly see an agreeable resolution was quickly reached, and that I am pleased with The Moving Company’s speed and efforts.

 

Thank you for your guidance on this matter.

Sincerely,

****