Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sullivan Moving & Storage Inc

Phone: (858) 874-2600 Fax: (858) 874-2611 View Additional Phone Numbers 5704 Copley Dr, San Diego, CA 92111 http://www.sullivanunited.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers local, national and worldwide moving and storage services for household goods.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sullivan Moving & Storage Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sullivan Moving & Storage Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sullivan Moving & Storage Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1954 in CA Business incorporated 03/10/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco CA 94102
http://www.cpuc.ca.gov
Phone Number: (415) 703-2782
Fax Number: 415-703-1758
The number is 190813.

Department of Transportation
USDOT C-75 Room 4137, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-2220
The number is 56181.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Fischer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Fischer, President
Number of Employees

60

Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Packing & Crating Service Storage Units - Household & Commercial Movers - Office Moving & Storage Company Movers - International Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Relocation Service Travel & Moving Services Freight Forwarding

Alternate Business Names
Sullivan United United Vanlines
BBB Program Participation

BBB Yellow Pages

Industry Tips
Moving Companies

Additional Locations

  • 5704 Copley Dr

    San Diego, CA 92111 (800) 854-2600 (858) 874-2600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had sulivan move me 3 years ago the price had only changed went up $5.50 down size my home and wanted them to move me again came out gave me quote $1092.00 i thought was high but that it would be the max i put everything i could in abox so that it could be easy to move had my own dolly and moved all the things from garage to driveway roll up rugs on floor 10ftx15ft by myself taped them I did all I could sa I was the one paying to help it along I sent living room furniture and dining room chairs to be reupholsted and donated second bed room to goodwill before moving day it took 12hrs to move a 900sf house with my help 3 person crew so a total of 4 persons working I worked even when they took a lunch I tried to work with a Ms ****** at this company the first move cost me $524.00 the second move cost me $1433.25 she blamed me they had to wait for me to pack I have kept this short and to the point its endless the things that went wrong from sullivan united ms ****** even went on vacation after telling me she would get back to me for 2 weeks they sent me to the claims for all the things items they had broken the weight in her email is higher but that is wrong I have less the day the quote person can I had not sent a roomfull to goodwill I ask about the time and the movers would say its going GOOD when I knew it was costing me alot more than the quote

Desired Settlement: to refund the amount that was over the quote $341.00

Business Response:

Good Afternoon *****,

 

I apologize, I’ve been working with my Operations Manager and also the crew on getting the answers needed to respond to your email.

 

My Operations Manager did speak to the crew; the crew will be retaking a class for Customer Service on how we expect our customers to be treated so in the future we will not receive emails or comments regarding their actions.

We value our relationships with all of our customers and expect them to be treated with respect and kindness.

 

Regarding the hours, the crew said they worked all the time noted on the paperwork, they did mentioned they had to wait for for you to finish up packing, we were not scheduled to do any packing only the moving. The long carries (distance from the truck to the residence) and parking issues at the new residence made the delivery take longer as you mentioned in your email.

 

I did look up your previous move, the estimated weight was 5500 lbs, the estimated weight for this move was 8,638 lbs.

 

Regarding the damage items, you are working with ****** our Claim’s Manager to resolve your claim.

 

I apologize you felt your items were treated with very little care or concern, this is not how we treat our customers and it’s not how we keep our repeat customers.  You can be sure the crew has been reprimanded. 

 

And again, we apologize and want you to know we value your business.               

 

Thank you, 

***** ******
Customer Service Manager

O/A & D/A Coordinator
National Account Coordinator
800-854-2600 *****
858-874-2600 *****
858-874-2611 Fax
Sullivan/United Van Lines Agt 178/687
*******@sullivanunited.com
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ******

Consumer Response: Hi Mr ***** i fax copies of the bills from Sullivan united the movers over charged me and  email me that the things  that i said about there workers  was all a big misunderstanding on my part so i am a lier there is no proof that the things they say the will do will even happen and none of that helps me  and that i dont understand how the price could be so far off from the quote if you check online  (Yelp) has stories the same as mine if i need to send the other items let me know that back up the things i said my living room is being reupholstered with my dinning room chairs and that i sent a bed room full of items to Salvation army the reply that was sent to you is the same letter they sent to me Ms ****** didnt even change a word that is why I  didnt respond at first I thought it was the letter i had sent to you Thanks ***** ******

Business Response:

Hi ****

I talked to Mr. ****** today.  We had given him a written estimate for $1092.00 in advance of his move.  For a number of reasons his move took longer and went over the estimate by $341.  We are refunding him that amount $341 on his credit card.  The issue is resolved.  Let me know if you have any questions.

 

Sincerely,

****

 

**** ******

Executive Vice President

Sullivan Moving and Storage

Agent for UNITED Van Lines

San Diego - Phoenix - Seattle

(858) 874-2600

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******